CCH Axcess Tax vs UltraTax CS: Which to Pick in 2027
The short answer: pick by stack, firm size, and written quotes
Tax compliance software is the system a firm uses to prepare, review, and e-file federal and state returns. CCH Axcess Tax from Wolters Kluwer and UltraTax CS from Thomson Reuters are both full systems for that job, and the choice between them turns more on your existing software and return volume than on any single feature.
TL;DR: Choose CCH Axcess Tax if you want cloud access and a starter price you can see before any sales call. Choose UltraTax CS if your firm already runs Thomson Reuters' CS Professional Suite and you can get a written quote. Neither vendor publishes a full-product price, so the cost comparison is only final once both quotes are in.
The search term says "UltraTax," but the product Thomson Reuters now sells under that name is UltraTax CS, which its site places inside the CS Professional Suite, according to Thomson Reuters (2026). A 2020 review also describes an UltraTax CS Express edition, but the current Thomson Reuters pages checked for this guide do not mention it, so confirm that edition still exists before you plan around its limits.
Key Takeaways
Wolters Kluwer publishes bundle prices for CCH Axcess Tax, but the full product is quote-based.
The 2026 survey of AICPA members ranks CCH Axcess Tax lowest among the leading products on overall rating, and below average on ease of use.
UltraTax CS has the largest survey share of the seven products tracked, which signals familiarity more than fit.
Per-return overage charges decide which bundle is cheaper once volume passes a break-even point, so count your returns before you buy.
Both vendors leave deployment, return limits, and state coverage open on their public pages, so get those answers in writing.
How we evaluated these two products
We scored the decision on seven weighted criteria that match what a small or mid-sized firm weighs before a filing season. The weights are our judgment, not vendor or survey figures, so change them if your firm weighs cost or integration differently.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|
| Return and state coverage for your mix | 20% | A gap in one return type or state means a second system for that client |
| Cost at your expected return volume | 20% | Bundle limits and overage charges move the total more than the entry price |
| Ease of use and training burden | 15% | Preparer time in peak season is the cost most firms feel first |
| Document intake and client portal | 15% | Document collection comes before every return, so weak intake adds work to each file |
| Fit with your current software stack | 15% | Existing CS, CCH, or document tools reduce migration work |
| Support and implementation | 10% | Support terms decide how fast a stuck return gets help |
| Cloud access and mobility | 5% | Remote preparers need access, and on-premise setups need hardware and IT time |
Our analysis: the top three weights are where the two products diverge most. Coverage and cost for the full products can only be settled by quote, and the ease-of-use gap is the one the survey data speaks to most directly.
Side-by-side on the decisions that matter
The table sets each vendor's public facts next to each other. Where a cell says "not described" or "not reported," the vendor page or the 2026 survey did not say it, so treat that as a question for the sales team rather than a gap we filled in.
| Decision factor | CCH Axcess Tax | UltraTax CS |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Essentials bundles published; full product quote-based | Quote-based, driven by users, returns, and states |
| Entry price on the vendor's shop | $2,814.00 for the 100-authorization bundle | Not published |
| Federal returns named on current pages | 1040, 1040-NR, 1065, 1120, 1120S, 990 (Essentials listing) | 1040, 1041, 1120, 1120C, 1120S, 706, 709, 990, 5500 |
| State e-file coverage | Listing says 5 states, then pay-per-state; the purchase widget says unlimited | More than 371 individual and business state and local returns |
| Deployment | Cloud-based (Essentials listing) | Not described on the product page; a 2020 review lists on-premise, Virtual Office CS, or SaaS |
| Document and client portal | CCH Axcess Document and portal (2020 review) | Related tools named on the page: 1040SCAN, SPbinder, Onvio Firm Management, CoCounsel Tax, SafeSend One |
| Support and training | Free support by chat, call center, and knowledgebase; free self-guided training | Free onboarding for new users (2020 review); current support terms not on the page checked |
| Integration claim | Excellent integration with other CCH applications (2020 review) | Integrates with Accounting CS, Accounting Payroll CS, and Practice CS (vendor claim) |
Our analysis: the clearest difference is on deployment and pricing transparency. CCH's shop listing is explicit about cloud operation and starter prices. UltraTax CS's page is explicit about what drives its price but silent on how the product is hosted, which matters if your preparers work remotely.
What the 2026 survey does and does not tell you
The Tax Adviser's 2026 survey covered 1,808 AICPA members who prepared 2025 returns for a fee, with responses collected June 1 to 19, 2026. It measures what users report rather than what vendors claim, but it measures opinion from a sample of practitioners, not what your firm will experience.
CCH Axcess overall user rating: 4.0 out of 5 according to The Tax Adviser (2026), the lowest among the leading products the survey compared. Ease of use came in at 3.6, below the average for the products compared.
