Best Fleet Tracking Software for Landscaping: 3 Picks 2027
Key Takeaways
Pick the category before the vendor. Vehicle tracking answers where trucks are and how they were driven. Crew and job tools answer when people started and where they worked. Neither fully covers the other.
Three of the eight tools publish figures on pricing pages we could read: Azuga, Workyard, and Jobber. Samsara, Verizon Connect, Geotab, and Motive are quote-based on the pages we opened.
The ELD question turns on a federal threshold. The commercial-vehicle definition starts at 10,001 pounds and applies to interstate operation, so check each truck before you buy compliance features.
Our three shortlist picks are Azuga for published per-vehicle prices, Workyard for crew time at job sites, and Geotab for compliance-heavy trucks.
The tool matters less than the person who reviews location exceptions every week. Name that person before you sign.
TL;DR: If you need to see trucks, start with a vehicle tracker whose pricing you can read. If you need crew hours tied to job sites, start with a crew tool. If you need both, plan a configured link between them rather than paying twice for overlapping features.
What a fleet tracker does for a landscaping crew
Fleet tracking software receives location and trip data from a device in each vehicle and shows where each truck is, where it has been, and how it was driven. Crew and job tools use clock-in and job-site data to record when a person started and where the work happened. The two overlap at the job site, and that is where most disputes about hours begin.
Most owners asking this question want the first kind of tool with a record of the second kind attached. This guide compares both, because several vendors on the list sell one but describe the other.
Who this is for
This guide fits an owner or operations lead at a small landscaping business who runs trucks on public roads, wants a dispatch view, and needs to settle questions like whether a truck was at a job when the timesheet says it was. It fits a crew that will name one person to review exceptions every week.
Red flags: you expect every vendor to publish a price, you have no one to review location exceptions, or you need ELD compliance but have not checked whether your trucks are covered.
How we evaluated these tools
We built this comparison from vendor pricing and product pages and from federal regulatory text, all opened during our October 19, 2026 check. No product was trialed for this article. We excluded competitor rankings and review-site scores, because most of the rankings we found came from vendors selling a competing product.
The weights below add to 100 and reflect what an owner can verify before signing, not how many features a product lists.
| Criterion | Weight (of 100) | Why it matters for a crew |
|---|---|---|
| Crew and job fit | 25 | Clock-in or job-site arrival data answers hours disputes |
| Vehicle location and trip history | 20 | A live map and route history are the core need for trucks |
| Published price clarity | 15 | Lets you compare numbers before a sales call |
| Setup and hardware burden | 15 | Devices, installation, and who handles both |
| Data access (API, export, integrations) | 15 | Needed to connect tracking to scheduling or payroll |
| Compliance and safety add-ons | 10 | ELD, dash cams, and inspections matter only for some fleets |
Our three shortlist picks come from applying these weights to the evidence in the next sections. They are our judgment, not a ranking from any third party.
What each vendor's page actually lists
The matrix records what each vendor's page lists. A "Not on page" cell means we could not find the feature on the page we opened. It does not prove the product lacks the feature.
| Vendor | Live vehicle location | Crew clock-in or job link | Driver video | Maintenance alerts | Documented API or integration | Hardware in price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Azuga | Yes, all three tiers | Not on page | Add-on | Yes, all three tiers | Yes, two higher tiers | Not stated |
| Bouncie | Yes | Not on page | Not on page | Yes (Vehicle Care) | Yes (open API, Zapier) | Device has a purchase option |
| Geotab | Yes (GO Core) | Work orders, not clock-in | Yes (GO Plan) | Yes (odometer and engine hours) | Yes (Device object in API reference) | Included in subscription |
| Jobber | Needs FleetSharp devices | Yes (clock-in locations) | Not on page | Not on page | Not on page | Devices needed for live map |
| Motive | Yes (GPS Fleet Tracking) | Not on page | Yes (AI Dashcam) | Not on page | Not on page | Not on page |
| Samsara | Yes (GPS Fleet Tracking) | Driver apps listed, clock-in not stated | Yes (AI dash cams) | Yes (Maintenance, DVIR) | Not checked | Not on page |
| Verizon Connect | Yes (GPS fleet tracking) | Not on page | Yes (dashcams) | Not on page | Not on page | Not on page |
| Workyard | GPS tracking (Starter) | Arrival detection (Pro) | Not on page | Not on page | Not on page | Not on page |
On the pages we opened, no single vendor clearly lists both crew clock-in and maintenance alerts. Azuga's API Integration appears on its SafeFleet and CompleteFleet tiers but not on BasicFleet, so the tier matters if you plan to connect the data. For inspection reminders on the same trucks, see our fleet inspection reminder guide.
