Skip to content
AI & Automation

Healthie vs Jane in 2027: Pick the Right Fit for Therapy

Oct 19, 2026

Short answer: decide the category before the brand

Healthie vs Jane is mostly a choice about client count, insurance billing and developer access, and the two products split on those three points more than on brand. Practice management software books sessions, holds client details and sends invoices. An electronic health record (EHR) adds clinical documentation such as session notes and treatment plans. Healthie's help center describes its product as HIPAA-compliant, cloud-based software, with scheduling, charting, billing and telehealth in one account. Jane is built around scheduling and clinic operations, and insurance billing, AI Scribe and group telehealth are sold on top.

For a solo therapist with ten or fewer active clients and no insurance billing, Healthie's Core plan is the lowest published entry price in this comparison. For a solo therapist who bills insurance and wants booking to come first, Jane's Practice plan with the Insurance Billing add-on is the more direct fit. A group of two or three clinicians should compare Healthie's Group plan with a Jane quote, because Jane does not publish its per-practitioner fee.

TL;DR: pick Healthie if you want one record for charting and claim forms with room to move up its tiers, or may need an API later, and pick Jane if insurance billing and online booking drive the decision and you do not need a developer. Neither product appears renamed, merged or discontinued in the pages we opened, and both pricing pages were live when we read them.

Key Takeaways

  • Client caps decide the entry plan: Healthie's Core plan caps active clients, while Jane's Balance plan caps appointments per month.

  • Insurance billing is the largest cost swing, and it sits in different places on each product: a feature from Healthie's Essentials plan up, and an add-on on Jane's Practice and Thrive plans.

  • Healthie's API is a closed, add-on program. Jane's pages describe exports and a clearinghouse integration but no public API.

  • Jane says it can work with you on a business associate agreement (BAA), and the Healthie help article we read does not mention one, so request both texts before loading client records.

  • For three or more clinicians, Healthie publishes its per-provider license fee, while Jane does not publish its per-practitioner fee and quotes practices with ten or more practitioners.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built only from public pages: each vendor's pricing and help pages, a review aggregator, and trade press. We opened the vendor pages directly and did not rely on search summaries for any figure. Where a page is silent, the tables say "not stated" rather than assuming a feature exists.

The weights below are our judgement about what a small therapy owner decides on. Cost carries the most weight because the monthly line is paid for as long as the practice stays open, and it is the figure you can compare directly. Insurance billing and security sit at 15 points each because a claims error or a missing BAA costs more than a plan upgrade. Integrations get 10 points because most small practices do not write their own, but the ones that do will feel the gap sharply.

CriterionWeightPoints out of 100What to verify
Monthly cost at your client count25%25Plan caps and the add-ons you need
Insurance billing path15%15Whether claims are in the plan or an add-on, with clearinghouse terms in writing
Telehealth and group sessions10%10Whether group video is included or sold separately
Clinical documentation15%15Charting, custom forms and AI scribe terms
Integrations and data export10%10Whether an API is open to you and what export format you get
Security and BAA15%15BAA text, encryption, access logs and support-staff access
Scheduling and client experience10%10Online booking, reminders and self check-in

A criterion only counts for a vendor when a page we opened states it.

What each plan costs per month and per year

Pricing checked October 18, 2026.

The Plus plan on Healthie is $129.99 per month, unlimited clients according to Healthie (2026). The same help article, last updated May 28, 2026, lists the Core plan at $19.99 per month for up to 10 active clients, the Essentials plan at $49.99 per month for up to 250, and the Group plan at $149.99 per month with one provider seat and one support seat. Each extra provider on Group is $50 per month, annual payment takes 10% off, and the trial runs 14 days. A dedicated inbound e-fax line is an add-on at $9.99 per month.

The Practice plan on Jane is $79 per month for one full-time practitioner according to Jane (2026, undated page). The Balance plan is $59 per month for one practitioner profile capped at 20 appointments per month, and the Thrive plan is $99 per month with advanced scheduling such as rooms, waitlist automation and self check-in. Insurance Billing is $20 per account per month plus $5 for each additional full-time practitioner, and it is available only on Practice and Thrive. AI Scribe and Group Telehealth are each $15 per opted-in practitioner per month on any plan, and the page says the core plan includes five free AI Scribe notes. Card rates are 2.85% plus $0.25 for online payments and 2.6% plus $0.10 in person. Annual pricing is not published, and practices of ten or more practitioners are directed to a quote.

