Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best Smart Lock Software for Turnovers: 6 Compared in 2027

Oct 19, 2026

Pick the category before the vendor

Smart lock software for rental turnovers is the cloud layer that creates time-limited door codes for each cleaner, handyman, or guest and removes them when the job or stay ends. Most small operators should choose a category before a brand, because each category fails at turnover in a different place.

Lock-platform clouds pair a lock line with an app and a turnover-oriented plan. They are the simplest to run, but you are tied to that vendor's hardware list. Property access platforms are built for larger buildings and shared entries, and they route pricing through sales. Developer APIs give you the lock-control layer and leave the turnover logic, logs and removal checks to your own build.

Our read: if your portfolio is furnished units with keyless locks and no engineer, start with a lock-platform cloud. If you run shared entries across several buildings, price a property access platform. Choose a developer API only if someone on your team will own the code. If showings and access share one system, our guide to showing automation tools for rental properties covers that overlap, and the rental listing automation platform comparison covers the listing side.

TL;DR: Shortlist RemoteLock and igloohome if you want published rates to compare. Treat SmartRent, Brivo, and DOOR as quote-only purchases that need written answers before you compare them. Use Seam only if an engineer will build on it.

Key Takeaways

  • Choose a category first: lock-platform cloud, property access platform, or developer API. Each one fails at turnover in a different place.

  • RemoteLock and igloohome publish entry rates on their own pricing pages. SmartRent, Brivo, and DOOR do not, so their costs need written quotes.

  • RemoteLock places checkout and turnover management on its Enterprise tier for vacation rentals, not on Premium, so budget for the tier that includes it.

  • Seam publishes per-device pricing and full API access, and its access codes support create, list, delete and timed calls. You build the scheduling, reconciliation and alerts on top.

  • Zapier, Make, n8n, or in-house code can work if you own retries, duplicate-code prevention, escalation, and access rules. A proposed US Tech Automations design would add an approval queue and an exception log to the same steps.

How we evaluated these tools

This guide is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, independent reviews, and trade press. We did not open accounts or install hardware, so each claim either comes from a page we read or is labeled as our reading. We weighted the criteria toward the failure that costs money: a cleaner or guest who still has a working code after the job ends.

CriterionWeight (%)Scale (0–5)Why it matters for turnovers
Time-bound and per-person codes25%0–5A code per job or stay that ends on its own prevents stale access.
Turnover and checkout workflow20%0–5Cleaning and repair handoffs need a schedule, not a manual reminder.
Published price and billing clarity20%0–5A quote-only price cannot be compared until you hold written numbers.
Hardware dependency15%0–5Retrofits and bridges change both cost and what works offline.
Activity logs and exports10%0–5Logs show who entered and when, which settles disputes.
Setup effort and vendor support10%0–5Long implementations stall turnovers during rollout.

We did not assign numeric scores to vendors. The weights explain the order of the analysis, and no vendor is ranked on a figure we could not source.

Feature matrix: what each page states

The matrix separates what each vendor's pages say from what they leave out. "Not stated" means the page we opened did not say it, not that the feature does not exist.

VendorTime-bound codesPer-person or per-job codesTurnover or checkout featuresActivity logsAPI or integrations
RemoteLockYes, guest codes have a set durationYes, cleaner and guest codesEnterprise tier: checkout and turnover managementYes on Premium: activity logs and exportsPMS integrations on Premium
igloohome (iglooworks)Yes, time-limited PINs for visitors and contractorsPresets assign doors per residentBulk onboarding and revocation of visitor passesDashboard tracking in PM ModeAPI and SDK on Enterprise
SeamYes, codes take start and end times (starts_at/ends_at)Not described; you define itNone; developer API onlyWebhooks on every bundleFull API access on every bundle
SmartRentYes, temporary codes for maintenanceGuest codes for residentsCredentials revoked at move-out when integrated with a PMSNot stated on the page we openedNot stated on the page we opened
BrivoRole-based access by site and scheduleRoles for staff and contractorsNot described for turnoversAccess logs and reportsDocumented open APIs
DOORNot verified on pages we openedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedPlatform integrations listed

Facts first: RemoteLock's vacation rental Premium plan lists PMS integrations, activity logs and exports, and guest codes with a set duration, and its Enterprise tier adds checkout and turnover management. SmartRent's lock page says credentials are revoked at move-out when locks integrate with a PMS. Brivo's product page lists role-based permissions by site and schedule and documented open APIs.

