Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best Self-Guided Tour Software for Apartments 2027: 6 Picks

Oct 19, 2026

Decide the category first

If your team misses tour requests after hours, buy a self-guided tour product that controls the door, not a scheduling form that emails the leasing office. Self-guided tour software lets a prospect book a visit, pass an identity check and enter a unit with no staff present, using an access code that works only inside an approved window and leaves a record of who came in. A booking calendar does none of those things, so comparing it with door-control products means comparing two different purchases.

TL;DR: pick the lock, lockbox or intercom you already run or can fund, shortlist the vendors whose integrations you can confirm in writing, and budget only from published prices or a signed quote.

Key Takeaways

  • Start with the lock, not the booking page. A tour app without door control is a booking form, so confirm which hardware you will use before you compare features.

  • Budget only from published numbers. Rently and ShowMojo publish plan prices, while Tour24, SmartRent and ButterflyMX are Quote-based in this review.

  • Ask how a failed ID check is handled. Most products here describe an identity or screening step before access, but none of the pages we read explains the failure path.

  • Treat a logo on an integrations page as a claim. Ask for the named integration, the version it runs on, and who maintains the connection.

  • Use vendor pages for prices and features, and outside sources for demand. Date-check every figure before it goes into a budget.

How we evaluated these tools

This guide covers six products a buyer can find on the vendor's own site today: Tour24, Rently, SmartRent Self-Guided Tours, ShowMojo, ButterflyMX and RemoteLock. RemoteLock is included as an access layer because a booking app without door control leaves the hardest step unsolved. We dropped Pynwheel because its current site describes a touchscreen leasing tool rather than a self-tour product, and we left out Entrata because its self-tour documentation pages would not load during this review.

We scored fit against six weighted criteria. Access control carries the most weight because a self-guided tour fails at the door, not in the booking form. The weights are our judgment, not vendor data.

CriterionWeightScaleWhy it matters
Physical access control (lock compatibility, time-limited codes, entry logs)25%0-5 pointsA tour that cannot open the right door, or cannot close it afterward, fails both the prospect and the owner.
Prospect identity check and screening15%0-5 pointsUnverified visitors create liability, so the check should run before a code is issued.
Published pricing and cost transparency20%0-5 pointsA buyer who cannot see a price cannot compare vendors without a sales cycle.
Named fit with your PMS and CRM20%0-5 pointsTour data that stays in the app creates a second system to reconcile.
Implementation effort and hardware required10%0-5 pointsHardware you must buy or install adds cost and delay.
Independent evidence (outside data or reviews)10%0-5 pointsVendor-only claims are weaker evidence than survey or reviewer data.

Facts in the sections that follow come from vendor pages or from two outside sources: a 2024 renter survey by the National Multifamily Housing Council and Grace Hill, and iTechGuides, a software review site. Our analysis is labeled as analysis. iTechGuides says vendors can pay for higher positions in its rankings, so we did not use its scores or rankings anywhere in this guide. The survey is the only independent demand figure we could open: Self-guided tour preference: 38% in 2024 according to Multifamily Executive (2024), down from 39% in 2022.

What each product publishes

Each row records what the vendor's own pages say. A "Not stated" cell is a finding, not a gap we filled in, so the question goes on your vendor call list.

ProductProspect bookingID checkAccess methodHardware you buyIntegrations namedPricing status
Tour24Prospects book tours in the appVerifies identityPhone-based or connected access systemsNot statedBrivo, ButterflyMX, EliseAI (per iTechGuides)Quote-based
RentlySmart scheduling; self-guided touring included on StandardEvery prospect screened before accessLockbox code or one-time code per showingLockbox or smart lock, bought or leased separatelyPMS and CRM sync (Standard); Open API (Premium)Published for Standard and Premium
SmartRent Self-Guided ToursNot described on the product pageAutomated ID verificationCode automatically invalidated when the tour endsSmart locks, lockboxes and other devicesEntrata, RealPage, Yardi, Resman and others, not confirmed for this productQuote-based
ShowMojoScheduling covers in-person and self-guided toursConfirms identity and runs security checks before accessKeypad or app code, limited by hours or daysShowMojo's MojoLock and MojoBox; third-party devices carry a feeProperty management software and ZapierPublished per unit and per listing
ButterflyMXThrough the booking software you chooseArticle advises ID and card at bookingVisitor Pass or PIN at smart video intercomIntercom, keypads, smart locks or key lockersNot stated in the articleQuote-based
RemoteLockNot a booking productNot statedDoor-control platform; feature detail not confirmedPriced per doorNot confirmed in this reviewPublished for Premium; quote for Enterprise+

Two patterns stand out. Most pages describe an identity step, but none explains what happens when a check fails. Hardware is either sold by the vendor or left for you to source, and that choice moves the budget more than the software line does. ShowMojo names its own MojoLock and MojoBox, while Rently's Standard plan requires a lockbox or smart lock that you buy or lease separately, and ButterflyMX's setup relies on a smart video intercom with keypads and locks.

