Skip to content
AI & Automation

RPM Software for Small Practices: 7 Vendors Compared for 2027

Oct 20, 2026

Pick the category before the vendor. A small practice running remote patient monitoring (RPM) needs one of three things: a monitoring platform it staffs itself, a managed monitoring service, or a workflow layer that sits above a platform it already has or is about to buy.

RPM software collects readings from patients' home devices, shows them to clinical staff, flags values outside limits you set, and keeps the time records that Medicare RPM codes require. This guide separates vendor-published facts from our analysis, and no vendor in it paid for placement. We profile seven RPM vendors that small practices commonly shortlist, then place US Tech Automations in its own section as a workflow layer, not as an RPM vendor.

TL;DR: Shortlist RPM platforms that connect to your EHR and bill the codes you use, get all-in per-patient fees in writing, and only then compare devices and features.

Key Takeaways

  • Choose on EHR connection and billing-code support first; device lists matter less once those two fail.

  • Few vendors publish per-patient fees, so ask every other vendor for an all-in monthly price per enrolled patient, in writing.

  • Medicare national averages put device supply (99454) and first-20-minute management (99457) at about $52 each, before locality, denials, and staff time.

  • Alert triage is the staff cost that most often breaks small programs, so decide who owns it before you sign.

  • Workflow layers can route RPM data and chase billing tasks, but they only work when the RPM vendor exposes data you can read.

How we weighted the evaluation

We set these criteria and weights before reading vendor pages, so the logic is visible. The weights are our judgment about what drives cost and staff hours in a small practice, not an industry standard, and they favor integration and billing over feature counts.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters
EHR connection to your chart20%Manual re-keying erases the time RPM is meant to save
Billing support for the codes you bill20%A coding error costs more than a license fee
All-in monthly cost per enrolled patient20%Minimums and device fees change the math quickly
Device breadth and cellular connectivity15%Patients need devices that send readings without Wi-Fi pairing
Alert triage and staffing model15%Unowned alerts are a common reason programs fail
Contract transparency and exit terms10%Data export rights and minimums decide what you can leave

Most small practices already run an EHR, so the real question is which one and how deep the connection goes. Office-based physicians with any EHR: 95% according to ONC (2024). That is why the EHR criterion carries the same weight as billing.

What Medicare pays, and which codes your software must capture

CMS pays for RPM in separate pieces: setup and education, device supply with enough days of data, and clinical staff time for treatment management. Table 2 shows approximate national averages from Tenovi's October 4, 2026 summary, which notes that rates vary by locality.

CPT codeWhat it coversApprox. national rateThreshold
99453Initial setup and patient educationabout $22Billed once
99454Device supply and data transmissionabout $52 per 30-day period16 or more days of data
99457Treatment management, first 20 minutes per monthabout $52 per month20 minutes
99458Each additional 20 minutesabout $4120 minutes per unit

Source for Table 2: Tenovi (October 4, 2026), approximate national average non-facility rates.

Medicare 99454 device supply: about $52 per 30 days according to Tenovi (2026). The 99454 rate applies only when the device transmits data on 16 or more days in a 30-day period, so software that cannot prove that day count either leaves revenue unclaimed or creates audit exposure.

The oversight environment matters too. The HHS Office of Inspector General reported that about 43% of Medicare enrollees who received RPM did not receive all three components, according to CMS (2026). Software that records each component with a date gives your billing team evidence it can defend.

Two codes are new for 2026. CPT 99445 covers device supply and transmission for 2 to 15 days in a 30-day period, and CPT 99470 covers the first 10 minutes of treatment management in a calendar month. Vendor summaries we reviewed say 99445 cannot be billed alongside 99454, and 99470 cannot be billed alongside 99457. We could not retrieve the CMS final rule during this research, so confirm descriptors, thresholds, and rates against the CY 2026 physician fee schedule before you configure any code set.

Published prices, and where they stop

Pricing checked October 19, 2026: the per-patient figures below come from Guideflow (updated October 2, 2026) unless we say otherwise, and most vendors publish no price at all.

Public price directories are weaker than they look. Only one of 17 tools lists a numeric product price according to iTechGuides (2026). The top rows of that directory show "Sponsor this spot" prices, which are paid placement rather than vendor fees, and the page says vendors can pay for top positions. Read its order as a paid-placement signal, not a ranking.

Accuhealth publishes the most detailed fees we found: Accuhealth monitoring fee: $20 per patient per month according to Guideflow (2026). That is in addition to a $15 one-time onboarding fee and a $25 device service fee every 30 days. MedM's entry plan carries a minimum: MedM Basic minimum: $100 per month for 10 patients according to Guideflow (2026). We could not confirm either figure on the vendor's own site. Accuhealth's site returned a certificate error during our check, and MedM's homepage lists free trials but no prices.

