Skip to content
AI & Automation

7 Best Practice Software for Solo Estate Planners (2027)

Oct 19, 2026

Choose the category before the brand

Most solo estate planners are not shopping for one product. They are deciding which job needs software first: running the practice (matters, contacts, time, billing and calendars), drafting documents (wills, trusts and powers of attorney), or getting client data in once (intake). Practice management software is the system that tracks matters, contacts, time, billing and documents for a law practice. Drafting software generates estate documents from templates. For most solo estate practices, the sound order is to pick the practice system first, then add drafting or intake only where its own templates or forms fall short.

If your real bottleneck is lead follow-up rather than client paperwork, that is a separate purchase, and GoHighLevel vs Follow Up Boss for real estate covers that trade-off in another vertical. Financial planners facing a similar choice can compare the tools in MoneyGuidePro vs eMoney for planners.

TL;DR: If you want one system with published per-user prices, compare MyCase and PracticePanther first. If estate drafting is the core need, compare Smokeball's Grow plan, LegalGEN's estate planning plan and WealthCounsel's drafting library, and expect to request quotes for most of them. Clio Manage has a documented API and webhooks, but its pricing page did not load for this guide, so no Clio price appears here.

Key Takeaways

  • Pick a practice system first if matters, billing and calendars are your daily friction. Add drafting or intake tools only where that system's templates or forms fall short.

  • MyCase and PracticePanther publish per-user prices on their own pricing pages. Smokeball, WealthCounsel and HotDocs publish no prices, and LegalGEN publishes prices for two subscription plans.

  • Estate-specific drafting detail is clearest on Smokeball's Grow plan and on LegalGEN's estate planning plan. WealthCounsel is built around estate drafting, but its site shows no prices.

  • Zapier and Make can connect tools, but the firm owns retries, error alerts, access controls and repairs when an API changes.

  • Confirm every figure on the vendor's current page before you decide. Aggregator sites quote different numbers for several of these tools, and this guide does not use them.

How we evaluated these tools

This guide scores seven products against seven weighted criteria. The weights are our judgment about what a solo estate planner needs, not vendor data. The guide reads public vendor pages and independent reviews only, and it does not score hands-on use. Prices come from each vendor's own pricing page. Fit and limits come from independent reviews where we could open them, and from vendor feature pages where the claim is about what a product does. Where a page gives no figure, the tables say so instead of estimating.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries this weight
Estate document drafting fit25%Wills, trusts and powers of attorney are the documents a solo estate planner delivers
Client intake and matter setup20%Re-keying intake data is where estate matters usually stall
Published price clarity15%A tool with no public price cannot be compared on total cost
Integrations and API access15%Connections to calendars, signature and accounting decide how much manual work remains
Setup effort for one person10%A solo firm carries implementation time directly
Security and access controls10%Client identity and trust details sit inside every product here
Trial and evidence access5%Shows whether a buyer can check the product before committing

Drafting and intake carry the most weight because estate work usually stalls there. Price clarity carries 15% because a tool without a published price cannot be compared on total cost. Security carries 10% because these systems hold client identity and trust details, and a buyer should get access controls in writing before signing.

Feature matrix for seven products

ProductEstate draftingClient intakeE-signatureAPI or integration evidence
Clio ManageNot stated in the sources openedNot stated in the sources openedNot stated in the sources openedDeveloper API and webhooks documented
MyCaseDocument Writer with merge fields on Pro; advanced automation on AdvancedIntake forms and leads CRM on Pro and AdvancedBuilt in on Pro and AdvancedGoogle, Microsoft 365 and Zapier integrations on Pro
PracticePantherTemplates described as basic in an independent reviewEmbeddable intake forms on the Business tierListed as a strengthOpen API and Zapier integration
SmokeballAdvanced document automation and practice area templates on GrowIntake is an add-on on Boost and included on Prosper+eSignature on Boost and aboveNot stated in the sources opened
WealthCounselWills, trusts, elder law and business draftingNot stated on the page openedNot statedNot stated
HotDocs (Mitratech)Assembly inside existing word processors, batch generationNot statedNot statedOpen API per vendor
LegalGENAI generates documents from firm templates, with attorney approval before finalizingMobile intake with AI-organized client dataNot mentionedClio, MyCase and WealthCounsel named; API access is an add-on

Read "Not stated" as "not described on the pages opened for this guide," not as "the product lacks it." Confirm those cells in a demo or trial.