Our read: the two features that matter most for turnovers are scheduled removal and a record of who entered and when. RemoteLock and SmartRent name removal behavior on their pages. Brivo names logs but not turnover removal, and Seam leaves both to you. Confirm each one in writing against your own checkout times.

Pricing and total cost

Public pricing is uneven. Two vendors publish entry rates, and three route you to sales. Table 3 shows the entry plan we checked for each vendor and a simple monthly cost for a 12-lock example. That cost is arithmetic on the published rate, not a quote.

VendorPlan checkedLocks in examplePublished priceMonthly math for 12 locksSource
RemoteLockPremium, vacation rental, annual billing12from $6 per door per month12 × $6 = $72according to RemoteLock
igloohomeEnterprise (iglooworks software)12from $5 per active smart lock per month12 × $5 = $60according to igloohome
SeamStandard bundle12from $5.00 per device per month12 × $5.00 = $60according to Seam
SmartRentAlloy lock and access platform12Quote-basedQuote-basedaccording to SmartRent
BrivoStandard plan12Quote-basedQuote-basedaccording to STR Specialist
DOORPlatform and hardware12Quote-basedQuote-basedaccording to DOOR

Pricing checked October 19, 2026. Figures come from each vendor's own pricing page, except the Brivo row. Brivo's pricing URL returned an error when we checked, so that row relies on the STR Specialist review, which lists the Standard plan as custom pricing with a contact-for-quote note.

The step-up matters more than the entry rate for turnovers. Enterprise tier, annual billing: from $12 per door per month according to RemoteLock (2026). The vacation rental Enterprise tier is where checkout and turnover management appears, so the Premium rate alone understates the turnover cost. RemoteLock's page also prices monthly billing higher than annual, mentions an Enterprise + tier that is quote-based, and words its guest-code limit differently for annual and monthly plans. Ask for that limit in writing.

Worked example (illustrative, not a quote): take a 12-lock portfolio where each turnover issues codes for a cleaner and a maintenance visitor. Seam, which starts at $5.00 per device per month for the Standard bundle and includes 50 credits per device, bills issuing codes costs 2 credits per lock per month according to Seam (2026). Twelve locks at $5.00 comes to $60 a month. Issuing codes on all twelve uses 24 credits (12 × 2) from a pooled 600 (12 × 50), so the example stays inside the bundle under those assumptions. Build cost is separate: seam.access_codes.create returns a record with an access_code_id your system must store, and Seam also provides list and delete calls (seam.access_codes.delete) plus start and end times, so you build the scheduling, reconciliation and alerts on top.

Seam example itemCalculationResult
Monthly Standard bundle cost for 12 devices12 × $5.00$60
Credits used to issue codes on 12 locks12 × 224
Pooled credits in the bundle12 × 50600
Credits left after issuing codes600 − 24576

Three rows are Quote-based. That is not a judgment of quality. It means you cannot compare them against published rates until a written quote gives your door count, hardware, and any installation charge.

Vendor profiles

Each profile covers best fit, limitations, implementation, and the primary page we read.

RemoteLock

Best fit: operators running vacation rentals who want codes issued to cleaners, handymen, and guests, and who use a property system that RemoteLock connects to. The Premium vacation rental plan covers automated credentials for unit doors, PMS integrations with email notifications, activity logs and exports, and time-limited guest codes.

Limitations: the top tier is quote-based, and the multifamily plan requires contacting sales for larger door counts. The page words the guest-code limit differently for annual and monthly billing, and its commercial plans mix per-door and per-unit wording. Confirm each of these before you sign.

Implementation: connect your property system first, confirm your lock model is on RemoteLock's supported list, then pilot one unit. Check that a cleaner's code stops working when the job ends before you roll out the rest of the portfolio.

Primary evidence: the RemoteLock pricing page cited in the table above.

iglooworks, from igloohome

Best fit: operators with keyless locks who want offline PIN codes and per-lock billing. The free app suits a small number of locks with one login and no permission levels. The Enterprise tier adds role-based permissions, bulk onboarding, lock grouping, and an API and SDK.

Limitations: the pricing page does not name its currency, and Enterprise prices vary by device. igloohome's PM Mode post targets multifamily managers, describes no property-system integrations, and gives conflicting launch dates. Ask for the current date and integration list in writing.

Implementation: confirm the lock model you need and whether remote changes require a bridge. Then build access presets for each unit type, so new residents and visitors receive the right doors without manual setup. The PM Mode presets and time-limited visitor PINs are the features most relevant to turnover.