VendorOne-time feeMonthly per-patient feeStated minimumStatus
Accuhealth$15 onboarding$25 device every 30 days, plus $20 monitoringNone statedGuideflow only; vendor site unreachable in our check
MedMNone stated$10 (Care plans)$100 per month, Basic (10 patients)Guideflow only; not shown on MedM homepage
WellWinkQuoteQuoteQuoteContact vendor
CareSimpleShown after account setupNot publishedNot publishedContact vendor
CoachCareNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedContact vendor
HealthArcNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedContact vendor
PrevounceQuoteQuote, varies by scopeNot publishedContact vendor

Table 4 turns those figures into an illustrative month. It uses national-average Medicare rates and Accuhealth's published fees, before locality, payer mix, denials, and any practice staff time the vendor does not cover. Treat it as a sanity check, not a forecast.

Line item (one month, 40 enrolled patients)Per patient40 patients
Medicare 99454, national average$52$2,080
Medicare 99457, national average, first 20 minutes$52$2,080
Gross national-average Medicare revenue$104$4,160
Accuhealth monthly fees ($25 device + $20 monitoring)$45$1,800
Net before locality, denials, and uncovered staff time$59$2,360

The $15 Accuhealth onboarding fee adds $600 once for 40 new patients. A MedM platform fee of $10 per patient would total $400 a month at 40 patients, but MedM's plan structure needs confirmation before you rely on that figure.

Seven vendors, profiled

Each profile separates what the vendor says from what we could not check. Pricing is quote-only unless noted.

WellWink

  • Best fit: Small and midsize practices that want RPM and chronic care management (CCM) under one vendor, with billing support and compliance documentation. Guideflow positions it for that group.

  • Limitations: The site shows no pricing, and fees are quoted by patient volume and scope. Its 4.8 out of 5 G2 rating rests on two reviews, which is too thin to lean on. The site names no specific EHR or practice management systems.

  • Implementation: Ask for the named integration list and a written fee schedule covering setup, monthly, and device charges, since Guideflow notes these are quoted separately.

  • Evidence: WellWink's site lists "Billing Support & Reporting" and CCM and RPM compliance documentation. Its testimonial about rising monthly revenue is one anecdote, not verified data.

Accuhealth

  • Best fit: Practices that want a per-patient fee with 24/7 clinical monitoring and cellular devices. Guideflow lists the onboarding, device, and monitoring fees shown above.

  • Limitations: Its own site returned a certificate error during our check. Guideflow reports that the homepage now operates as Tellihealth, and the Tellihealth page we read lists no prices and never names Accuhealth. The "24/7 patient monitoring" line gives no detail about who staffs it.

  • Implementation: Confirm the legal entity on the contract and get the monthly per-patient billing terms in writing. Count the onboarding fee in your first-year cost.

  • Evidence: Guideflow's review (updated October 2, 2026) and Tellihealth's site.

MedM

  • Best fit: Practices with a developer or integrator who want device breadth or plan to build their own patient experience. The site describes a DeviceKit SDK for Android and iOS, 1,000+ supported devices, 30+ measurement types, and EMR/EHR integration APIs.

  • Limitations: Guideflow lists $10 per patient per month with a $100 Basic minimum for 10 patients, but the pages we read show no prices. Nothing on them describes a staffed monitoring team or CPT billing support. Guideflow aims MedM at digital-health businesses, which is a fair warning for a clinic without developers.

  • Implementation: Name the developer before you shortlist. The pages we read do not state FHIR support, so ask for supported data standards and a sandbox.

  • Evidence: MedM's homepage and Guideflow's review.

CareSimple

  • Best fit: Practices on Epic or athenahealth that want cellular devices that arrive pre-activated and automated charge capture for 99453, 99454, and 99457. The site describes an Epic app that writes vitals into flowsheets and routes alerts to In Basket.

  • Limitations: The vendor is built for health systems, physician groups, and payers. Practices can order through a Direct-to-Provider option, but no price appears on the site. iTechGuides lists CareSimple at $149 per month in a paid sponsor slot, which is not a product price.

  • Implementation: Before signing, decide whether alerts are triaged in-house, by CareSimple, or split between the two.

  • Evidence: CareSimple's site and iTechGuides' directory.

CoachCare

  • Best fit: Practices where coaching and between-visit engagement are central. The site describes Epic integration through HL7 API Complete for service ordering, discrete vitals, and claims, plus a Dexcom G7 integration.

  • Limitations: The site has no dedicated RPM section and presents RPM as one program among several. It shows "2 of 38 Integrations" and names only Epic as an EHR. Guideflow found the website inaccessible at its check, reported no G2 reviews, and found no published pricing.

  • Implementation: If your EHR is not Epic, get a written list of supported EHRs before the first demo.