The biggest difference in the matrix is tiering, not product type. On MyCase, PracticePanther and Smokeball, the drafting, intake and integration features most estate work needs sit on a higher plan than the entry price suggests. The profiles below name the tier for each.

Published prices and what is missing

Pricing checked October 19, 2026. Figures are per user per month, read from each vendor's own pricing page, and cited where they appear.

Pro plan on MyCase: $100 per user monthly on annual billing according to MyCase. The Basic plan on MyCase is $50 a month on annual billing and $60 on monthly billing, and the Advanced plan is $130 and $150. The FAQ on the same page describes a 10-day no-cost trial, according to MyCase.

The Business Pro plan on PracticePanther is $114 per user a month on annual billing and $124 on monthly billing, and the page describes a 7-day free trial with no credit card needed, according to PracticePanther. On LegalGEN, Smart Intake is $99 a month and Smart Estate Planning is $275 a month, both billed monthly. The page lists a 30-day money-back guarantee but no free trial, according to LegalGEN.

The table below lists only plans with published prices.

VendorPlanAnnual billing, per user per monthMonthly billing, per user per month
MyCaseBasic$50$60
MyCasePro$100$120
MyCaseAdvanced$130$150
PracticePantherSolo$49$59
PracticePantherEssential$69$79
PracticePantherBusiness$89$99
PracticePantherBusiness Pro$114$124

Smokeball's pricing page lists 4 plans, Bill, Boost, Grow and Prosper+, and gives no figures. WealthCounsel and HotDocs route buyers to membership or demo conversations, and Clio's price did not load for this guide. The status table covers all seven products.

VendorPublic pricingFree trialNext step
MyCasePublished per planYesConfirm the tier that includes integrations
PracticePantherPublished per planYesTest template depth during the trial
LegalGENTwo plans publishedNo trial listedAsk for API access pricing
SmokeballQuote-basedNot stated on pricing pageRequest a quote for Grow
WealthCounselNot publishedNot stated on the page openedRequest membership pricing
HotDocs (Mitratech)Not publishedDemo request onlyRequest a demo
Clio ManageNot retrieved for this guideNot retrievedCheck Clio's pricing page directly

Vendor profiles: fit, limits and evidence

Each profile separates what the sources say from our read.

Clio Manage

Sources say: Clio's developer FAQ describes webhooks that start in pending status, need an HTTPS callback, and require the OAuth scope for the model plus a webhooks scope (Clio's developer FAQ). This guide opened no independent review of Clio's drafting or intake, and Clio's pricing page did not load, so Clio's drafting and intake cells stay as "not stated."

Our read: Clio fits a firm that wants to build its own connections on a documented API and can absorb setup time. It has the thinnest evidence of the seven profiles here, so test templates and intake in a trial before you rely on it.

MyCase

Sources say: An independent review, Lawyerist's MyCase review, says Basic has no custom fields, intake management or integrations. Pro adds MyCase Document Writer with merge fields and integrations such as Google, Microsoft 365 and Zapier. Built-in e-signature comes on Pro and Advanced, and the review lists "Simple Document Management" as a con. Several posts on that review page are marked "Sponsored by MyCase."

Our read: MyCase fits a solo who wants practice management, a client portal and e-signature in one application. Budget for Pro if you need integrations or merge-field documents, since Basic lacks both. The review's own caveat is that MyCase suits firms less well when they depend heavily on third-party software.

PracticePanther

Sources say: Lawyerist gives PracticePanther 4.7 out of 5, though it says that rating is "based on our subjective judgment," according to Lawyerist. The same review lists customizability, intake and eSignature as strengths. It lists simple document management and basic templates as cons, and says PracticePanther won't do the job of third-party document assembly, though it can work with such tools through its open API and Zapier. The review says custom intake forms can be embedded on a firm's website on the Business tier.

Our read: PracticePanther fits small firms that want intake and e-signature at a low entry price. The template and document-management criticisms matter most for estate work, so plan to pair it with a drafting tool, or test merge fields with your own will and trust forms during the trial.

Smokeball

Sources say: The same pricing page says pricing depends on the number of users, the selected plan and the contract term, according to Smokeball. The same page places advanced document automation, automated forms and templates, and practice area calculators on Grow, and places eSignature and a client portal on Boost. Its estate planning page says firms can "Enter client information once and automatically populate wills, trusts and powers of attorney."

