Best Freight Broker Carrier Payment Platforms: 5 Picks 2027
Key Takeaways
A carrier payment platform moves a broker's payment to a carrier faster than the contract terms, usually through quick pay, factoring or ACH, and records that payment against the load.
The category decision comes before the feature list: choose by who pays the fee, whether the fee is written down, and whether payment status returns to your TMS.
Quick pay is a program the broker runs or sponsors, while factoring is a third party buying the invoice, so the cost and the contract risk differ.
BILL is the only platform here with a full published subscription and fee schedule, and it is general accounts payable rather than a carrier quick-pay product.
Truckstop Financial and Relay Payments do not publish a rate on the pages we opened, so their cost questions have to go to a sales conversation with written terms.
Before you sign with any vendor on this list, get the fee rate, the fee payer, the failed-payment process and the TMS integration method in writing.
TL;DR: if your TMS already connects to one of these platforms, start there, and walk away from any vendor that will not say who pays the fee.
Who this is for
This guide is for the owner or operations lead at a small freight brokerage who is close to picking a carrier payment platform and needs to know what each option does to margin, cash and reconciliation. It is a buyer's guide built from vendor pages, trade press and developer documentation, not a hands-on trial of any product. If you are still choosing the broker system itself, read the freight broker software roundup first, because the payment tool has to connect to it.
Red flags: you are shopping mainly for a factoring line of credit, you need a published rate card before any demo, or your TMS has no API or export that can carry payment status.
Carrier vetting usually happens before payment and is covered separately in carrier performance tracking. Load posting is a different step, covered in load board posting automation.
How we evaluated these platforms
Our method was to open each vendor's official site and the pricing or product page that carries each claim, add at least two independent sources on quick pay economics, and then compare what each vendor states against the same six criteria. The weights below are our judgment about what a small brokerage loses most from if it chooses wrong; they are not a market statistic, and no vendor was scored on measured performance.
| Criterion | Weight | What a buyer should check |
|---|---|---|
| Fee transparency | 25% | Is every fee written down, and is the payer named? |
| Carrier pay speed | 20% | Is the timing a stated term, per invoice or per program? |
| TMS and API integration | 20% | Native link, documented API, or CSV export only? |
| Broker margin control | 15% | Can the broker set, waive or keep the fee? |
| Reconciliation and audit trail | 10% | Does payment status write back to the load record? |
| Contract and risk terms | 10% | Recourse, reserves, holdbacks and cancellation terms |
The six weights total 100%. A platform that states a figure scores higher on fee transparency than one that says only "quote-based," and every vendor claim was scored as a claim, not as proof.
What quick pay and factoring cost the broker
Quick pay pays a carrier early and takes a fee out of the payment, and FreightWaves describes that fee as typically between 1.5% and 5% of load value. Quick pay fee: 1.5% to 5% of load value according to FreightWaves (2026). The same article notes there is no uniform disclosure requirement, so a quoted rate may not be the whole cost.
A bookkeeping guide puts the band narrower, with typical quick pay running 2–5 days for a 2–5% fee, according to Beancount (2026). The gap between the two bands is itself useful: it means you should ask each vendor for its own number rather than assume a market rate.
The table below applies the FreightWaves range to three load values. It is arithmetic on that cited range, not a vendor price.
| Load value | Fee at 1.5% | Fee at 3% | Fee at 5% |
|---|---|---|---|
| $1,500 | $22.50 | $45.00 | $75.00 |
| $3,000 | $45.00 | $90.00 | $150.00 |
| $5,000 | $75.00 | $150.00 | $250.00 |
Take a hypothetical brokerage that offers quick pay on ten $1,500 loads a week; it is an illustration, not a customer we know. At a 3% fee each load carries $45 of carrier-side cost, so ten loads come to $450 a week, and the same FreightWaves article puts the yearly cost at $23,400, according to FreightWaves (2026). If that brokerage pays carriers through BILL, a proposed control is to subscribe to the vendor.updated event listed in BILL's webhook docs, so that a changed remittance record holds that carrier's next quick-pay batch for a named person to approve before release.
