Skip to content
AI & Automation

Curve Dental vs Denticon: Which Fits Your Practice in 2027

Oct 19, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Neither vendor publishes a price I could read on its own pricing page, so you need a written quote from each before you compare costs.

  • Curve Dental's public material is more specific on migration, citing 90+ source systems and 4,000+ completed conversions.

  • Denticon is marketed to solo, multi-location and DSO buyers, and the 2026 customer releases I could read are all group deals.

  • Neither vendor offered an API I could open, so any custom automation depends on partner approval or a scheduled export that you confirm in writing.

  • Confirm the product name on your contract: Curve's partner page still refers to "Curve Hero," and Planet DDS launched a DentalOS platform in July 2026.

Curve Dental or Denticon: the category decision comes first

A cloud practice management system (PMS) is the software that runs scheduling, charting, insurance claims and patient billing for a dental office, hosted by the vendor instead of on a server in your building. Both products sit in that category, so the real decision is not cloud versus server. It is which vendor's sales path, migration track record and integration model fits an office of your size.

What the sources say: Curve's pricing page sends every buyer to a personalized quote and promises "special pricing on implementation and license fees for startups." Denticon is Planet DDS's practice management product, and Planet DDS's newsroom shows a steady run of 2026 announcements about multi-site groups. On the naming question, the newsroom lists "Planet DDS Launches DentalOS®: The Dental Enterprise Platform for DSOs" dated July 17, 2026, alongside Denticon customer releases, so ask which name your quote covers.

Our read: If you run one to a few providers and want a documented conversion path, start with Curve Dental. If you run several locations and want enterprise reporting, start with Denticon. If you plan to feed either system into custom automation, make partner API access a written condition of the quote. If Open Dental is also on your list, our Curve Dental vs Open Dental guide for practices covers that pairing, and our Open Dental vs Curve Dental cloud practice comparison looks at it from the cloud side.

TL;DR: For a small office that is switching, Curve Dental's public material is the more concrete starting point. For a group that needs central control, Denticon is the stronger candidate on the evidence I could open. Neither is a safe choice until its quote, migration plan and integration terms are in writing.

How we evaluated these two products

We weighted seven criteria to match the decision a small office makes when it is close to signing. The weights are our judgment for this reader. Neither vendor publishes them, and they are not a vendor ranking.

CriterionWeight (%)Why it matters for this reader
Pricing transparency and entry cost15Quote-only pricing slows budget comparison, but a quote still shows the real total.
Fit for a solo or small office20Most readers here run one to a few providers, so a group-first product has to earn its place.
Data conversion and switching cost15Moving charts, ledgers and images is the expensive part of changing systems.
Integration and API access20Any automation layer depends on exports or partner access.
Support, training and implementation10Training format and support terms decide how much staff time a switch costs.
Hosting and IT burden10Both are cloud products, so this mainly shows how much local IT work is left.
Verifiable third-party evidence10Few independent reviews were readable, so this criterion carries less weight in the verdict.

The evidence was thinner than a buyer would like. We opened both vendors' public pages where they loaded, plus four third-party or trade sources. Denticon's pricing URL returned a login page in our session, and G2, GetApp, Capterra and Software Advice returned access errors, so this guide has no review-by-review detail. Where a figure comes from a vendor rather than an independent source, we say so.

What each vendor publishes, side by side

Each figure in this matrix is cited in the section where it is discussed below. Read it as a list of what each vendor discloses, not as a score.

CapabilityCurve DentalDenticon
Source systems convertible90+Not published
Completed conversions4,000+Not published
Training format6 sessions of 90 minutesNot published
Integration partners28 listed (our count)100+ (2026 headline)
Public reviewsBlocked in our session207 reviews; 93% would recommend
Customer sites cited in 2026Not published120 locations (one DSO release)
Specialty modulesNot on pages we opened6 specialty modules
Partner onboardingAbout a 30-minute technical call (Zocdoc example)Application-based partner program
Public API docs we could openNoneNone (program described only by secondary sources)

Pricing and total cost: what you can verify

Pricing checked October 19, 2026.

What the sources say, Curve: CostBench describes Curve's pricing as custom and lists a single tier with no free tier and no published monthly fee. The same page says Curve pricing was "verified on June 16, 2026," while its other text refers to October 2026, so its dates conflict. Its list of hidden-cost categories covers feature-based costs, additional users or providers, implementation, migration and training, but gives no amounts. Curve's own pricing page does not show a price either.

What the sources say, Denticon: The Denticon pricing URL we tried returned a login page. ToolRadar reports three tiers, Essentials, Pro and Enterprise, each marked "Talk to Sales," and says Denticon offers no permanent free tier. A third-party listing shows a monthly starting figure for Denticon, but we are not printing it, because it does not come from Denticon's own pricing page, which we could not read. Planet DDS's solo-practice pricing article says it offers "reduced-cost subscriptions for Denticon tailored specifically for our solo and private practice clients," and warns that "additional users, features, applicable discounts can affect these prices."

