Skip to content
AI & Automation

Curve Dental Alternatives for Solo Dentists: 4 Steps in 2027

Oct 19, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Choose by deployment model and price disclosure first. Those two answers decide your IT exposure and whether you can compare costs before a sales call.

  • Open Dental, tab32, and CareStack publish list prices on their own pricing pages. Curve Dental, Dentrix Ascend, Eaglesoft, and Denticon do not.

  • In the worked example, the two-year list-price total is $4,176 for Open Dental and $4,200 for tab32, with per-claim and clearinghouse fees left out of both. Neither total includes clearinghouse fees, staff time, migration, or hardware.

  • CareStack's public pages target groups and DSOs, so its published starting plans are a poor fit for a solo budget.

  • Migration and downtime costs sit outside most list prices. Get them in writing before you sign.

The category decision

A Curve Dental alternative is a practice management system (PMS), the software that runs scheduling, charting, insurance claims, and patient billing for a dental office. Curve is cloud-based and sold on a quote, and the alternatives differ on the same two points: whether the software runs on your own machines or the vendor's, and whether the vendor shows a price before a sales call.

TL;DR: If you need a published monthly price before any sales call, start with Open Dental or tab32. If you want a vendor-run platform and accept a quote, compare Dentrix Ascend, Eaglesoft, and Denticon. Treat CareStack as a multi-site option, not a solo one.

For background on the Curve versus Open Dental decision itself, read why dental teams compare Curve and Open Dental first.

Who this is for

This guide is for the owner or operations lead of a single-location dental office who is close to replacing Curve Dental and wants options they can compare. It is also for a solo dentist who holds a Curve quote and needs a second and third number before deciding.

Red flags: you need a published price before any call, and only three vendors here show one; nobody on your team can approve an API connection or a business associate agreement; your office has unreliable internet and no backup line.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public pages. We did not run any of these products. The weights below are our judgment for a solo buyer, not a vendor score or a third-party score. Layer3Labs ranks Curve Dental first among eight platforms, according to Layer3Labs (updated July 16, 2026), but it publishes no numeric weights. FeaturedCustomers' Winter 2025 report, which analyzed over 400 verified customer reference pieces, places Curve Dental among its Top Performers, according to FeaturedCustomers (January 21, 2025). Neither ranking tells a solo buyer what it will pay, so we weighted the criteria below.

CriterionWeightScoring scaleWhat a passing answer looks like
Published price or trial terms20%0 to 5 pointsA list price or trial term on the vendor's own page
Fit for solo or small practice20%0 to 5 pointsThe vendor names solo or single-location offices
Deployment and downtime exposure15%0 to 5 pointsDeployment model stated and a backup path described
Migration and implementation15%0 to 5 pointsMigration path, timeline, or fee stated in writing
Integration and API openness15%0 to 5 pointsA documented API or export path
Support model10%0 to 5 pointsSupport tier and channels stated
Multi-location headroom5%0 to 5 pointsMulti-site handling stated

Price and solo fit carry 40% together because a quote-only process is the main barrier a solo buyer faces. Deployment and migration carry 30% together, since they set downtime exposure and the one-time cost most quotes leave out.

What each vendor says about itself

The matrix records only what each vendor's own pages state. A blank means the page we opened did not say.

VendorDeployment, as statedSolo or small-practice languageMulti-location languagePublished price
Curve DentalCloud-based, per its homepageIndependent practices named as a segmentMulti-location groups named as a segmentQuote-based
Open DentalPer-location software; Open Dental Cloud billed separatelyPriced per locationEach location billed separatelyPublished (see pricing table)
Dentrix AscendCloud-based tools, per its features pageNot named on the page"Single or multi-location practices"Quote-based
EaglesoftNot stated on the page"Essential practice management system for private practices"Not statedQuote-based
DenticonCloud-based, per its page titleSolo and private-practice subscriptions, per Planet DDSNot described on the pages we openedQuote-based
tab32"No servers. No contracts."New and growing practices (Start-Up plan)Summit plan for larger groups and DSOsPublished (see pricing table)
CareStackNot stated on the pages we openedTargets groups, DSOs, and specialists; solo not namedPricing depends on locations, chairs, and providersStarting plans published (see pricing table)

Curve's homepage says its platform is cloud-based and lists data conversion from Dentrix, Eaglesoft, and Open Dental. Its pricing page, however, tells visitors to click "GET A PERSONALIZED QUOTE" rather than showing a rate card, which is why it is a benchmark here and not a price anchor.