Feature matrix
The matrix uses only what each vendor's own pages state. "Not described" means the page we opened was silent, not that the feature is missing.
| Platform | Carrier quick pay | Factoring | TMS or API link | Public fee detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TriumphPay | Yes, QuickPay program | Not described | Not described | Carrier program rate only |
| Truckstop Financial | Yes, broker sets fee or offers it free | Yes, broker factoring | Yes, TMS push and status return | None published |
| HaulPay | Yes, broker assesses a quick pay fee | Not stated on the payments page | Yes, API support for any third-party TMS | Per-transaction range |
| Relay Payments | Yes, RelayDirect | Not mentioned | Not described | None published |
| BILL | No carrier quick-pay product | No | Yes, documented v3 bills API | Subscription and fee schedule |
Our read: the matrix is a gap report. The two cells worth pressing on are the TMS link and the fee payer, because those decide whether you reconcile by hand every week and whether the broker keeps any of the money. On the pages we opened, only Truckstop says outright that it offers factoring from the same place as its quick pay program, so if you want both from one vendor, that is the one to test first.
Pricing and total cost
Public pricing is thin across this group, and that is itself a finding. BILL publishes the most complete schedule: Essentials plan on BILL: $49 per user monthly according to BILL (2026), with the Team plan at $65 and Corporate at $89 per user per month, and ACH payments at $0.59 each on the same page.
HaulPay's transaction cost ranges from $3.00 to $7.50 depending on volume, according to HaulPay, and the page says there are no separate ACH or processing fees for its most popular configuration.
The Select Carrier program on TriumphPay locks in a rate of 2.5% or less on all invoices, according to TriumphPay, but that page does not say whether the rate covers every QuickPay payment or only program members.
Relay Payments publishes no fee schedule on its brokers page, which does report 700,000+ transactions every month, according to Relay Payments.
Truckstop's pages publish no factoring rate, advance rate or reserve, and they describe pricing that depends on volume and shipper payment patterns, which makes it quote-based.
| Vendor | Plan or program | Published price | Who bears the cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| TriumphPay | Select Carrier program | 2.5% or less on invoices | Carrier, per the program page |
| Truckstop Financial | QuickPay and broker factoring | Quote-based | Broker sets any fee |
| HaulPay | Transaction pricing | $3.00 to $7.50 per transaction | Not stated on the page |
| Relay Payments | RelayDirect | Quote-based | Not stated on the page |
| BILL | Essentials, Team, Corporate | $49, $65, $89 per user per month | Subscriber, per seat |
Pricing checked October 19, 2026. These figures reflect the vendor pages on that date and will change without notice.
Relay Payments is not the same company as the small-business banking firm called Relay, and that firm's published card and ACH fees do not apply to freight payments. Our read: the real cost of a carrier payment platform is the fee the carrier pays on every quick-pay load, plus the hours spent reconciling payments the platform does not write back to the TMS. The published numbers above cover only the first part.
Platform profiles
TriumphPay
Published: the carrier page says QuickPay can be chosen per invoice or per broker, without long-term contracts, and the broker page says all QuickPay transactions run through the Triumph Network. The broker page is at broker payments.
Best fit: a broker that wants a carrier-facing quick pay option with a published program rate and no long contract, and that can confirm who funds the program.
Limitations: the broker page gives no broker fee or revenue share, and it describes no API or TMS connection.
Our read: the broker page says faster payments can help a broker negotiate longer carrier payment terms, which is a benefit to confirm in writing rather than assume.
Implementation: ask for the broker fee schedule, whether the program rate applies to all QuickPay payments, and the integration method for your TMS.
Truckstop Financial
Truckstop's release says it processed $3 billion in its first year and reports the figure below. Truckstop-reported same-day share: 87% in H1 2026 according to Truckstop (2026), in a release that covers payments as a whole rather than QuickPay alone.
Trade coverage of the same release says brokers kept a combined $1 million of QuickPay fee income that they would otherwise have split with a factor, a company figure, according to AJOT (2026).