Primary evidence: the igloohome pricing page cited in the table above.

Seam

Best fit: a team with an engineer who will build turnover logic on a developer API. Seam's pricing page says the Standard bundle suits "operations issuing credentials weekly: short-term rentals, hospitality, lock fleets," and every bundle includes full API access and webhooks.

Limitations: Seam is a building block, not a turnover product. Its access-code API provides create, list, delete and timed codes (starts_at/ends_at) and an AccessCode object, and you build the scheduling, reconciliation, and alerts on top. Support tiers are priced annually on the same pricing page, so plan for that line item.

Implementation: call seam.access_codes.create for each person and store the returned access_code_id. In JavaScript, seam.accessCodes.list lets you check for codes still active after checkout. Treat the cost math above as the floor, not the total.

Primary evidence: the Seam pricing page and access-code docs cited in this section.

SmartRent

Best fit: multifamily and rental operators who want PIN codes, guest codes, and maintenance codes in one system. The lock page says staff can create temporary codes for repair visits and that credentials are revoked at move-out when locks integrate with a PMS. The Alloy Deadbolt is a Z-Wave lock, and the Alloy Deadbolt+ adds Apple Wallet.

Limitations: no list price is published, and the lock page routes you to "Talk to Sales." Third-party brand logos for Kwikset, Salto, and Yale appear in its integrations section, but the page does not describe them as SmartRent lock products. Ask in writing whether your installed locks are supported.

Implementation: confirm hardware compatibility and the PMS integration, then run a move-out test on one unit before you change the rest.

Primary evidence: SmartRent's lock page.

Brivo

Best fit: larger or controlled-access properties. Brivo's product page lists role-based permissions by site and schedule, access logs and reports, and documented open APIs. STR Specialist's review says Brivo is best for larger operations managing multiple buildings or gated communities.

Limitations: pricing is quote-based. The same STR Specialist review calls Brivo overkill for single-unit properties without controlled access and says its Enterprise pricing is not cost-effective for small operations. Some third-party reviews print per-door figures. We left them out because Brivo does not publish them, and Brivo's own mobile-credential FAQ points buyers to a Brivo representative.

Implementation: before the call, prepare a door count, a list of installed locks, and any integration needs. Ask whether the quote includes installation, because a quote can exclude it.

Primary evidence: Brivo's access control page.

DOOR, formerly Latch

Best fit: residential operators who want locks, readers, intercoms, and smart-home sensors from one vendor. The lineup includes the C2 Smart Lock, the M3 Mortise Smart Lock, and the M2 Mortise Smart Lock, running on DOOR OS and the DOOR App.

Limitations: the pricing path is a sales request with no published prices. The pages we opened do not confirm turnover code issuance, scheduled removal, activity logs, or exports, so treat those as open questions. DOOR rebrand announced: August 14, 2025 according to SecurityInfoWatch (2025). The legal name Latch, Inc. and the ticker LTCH did not change, so searches for Latch still lead here.

Implementation: before a site visit, request written answers on code expiry, removal triggers, log exports, and PMS integrations.

Primary evidence: DOOR's sales page.

Where a workflow layer fits the turnover handoff

Lock software answers who can enter. The turnover problem is the sequence around it: a booking changes, someone creates a code, the cleaner gets it, someone confirms it works, and the code ends. US Tech Automations describes its work as a managed outcome, with configurable logic, visual builder templates, and an approval queue for drafts. Below are two proposed, configurable designs for this sequence. They describe what could be built, not a deployed system.

Proposed workflow A runs from booking to code. The trigger is a new stay or a scheduled clean that appears in your calendar or a PMS export. The action creates a request with the unit, the person, a start time, and an end time. If the lock platform has a public API, the workflow makes the call; on Seam that call is seam.access_codes.create. If it has no API, the workflow creates a task for a person to create the code in the vendor's app. The output is a turnover log row with the unit, the code's identifier, and the removal time, plus a draft message to the cleaner. Prerequisites are calendar or PMS export access, a lock-platform API or a documented manual path, and one named owner. Human review sits at two points: a person approves each draft before it sends, and someone tests the code at the door on the first use for each unit.

Proposed workflow B runs at checkout. The trigger is checkout time passing for a unit. The action lists active codes for that unit; on Seam the JavaScript call is seam.accessCodes.list. The output is an exception list of codes still active after checkout or with no matching booking. On Seam, removal can be a seam.access_codes.delete call that the workflow makes after a person confirms the exception list; on a platform with no API, removal stays a person's step in the vendor's app. Error handling matters here: if the list call fails, the workflow should retry and escalate to the owner rather than treat the unit as clean.