  • Evidence: CoachCare's site and Guideflow's review.

HealthArc

  • Best fit: Physician practices with one to 50 providers, and groups that want several CMS program modules on one login. The vendor lists 40+ connected devices and nine CMS program modules and describes bi-directional HL7 FHIR integration.

  • Limitations: The site states no price. A third-party listing gives per-patient ranges we could not verify. Nine modules mean more configuration, and a practice that only runs RPM may end up configuring capability it never uses. Some directories still link healtharc.com, which redirected to a parked-domain page during our check, so confirm the URL with the vendor.

  • Implementation: Ask for the sandbox and API documentation, and confirm which of the ten listed EHR connections match your system version. Those include Epic, athenahealth, and eClinicalWorks.

  • Evidence: HealthArc's site, read in October 2026.

Prevounce

  • Best fit: Practices, FQHCs, rural health clinics, and ACOs that want RPM, CCM, advanced primary care management, and annual wellness visit workflows in one platform, with care managers who enroll and engage patients.

  • Limitations: Quote-only. Guideflow notes the price depends on program scope, patient volume, devices, and optional services. The "easier, more accurate coding and billing" line is vendor marketing we could not test.

  • Implementation: Ask who enrolls patients, who reviews claims before submission, and how data moves into your EHR.

  • Evidence: Prevounce's site and Guideflow's review.

Feature matrix

Cells show what each vendor's own pages or Guideflow state. "Not stated" means we found no claim, not that the feature is absent.

VendorEHR connections namedDevices statedBilling support statedMonitoring staffingPublic price
WellWinkNone namedDevice support, count not statedRPM and CCM billing supportNot statedNone; quote
AccuhealthNot verified (site unreachable)Cellular devices, count not statedFees aligned to 99454, 99457, 99458 (Guideflow)24/7 clinical monitoring (vendor claim)Yes, per Guideflow
MedMEMR/EHR APIs; none named1,000+ via SDKNot stated on pages readSoftware; staffing not stated$10 per patient per month, per Guideflow
CareSimpleEpic, Oracle Health, Meditech, athenahealth, NextGen, eClinicalWorksBlood pressure, glucose, weight, SpO2Charge capture for 99453, 99454, 99457In-house, vendor, or splitNone; quote
CoachCareEpic (HL7 API Complete); no others named2 of 38 integrations shownClaims via Epic integrationNot statedNone published
HealthArcTen named, including Epic and athenahealth40+RPM, CCM, RTM, TCM, PCM, BHI, APCM, MTM, PINNot stated on vendor siteNone published
PrevounceNot namedCellular BP monitors, scales, glucometers, oximetersBilling and compliance trackingCare managers enroll and engageQuote; varies by scope

Who should choose which vendor

VendorChoose it whenThink twice when
WellWinkYou want RPM and CCM from one small-practice vendor and can get fees in writingThe vendor won't name the EHR or PMS connections before signing
AccuhealthYou want per-patient fees with 24/7 clinical monitoringYou can't confirm the contracting entity behind the Accuhealth and Tellihealth names
MedMYou have developers and want device breadth or your own appYou need turnkey monitoring and billing for a clinic with no technical staff
CareSimpleYou run Epic or athenahealth and want cellular devices and charge captureYou can't staff alert triage and don't want enterprise onboarding
CoachCareYour programs are coaching-led and you run EpicYou need a clear RPM-only feature list and published pricing
HealthArcYou run several CMS programs across 1 to 50 providersYou only need RPM and want the simplest setup
PrevounceYou want RPM, CCM, APCM, and wellness visits with enrollment supportYou need a public price before the first call

Who this is for

This guide fits a practice that bills, or plans to bill, RPM codes; has an EHR that software must read from or write to; and can name one staff member who owns alert follow-up. We do not set size thresholds here, because the sources we checked do not support one.

Red flags: no named person owns alert review; the vendor will not put per-patient fees in writing; your EHR is not on the vendor's named integration list.

Where a workflow layer fits

Commercial profile, not scored in any table above: US Tech Automations sells AI automation workflows across back-office functions, plus a managed Performance option. As of our check on October 19, 2026, its Solo plan costs $117 per month for 3 active workflows and one scheduled run per workflow per day. Growth costs $447 per month for 5 workflows and up to six scheduled runs per workflow per day. Scale costs $1,647 per month for 10 workflows, up to 72 scheduled runs per workflow per day, and custom code steps. Yearly billing takes 17% off, and the 14-day trial asks for a card up front. The pricing page does not mention RPM, healthcare, EHRs, or medical billing, so this article claims no RPM-specific capability for it.