What the price pages show

The table lists only prices printed on each vendor's own pages. "Quote-based" means the vendor's page gives no list price; it does not mean the price is high or low.

VendorPlanPublished price
Open DentalSoftware license and support, per location, up to 3 providers$199 per month for 12 months, then $149 per month, according to Open Dental (2026)
tab32Start-Up (up to 3 providers) and Established Practice (up to 5 providers)$125 per month in year one and $225 per month from year two on Start-Up; $225 per month on Established Practice, according to tab32 (2026)
CareStackEssentials and Intelligence$829 and $1,299 per month starting, according to CareStack (2026)
Curve DentalPlans not publishedQuote-based
Dentrix AscendPlans not publishedQuote-based
EaglesoftSoftware and Service Club plansQuote-based
DenticonSubscriptions not publishedQuote-based

Prices are shown as printed on each vendor's own pages. Checked October 19, 2026: the Open Dental, tab32, and CareStack pricing pages were re-opened on that date and match the figures above.

Worked example: one location, three providers, two years

Take an illustrative office with one location, three providers, and 400 insurance claims a month, with no other add-ons. Open Dental list price: $199 then $149 per location monthly according to Open Dental (2026). That makes year one $2,388 (12 × $199) and year two $1,788 (12 × $149). tab32's Start-Up plan costs $125 a month in year one and $225 a month from year two, and it charges $0.20 per claim, according to tab32 (2026). Year one is $1,500 (12 × $125) and year two is $2,700 (12 × $225). To compare the two products on the same terms, we leave claim costs out of both totals: at 400 claims a month, tab32's per-claim fee would add $80 a month or $960 a year, and Open Dental sends electronic claims through a separate clearinghouse that bills its own fees, which we did not price. Over two years, list-price totals before claim and clearinghouse fees come to $4,176 for Open Dental and $4,200 for tab32. A configurable export could read patient.DateFirstVisit from Open Dental's API reference to split new patients from returning ones before forecasting claim volume, but that requires API access the office has to confirm first.

OptionYear oneYear twoTwo-year total
Open Dental, license only, before clearinghouse fees$2,388$1,788$4,176
tab32's Start-Up plan, before per-claim fees$1,500$2,700$4,200
CareStack's Essentials plan, starting price only$9,948$9,948$19,896

The CareStack row uses the starting price alone, so it understates a real multi-site cost; add-ons and implementation are quote-based and excluded. Per-claim fees, clearinghouse fees, staff time, migration, and hardware are excluded from every row.

Vendor profiles

Open Dental

Open Dental fits a single-location office that wants a per-location license and can accept a practice-hosted database. Its fee page bills the license per location, with additional providers charged per provider beyond the included set. The limitations are real: Open Dental Cloud is billed on top of the license, and the order page says phone support does not include training, so training is a separate line. The vendor's API specification says developers should have a business associate agreement in place with their clients, per Open Dental's API specification. The vendor's order page also describes a money-back guarantee, per Open Dental's order page. For the cloud side of this choice, see Open Dental versus Curve for cloud practices.

Dentrix Ascend

Dentrix Ascend fits a practice that wants cloud tools with managed IT and a path to more locations. Its features page names integrated eligibility, claims, and patient billing, online payments, digital forms, two-way texting, and managed IT support with backup. It describes support for single or multi-location practices, but it does not name a solo target. The SOC 2 claim appears on Dentrix Ascend's SOC 2 page, which describes the product as "the first dental software to receive SOC-2 Type II compliance." The features page publishes no price and sends visitors to request information. Ask for a written migration plan and a written price with the same scope as your current office.