UltraTax CS held the largest share of respondents at 22.3% in the same survey, according to The Tax Adviser (2026), against 13.8% for CCH Axcess Tax.
| Measure in the 2026 survey | CCH Axcess Tax | UltraTax CS |
|---|---|---|
| Share of respondents | 13.8% | 22.3% |
| Overall rating, 1 to 5 | 4.0 | Not reported |
| Ease of use | 3.6 | Not reported |
| Respondents who said forms were all there | 85.9% | 92.1% |
| Respondents running it in the cloud | 92.3% | Not reported |
| Respondents who received training | 65.5% | Not reported |
| Training quality | 3.4 | Not reported |
"Not reported" means the survey article gave no figure for that product on that measure. Our analysis: read the table as a list of questions. The survey gives CCH Axcess Tax weaker ratings on ease of use and training quality, while UltraTax CS scores higher on forms coverage and led the group on integration with other software. It gives no support score or cloud figure for UltraTax CS, so ask Thomson Reuters for those directly.
Pricing: what is published and what is quote-based
Published facts: the Wolters Kluwer shop lists the 100-authorization bundle at $2,814.00.
100-authorization bundle: $2,814.00 listed according to Wolters Kluwer (2026).
The 200-authorization listing on the same shop shows $4,039.00 for the 200 bundle and $5,264.00 for the 400 bundle, and it describes the product as cloud-based software, according to Wolters Kluwer (2026). Returns beyond the package carry an additional charge of $60.55 each on that listing.
| Vendor | Package | Price | Extra returns |
|---|---|---|---|
| CCH Axcess Tax | Essentials 100 (100 authorizations) | $2,814.00 | $60.55 each beyond package |
| CCH Axcess Tax | Essentials 200 (200 authorizations) | $4,039.00 | $60.55 each beyond package |
| CCH Axcess Tax | Essentials 400 | $5,264.00 | Listing shows one $60.55 rate |
| CCH Axcess Tax | Full product | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| UltraTax CS | Full product | Quote-based | Quote-based by users, returns, and states |
Pricing checked October 19, 2026. The only published figures are the three Essentials bundle prices and the $60.55 overage rate. Every full-product price is quote-based, and the Essentials listing contradicts itself on states: its text says five states then pay-per-state, while its purchase widget shows unlimited states. Get that in writing before you assume unlimited coverage.
Thomson Reuters publishes no UltraTax CS price. Its product page says custom pricing depends on the number of users, returns, and states and jurisdictions, and it directs buyers to sales.
Our analysis: for a firm with a steady return count, the overage rate matters more than the bundle price. A bundle that looks cheap can cost more than the next size up once the return count passes the break-even point, which the worked example below shows.
Vendor profiles: fit, limits, implementation, and evidence
CCH Axcess Tax (Wolters Kluwer)
Best fit: firms that want cloud access, visible starter prices for the Essentials tier, and Wolters Kluwer's document and portal tools. A 2020 review described the product as "best suited for small to mid-sized accounting firms" and "designed for more complex tax returns," and it listed five return types, according to CPA Practice Advisor (2020). The current Essentials listing names six federal return types, so check the current scope for your mix.
Limits: the full product has no public price, the survey gave its training quality the lowest score of the seven products, and the 2020 review pointed firms that need on-premise deployment to a different Wolters Kluwer product, CCH ProSystem fx Tax.
Implementation: the Essentials listing includes free self-guided training and free support through chat, a call center, and a knowledgebase. Implementation services for the full product are not published, so ask for them in the quote.
UltraTax CS (Thomson Reuters)
Best fit: firms already running CS Professional Suite products such as Accounting CS or Practice CS, and firms with heavy return volume. A 2020 review said UltraTax CS "is better suited to larger firms that process more than 250 tax returns annually," according to CPA Practice Advisor (2020). The product page's own coverage figure is UltraTax CS: more than 371 state and local returns according to Thomson Reuters (2026), which covers individual and business e-file returns.
Limits: no public price, and the product page does not describe how the software is hosted. The 2020 review listed "Not cloud-based" among its limitations while also describing SaaS delivery, which is a contradiction you should resolve in writing before you sign. The 2026 survey reports no ease-of-use or support score for the product.
Implementation: the 2020 review noted free onboarding for new users, and the product page says UltraTax CS integrates with all CS products. Treat that integration statement as a vendor claim until you see it working with your own accounting and practice software.
Worked example: 230 returns on the two Wolters Kluwer bundles
Suppose an illustrative firm expects 230 returns this season and is choosing between the 200-authorization bundle and the 400 bundle, using the prices cited above and treating one authorization as one return, which the listing does not define. The 200 bundle at $4,039.00 leaves 30 returns beyond its package, and at $60.55 each that overage adds $1,816.50, for a total of $5,855.50. The 400 bundle at $5,264.00 covers all 230 returns for $591.50 less. The break-even sits at 221 returns: at 220 returns the 200 bundle with overage totals $5,250.00, but at 221 it reaches $5,310.55, above the 400 bundle. The math assumes the single listed $60.55 rate applies to both bundles, so confirm that in writing. If the firm matches each client's returns to a CRM record by the Salesforce Account.Name field, a proposed intake workflow could roll a client's returns under one parent account before the overage check runs.