ScenarioVendorPlanMonthly priceAnnual math
Solo, up to 10 active clientsHealthieCore$19.99$239.88 (19.99 × 12)
Solo, up to 250 active clientsHealthieEssentials$49.99$599.88 (49.99 × 12)
Solo, unlimited clients plus inbound e-faxHealthiePlus$139.98$1,679.76 (139.98 × 12)
Solo, full schedule, no insuranceJanePractice$79$948 (79 × 12)
Solo, full schedule with insurance billingJanePractice plus Insurance Billing$99$1,188 (99 × 12)
Three clinicians, with two extra provider licensesHealthieGroup$249.99$2,999.88 (249.99 × 12)
Three cliniciansJanePractice plus added practitioner feesNot publishedCannot be computed from public pages
Ten or more practitionersHealthieEnterpriseQuote-basedQuote-based
Ten or more practitionersJaneThrive or PracticeQuote-basedQuote-based

Every figure in the table comes from the two paragraphs above. Annual math multiplies the monthly figure by 12 and does not apply Healthie's 10% annual discount, because the help article does not publish discounted amounts per plan. Third-party listings show different numbers. One shows the Group price with a missing digit, so budget from the vendor's own pages.

The table below restates each plan's cap and price from the two paragraphs above, with the annual figure worked out as the monthly price times 12.

PlanCapMonthly priceAnnual math
Healthie Core10 active clients$19.99$239.88
Healthie Essentials250 active clients$49.99$599.88
Healthie PlusUnlimited clients$129.99$1,559.88
Jane Balance20 appointments per month$59$708
Jane Practice1 full-time practitioner$79$948
Jane Thrive1 full-time practitioner$99$1,188

Feature matrix on the factors that decide the purchase

A "not stated" cell is a question for the sales call, not proof that a feature is missing.

Decision factorHealthieJane
Entry plan limitCore: up to 10 active clientsBalance: one practitioner profile, capped at 20 appointments per month
Online bookingScheduling on CoreOnline booking on all plans
Clinical chartingCharting on CoreNot stated on the pages we read
Intake and custom formsCustom form building from EssentialsIntake forms on all plans
Insurance billingCMS-1500 forms from Essentials; clearinghouse integration price stated two ways, so confirmAdd-on on Practice and Thrive, including a Claim.MD clearinghouse integration
TelehealthIndividual telehealth on all plans; group video via HIPAA-compliant Zoom on PlusTelehealth on all plans; Group Telehealth add-on
AI scribeAdditional fees apply; no price listed on the pricing pageAI Scribe add-on, five free notes on the core plan
RemindersSMS appointment reminders from EssentialsUnlimited SMS reminders on Practice and Thrive, varying by region
Team featuresShared calendar, internal team messenger and reporting on GroupUnlimited admins and locations on all plans; timesheets on Practice
Public APIClosed API; add-on on Enterprise and Group; sandbox on requestNo public API found on the pages we read
Data exportData transfer support on EssentialsReporting is easily exportable; free data imports listed
BAANot described on the help article we read; ask in writingWill "work with you to develop a BAA Agreement"
Encryption and access logsNot stated on the pages we read128-bit in transit, 256-bit at rest; access logs
Trial14 daysNot stated on the pricing page we read
SupportCustomer success manager sessions on Group; SLA on EnterpriseHuman support on all plans

The matrix shows two patterns. Healthie places more of the clinical record and claims tooling in its tiers, and its API is closed to most buyers. Jane places more clinic-operations tooling on its base plans and sells AI Scribe and group telehealth separately.

Insurance billing and telehealth, the two cost swings

Insurance billing is where small practices lose money in ways the monthly line hides. On Healthie, CMS-1500 claim forms appear from the Essentials plan up, and the pricing page lists a clearinghouse integration with a starting price that it states two different ways. Get one number in writing before you assume it is included. On Jane, Insurance Billing is a separate add-on that only Practice and Thrive can take, so a Balance practice that bills insurance has to move up a plan to use it.

Telehealth is a smaller swing. Healthie includes individual telehealth on every plan and group video from Plus up. Jane includes telehealth on every plan and sells Group Telehealth as an add-on. If your practice runs group sessions, compare the Plus plan on Healthie with the Group Telehealth add-on on Jane.