StepTriggerOwnerReview point
Create codeNew booking or scheduled clean in the calendar exportWorkflow, then operations leadConfirm the unit and time window
Notify cleanerCode createdWorkflow drafts, person approvesApprove each draft before it sends
Test entryFirst use of a code for a unitCleaner or operations leadRecord the result in the log
Remove codeCheckout time passesPerson, in the vendor appConfirm removal before closing the task
Exception checkCode still active after checkoutWorkflow flags, owner decidesEscalate if the lookup call fails

Build, buy, or stitch it together

Zapier, Make, and n8n can support run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when configured. The buyer still designs and owns the parts that break at turnover: idempotency so a retry does not create a second live code, escalation paths, who may create codes, and maintenance when a lock API changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure run history, the approval queue, and the exception log as part of the build, but it would still need your API or export access and a named owner. Compare that against the time your team would spend maintaining an in-house version.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

Skip a custom workflow if you run one or two doors and the lock app's own schedule already ends each stay correctly. Skip it if your property system already creates and removes codes through a native integration, which is what RemoteLock's Premium PMS integration and SmartRent's move-out revocation are designed to do; test that first before adding a layer. Skip it if you cannot provide a calendar or PMS export or API access, because the workflow would have nothing reliable to read.

Who this is for and what to check first

Who this is for: owners and operations leads at small rental businesses who are close to choosing and need a turnover tool that ends codes on time. Choose a lock-platform cloud if you have keyless locks and no engineer, a property access platform if your doors span shared buildings, and a developer API only if an engineer will own it.

Red flags: your lock models are not confirmed on the vendor's supported list; nobody owns code removal at checkout; you cannot export a calendar or PMS record to any tool.

Decision checklist before you sign:

  • Confirm your exact lock models against the vendor's supported list, in writing.

  • Ask whether each code is per person or per job, and whether it ends on its own at checkout time.

  • Get the billing unit in writing: per door, per device, or per active lock.

  • Ask for activity logs and whether you can export them.

  • Ask whether a Wi-Fi bridge or other hardware is required for remote changes.

  • Name one person who reviews the exception list after each checkout.

  • Pilot one unit through a full guest and cleaner cycle before you roll out.

Terms this guide uses

  • Access code: a PIN that opens one door for a set period or until someone removes it.

  • Credential: any means of entry a lock accepts, such as a PIN, card, or mobile key.

  • Webhook: a message a vendor sends your system when a device event happens.

  • Wi-Fi bridge: a separate device that lets a lock take remote commands over the internet.

  • Credit: a metered unit some vendors, including Seam, use to bill device activity.

  • PMS (property management system): the software that holds bookings, leases, and calendars.

  • Turnover: the sequence from one guest or tenant leaving to the next arriving, including cleaning and repairs.

  • Activity log: a record of who entered a door and when.

Questions buyers ask before signing

Can I compare entry rates across these vendors directly?

No, because the vendors bill per door, per device, and per active lock, so convert each quote to your own door count before you compare. Ask each vendor for the billing unit in writing.

Can code removal happen automatically at checkout?

Sometimes, and only when the trigger matches your checkout time. RemoteLock lists checkout and turnover management on its Enterprise tier, and SmartRent says credentials are revoked at move-out when locks integrate with a PMS. Confirm that the trigger is checkout time, not the calendar date.

Do I need a Wi-Fi bridge?

It depends on the lock model, so confirm before you order hardware. STR Specialist's igloohome review lists a Wi-Fi Bridge as a separate purchase, and remote changes can depend on it.

Is Seam worth it without developers?

No. Seam is a developer API, so without an engineer to build the turnover logic, choose a turnover-focused platform first and treat an API as a later project.

Where does an automation layer help most?

It helps where the handoffs between your calendar, lock platform, and messages are still manual. It does not replace the lock vendor's access control. For drafting the cleaner and guest messages, our roundup of AI writing tools covers the options.

Where to take the shortlist next

Start with the two vendors that publish rates, RemoteLock and igloohome, and compare them against the same door count. Ask SmartRent, Brivo, and DOOR for written figures on that same count, including hardware and installation. Pilot one unit before you change the full portfolio, and ask each vendor for its removal behavior in writing. If you want the handoff designed against your own calendar and lock list, see how US Tech Automations configures this and bring a calendar export and your lock list.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.