Where a proposed workflow fits, and where you still own the work
A proposed US Tech Automations intake workflow would start with a trigger: a scheduled export of open return statuses and outstanding document requests from the tax system. The action matches each row to a client record in the firm's CRM and flags any name that does not match cleanly. The output is one task per preparer plus a draft client reminder that waits for staff approval. Prerequisites are an export or API route from the tax product, which we could not confirm as public for either product on the pages checked, and a CRM matching key such as the Salesforce Account.Name field. Human review points are a staff member approving every client-facing message, and mismatched names going to a review queue rather than being matched automatically.
A second proposed design would watch the same export. The trigger is the count of processed returns reaching a threshold the firm sets. The action calculates the projected overage at the per-return rate cited above, and the output is an alert to the owner with the projected extra cost and the bundle that would cost less. The firm must enter its authorization count per bundle, since the export may not carry it. The owner decides whether to buy the larger bundle, and the workflow only sends the alert.
Zapier, Make, and n8n can run steps like these too. When configured, they keep run histories, retry failed steps, route errors to their own branch, and leave an audit trail. What a firm still owns in those builds is the design: making retries safe so they do not create duplicate tasks, deciding who is alerted when a step fails, setting access controls over client tax data, and maintaining the flows when the tax product's export format changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same run logs, retry limits, and error branch, and would write down the owner, access rules, and escalation path before anything goes live.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
Skip a workflow layer and rely on the tax product's own tools or a shared checklist in three cases. The first is when a manual checklist keeps up with your return count. The second is when the tax vendor's portal already handles document requests and you have no CRM to match against. The third is when the tax system offers no export at all, because every design above depends on one. In those cases a simpler tool wins, and the build effort may not pay back.
Who this is for
CCH Axcess Tax suits a small or mid-sized firm that wants cloud access, visible starter prices, and Wolters Kluwer's document and portal tools, and that can accept a quote-based full product. Red flags: the survey's ease-of-use score of 3.6 and training quality of 3.4 sit at the low end, the full product has no public price, and the Essentials state terms conflict.
UltraTax CS suits a firm already on CS Professional Suite products, or one with a return volume the 2020 review placed above 250 returns a year, and that can get deployment and pricing in writing. Red flags: no public price, a product page that does not say how it is hosted, and no comparable ease-of-use or support score in the 2026 survey.
Decision checklist
- Count last season's returns by type and state, then add expected growth.
- Get a written quote from each vendor using your user, return, and state counts.
- Confirm whether the Essentials state limit applies to your state mix.
- Get the UltraTax CS deployment model (on-premise, hosted, or SaaS) in writing.
- Ask whether the UltraTax CS Express edition still exists and what limits apply.
- Ask each vendor what export or API access exists for return status and document data.
- Run one real client file through each vendor's intake before you sign.
Common mistakes
Comparing a bundle price with a full-product quote. A bundle price is a starting point, not a full-product quote.
Ignoring the overage rate until the season is underway, when the cost is already committed.
Treating a survey average as your firm's experience. The 2026 survey covers AICPA members who prepared 2025 returns for a fee.
Assuming UltraTax CS is cloud-based because CCH Axcess Tax is. The product page does not say how UltraTax CS is hosted.
Skipping document intake in the comparison, even though weak intake adds work to every file.
Questions buyers ask before they sign
Is UltraTax the same product as UltraTax CS?
Yes, the product Thomson Reuters sells today under the UltraTax name is UltraTax CS, which sits inside the CS Professional Suite. An Express edition appears in a 2020 review but not on the current pages checked.
Can I get a published full price for either product?
No. Wolters Kluwer publishes Essentials bundle prices, and Thomson Reuters says its pricing is custom and depends on users, returns, and states.
Which one is easier to learn?
The 2026 survey rates CCH Axcess Tax at 3.6 on ease of use and gives no ease-of-use score for UltraTax CS, so this source cannot settle the question. Test both on one real client file before you decide.
Does CCH Axcess Tax run in the cloud?
Yes. The Essentials listing calls it cloud-based software, and the survey table above shows 92.3% of respondents who used it ran it in the cloud.
Which bundle should I buy?
Choose the bundle whose authorization count covers your expected returns, and check the next size up once overage would cost more than the price gap. In the worked example, the 400 bundle is cheaper from 221 returns onward.
Before the next quote
Start with the category decision. If you already run Thomson Reuters' CS suite, UltraTax CS deserves the first quote, and if you want cloud access and bundle prices you can check, CCH Axcess Tax deserves it. Ask both vendors for the answers this guide could not verify: deployment, return limits, state coverage, and export access. If you are also comparing Drake or ProConnect, read the Drake vs ProConnect and UltraTax comparison. For the document side of intake, read the best tax document software for accounting firms and how to automate tax document collection, then see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.