What the published prices cover
Pricing checked October 19, 2026. Prices below appear only where the vendor's own pricing page showed them, and everything else is marked quote-based or not published.
Azuga's per-vehicle tiers are the clearest published figures in this group. Per-vehicle GPS tiers: $25 to $35 monthly according to Azuga (2026). The page lists the entry, middle, and top tiers at those figures, but it states no hardware fee and no contract term, so ask for both in writing.
Jobber publishes plan-level prices for a field-service suite, which is a different kind of product. The Connect plan for five users is listed at $199 a month at monthly list price according to Jobber (2026). The Core plan for one user is listed at $49 a month according to Jobber (2026), and the page shows lower annual rates for the first year.
Samsara, Verizon Connect, Geotab, and Motive do not print a per-vehicle price on the pages we could read, so they are quote-based here. Geotab's page states that hardware is included in the subscription, which changes year-one math compared with tools that charge for devices separately.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Units in the example | Monthly total for the listed units |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Azuga | BasicFleet | $25 per vehicle per month | 6 vehicles | $150 |
| Azuga | SafeFleet | $30 per vehicle per month | 6 vehicles | $180 |
| Azuga | CompleteFleet | $35 per vehicle per month | 6 vehicles | $210 |
| Workyard | Starter | From $6 per user per month | 6 users | $36 |
| Jobber | Connect | $199 per month, monthly list | 5 users | $199 |
| Samsara | Plan not shown | Quote-based | 6 vehicles | Quote-based |
| Verizon Connect | Reveal | Quote-based | 6 vehicles | Quote-based |
| Geotab | GO Core or GO Plan | Quote-based through resellers | 6 vehicles | Quote-based |
| Motive | Fleet platform | Quote-based | 6 vehicles | Quote-based |
| Bouncie | Device and subscription | Not published in a usable form | 6 vehicles | Not published |
Sources for the table: Azuga pricing, Workyard pricing, Jobber pricing, Samsara pricing, Geotab software packages, Motive pricing, Bouncie pricing. Bouncie's pricing page shows a monthly subscription line that is garbled and does not show a usable figure, so we list its price as not published.
Worked example (illustrative, not a customer): a crew of six people with six trucks compares a per-user crew tool with a per-vehicle telematics tool. At the $6-per-user starting price that Workyard lists for annual billing, six crew members cost 6 × $6 = $36 a month, or $432 a year, according to Workyard (2026). That price covers people, not trucks. Each truck still needs its own device record, and in Geotab's API reference for the Device object the Device.serialNumber field is the hardware identifier to match to a truck.
Vendor profiles, one buyer at a time
Each profile separates what the vendor's page says from our read of it. Evidence links point to the page we opened for that claim.
Azuga
Vendor data: Azuga's pricing page lists GPS tracking, geofences, scheduled maintenance, and driver scores on all three per-vehicle tiers. The SafetyCam AI add-on is listed at $41.99 a month according to Azuga (2026).
Our read: the best fit for a truck-first owner who wants published per-vehicle numbers. The weak point is crew time. The page shows no clock-in feature, and its camera headline does not match the add-on line, so confirm which price applies.
Setup: the page says the unit plugs into the vehicle's OBD port. It does not state hardware fees or contract terms.
Evidence: Azuga pricing.
Workyard
Vendor data: Workyard's pricing page lists GPS tracking on its Starter plan and arrival detection on Pro. It says billing is annual with monthly billing also available, and it shows no price for Pro, Autopilot, or Enterprise. Workyard plans start at $6 per user monthly according to Workyard (2026).
Our read: a crew-time tool first and a vehicle tool second. It answers whether people arrived at job sites. It does not answer truck diagnostics, because the pricing page lists none.
Evidence: Workyard pricing.
Jobber
Vendor data: Jobber's GPS Waypoints feature shows clock-in and clock-out locations on a map. Its live vehicle tracking needs FleetSharp tracking devices installed in the vehicles, and the page does not say which plan includes live tracking.