Pricing and total cost

Only vendor pricing pages count as price sources in this guide. Checked October 19, 2026. Where a vendor shows no figure, the table says Quote-based and we do not estimate one.

ProductPlanPublished pricePool or tier sizeBilling basis
RentlyStandard$28 per listing credit100 credits = $2,800 a year1 credit per active listing per month
RentlyPremium$37 per listing credit100 credits = $3,700 a year1 credit per active listing per month
ShowMojoPro (unit-based)$1.30 per unitTiers start at 50 unitsAnnual billing; per-unit period not stated
ShowMojoUltra (unit-based)$2.70 per unitTiers start at 50 unitsAnnual billing; per-unit period not stated
ShowMojoPro (listing-based)$50 per listingTiers start at 2 listingsBilling period not stated
ShowMojoUltra (listing-based)$110 per listingTiers start at 2 listingsBilling period not stated
ShowMojoAccess device fee$3.50 per deviceNot statedMonthly
RemoteLockMultifamily PremiumFrom $6 per doorContact for pricing at 10+ doors$7.50 monthly; annual contract at $6
RemoteLockProperty Operations package$10 per unitNot statedPer month, per FAQ

Standard plan on Rently: $28 per listing credit according to Rently (2026). The 100-credit annual pool is $2,800 and the Premium plan is $37 per listing credit, or $3,700 for 100 credits, on that page. The Pro plan on ShowMojo costs $1.30 per unit and the Ultra plan costs $2.70 per unit on annual billing, according to ShowMojo (2026), though the page does not say whether the unit rate is monthly or annual. The Multifamily Premium plan on RemoteLock is from $6 per door per month on an annual contract and $7.50 monthly, according to RemoteLock (2026).

Hardware is the line most likely to move a quote. Rently does not publish lockbox or smart-lock prices on its pricing page, and ButterflyMX publishes no prices at all.

ProductPricing statusWhat to get in writingWatch for
Tour24Quote-basedPrice basis, plan tier and integration list for your locksOperator pricing and plan tiers require contact with sales
RentlyPublished for Standard and Premium; MAX and portfolio plans quote-basedLockbox or smart-lock price and the 150-credit tier priceHardware is bought separately and not priced on the pricing page
SmartRent Self-Guided ToursQuote-basedWhether the product runs without other SmartRent productsThe page pairs it with Answer Automation, Smart Apartments and Parking Management
ShowMojoPublished per unit and per listingWhether unit rates are monthly or annual, and which third-party devices qualifyLock brands named on its smart-lock page are its own
ButterflyMXQuote-basedHardware list, access-window length and booking connectionThe article gives no access-window length
RemoteLockPublished for Premium; Enterprise+ quote-basedWhich plan covers your door count, and whether tour codes are includedPremium may need a sales contact at 10 or more doors

A worked cost example

Assume, for illustration only, a team with 8 active listings on Rently's Standard plan and 30 booked self-guided tours a month. Rently counts one credit per active listing per month, according to Rently (2026), so 8 listings use 96 credits a year (8 × 12), which fits inside the 100-credit annual pool. At 12 listings the team needs 144 credits (12 × 12), 44 credits over the pool, and the page does not publish the price of the 150-credit tier, so the quote decides that cost. On the CRM side, if each booked tour creates or updates one contact through POST /crm/v3/objects/contacts and sets hs_lead_status, the sync writes 30 records a month, or 360 a year (30 × 12), and the CRM subscription is a separate line to check. Those identifiers come from HubSpot's contacts API documentation, which lists hs_lead_status as a contact property.

Vendor profiles

Each profile lists the best fit, the limits we found on the vendor's own pages, the implementation work, and the evidence behind the claims.

Tour24

Best fit: multifamily operators who want a dedicated self-guided app with admin tools for vacant units and analytics. Tour24 was founded in 2020, according to iTechGuides (2026), and iTechGuides describes an admin portal covering tour management, vacant-unit management, access coordination and analytics.

Limits: pricing is "Pricing on request," and plan tiers require contact with sales. iTechGuides also says Tour24 is best suited to multifamily showing workflows rather than broad property types, and that access features depend on compatible property and unit-entry systems.

Implementation: iTechGuides reports integrations with Brivo, ButterflyMX and EliseAI, according to iTechGuides (2026). The vendor's home page names no specific systems, so get your lock or intercom confirmed on that list in writing, then ask how entry works at doors that are not connected.

