Skip to content
AI & Automation

7 Best Financial Close Software for Small Teams 2027

Oct 20, 2026

Small accounting teams should decide the category before they compare vendors. The first question is whether the tool must run the close as its system of record, with reconciliations, journal entries, and sign-off all living inside it, or whether it should coordinate a close that already happens in a ledger and workpapers. Those two jobs call for different products, and they cost very different amounts. No single tool wins across both, so this guide ranks by fit, not by a single score.

Median monthly close: 6.4 calendar days according to APQC via CFO.com (2018), measured from running the trial balance to finishing consolidated statements across 2,300 organizations. That benchmark is cross-industry and dated, so use it as a yardstick, not a target.

Financial close software is a system that runs the month-end process: it tracks close tasks on a checklist, reconciles balance-sheet accounts, routes journal entries and approvals, and keeps the evidence a reviewer needs.

TL;DR: If your ledger already runs the books, a checklist or reconciliation tool is the likely fit. If spreadsheets are the real close process, an Excel-native or consolidation tool fits better. Among the vendor pricing pages we checked, only Digits lists plan prices, so budget for a quote from everyone else.

Key Takeaways

  • Category comes first. A checklist-and-reconciliation tool suits teams whose ledger already does the books. An Excel-native or consolidation tool suits teams whose spreadsheets are the real process.

  • Six of the seven vendors publish no list price in the pages and reviews we read. Digits is the exception, at $65 and $100 per month for its first two plans.

  • Per-user figures conflict. DOKKA reports a Numeric Starter tier at $30 per user per month, while Numeric's own pricing page shows no prices and Toolradar lists it as quote-only.

  • ERP fit usually decides the shortlist. DOKKA says Numeric's integration is more limited for Microsoft Dynamics, Sage 50, and on-premise systems.

  • Orchestration above the close is a different job. US Tech Automations starts at $117 per month for workflows such as chasing overdue invoices, but its pricing page does not document close-specific connectors, so verify them before you buy.

How we evaluated and selected the tools

The weights below are our analysis, not vendor data. We set them for a small team whose main risk is an unreliable or late close, not an enterprise consolidation project.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for a small team
Close workflow coverage (checklist, reconciliations, journal entries, sign-off)25%The tool has to cover the steps that consume the most staff hours
ERP and bank-feed fit with the existing ledger20%Integration gaps turn into manual re-keying every month
Price transparency and total cost20%Quote-only pricing hides implementation fees and per-user multiples
Implementation effort and staff skill needed15%Small teams rarely have a spare system administrator
Audit trail and access controls10%Reviewers need to see who changed what and when
Automation beyond the close (invoices, deadlines, follow-ups)10%Chasing documents is often the real bottleneck

Close-cycle benchmarks to test your own close against

Benchmarks help you decide whether a tool is worth a trial. They also mix calendar and business days, so check the unit before you compare. The APQC figures use calendar days from a 2018 survey. The Ledge figures use business days from a 2025 survey of 100 finance professionals.

BenchmarkFigureUnitSource and date
APQC median, monthly close6.4Calendar daysAPQC via CFO.com, March 2018
APQC bottom quartile10 or moreCalendar daysAPQC via CFO.com, March 2018
APQC top quartile4.8 or fewerCalendar daysAPQC via CFO.com, March 2018
Finance teams taking 6+ business days50%Business daysLedge via CFO.com, April 2025
Finance teams taking more than 7 business days27%Business daysLedge via CFO.com, April 2025

Finance teams closing in 6+ business days: 50% according to CFO.com (2025), which reports Ledge's survey of 100 finance professionals. A sample that small is directional, so treat it as a signal to test your own close, not as an industry norm.

Feature matrix

This matrix records what each vendor's own page or a cited review states. "Not stated" means the page we read did not name the capability. It does not mean the product lacks it.