Eaglesoft

Eaglesoft fits a solo or private practice that wants an established system with a paid support tier. Patterson markets it as the essential practice management system for private practices, and its Service Club plans include unlimited U.S.-based support. Eaglesoft: nearly 30,000 users, per Patterson according to Patterson Dental (2026), with integrations to more than 55 authorized third-party solutions. The page does not state whether Eaglesoft is installed locally or hosted, which is the first question to put to the rep. Price is quote-based, and the promotions on the page are offers, not list prices. For a comparison with Dentrix, read Dentrix versus Eaglesoft for solo practices.

Denticon

Denticon fits a solo or private practice that wants a cloud system and will negotiate a quote. Planet DDS, which makes Denticon, says it offers "reduced-cost subscriptions for Denticon tailored specifically for our solo and private practice clients" in its Planet DDS post on solo pricing. The post gives no subscription figures and points readers to a custom quote. Denticon's public pricing URL redirects to a login screen with no prices. Ask what is in the reduced-cost subscription, because the post does not list it.

tab32

tab32 fits a new or growing solo or small practice that wants a published monthly price and a short trial. Its pricing page says "No servers. No contracts." and describes a trial with a card on file, and it lists no setup fee for the Start-Up plan. Its limits are the usage fees: a per-claim charge, a per-attachment charge, and an eligibility-check fee that the page does not publish. Patient engagement tools such as texting and online booking are add-ons with no prices listed. Larger groups move to the Summit plan, which is quote-based. The tab32 pricing page also describes migration pricing as a quote, so ask for it in writing before you commit.

CareStack

CareStack fits multi-location groups and DSOs, and it is the clearest disqualifier for a solo budget in this set. Its pricing page lists starting plans, but says custom plans are available on request and that an implementation fee may apply to complex data migration or extra training. Its add-ons, including VoiceStack, CareRevenue, and Ace DSN, are quote-based. The site names dental practices, startups, groups and DSOs, mobile dentistry, and specialists, but not solo practices by name.

Curve Dental, the incumbent

Curve Dental is the benchmark in this guide, not an alternative. Its pricing page directs buyers to a personalized quote, and Layer3Labs and FeaturedCustomers both rank it highly in the sources cited above. Use it as the comparison point for every quote you collect, and ask each alternative for the same scope: locations, providers, add-ons, and migration.

Where the time goes: eligibility and claims

Eligibility checks and claim status are where a switch shows up in daily work. Dentrix Ascend's features page makes a specific claim: Dentrix Ascend claim: 4 hours saved per day according to Dentrix Ascend (2026). That is a vendor claim we could not verify, so ask the vendor how it measured the time before you use it in a budget.

A proposed, configurable workflow for the front desk could start with a trigger: an appointment booked for the next 48 hours in the practice system. The action would read the patient's insurance and procedure fields through the vendor's export or API and check whether an eligibility result is on file for each plan. The output is a task in a front-desk queue that lists each patient with a missing or expired result, with the appointment time and plan name. The prerequisites are written confirmation from the vendor of export or API read access, and a business associate agreement with US Tech Automations if the workflow touches protected health information. The human review point is a front-desk lead who approves every patient-facing message; nothing reaches a patient or a payer without a staff member clicking through.

Migration and downtime: what the quotes leave out

Migration is where solo buyers absorb cost that no list price shows. A 2023 opinion piece in the Dental Products Report, by Lorne Lavine, DMD, argues that cloud practice software is usually hard to justify for solo and small-group offices, and warns that outages of minutes or hours cut cloud users off from schedules and treatment records, according to that source (September 1, 2023). The author recommends a backup internet provider for any cloud practice. Treat that as one informed view, not a verdict, and compare it against your own outage history.

A second proposed workflow handles claim status after a switch. The trigger is a nightly export of submitted claims from the new system. The action compares claims submitted against claims that have a returned status and flags any claim with no status after a number of days that the billing lead sets. The output is an exception report, not an automatic resubmission. The prerequisites are a documented export format from the vendor and a business associate agreement covering the handling of claim data. The human review point is the billing lead, who reviews every exception before any claim is resubmitted or any patient is billed. Run the old and new systems in parallel for at least one full billing cycle before retiring the old one; that is our recommendation, not a vendor requirement.