Our read: Smokeball suits firms that want document automation inside a practice system with Word integration. Bill and Boost do not list advanced document automation, so price Grow specifically. The pricing page's FAQ describes Grow as including a native desktop application, while its feature list names a web app, so ask which one you would get.

WealthCounsel

Sources say: WealthCounsel's site describes cloud drafting software for estate planning, elder law and business law attorneys, sold through membership tiers that include Elite, Trusts & Estates Professional, Elder Law Professional, Essential, and WealthCounsel + LEAP. The drafting scope covers wills and trusts, elder law and special needs planning, business succession, trust administration tools and firearms trusts. The site publishes no prices and directs visitors to demo requests. Its footer names WealthCounsel, LLC, and the site names no parent company.

Our read: WealthCounsel is the drafting specialist for an estate-only practice that wants attorney-written content and continuing education alongside its tools. Ask for membership pricing and whether its documents connect to the practice system you choose, because the site does not say.

HotDocs (Mitratech)

Sources say: Mitratech's HotDocs page describes an assembly product that pulls data into templates, inserts clauses based on business rules, runs inside existing word processors, and offers batch generation, an open API and no-code template configuration. It publishes no prices or plan names, and its only sales language is a demo request.

Our read: HotDocs is an assembly engine, not a practice system. It fits a firm that already runs practice software and wants a deep template library, but plan for a sales conversation and template build-out time before it saves anything.

LegalGEN

Sources say: LegalGEN's solo estate planning page lists mobile, attorney-branded digital intake, AI-organized client data, AI document generation from the firm's templates with attorney review before finalizing, complete trust packages, and integrations with Clio, MyCase and WealthCounsel. It does not mention e-signature. Its pricing page lists API access as an add-on with no price, and it describes will packages per converted client in one place and per package in its FAQ.

Our read: LegalGEN is the closest single product here to an estate-specific intake-and-drafting workflow. Confirm how deep the Clio, MyCase or WealthCounsel integration goes with your practice system, and get the API add-on priced before you assume an automated flow. Any time-savings claim on its site is vendor marketing, and this guide did not verify one.

Where a stitched build or a managed workflow fits

Stitched builds are the real alternative for many solo firms. They are often a Zapier, Make or n8n flow, or a checklist kept by hand, and those tools can be configured well. Zapier's error settings can pause a Zap automatically: Zapier auto-pause: error rate of 95% or more over 7 days according to Zapier. Autoreplay, which retries failed steps, is available on 3 paid Zapier tiers, Professional, Team and Enterprise, and not on Free, according to Zapier. Zapier also notes that Human in the Loop steps will not autoreplay in some configurations.

Make's Academy course lists 5 error handler types, Break, Commit, Ignore, Resume and Rollback, according to Make. Break saves the errored bundle as an incomplete execution so it can be retried, while Commit and Rollback halt the scenario and differ on whether changes already made are kept or reverted. Those are real observability features when configured. What the firm still owns is the set of failures that go quiet: idempotency, so a retried step does not open a second matter; escalation to a named person when a step fails repeatedly; access controls on client data; and repairs when a vendor API changes.

A configurable intake design from US Tech Automations would start when a new intake form arrives in the firm's system (trigger). It would copy the named client fields into a drafting checklist and flag any blank beneficiary or fiduciary field (action), then place a summary in an approval queue for the attorney (output). US Tech Automations' homepage describes a similar gate for drafted customer replies, where you approve, edit or reject each draft before it sends, so the attorney would stay the final reviewer of every client-facing document. Before any build, confirm three prerequisites. First, API or export access to the practice system, because the homepage names Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe, and does not name Clio, MyCase or PracticePanther. Second, a named owner for each approval step. Third, a renewal method for any webhook, because a Clio-style subscription expires.

A second proposed design handles signature follow-up. The trigger is a document marked as sent for signature with no reply after a wait period the firm sets. The action drafts a reminder email in Gmail, and the output is a queued draft for the attorney, with nothing sent until a person approves it. Review points are the wait period, the reminder wording and any message that would mention matter details. This design depends on Gmail access and on a signature status the practice system exposes, and neither is confirmed for the products in this guide.

A proposed US Tech Automations build would differ from a stitched flow mainly in who maintains it and where the approval queue lives. Ask for the run history, retry settings, error alerting, access model and maintenance owner in writing before you assume any of them. A related legal workflow, checklist tracking, is covered in this closing checklist post.

The figures in this table repeat numbers cited earlier in this guide.