The broker factoring page says Truckstop does not take a share of QuickPay fee revenue, unlike most financial providers, and that it integrates with over 24 TMS and other tools, according to Truckstop.
Best fit: a broker already connected to Truckstop's TMS or factoring stack, or one that wants to keep any quick pay fee instead of sharing it with a factor.
Limitations: every speed and volume figure is company-reported, the AJOT piece cites no independent data, and the factoring page publishes no rate, reserve or advance figure.
Our read: the "keep the fee" claim is the most concrete economic promise on this list, and it is still a claim a broker should test against its own load mix.
Implementation: confirm how loads and payment status move between your TMS and Truckstop's platform. The factoring page says loads and data can be pushed from a TMS and that payment status flows back, but it does not describe a public API.
HaulPay
Published: HaulPay's payments page says carriers are paid by same-day ACH by default, that funding requests go out in the next daily batch, and that it provides API integration support for any third-party TMS. The page is at HaulPay's freight payments page.
Best fit: a broker that needs a per-transaction cost it can model at its own volume and an API path to a TMS it already runs.
Limitations: there is no full rate card, the page says cost depends on volume, configuration and special handling, and it describes no reserve or holdback.
Our read: the page says the broker sets the quick pay fee, which makes the carrier-facing cost a broker decision rather than a vendor decision. That is an advantage if you want control and a risk if you do not want to set it.
Implementation: request the per-transaction schedule for your expected volume in writing, and have your TMS administrator scope the API work before you sign.
Relay Payments
Published: the brokers page says RelayDirect automates carrier and factor payments, offers flexible payment terms and can set up a priority program for repeat carriers. It also lists fuel, lumper and scale payments for carriers, and carrier onboarding and electronic invoicing. The page is at Relay Payments' brokers page.
Best fit: a broker that wants carrier fuel, lumper, scale and parking payments and quick pay in one network, and that can accept a quote-based price.
Limitations: the page gives no price and no fee structure, and it describes no API or TMS connection.
Our read: the breadth of the network is the selling point, and it is also the reason to ask which parts you will actually use and pay for, since the page treats fuel, lumpers and freight payments as separate services.
Implementation: ask for each product's price separately, and ask how payments and status would connect to your TMS, because the page does not say.
BILL
Published: BILL is an accounts payable and receivables platform rather than a freight product. Its developer docs say creating a bill requires vendorId and dueDate, with the due date in yyyy-MM-dd format, per BILL's AP bills docs.
Best fit: a brokerage already running accounts payable in BILL that wants to pay carriers by ACH or check without a freight quick-pay product.
Limitations: there is no carrier-facing quick pay and no factoring, pricing is per seat so each approver adds to the subscription, and per-payment ACH and check fees are separate charges on top of it.
Our read: BILL is the lowest-friction option only when freight payments are a small share of the accounts payable work. Once carrier payments dominate, a freight-specific tool may fit better.
Implementation: map your carrier records to BILL vendor records and confirm the field mapping against the v3 reference, because the sample request nests invoice fields under an invoice object.
Where reconciliation work piles up
US Tech Automations would configure the reconciliation step as a proposed workflow, not a live system. The trigger is a payment status change from the chosen platform, delivered by webhook or a scheduled export. The action matches the payment to the TMS load by invoice number and writes the status back. The output is either a posted status or an exception in a queue owned by a named accounting reviewer. Prerequisites are API credentials or an export file from the payment platform, write access to the load record in your TMS, and a documented owner for the exception queue. The human review point is every exception, because a mismatch on an invoice number is usually a data problem a person should resolve, not something an automated retry should push through.
A second proposed workflow addresses remittance-change risk, which many brokerages underweight. The trigger is a vendor update event, such as vendor.updated in BILL's webhook docs if BILL is the payment rail. The action places that carrier's next quick-pay or ACH batch on hold and writes the hold reason to the load record. The output is a task for an approver who must confirm the new bank details by calling a number already on file before anything is released. Prerequisites are webhook access in your environment, a stored callback number for each carrier, and an approver role held by someone other than the person who entered the change. A US Tech Automations design for this step would keep the hold and the approval as separate records, so an auditor can see who released a payment and why.