Build it yourself or configure it

US Tech Automations is one option for the queues described above, but the do-it-yourself route deserves a fair hearing. Zapier, Make, and n8n can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors, and write audit records when someone configures them that way. The buyer still has to design and own observability (someone watches the run history), idempotency (a retry must not send a patient the same message twice), escalation (who gets notified when a step fails), access controls over practice data, and maintenance when the practice system changes its fields. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those same pieces as a set: a run log per workflow, a retry limit with a holding queue for failed items, a named escalation owner, and role-based access for staff. The prerequisites are the same as for any integration: confirmed API or export access, a business associate agreement where patient data passes through, and a named staff reviewer. This is a configurable design, not a live deployment.

Where a simpler tool wins

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if the practice system's built-in reminders and claim status views already cover the work, a configured workflow adds one more thing to maintain. If you cannot get written API or export access, no workflow can read the data, and a weekly manual list or a clearinghouse report is the simpler route. If nobody on staff will review exceptions, a workflow that creates work without an owner will fail quietly.

Four steps to shortlist

  1. Decide where the software runs. Ask whether you want the database in your office or with the vendor, and who covers an internet outage with a backup line.

  2. Get the price in writing with the same scope. For Open Dental, tab32, and CareStack, the published list is the starting point. For the rest, request a written quote covering locations, providers, add-ons, and support.

  3. Ask for the migration plan. Request conversion steps, timeline, and fees in writing. tab32 directs buyers to a quote for migration pricing, and CareStack says an implementation fee may apply to complex migrations.

  4. Confirm data access before any workflow. Ask for written API or export access and the business associate terms, then name the human reviewer for each exception queue.

Glossary

  • Practice management system (PMS): Software that runs scheduling, charting, insurance claims, and patient billing.

  • Cloud-based: Software that runs through a browser with the vendor hosting the servers.

  • Local install: Software and database that run on computers and a server in the office.

  • Business associate agreement (BAA): The HIPAA contract that covers a vendor or integration handling patient data for your practice.

  • Eligibility verification: Checking whether a patient's insurance is active and what it covers before a visit.

  • Claim attachment: A supporting document sent with an insurance claim, such as notes or images.

  • Data conversion: Moving patient, insurance, and ledger records from one system to another.

  • Export or API access: The approved route for reading practice data into another system.

Frequently asked questions

Which Curve Dental alternatives publish prices?

Open Dental, tab32, and CareStack publish list prices on their own pricing pages, while Curve Dental, Dentrix Ascend, Eaglesoft, and Denticon direct buyers to a quote. The Open Dental and tab32 figures are in the pricing table above, and CareStack's figures cover starting plans only.

Does Open Dental run in the cloud?

Open Dental's standard software is licensed per location, and Open Dental Cloud is a separate, additional charge with its own pricing. Confirm which deployment you need before comparing totals, because the two are billed differently.

Does tab32 charge a setup fee?

tab32's pricing page lists no setup fee for the Start-Up plan, but it treats migration pricing as a quote. Ask for migration terms in writing before you assume the fee is zero.

Do I need a business associate agreement?

Yes, if a vendor or integration stores, reads, or transmits patient data on your practice's behalf. Open Dental's API specification says developers should have a BAA in place with their clients.

Should I build the workflow in Zapier, Make, or n8n?

Build it yourself if someone on staff will own run monitoring, retries, duplicate prevention, and access reviews for as long as the workflow runs. If nobody will own those tasks, a configured service fits better.

How long does a switch take?

Timelines vary by vendor, and only tab32's pricing page describes go-live timing for new practices and for migrations among the vendors whose pages we opened. For the others, get a written timeline before you commit.

Conclusion

The right Curve Dental alternative depends on two answers: where the software runs, and whether you can see a price before a sales call. If you need published monthly prices, Open Dental and tab32 give you numbers to test against. If you want a vendor-run cloud, get written quotes from Dentrix Ascend, Denticon, or Eaglesoft for the same scope and compare them. Before you sign, get the migration plan and the data-access terms in writing, and name the person who reviews each exception. To see how a review queue like the ones above is configured, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.