ProductPublished figureWhat it means for a buyer
Clio Manage3 days by default, 31 days at most for a webhookRenew each webhook at least every 31 days
Zapier95% error rate over 7 days triggers auto-pauseReview run history at least once every 7 days
Make5 error handler typesEnable incomplete executions before relying on Break
Smokeball4 plans, with document automation on the 3rdRequest a quote for Grow, the 3rd of 4 plans
MyCase3 plans, with integrations from the 2ndBudget for Pro, the 2nd of 3 plans, if you need integrations
LegalGEN2 subscription plans at $99 and $275 a monthCompare the $275 plan against your intake volume

Who this is for and a decision checklist

Who this is for: a solo or near-solo estate planner who already runs a practice system or is choosing one, wants intake and drafting connected, and can name the person who approves each client-facing document.

Red flags: you need a price you can read on a page today, you expect a setup with no configuration, or nobody on your side will own a renewal task or an approval step.

Decision checklist:

  • Name the bottleneck first: intake, drafting, billing or calendars.

  • Confirm in writing which plan tier includes that feature.

  • Test one of your own will or trust templates in a trial or sandbox.

  • Get the integration path in writing, including the API or export it uses.

  • Name the person who approves every client-facing document before go-live.

Common mistakes:

  • Comparing per-user prices with per-package or per-converted-client prices as if they were one unit.

  • Buying the entry tier, then finding that integrations or document automation sit a tier higher.

  • Reading an integration list as proof of a deep connection.

  • Using aggregator prices instead of the vendor's own page.

  • Leaving webhook renewals and error alerts without an owner.

Worked example: 30 estate plans a month

Take an illustrative solo practice that opens 30 new estate plans a month and re-keys each intake by hand at about 20 minutes per client. That is 30 × 20 = 600 minutes, or 10 hours a month. If a configured intake workflow removed half of that re-keying, an assumption to test in a pilot rather than a measured result, the saving would be 5 hours a month, or 60 hours a year. A Clio-linked version would depend on a webhook, and the lifetime rule is Clio webhook lifetime: 3 days by default, 31 days at most according to Clio. The firm must extend the subscription's expires_at before it lapses, so a renewal task that runs at least every 31 days works out to about 12 renewals a year (365 ÷ 31 ≈ 11.8, rounded up to 12).

Frequently asked questions

Is practice management software enough for estate drafting?

Often not on its own. The independent reviews opened for this guide describe basic templates or simple document management in at least two of the practice systems, so most solo estate planners will want a drafting layer for trusts and powers of attorney.

Which product has the lowest published per-user price?

Among plans with published per-user prices in this guide, the lowest is the Solo plan on PracticePanther, listed in the pricing section above. That price is for one user, so multiply it by headcount and check the tier that includes the features you need.

Do any of these products offer a trial before I buy?

Two do on their own pricing pages: PracticePanther and MyCase list free trials with no credit card needed. LegalGEN lists a money-back guarantee rather than a trial, and Smokeball, WealthCounsel and HotDocs route buyers through quotes or demo requests.

Can LegalGEN connect to my practice system?

LegalGEN's solo estate planning page names Clio, MyCase and WealthCounsel as integrations, but it does not describe the depth of any of them. Confirm each connection in writing before you buy, and ask whether the API access it lists as an add-on is needed for your setup.

When is a simpler tool enough instead of US Tech Automations?

Skip a managed build like the one described above when one of three things is true. First, the practice system you already run, such as MyCase Pro, covers document writing and e-signature, and you only need better templates. Second, your whole need is a drafting library, where WealthCounsel or HotDocs fits better than a workflow. Third, your system has no API or export, so any automation would be a manual checklist with a reminder attached. A managed build makes sense only when someone on your side will own renewals, approvals and access reviews.

How much upkeep does a stitched build need?

It needs an owner for each flow, a check after each vendor API change, and a test each time a template changes. Zapier and Make both provide retry and error features, but those still need someone to read run histories and decide what happens when a document step fails.

Making the call

Start with the bottleneck. If you need one system with published per-user prices, compare MyCase and PracticePanther first, and check the tier that includes the integration or document feature you need. If drafting is the bottleneck, look at Smokeball's Grow plan, LegalGEN's estate plan or WealthCounsel's drafting library, and request quotes before you compare. Clio Manage stays on the list for its documented API, but this guide could not confirm its price or its drafting depth. A managed workflow is the last step, not the first. If you want to see how US Tech Automations configures this for approval-based intake, ask for the prerequisites in writing before any build starts.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.