Our read: For a solo office, the largest unknowns are implementation, migration and add-on fees, not the monthly subscription. Ask each vendor to split those lines out in writing before you compare totals.

Cost lineCurve DentalDenticon
Published list priceNone found; personalized quoteNone found; sales-led
Tiers1 custom tier3 tiers, each "Talk to Sales"
Free trialNot stated on pages we could openNone; free demo offered
Implementation and migration feesNot disclosed; startup pricing offeredNot disclosed
Solo or startup offerSpecial pricing on implementation and license fees for startupsReduced-cost solo and private-practice subscriptions
Eligibility add-onAvailable with a subscription; no price shownNot published

Curve Dental: best fit, limits and implementation

What the sources say: Curve's FAQ describes a cloud product: "Curve is cloud-based, so you only need a web browser and an Internet connection to access the system." It runs on a PC or Mac through Google Chrome, and the FAQ says Curve has "converted data, files, and images from over 90 practice management software products," with more than 4,000 completed conversions. Training is web-based, and the FAQ says it "consists of six 90-minute sessions." Curve's conversion evidence is the most specific item in this comparison, and it matters most if you are moving off a legacy desktop system.

Automation layer: Curve's Eligibility+ page says the tool is "Available with a Curve subscription," checks insurance "automatically—no calls, no logins," and flags mismatches between payer data and Curve records for staff to approve. The page gives no price. The page also claims 15–30 minutes saved per patient, according to Curve Dental (year not shown). Treat that as Curve's own figure, not a measured result.

Limits: The FAQ does not state support hours. Curve's homepage makes a support-hours claim that I could not tie to a deep page, so get the hours in writing. Curve's partner list describes integrations, not a developer program: it has no partner application process, and the one onboarding example is a 30-minute technical call for the Zocdoc integration. Its footer names CD Newco, LLC as the copyright holder, and I could not open a page that explains ownership, so ask who the contracting entity is. The partner page also says "Direct integration into Curve Hero," so confirm the product name in your contract.

Who should choose it: A solo or small practice that is switching systems and wants a documented conversion path and startup pricing terms.

Disqualifier: If you need a documented API before you sign, Curve's public material does not show one.

Denticon: best fit, limits and implementation

What the sources say: SelectHub's Denticon listing describes the product as "scalable to suit solo and multi-location practices" and lists perio charting, referrals, 835 auto-posting, eClaims, a patient portal, eSign, a morning huddle dashboard, enterprise reporting with multiple KPIs, granular user permissions and detailed audit trails. It also reports user sentiment: Denticon reviews: 93% would recommend according to SelectHub (year not shown), based on 207 reviews aggregated from three review sites. SelectHub's list is a third-party summary, so confirm each feature in a demo.

Customer evidence: Planet DDS's newsroom carries a May 19, 2026 release headlined "Smile Partners USA Selects Denticon to Modernize Operations and Support Scalable Growth Across 120 Locations." It describes the move as a DSO shifting from on-premise infrastructure to Denticon's cloud. The same newsroom lists an October 7, 2026 headline reporting Denticon customer release: 100+ integration partners according to Planet DDS (2026). That is Planet DDS's own claim, and it is the strongest integration signal on the Denticon side.

API: DrBicuspid reported on July 25, 2024 that "Planet DDS has launched a new application programming interface (API) platform," citing "real-time data updates, scalability, and compatibility with a range of third-party systems." The article names SOC Type 2 certification and HIPAA compliance but gives no access terms. Planet DDS's API program flyer was not readable in our session, so we could not confirm its approval steps. Ask Planet DDS to confirm them in writing before you assume access.

Limits: Pricing is not published on Denticon's own pages we could open. ToolRadar's opinion, which is not verified data, is that Denticon has "Fair value" and is "likely best suited for larger dental organizations." Its free-trial status is "No" per SelectHub, with a free demo available.

Who should choose it: A multi-location group that wants central reporting and permissions, or a solo practice that receives a quote under the solo subscription offer and fits its budget.

Disqualifier: If you need a free trial or a self-serve API key, the public record we could read does not offer either.

Where a proposed US Tech Automations workflow fits

US Tech Automations would sit beside whichever PMS you choose, not replace it. The two workflows below are proposed and configurable. None is a live deployment, and none is a measured result.

The first is insurance claim follow-up. The trigger is a claim in the PMS export that still shows no payment after a window you set. The action matches the claim to the patient account, classifies the reason as missing information, denial or pending, and creates one task in the billing queue. The output is that task with the claim date, payer and suggested next step. The prerequisite is a scheduled claims export from the PMS, or API access if you obtain it. The human review point is the billing lead, who reviews every task before any payer or patient contact.

The second is pre-visit eligibility. The trigger is an appointment two business days out with no eligibility check on file. The action creates a verification task in the PMS's own eligibility feature, such as Curve's Eligibility+ if you buy it, or in whatever tool the vendor confirms in writing. The output is a front-desk task list with benefit status. The prerequisite is that appointment and insurance fields can be exported. The human review point is staff approval of any change to a patient's estimate. No patient message is sent automatically.