VendorClose checklistReconciliationsJournal entriesERP integration namedAudit and access controlsPlan prices on vendor page
FloQastStated (single task checklist)Stated (tie-out and sign-off)Not named; DOKKA says they stay in spreadsheets and the ERPStatedNot stated on page reviewedNo
NumericStated (close checklist)Stated (balance-sheet reconciliation, exceptions reviewed)Not namedStated (NetSuite and other ERPs)Review-trail surfaces per DOKKANo
DatarailsNot statedNot stated for the close productNot statedNot statedStated (audit trail, edit controls)No
VenaWorkflow layer per DOKKALimited at transaction level per DOKKANot statedNot statedRole-based access per DOKKANo
DOKKA CloseStated (close task tracking)StatedStatedListed on product page, not reviewedNot statedCustom, by quote
DigitsMonth-end close via Agentic CloseStated (from statements or connected banks)Automated schedules create entries on CoreBanks, cards, payroll; ERP not namedNot statedYes: $65, $100, $250
LucaNetRoutine task automation per DOKKACase study onlyNot statedDOKKA says breadth lags cloud-native platformsNot statedTiered, custom quote

Month-end close software pricing: what is published and what is not

Pricing is where small teams most often get surprised. The table separates vendor-published prices from third-party figures, and each third-party figure is labeled as such. Pricing checked October 19, 2026 against vendor pages where prices are published. Third-party figures carry their own dates.

VendorPlan prices published by vendorThird-party or aggregator figureSource and date
DigitsEssentials $65/mo; Core $100/mo; Pro $250/mo, marked "Coming soon"None neededDigits pricing page, checked October 19, 2026
NumericNone on its pricing pageStarter from $30 per user per month (DOKKA); Toolradar lists quote-onlyNumeric pricing page; DOKKA, May 14, 2026
FloQastNone; states "No Per-User Fees"About $125 per user per month, a figure DOKKA cites but does not verifyFloQast pricing page; DOKKA, May 14, 2026
DatarailsNone on its site$2,000 per month on Toolradar's budgeting roundup, not on Datarails' pricing pageDatarails, September 23, 2026; Toolradar, September 2026
VenaNone published$30K to $50K per year for 10 to 25 users; 3-year TCO $175K to $525KCFO Shortlist estimate, undated
DOKKA CloseCustom, by quoteNoneDOKKA, May 14, 2026
LucaNetTiered (Basic, Advanced, Professional), custom quoteNoneDOKKA, May 14, 2026; Datarails, September 23, 2026

Digits list price: $65 to $100 per month according to Toolradar (2026), and Digits' own page matches those figures. Digits bills per business or location, so a multi-entity client needs one subscription per entity, and the cost multiplies. Digits' firm pricing is per client account, and its page lists no firm-specific dollar figures.

Numeric is the clearest example of a conflicting price. DOKKA reports that its Starter tier begins at $30 per user per month according to DOKKA (2026), but Numeric's own pricing page lists no dollar figures, and Toolradar lists it as quote-only. Ask for the number in writing before you build a budget on it.

FloQast presents the same problem in reverse. Its pricing page says there is no per-user fee, yet DOKKA cites third-party sources at roughly $125 per user per month. Those two claims cannot both guide a budget, so get a written quote that states the billing unit.

Datarails publishes no exact price for its close product. According to Datarails (2026), it lists no exact price for any of 8 close tools, and it describes itself as built for small and mid-sized businesses. Toolradar's $2,000 per month figure for Datarails comes from a budgeting roundup, not from Datarails' pricing page.

Vena's total cost is the widest range in this list. According to CFO Shortlist (undated), an estimate puts the small end at $30K to $50K per year for 10 to 25 users, and a 3-year total cost of ownership, including implementation and training, at $175K to $525K. Those are third-party estimates, not Vena quotes, but they show why a small team should price the full contract before it compares feature lists.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates vendor facts from our read. Facts come from the vendor's own page or a cited review, and DOKKA and Datarails both publish comparisons that favor their own products, so we treat their competitor descriptions as claims to test. Limitations appear in every profile because a small team's risk usually sits there.