Our read: a good fit for an owner already running quotes, scheduling, and invoices in Jobber who wants clock-in locations. It is a field-service suite first. If you are comparing that category, see our Service Autopilot alternatives guide.
Limit: ask which plan includes live GPS before you count it in the price.
Evidence: Jobber GPS tracking.
Samsara
Vendor data: Samsara's pricing page prints no price. It asks buyers to pick a fleet-size band, with bands of 1-5, 6-29, 30-499, 500-4,999, and 5,000+ vehicles, according to Samsara (2026). Its site groups GPS Fleet Tracking, ELD Compliance, DVIR, and AI dash cams under its fleet products.
Our read: the broadest scope on the list, which suits a larger mixed fleet. For a few trucks you may pay for capability you do not use, and a quote is the only route to a price.
Setup: the page routes buyers to sales and states no contract term. Get the term, the hardware cost, and the cancellation terms in writing. For a head-to-head with Verizon Connect, see our Samsara vs Verizon Connect guide.
Evidence: Samsara pricing.
Verizon Connect
Vendor data: the home page presents Verizon Connect Reveal and lists GPS fleet tracking, GPS asset tracking, compliance, EV tracking, and dash cams. Its "See plans & pricing" button leads to a section whose content did not load in our check, and no price is visible on the page.
Our read: suits fleets that want vehicle and equipment tracking with dash cams under one vendor. A crew that mostly needs clock-in gets more tool than the question requires.
Limit: no public price or contract term is visible, so the only comparison number is the quote you receive.
Evidence: the vendor's home page. We did not find a deep pricing page we could open.
Geotab
Vendor data: Geotab's software-packages page lists two plans. GO Core covers live GPS tracking, maps, trip history, basic routing and dispatch, maintenance scheduling by odometer and engine hours, and basic IFTA reporting. GO Plan adds full HOS and ELD compliance, predictive maintenance, full fuel monitoring, and video telematics. The page states that hardware is included and that pricing is set through resellers.
Our read: strong for trucks that must meet ELD and IFTA duties, because full HOS and ELD sit in GO Plan. For trucks without compliance needs, GO Core is the relevant comparison, and that quote should start with a reseller.
Setup: the API reference describes a Device object with fields such as serialNumber, the record you would map to each truck, as the worked example shows.
Evidence: Geotab software packages and Geotab Device object reference.
Motive
Vendor data: Motive's fleet page lists GPS Fleet Tracking, Electronic Logging Device, AI Dashcam, Fleet Telematics, Fleet Compliance, and IFTA Fuel Tax Reporting. Its next steps are "Schedule a Demo" and "Get a tour." Its pricing URL opened only to a country-selection prompt, so no price was readable.
Our read: a fit for trucks that need ELD, dash cams, and IFTA together. Without a readable price or term, treat it as quote-only and ask for hardware and contract length in writing.
Evidence: Motive pricing page, which shows no plans in the content we could read.
Bouncie
Vendor data: Bouncie's fleet page describes real-time GPS tracking for every vehicle, route history per vehicle, geofence alerts, driving-habit tracking, maintenance alerts, and an open API or Zapier integration. It states "No contracts" and "No hidden fees." The pricing page's subscription line does not show a usable figure, so the monthly price is not published here.
Our read: the easiest of these to buy online and start on your own. It shows no crew clock-in or timekeeping, so it does not answer the hours question alone.
Evidence: Bouncie fleet and Bouncie pricing.
Choosing by crew situation
The table below maps each crew situation to a starting point.
| Crew situation | Start with | Main tradeoff |
|---|---|---|
| Trucks first, published per-vehicle prices wanted | Azuga | No crew timekeeping on the page |
| Crew hours and job-site arrival first | Workyard | No truck maintenance or diagnostics listed |
| Already running Jobber for quotes and invoices | Jobber | Live map needs FleetSharp devices |
| ELD, IFTA, and video in one platform | Geotab | Reseller quote; full HOS and ELD sit in GO Plan |
| Fleet-wide dash cams and equipment tracking | Verizon Connect | No price or term visible on the public site |
| Larger mixed fleet, wider platform scope | Samsara | Quote-based; no price shown |
| Compliance and dash cams, sales-led evaluation | Motive | No readable price |
Decision checklist before you sign:
Name the one question the tool must answer in week one: where trucks are, or when the crew arrived.