A configurable workflow for the billing step is where US Tech Automations would sit. This is a proposed design, not a live deployment. The trigger is a scheduled run each morning that reads the previous day's completed sessions. The action compares each session with the fields a biller needs, such as the diagnosis, the payer and the session type. The output is a review list in the practice's task tool, with each flagged session and the reason for the flag. Nothing is submitted automatically, and a biller reviews every flag. The prerequisites differ by vendor. On Healthie, the scheduled read needs API access, which the help article limits to the Enterprise and Group plans, so a solo Core or Essentials practice would work from an export instead. On Jane, the pages describe reports that are easy to export but no public API, so the same run would depend on export files.

A second configurable step covers intake. The trigger is a client finishing the intake form. The action creates a task to verify insurance details before the first session, with the payer and member ID copied into it. The output is a checklist on the client record, and a front-desk staff member confirms coverage through the payer's own tools. The workflow does not check eligibility itself, and a live eligibility check needs a separate payer connection. The task tool also needs a BAA if it will hold member IDs.

APIs, data access and the BAA question

Healthie's API is closed. Its help article says the API is "an available add-on for members on our Enterprise and Group Plans," that each developer maintains their own login credentials, and that sandbox access is provisioned on request, with production keys generated separately. The add-on price is not published on the pages we read. Read the API help article before you design any integration, because a key can only reach data that its user account can already access.

Jane's pages list data export and free data imports, and they describe reporting as easily exportable. They do not describe a public API or an integrations marketplace on the pages we read, so an integration plan should start with an export test on your own data.

Jane's encryption is 128-bit in transit and 256-bit at rest according to Jane (2026, undated page). The same HIPAA guide says Jane "can work with you to develop a BAA Agreement" and does not say it signs one by default. It also describes a separate account for each staff member, an access log, and a policy of accessing an account only when the customer asks for help. The Healthie help article calls the product HIPAA-compliant but does not mention a BAA, a certification or encryption details, so those are questions for Healthie in writing.

Illustrative scenario: a three-clinician practice wants the nightly billing-review run described above and needs API access, which points to Healthie's Group plan. The Group plan at $149.99 with one provider seat and one support seat, plus two extra provider licenses at $50 each, comes to $249.99 per month, or $2,999.88 a year, before the $9.99 inbound e-fax line, which brings the monthly figure to $259.98. The integration owner would create API keys with the createApiKey mutation, which takes a user_id input according to Healthie's authentication documentation, and the add-on price for API access is not published on the pages we read. On Jane, the same three-clinician practice pays $79 per month for one Practice plan, but the fee for the other two practitioners is not published, so no total can be computed from public pages.

Building it yourself: Zapier, Make, n8n or in-house

The real alternative for many owners is a build, not a finished tool. Zapier, Make and n8n can run these steps, and when they are configured they can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and keep audit evidence. The buyer still designs and owns the parts that break quietly: observability, so someone notices a silent failure; idempotency, so a retried run does not create the same billing review task twice; escalation paths; access controls on every connected account; and maintenance when a vendor changes a field name.

A configurable design from US Tech Automations would use the same run history, retry and error-branch pattern, with an escalation path to a named biller and a log of each flagged session. It still needs the API or export prerequisites above and a named human owner for each review point. The honest comparison is that a DIY build carries a smaller license line and a larger maintenance line, and owners tend to underestimate the maintenance line.

Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence

Healthie: best fit and limits

Healthie fits practices that expect to grow past a solo schedule and want one record for charting, claim forms and team messaging, or that may need an API later. Its limits are the Core plan's client cap, a closed API that needs an add-on, a clearinghouse price the pricing page states two ways, and no BAA language on the help article we read. Essentials lists migration support and data transfer support, so ask for the migration plan in writing before you move records. If Practice Fusion is also on your list, see Healthie vs Practice Fusion for therapy practices.

SoftwareFinder rates Healthie 4.7 from 20 user reviews according to SoftwareFinder (2026). Twenty reviews is a small base, and the page reports 100% positive ratings from those reviewers. Healthie raised $23 million in a Series B in October 2024 according to Pulse 2.0 (2024). TCV led the round, and Healthie said the money would expand its Harbor marketplace and add AI tools. We found no acquisition or merger of Healthie in the sources we checked.

Jane: best fit and limits

Jane fits solo and small practices that want online booking, intake forms, payments and an insurance add-on without a developer. Thrive users who need rooms, waitlists and self check-in are the other clear fit. Jane's limits are the Balance plan's 20-appointment cap, per-practitioner fees that are not published, no public API on the pages we read, and no annual pricing. Some third-party listings still show older Jane tier names, so use Jane's pricing page for any budget. Before signing, ask for the export format and a sample data file, because the public pages describe exports without showing a schema. If you are comparing Jane with other tools for this kind of practice, see Jane alternatives for therapy practices. For a head-to-head with another practice platform, see Jane vs SimplePractice for therapy practices.