FloQast

Vendor facts: FloQast's pricing page publishes no prices and offers "Contact Sales" for each package. Its Close Management package names a single task checklist, account reconciliation tracking through tie-out and sign-off, ERP integration, and an AI assistant. DOKKA describes it as checklist orchestration on top of existing workpapers, where journal entries and reconciliations "still happen in your spreadsheets and ERP."

Best fit: A team whose ledger and workpapers already work, and whose gap is coordination: who owes what, by when, with sign-off recorded.

Limitations: It does not replace the ledger or the reconciliation work itself. The per-user price is the main unknown, because the "No Per-User Fees" statement and the third-party $125 figure conflict.

Implementation: Not described in the pages reviewed. Ask for the ERP connector list and an implementation scope in writing.

Evidence: FloQast pricing page.

Numeric

Vendor facts: Numeric's close section names transaction monitors, a close checklist, and balance-sheet reconciliation that runs automatically, with the team reviewing only exceptions. It says it integrates with NetSuite and other ERPs. DOKKA reports real-time chart-of-accounts and GL data from cloud ERPs, with more limited support for Dynamics, Sage 50, and on-premise systems.

Best fit: Teams on NetSuite, QuickBooks Online, Xero, or Sage Intacct that want exception-based reconciliation and a visible review trail.

Limitations: Journal entries are not named as a close capability on the page we read. If your ERP is Dynamics, Sage 50, or on-premise, verify the connector before any other evaluation step.

Implementation: Not published. Confirm your ERP connector and the review workflow in a trial.

Evidence: Numeric pricing page.

Datarails

Vendor facts: Datarails sells stand-alone month-end close software or a broader FP&A package. It is Excel-native, so finance teams keep their data environment. It offers audit controls over who can edit which data, plus an audit trail and consolidation into one system. Its own page does not describe reconciliation, checklist, or journal-entry features for the close product, and DOKKA calls its reconciliation depth "thinner" than purpose-built close platforms.

Best fit: Teams that want to stay in Excel and need controls on who edits what, without a process migration.

Limitations: The close checklist and reconciliation depth are not documented in the sources we read. Datarails' comparison page is vendor-authored and favors Datarails, so test it against your own close.

Implementation: The Excel-native design limits data migration, but no timeline is published.

Evidence: Datarails close software comparison.

Vena

Vendor facts: Vena does not publish list prices. Online per-user figures conflict widely, so treat them as unverified. DOKKA describes an Excel-based front end, a workflow layer, role-based access, automation for routine close tasks, and a granular process builder, with limited reconciliation on transaction-level data.

Best fit: Small businesses with unusual close procedures that need configurable workflow, as DOKKA frames it.

Limitations: Cost is the main risk. The third-party 3-year range suggests the contract, not the software, drives the decision for a small team.

Implementation: One aggregator estimates onboarding at $10,000 to $100,000, with the low end more typical for small businesses, according to ITQlick. That site earns lead commissions, so use the figure only as a starting point for a quote.

Evidence: CFO Shortlist Vena pricing report.

DOKKA Close

Vendor facts: These are DOKKA's own claims. DOKKA Close covers reconciliations, journal entries, close task tracking, flux analysis, and workpapers in one environment. Accounts payable is a separate product, DOKKA AP. DOKKA describes the product as best for "2–10 person finance teams; AP + Close in one platform." Pricing is by quote, and ERP integrations are listed on a product page the article points to.

Best fit: A small team of the size DOKKA describes that also wants AP and close from one vendor.

Limitations: Because the fit claim and the comparison both come from DOKKA, run a trial on your own close before you rely on them. If you do not need AP, the bundle adds scope you will pay for.

Implementation: Not published. Confirm which ERPs appear on the confirmed-integrations list before you request a quote.

Evidence: DOKKA financial close software guide.

Digits

Vendor facts: Digits lists Essentials at $65 per month, Core at $100, and Pro at $250, which is marked "Coming soon." It states automatic reconciliation from uploaded statements or connected banks, connections to banks, cards, and payroll providers, an "AI-native month-end close" called Agentic Close, and P&L, balance sheet, and cash flow statements kept current. Core adds dimensional accounting and automated schedules that create recurring entries.