Ask for the contract term, hardware cost, and cancellation terms in writing.
Confirm which plan includes the GPS you need. Several pages do not say.
Confirm API or export access before you buy, and decide who maps device IDs to trucks.
Name the person who reviews location exceptions each week.
Check whether each truck is a commercial motor vehicle and whether your drivers qualify for the short-haul exception before you buy compliance add-ons.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
A simpler tool wins in three situations. If you only need a map of a few trucks, a vehicle tracker such as Bouncie or Azuga's entry tier covers that without any workflow design. If you need ELD logging, IFTA reporting, and dash cams across a larger mixed fleet, a telematics platform such as Samsara, Motive, or Geotab is built for that scope, and a workflow layer adds little to it. If your only gap is crew clock-in with job-site arrival, Workyard or Jobber's time features may be enough without connecting a second system.
Stitching GPS data to timesheets without a second tool
The real alternative for many owners is stitching the tools together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building a small script in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still designs and owns the observability, idempotency, escalation, access controls, and maintenance, and that is usually the part that breaks when a tracker changes its feed.
US Tech Automations would configure the same job as a proposed workflow that sits between the tracker and the timesheet, without replacing either. Prerequisites: API or export access from the tracking vendor, a scheduling or job export, a device-to-truck table that someone maintains, and a named approver. Nothing here describes a live deployment or a measured result.
Walkthrough one. Trigger: a geofence-entry event from a truck assigned to a job. Action: match the truck to the crew and to the scheduled job address, using the device-to-truck table. Output: a line in a daily exception queue showing the truck, the crew, the job, and the gap between arrival and clock-in. Human review point: the ops lead decides whether the gap is real before any timesheet changes.
Walkthrough two. Trigger: a weekly schedule on Monday morning. Action: compare each crew member's clock-in records with the truck's trip starts, and flag unmatched entries. Output: a variance report for the owner. Human review point: the owner approves every correction, and the workflow never edits payroll. Idempotency: the workflow should skip events it has already processed, using an event ID from the tracker's feed, which you must confirm with the vendor. If the feed is late, the run should mark affected trucks as data missing rather than treat them as absent.
Questions buyers ask before signing
Do my landscaping trucks need an ELD?
Some may, so check before you buy compliance features. Regulatory trigger: 10,001 pounds gross vehicle weight according to Cornell LII (2026). That is the federal weight threshold in the commercial motor vehicle definition, and it applies to vehicles used in interstate commerce. The ELD rule allows manual logs for a vehicle manufactured before model year 2000, and for records needed on no more than 8 days in any 30-day period, according to Cornell LII (2026). The short-haul exception may cover most local crews: drivers who stay within 150 air miles of their normal work reporting location and are released from work within 14 hours do not need logs, and so do not need ELDs, under 49 CFR 395.1(e)(1); see the Cornell LII text of 395.1.
Is a GPS tracker enough to prove crew hours?
No. A tracker shows where a truck was, not when a person started working, so you still need a clock-in record to settle an hours question.
Which vendors show prices?
Azuga, Workyard, and Jobber print figures on their pricing pages. Samsara, Verizon Connect, Geotab, and Motive show no price on the pages we could read, so they are quote-based here, and Bouncie's monthly line is not usable.
Can I connect tracking to my scheduling software?
Sometimes, so confirm an API or export first. Azuga lists an API Integration on its two higher tiers, Bouncie lists an open API and Zapier, and Jobber's live map needs its own devices.
Should I sign a multi-year contract?
Not until the term and cancellation terms are in writing. Most pages we opened do not state contract length, and Bouncie's fleet page is the main exception with its "No contracts" statement.
Do I need to build this myself in Zapier or n8n?
Only if you can own monitoring, retries, access control, and maintenance for the workflow. The section above lists what that work includes, and a configured workflow can do the same job if you accept the prerequisites.
Bottom line before you sign
Decide the question first, then the tool. If the question is where trucks are and how they were driven, start with a vehicle tracker whose pricing you can read. If it is crew hours at job sites, start with a crew tool. Whichever you pick, name the person who reviews exceptions every week, and get the contract term in writing before you sign. If you want to see how a configured exception workflow could sit on top of the tool you choose, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.