A workflow layer helps with the work around an RPM platform: taking exported readings or alerts, routing them to a staff queue, sending a reminder when a device stops transmitting, or chasing overdue patient balances. That design depends on the RPM vendor exposing an export, webhook, or API the flow can read, and on a clinician approving the escalation rules. Ask the RPM vendor for that access before you scope anything, and ask any workflow vendor whether it will sign a business associate agreement before protected health information passes through it.

Worked example (hypothetical): Take a 40-patient panel where 34 patients transmit readings on at least 16 days in a month, so the practice bills 99454 for 34 patients at about $52 each, or $1,768 at national averages before locality adjustments. Suppose the RPM platform exposes HL7 FHIR, as HealthArc describes its integration, and each reading arrives as an Observation.valueQuantity value, with 6 readings a day falling outside thresholds your clinicians set. A proposed flow would route each flag to a staff queue with a two-business-day callback target, escalate any flag still open after three days to the supervising clinician, and write a chart note only after a staff member approves it. Six scheduled runs a day, if spaced evenly, means about four hours between checks, which is too slow for urgent readings, so urgent thresholds belong in the device platform's own alerts.

The realistic alternative for most small practices is not doing nothing. It is stitching the flow together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors, and log outcomes when they are configured. What the buyer has to design and own is observability, idempotency (so a retried alert does not create two tasks), escalation rules, access controls, retention periods, and maintenance when an API changes. A US Tech Automations design would differ in what it configures rather than in what is possible: scheduled runs bounded by the plan tier, a named workflow owner, and a human review point before anything reaches a chart or a patient. Confirm what run history and audit logs your plan includes, because this article does not verify them.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a workflow layer if your RPM vendor's own alert queue and billing report already cover your only workflow, because a layer adds cost without a job to do. Skip it if the RPM vendor exposes no export, webhook, or API, since a layer above a closed platform has nothing to read. Skip it for clinical triage or after-hours response, which need a staffed monitoring service rather than an automation tool.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing per-patient fees without adding device, onboarding, and minimum charges.

  • Assuming the platform bills the codes you use; check 99453, 99454, 99457, and 99458, plus the 2026 additions, against your own claims.

  • Treating EHR integration claims as fact before a sandbox test passes.

  • Leaving alert ownership undefined until the first missed reading.

  • Ignoring the 16-day threshold for 99454 when patients stop transmitting mid-month.

  • Reading directory order as a ranking when top placements can be paid.

Glossary

  • Remote patient monitoring (RPM): Collecting and reviewing health readings from patients at home, with clinical follow-up.

  • Chronic care management (CCM): Non-visit care coordination for patients with multiple chronic conditions, billed under its own codes.

  • Device supply (99454): Equipment and data transmission billed for 16 or more days of readings in a 30-day period.

  • Treatment management (99457, 99458): Clinical staff time billed in 20-minute blocks in a calendar month.

  • Alert triage: Staff review of out-of-range readings and decisions about who responds.

  • Cellular device: A monitor that sends readings over a mobile network, without Wi-Fi or Bluetooth pairing.

  • FHIR: An HL7 standard for exchanging health data; fields appear as resources and elements such as Observation.valueQuantity.

  • Business associate agreement (BAA): The HIPAA contract a vendor signs before it handles protected health information for you.

Frequently asked questions

How much does remote patient monitoring software cost per patient per month?

Where per-patient fees are published (by Guideflow), they range from $10 per month for MedM's Care plan to about $45 per month for Accuhealth's device and monitoring fees, according to Guideflow's October 2026 review. Most other vendors require a quote, so ask for an all-in figure per enrolled patient.

What is RPM software per patient per month?

It is a recurring fee charged for each enrolled patient, often split into device, monitoring, and platform lines. Compare vendors on that all-in number, and check for monthly minimums such as MedM's $100 Basic plan for 10 patients.

Which RPM billing codes should the software support?

At minimum, it should support 99453, 99454, 99457, and 99458. If your payers and vendor support them, add the 2026 codes 99445 and 99470, and confirm against the CY 2026 physician fee schedule before you configure anything.

Is remote patient monitoring practical for a small clinic?

It can be, when the Medicare rate and any staff time comfortably exceed the vendor's per-patient fee. At national averages, 99454 and 99457 together come to about $104 per patient per month when both are billed in the same month, before locality, denials, and staff time.

Should a small practice choose a managed service or a self-serve platform?

Choose self-serve only if you have staff who can triage alerts every business day. If you cannot staff that role, a managed monitoring service with clear alert-handling terms is the safer choice.

Does a workflow tool need a business associate agreement?

Yes, if the tool will create, receive, maintain, or transmit protected health information on your behalf. Get a signed business associate agreement before go-live, and confirm the vendor's position in writing, because this article did not verify it for any workflow vendor.

Next step

If you are mapping which tasks sit above your RPM platform, list how many checks your workflow needs per day, then see whether a workflow layer with scheduled-run limits fits that number.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.