Jane welcomed all 53 Ginger Desk team members after an acquisition according to Techcouver (2026). The article reports that Jane acquired a B.C. startup founded by Dr. Julie Durnan, who joins Jane as Head of Services, and it gives no price or product change. The pages we opened do not state Jane's ownership, so this profile does not name owners.

Fit by practice shape

Match your practice shape first. The table gives a lean, not a verdict.

Practice shapeLean towardWhyWatch for
Solo therapist, 10 or fewer active clientsHealthieCore is the lowest published entry price hereThe 10-client cap ends the plan
Solo therapist, more than 10 clients, no insuranceHealthieEssentials covers up to 250 clients; Plus removes the capGroup video needs Plus
Solo therapist billing insuranceJaneInsurance Billing is available on Practice with online bookingThe add-on and the BAA text
Two or three cliniciansHealthieGroup adds a shared calendar and team messengerConfirm how many support seats you get
Ten or more practitionersQuote from bothBoth vendors price this size by quoteCompare support terms and per-seat costs
Team building a custom workflowHealthie, if the API add-on is affordableAPI access exists on Group and EnterpriseClosed API; sandbox on request

Who this is for

Who this is for: owners and operations leads at solo or group therapy practices who are choosing between a clinical record platform and a booking-first tool, and who can get the BAA and the quote in writing before committing.

Red flags: a Core-plan practice that already has more than 10 active clients; a Balance-plan practice that books more than 20 appointments a month; any purchase made before the BAA text has been read.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

A simpler existing tool wins in three cases. A single therapist on Jane's Balance plan who needs only online booking and reminders gets those from the built-in features, and a workflow adds nothing. A practice on Healthie's Core plan that does not bill insurance and uses the native reminders has no review queue for a workflow to manage. A practice with no API, no export and no staff time to review flags should start with a written checklist, because a configured flow with no input data produces nothing useful. In each of those cases, US Tech Automations would be the wrong purchase.

Decision checklist

  1. Count your active clients and monthly appointments today, and project both for the next 12 months.

  2. Decide whether claims are submitted from the platform or by a biller in another tool.

  3. Ask each vendor for the BAA text in writing before loading any client record.

  4. Confirm whether you need group telehealth, and which plan includes it.

  5. Ask for the export format and whether a scheduled export is included.

  6. Get a written quote for any practitioner count above the published seat counts.

Common mistakes

  • Choosing Core on the entry price and hitting the 10-client cap in the first busy month.

  • Assuming claims are included because a plan lists CMS-1500 forms, without checking clearinghouse terms.

  • Treating a trial as a security review. Confirm the BAA and encryption terms separately.

  • Requesting API access before a sandbox has been provisioned and tested.

  • Forgetting per-seat costs when the team grows past the seats a plan includes.

Questions buyers ask

Is Healthie cheaper than Jane for a solo therapist?

For a solo therapist with ten or fewer active clients and no insurance billing, Healthie's Core plan costs less than any Jane plan in this comparison, but its client cap is the limit to watch. Once insurance billing is added on Jane, the cost gap narrows, and the table above shows the math.

Does Jane sign a business associate agreement?

Jane says it can work with you to develop a BAA, but its public HIPAA guide does not say it signs one by default, so request the text and have counsel check its scope before any client record goes in.

Does Healthie offer a public API?

No. Healthie describes its API as closed, available as an add-on on Enterprise and Group plans, with sandbox access provisioned on request.

Does Jane offer an API?

The Jane pages we read do not describe a public API, so treat integration as a question to put to Jane in writing and plan around exports until it answers.

Can a therapy practice skip a workflow tool entirely?

Yes, for most solo practices without insurance billing. Built-in reminders, exports and a written checklist can cover the work. A workflow layer pays off when the review queue grows past what staff can check by hand.

Has Healthie or Jane been acquired?

No, we found no acquisition of either company by another firm; the 2026 news we found covers Jane buying Ginger Desk, not a change of ownership. The latest Healthie funding we found is its 2024 Series B. The Healthie help article we read does not mention a certification, so ask Healthie in writing.

Where to go from here

Start with your client count, then insurance billing, then the BAA text, and get a quote in writing from Healthie or Jane if you have more than one clinician. If you want a configured review layer over either system, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a practice of your shape.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.