A fair alternative is to build these flows yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n. Those tools can keep run histories, retries and error branches, and they can leave an audit trail when configured. What you still own is avoiding duplicate tasks when a run repeats, deciding who receives escalations, controlling who can see patient data, and repairing the flow when the PMS changes an export format. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the run history, retry rules and escalation path as part of the build, but the practice still approves the review points and keeps the access list current.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead who is close to choosing and needs to know which vendor's quote to request first and what to put in it.

Red flags: you need a published price before any sales call; you need a self-serve API key before you sign; no one in the office can approve a data export.

Glossary

  • Cloud PMS: practice management software hosted by the vendor and reached through a browser.

  • Data conversion: moving patient records, ledgers and images from another system into the new one.

  • Eligibility check: a query to the insurer that confirms which benefits a patient has before the visit.

  • 835 auto-posting: automatic posting of insurer payment remittances to patient accounts.

  • eClaims: insurance claims submitted electronically rather than on paper.

  • Partner-gated API: API access granted only after a vendor-approved partner agreement.

  • DSO: dental support organization, a company that manages several dental practices.

  • Custom quote: a price the vendor sets only after a sales conversation.

Decision checklist

  • Ask each vendor for a written quote that lists implementation, data migration, training and add-on fees on separate lines.
  • Confirm which product name the quote covers: Curve Dental or Curve Hero, Denticon or DentalOS.
  • Ask for the list of source systems each vendor has converted from your current PMS.
  • Get API or export access in writing, including who approves it and how long approval takes.
  • Get training format and support hours in the contract, not from a homepage.
  • Sign only after the person who will own the automations approves the data access list.

Running one office's numbers, and when to skip the automation layer

Take an illustrative office that runs 40 new-patient eligibility checks a week, which is an assumption and not a measurement. Curve's Eligibility+ page claims 15–30 minutes saved per patient, according to Curve Dental (year not shown). At 40 patients, that is 600 to 1,200 minutes, or 10 to 20 hours a week, if the claim held in your office. For the reminder layer, Twilio's Message resource exposes three fields you can monitor: status, error_code and date_sent, where error_code is null when nothing failed, according to Twilio (year not shown). Suppose the office sends 1,000 reminders a month and an assumed 2 percent come back undelivered; that is 20 messages for staff to check, and a proposed workflow would group them by error_code so the fixable failures surface first. Neither vendor's pages we opened say reminders go through Twilio, so treat the reminder service as an assumed third-party tool that sends through Twilio or a provider exposing the same fields.

US Tech Automations is the wrong call in three situations. If your PMS already sends the reminders and claim tasks you need, and staff clear them in minutes a day, the built-in tools are simpler. If the vendor will not provide an export or API access in writing, automation will mostly copy data by hand, which is worse than the manual process. If you are still choosing between PMS vendors on price, sign the PMS first and automate second.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper, Curve Dental or Denticon?

Neither price is verifiable from the vendor pages we could open, so you cannot know which is cheaper until both quotes are written out. Ask each vendor for implementation, migration and add-on fees as separate lines before you compare totals.

Does Denticon offer a free trial?

No. SelectHub's listing says the product has no free trial but offers a free demo, and ToolRadar says Denticon has no permanent free tier.

Can I connect either system to my own automations?

Not on a self-serve basis from what we could read. Curve lists integrations through a partner list with no developer documentation we could open, and Denticon's API is run through Planet DDS, whose approval steps we could not confirm. Get the access terms in writing before you buy.

Which one suits a solo practice?

Start with Curve Dental if you are switching systems and want a documented conversion path and startup pricing terms. Ask Denticon for a quote under its solo subscription before you rule it out, because Planet DDS says it offers reduced-cost subscriptions for solo and private practices.

Why do directory prices disagree?

Directory pages estimate or copy prices, and their dates often conflict with the vendor's own. CostBench says it verified Curve's pricing on June 16, 2026, while its text refers to October 2026, so treat directory figures as leads for your quote rather than facts.

Choosing and the next step

Use the table below to match your situation to a starting point. Then request written quotes from both vendors, with migration and integration terms included, before you commit to either one.

Your situationLean towardWhy
Solo or small office switching PMS and needing migration helpCurve DentalThe FAQ states conversion breadth and a training format
Multi-location group wanting central reporting and permissionsDenticonThe feature summary lists enterprise reporting and granular permissions
You need a printed price before any callNeitherNeither vendor's pages we could open publish one
You need a documented API before signingNeither, until partner access is confirmedBoth gate integrations behind partner programs

If you are also weighing patient-messaging tools such as Weave, our Weave alternatives guide for dental practices covers that comparison. For a sense of how the workflows above would be configured and reviewed, see how US Tech Automations configures this before you decide which automation owner to name.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.