Best fit: Small firms and owner-managed businesses where bookkeeping automation and current statements are the main workload.

Limitations: Its pages do not describe a checklist or sign-off workflow for a team close. Each business or location needs its own subscription, and features like automated schedules require Core.

Implementation: Digits offers a free 30-day trial, per its pricing page. Start the trial on one client entity before you move a full portfolio.

Evidence: Digits pricing page.

LucaNet

Vendor facts: These come from DOKKA and Datarails comparisons, since LucaNet publishes no list price. The sources describe close and consolidation, intercompany eliminations, multi-currency translation, real-time collaboration on close operations, and routine task automation. Pricing comes in tiers (Basic, Advanced, Professional) by custom quote. DOKKA says third-party integration breadth "lags newer cloud-native platforms."

Best fit: Small businesses that are outgrowing spreadsheet consolidation and need structured intercompany workflows, as DOKKA frames it.

Limitations: Reconciliation and journal-entry depth are not documented in the sources we read. If your close is a single entity with no intercompany activity, you are paying for capability you will not use.

Implementation: Not published. Ask for a scoped implementation plan that names every entity in the group.

Evidence: DOKKA financial close software guide and Datarails comparison.

FloQast alternatives for small teams

Most small teams that look at FloQast are choosing between coordinating a close and running it. Four paths lead to different tools:

  • You keep the ledger and need cloud-ERP reconciliation with exception review: Numeric, which names reconciliation and checklist functions and integrates with cloud ERPs.

  • You want AP and close from one vendor at a 2 to 10 person scale: DOKKA Close, which says exactly that on its own page.

  • Your real workload is bookkeeping and statements: Digits, which publishes its prices and bills per business or location.

  • Your close lives in Excel: Datarails or Vena, with the caveat that both describe reconciliation depth as limited.

Who should choose which tool

Team profileStart withWhyDisqualifier
Cloud ERP (NetSuite, QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage Intacct) and exception-based reconciliationNumericDOKKA reports native cloud-ERP data flowDynamics, Sage 50, or on-premise ERP
Small finance team that wants AP and close in one placeDOKKA CloseDOKKA's own sizing and bundleYou do not need accounts payable
Excel is the real close processDatarails or VenaExcel-native design and audit controlsYou need deep reconciliation at transaction level
Multiple entities with intercompany activityLucaNetEliminations and multi-currency translationSingle-entity close
Owner-managed bookkeeping and monthly statementsDigitsPublished plan pricesMany entities, since each one carries its own subscription

Where US Tech Automations fits: above the close, not in it

US Tech Automations sits above the close tools rather than replacing them. Its published workflows chase overdue invoices, track deadlines, and draft replies that a person approves before they send. Its pricing page lists Solo at $117 per month with 3 active workflows and one scheduled run per day per workflow, Growth at $447 with 5 workflows, up to 6 runs per day each, and 5 team members, and Scale at $1,647 with 10 workflows, up to 72 runs per day each, and custom code steps. Performance is quoted after a discovery call. The sample workflows on the page are all customer-support examples, and finance appears only as a category, so a close-specific design has to be verified before purchase.

Could you build this in Zapier, Make, or n8n instead?

For many small teams, the real alternative is not doing nothing. It is stitching the close together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or writing scripts in-house. These tools can support run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The difference is ownership. The builder must design and maintain monitoring, idempotency so a retried step does not post a duplicate, escalation paths, access controls, retention rules, and upkeep when an API changes. A managed option shifts some of that work: US Tech Automations' Performance tier has the vendor map, build, and support workflows, while self-managed plans leave design with the customer.

A proposed orchestration design could configure the same steps differently. It could require an approval step before any client email, cap scheduled checks at the plan's runs per day, and name a human owner for each escalation. The prerequisites are to confirm a connector to your ledger, confirm the run limits fit the number of checks, and decide who approves outbound messages.