Evidence: a directory listing that says vendors can pay for placement, with no reader reviews yet.

Rently

Best fit: teams that want listing syndication, self-guided access and leasing automation from one vendor, and that will buy lockboxes or smart locks. Standard includes syndication, smart scheduling for agent-led tours and PMS and CRM sync. Premium adds an AI leasing agent and an Open API, per the pricing page.

Limits: hardware sits outside the plan price, and the Multifamily and MAX plans are quote-based. Rently's self-guided tour page quotes renter statistics without naming a source, so we did not rely on them.

Implementation: screening runs before access, and the page says "Every prospect is screened before access is granted." Choose between a Classic Lockbox, which the page says works with CodeBox and SentriGuard, and a Smart Bolt Elite lock, which issues one-time codes per showing and needs no hub.

Evidence: vendor pages only.

SmartRent Self-Guided Tours

Best fit: operators who already run SmartRent hardware or plan a smart-home stack and want automated ID checks and codes that end when the tour ends. The product page says prospects need no app download, several showings can run at once, and the code is automatically invalidated once the tour ends.

Limits: the page offers "Let's Talk" and a virtual demo, not prices. It does not describe the booking flow, and it lists the product alongside other SmartRent offerings, so ask whether it runs on its own.

Implementation: the integration logos on the page are general, so ask which PMS and CRM connect to this product specifically, and which locks and lockboxes it supports.

Evidence: the vendor's product page. We found no outside review of the product.

ShowMojo

Best fit: small and mid-size firms that want listing syndication, lead follow-up and self-showings in one platform, billed per unit or per listing. Its smart-lock page says prospects enter with a keypad or app code that can be limited to specific hours or days.

Limits: the pricing page does not say whether the unit rate is monthly or annual. The smart-lock page names only ShowMojo's own locks, MojoLock and MojoBox, while the pricing page lists a third-party device fee. Ask which third-party devices qualify.

Implementation: Access device fee on ShowMojo: $3.50 per device according to ShowMojo (2026), which also lists the MojoBox digital lockbox from $64 and the MojoLock smart lock from $85 on the same page, and a third-party device at $5.00 per month. Confirm lock compatibility before you buy hardware. The Ultra plan adds self-showing access assistance and a live answering service, so ask which one fits a building with no on-site staff.

Evidence: vendor pages. We did not find an outside review we could open.

ButterflyMX

Best fit: buildings with a smart video intercom, and staff who want visitor passes, arrival alerts and a door log for every tour. ButterflyMX's self-showing article describes a PIN or QR code entered at the intercom, a photo of each person who enters, and staff notifications.

Limits: pricing is not published, and the ButterflyMX site routes buyers to a free quote. The article gives no access-window length. Its setup list includes an intercom, keypads at shared spaces, smart locks or key lockers, and elevator integration if your building uses fob-controlled elevators.

Implementation: the article recommends choosing your own booking software, so decide where bookings live, then get the access-window length and the booking connection in writing.

Evidence: vendor material only. The article's only numbers are the company's own product claims.

RemoteLock

Best fit: operators who already run RemoteLock on their doors and want a lock layer under a separate tour app. It is not a booking product, so pair it with one.

Limits: the pricing page says Premium may need a sales contact for portfolios with 10 or more doors, and Enterprise+ is "contact sales." Our review did not confirm the self-tour features on RemoteLock's pages, so ask for code and entry-log features in writing.

Implementation: count doors, not units, before you ask for a quote, because Premium is priced per door. The Property Operations package on RemoteLock is $10 per unit per month, a figure that appears only in the page's FAQ, according to RemoteLock (2026).

Evidence: vendor pricing page. We found no outside review we could open.

Who this is for

This guide fits operators with after-hours tour demand who already have, or can fund, a door-control system and a CRM they can connect.

Red flags: you have no door hardware and no budget to add it; most of your tours are staffed and few prospects ask for after-hours access; your CRM is not on any vendor's named list, and nobody on staff can build or maintain the connection.

ProductChoose it ifSkip it if
Tour24You want a dedicated self-guided app with vacant-unit and analytics tools, and you will request a quoteYou need a published price before any sales call
RentlyYou want listing syndication, self-guided access and leasing automation from one vendor, and you will buy lockboxes or smart locksYou need hardware costs included in the plan price
SmartRent Self-Guided ToursYou run or plan SmartRent hardware and want ID checks plus codes that expire at tour endYou need a standalone tool with a published price
ShowMojoYou want per-unit or per-listing pricing with self-showings and listing syndication in one productYou run third-party locks and cannot confirm the device fee in writing
ButterflyMXYour buildings already use a smart video intercom, and you want visitor passes and door logsYou want a booking-first tool with no building hardware
RemoteLockYou already run RemoteLock on your doors and need a lock layer under a separate tour appYou expect the lock platform to handle booking and prospect marketing

Where the tour data breaks, and a proposed fix

The hardest part of a self-guided tour is the handoff, not the first booking. The tour app records a visit, the lock records an entry, and the CRM records a lead, and nobody ties the three together. A proposed US Tech Automations workflow could connect them, but only if the tour app and lock platform expose booking and entry data, and it never replaces the human checks that protect the property.