Build versus buy: Zapier, Make and n8n
The real alternative for many brokers is building the same flow in a no-code tool. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps and route errors when they are configured. n8n's documentation describes error workflows that run when an execution fails, with an Error Trigger that receives the error message, the last node executed and, for saved runs, the execution ID, per n8n's error handling docs. That page does not state how long execution data is kept, so retention is a question to ask before you rely on it for audit evidence.
We did not open Zapier's or Make's own documentation for this article, so check their current help centers for replay limits and history retention before relying on either.
Either way, the broker owns the design. Someone has to own observability (who sees a failed payment and how fast), idempotency (a retried step must never pay a carrier twice), escalation, access controls and maintenance when a TMS field changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those controls differently: a duplicate-payment check keyed on invoice number before any retry runs, a named escalation owner with a defined response window, role-limited access for remittance edits, and a change log. Its prerequisites are the same API access and reviewer roles a DIY build would need, so the choice is about who maintains the logic, not whether the logic is needed.
Which platform fits which buyer
TriumphPay fits a broker that wants a carrier-facing quick pay program with a published program rate and can confirm who funds it. Its gap is the missing broker-side fee and integration detail.
Truckstop Financial fits a broker already in its TMS or factoring stack that wants to keep any quick pay fee. Its gap is that the speed and volume claims are its own.
HaulPay fits a broker that needs a per-transaction range it can model and an API path to a third-party TMS. Its gap is that full cost depends on configuration.
Relay Payments fits a broker that wants carrier fuel, lumper and scale payments in one network and will accept a quote. Its gap is that the page gives no price and no TMS path.
BILL fits a brokerage that already runs accounts payable there and pays carriers by ACH or check. It is the wrong choice if you need a freight-specific quick pay product.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if your carriers are paid through one platform's native reconciliation and you never need custom matching, that vendor's own portal is simpler. If you want quick pay offered to carriers with no integration work at all, a platform with a built-in TMS link is the shorter path. If you have no TMS or API access, a spreadsheet with a manual review step is cheaper to run than any configured workflow.
Decision checklist: five questions before you sign
Who pays the quick pay fee, and is that written into the carrier agreement or the platform terms?
Is every rate and fee published or only quoted, and can you get the full schedule for your expected volume?
Does payment status return to the load record natively, through an API, or only by CSV export?
When a payment fails or a remittance detail changes, who sees it first, and what is the hold process?
Can you offer quick pay without buying factoring from the same vendor?
Frequently asked questions
Is quick pay the same as factoring?
No, quick pay is a payment program the broker runs or sponsors, while factoring is a third party buying the carrier's invoice, so the two carry different fees and contract terms.
Who usually pays the quick pay fee?
The carrier usually does, but the program terms decide it, so get the payer named in writing before you offer quick pay to any carrier.
Can a broker offer quick pay without a factor?
Yes, and both the Truckstop broker page and the HaulPay payments page describe brokers offering quick pay to their own carriers on their own terms.
Which of these platforms publish full pricing?
On the pages we opened, only BILL publishes a full subscription and fee schedule, HaulPay publishes a per-transaction range, and the other three are quote-based or only partly published.
Is BILL a freight payment platform?
No, BILL is general accounts payable that can pay carriers by ACH or check, and its pages show no carrier-facing quick pay product.
Where does invoicing fit in this decision?
Invoicing and carrier billing are a separate purchase, covered in a separate guide on freight billing software for logistics, so do not choose a payment tool only because it bundles one.
Bottom line
Choose the platform whose fee you can read on paper, whose payment status returns to your TMS, and whose quick pay program you can turn off for a single carrier without renegotiating your whole book. Two of the five vendors here publish no price for their core product, so ask for it in writing before the demo. If you want the reconciliation step designed as a proposed workflow with named review points, see how US Tech Automations configures this, and check its prerequisites against your own TMS before you commit.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.