Worked example (hypothetical)

A four-person team closes 12 client entities in QuickBooks Online and wants to catch bills edited after the prior cutoff before the review meeting. On the Growth plan at $447 per month, a workflow can run up to 6 times per day, so the team sets 2 scheduled runs per day on closing days 1 through 5. Each run reads the MetaData.LastUpdatedTime field on Bill objects and lists any bill edited after that entity's cutoff. A staff member reviews each flagged item and approves the reminder email before it sends, so the 12-entity list is checked twice a day and nothing goes out without sign-off. The pricing page does not say whether a QuickBooks Online connector is available, so confirm it in a trial before you design around it.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

Skip it if your ERP's native close module already runs the checklist, reconciliations, and sign-off your reviewers need, because a second orchestration layer adds a system to maintain without adding a step. Skip it if your close depends on consolidation, intercompany eliminations, or multi-currency translation, where LucaNet or Vena fits the job better. Skip it if you need a close system of record with built-in audit evidence, because orchestration sits above that record rather than replacing it.

Who this is for

This guide fits a small accounting team whose close runs across a ledger, spreadsheets, and email, and whose reviewer needs a visible sign-off trail. The team usually has one checklist owner, one or two preparers, and a reviewer, and it wants fewer missed steps more than a new consolidation engine.

Red flags: you need consolidation or intercompany eliminations as a core requirement; your ERP is not on a vendor's confirmed connector list; or you cannot name a person to own the workflow after go-live.

Decision checklist

  1. List your close steps and the hours each one takes, then start the evaluation with the step that causes the most delay.

  2. Confirm your ERP appears on the vendor's confirmed connector list, not only in a review.

  3. Request a written quote that states the billing unit (per user, per entity, per client) and all implementation fees.

  4. Run one prior close as a trial and compare its cycle time against the APQC benchmark of 6.4 calendar days.

  5. Decide who approves outbound client messages and who owns the workflow after go-live.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing a per-user price to a per-entity price. Digits bills per business or location, so a multi-entity client multiplies its cost.

  • Treating aggregator figures as list prices. Numeric's $30 figure and FloQast's $125 figure are third-party claims that the vendors' own pages do not confirm.

  • Buying consolidation software for a single-entity close.

  • Assuming a checklist tool also performs reconciliations. FloQast's reviewed page names reconciliation tracking, but DOKKA says the reconciliations themselves still happen in spreadsheets and the ERP.

FAQ

What is the best financial close software for a small accounting team?

There is no single winner, so choose by where your close lives. Numeric fits cloud-ERP teams that want exception-based reconciliation, DOKKA Close fits a 2 to 10 person team that wants AP and close together, and Digits fits bookkeeping-first work with published prices.

How much does month-end close software cost?

Among the vendor pricing pages we checked, only Digits lists plan prices, at $65 per month for Essentials and $100 for Core. Most others quote, and a third-party estimate puts Vena at $30K to $50K per year for 10 to 25 users.

What are the best FloQast alternatives for small teams?

Numeric, DOKKA Close, Digits, and Datarails are the main alternatives in this list, and each fits a different workload. Numeric suits cloud-ERP reconciliation, DOKKA suits AP plus close, Digits suits bookkeeping, and Datarails suits Excel-first teams.

Does close management software publish its pricing?

Most of it does not. FloQast, Datarails, and Vena publish no plan prices on the pages we read, and Numeric's own pricing page shows none either, although DOKKA reports a Starter figure of $30 per user per month for Numeric.

Is financial close checklist software enough on its own?

It is enough only if reconciliations and journal entries are handled elsewhere. A checklist tool coordinates the close and records sign-off. DOKKA's review of FloQast says journal entries and reconciliations still happen in spreadsheets and the ERP, so the team still needs a place to do that work.

Can Zapier, Make, or n8n replace a close tool?

Yes, for some steps, if the builder designs the controls. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, and audit evidence when configured, but the team must own monitoring, duplicate-safe design, escalation, access controls, retention, and upkeep.

To see how an orchestration layer would handle the invoice-chasing and deadline steps around your close, read more about our workflow automation services.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.