Trigger: a tour is booked in the tour app. Action: the workflow creates or updates the prospect in your CRM and sets hs_lead_status to the value your team uses for booked tours. Output: a summary to the leasing lead with the unit, the time window and the ID-check status. Prerequisites: a booking export or webhook from the tour app, and a CRM access token with permission to write contacts. Human review: a staff member approves any ID exception before a code is issued, and the design leaves code issuance with the access system.

Trigger: a tour ends or is cancelled. Action: the workflow asks the lock platform to revoke any unused code and compiles the entry log for that tour. Output: a follow-up draft and a weekly exception list. Prerequisites: the lock platform must expose a revoke call and entry logs. We did not verify that for every product here, so check before you buy. Human review: staff read the entry log each week and approve any follow-up that mentions price or lease terms.

Building it in Zapier, Make or n8n, or buying the workflow

Most readers' real alternative is stitching this together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency (so a repeated booking event does not create a duplicate contact), escalation, access controls and maintenance after each vendor API change.

A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same trigger, action and output chain with run histories, retries and a shared exception queue, so staff can see failed syncs in one place. The prerequisites do not change: API or export access from the tour app and lock platform, a named owner for exceptions, and a review schedule someone keeps. Clinics face the same booking-and-identity pattern, so the healthcare patient self-scheduling comparison is a useful cross-check on identity steps.

Decision checklist

  • Confirm in writing that your lock, lockbox or intercom is on the vendor's supported list.

  • Get the ID-failure path and the access-window length before you sign.

  • Ask whether unused codes are revoked when a tour is cancelled, and how long entry logs are kept.

  • Put the unit basis on every quote: per unit, per listing, per door or per device, and monthly or annual.

  • Name the CRM or PMS field that receives each tour record, and the person who owns the sync.

  • Price hardware separately from software on every quote.

  • Review listing copy and tour scripts line by line before they go live, using our writing tools comparison to choose the tool.

  • If an outside agency writes your listing copy, check its review steps against our agency writing tools comparison.

Common mistakes

  • Buying software before confirming the lock hardware, then finding the plan excludes it.

  • Comparing a per-unit rate with a per-listing rate as if they were the same unit.

  • Reading a logo on an integrations page as a live connection.

  • Skipping the identity step to cut booking friction, then having no record of who entered.

  • Using a vendor's renter statistics in a budget case without finding the original source.

  • Checking entry logs only after a complaint instead of on a set schedule.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a lock system before I buy self-guided tour software?

Yes, in most cases, because a booking tool can schedule a visit but the code still has to open a door. Rently's Standard plan, for example, requires a lockbox or smart lock that you buy or lease separately.

Which vendors publish prices?

Rently and ShowMojo publish plan prices, and RemoteLock publishes Premium prices with a sales-contact caveat for larger portfolios. Tour24, SmartRent Self-Guided Tours and ButterflyMX are Quote-based in this review.

Is an unverified prospect a real risk?

Yes, and the answer depends on settings you can check. Confirm that the identity check runs before a code is issued and what happens when it fails, because none of the pages we read explains the failure path.

Do I need a workflow layer such as US Tech Automations?

Only if your tour app and CRM cannot exchange booking data without someone copying it by hand. When not to use US Tech Automations: skip it if the tour app already writes to your CRM natively, if you have no door hardware to connect, or if you book only a few staffed tours a month and a shared calendar covers the work.

Can a lock platform like RemoteLock or ButterflyMX replace a tour app?

Not by itself. Both control doors, and ButterflyMX's own article tells buyers to choose their booking software separately. Our review found no prospect-booking feature on RemoteLock's pages.

What should I get in writing before I sign?

Get the unit basis, the hardware list, the named integrations for your PMS and CRM, the identity-failure path and the access-window length. At least one vendor in this guide leaves each of these unpublished.

Make the shortlist this week

Start with the door. Confirm the lock, lockbox or intercom you will use, request written quotes from every Quote-based vendor, and put the unit basis on the same page as the price. Shortlist two products that match your access setup, then test the ID-failure path and code expiry with your own staff in one building before you roll out. If you want a sequence for connecting each tour record to your CRM, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.