5 Holistiplan Alternatives for Financial Advisors, 2027
Key Takeaways
Choose by the job first. Return intake, multi-year tax projection and withdrawal sequencing are different products, and only some of the alternatives below replace Holistiplan's return-reading role.
Compare prices only after converting them to one unit. Holistiplan bills by household per year, RightCapital by advisor per month, FP Alpha sells tax credits, and Covisum publishes an add-on user fee rather than a core price.
Covisum and Tax Planner Pro do not publish a core subscription price on the pages we opened, so you need a written quote before you can compare them fairly.
Holistiplan is the only product here whose public API we verified for tax-return upload, and it exposes a
crm_keyfield for keeping CRM records aligned.Budget for the operating work. Someone must own intake, the review queue and the annual tax-year update, whichever tool you choose.
Start with the category decision
Tax planning software for advisors turns a client's return and assumptions into a projected tax bill under different choices, such as a Roth conversion, a withdrawal order or a change in income. Holistiplan is best known for reading a client's filed return and producing a planning snapshot from it, and its alternatives fall into three categories. A return-based tax engine is built around the filed return. A full planning platform places tax next to retirement, estate and insurance modules. A retirement-income tool ties tax to withdrawal sequencing and Social Security timing.
The category decision matters because the price units do not match. A tool that sells by household, by advisor or by credit is answering a different buying question. The category itself has grown: the 2023 T3 and Inside Information advisor survey found more than four in 10 advisors using tax planning software, according to FA Magazine (2024).
Holistiplan's own published price sets the reference point for this guide. Holistiplan's Premium Tax plan: $1,999 a year at 75 households according to Holistiplan (2026).
TL;DR: Keep Holistiplan in the comparison if return-based snapshots are the core job. Move toward FP Alpha or RightCapital if you need tax work inside one planning platform, and look at Income Lab when withdrawal order and Social Security timing drive the advice.
How we evaluated these tools
We built this guide from public information only: each vendor's pricing and product pages, Holistiplan's public API reference, and independent trade coverage. We did not run any of these products, and nothing here describes hands-on use. The weights below are our judgment about what a small firm should weigh. They are not vendor data or survey output. We used them to order the profiles and shape the matrix, and we did not compute a numeric rank.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|
| Tax depth: return intake, projections, Roth and withdrawal analysis | 30% | The purchase exists to produce a tax answer, so this decides whether a tool is in the running. |
| Price clarity: published price with a stated billing unit | 20% | Comparison needs one unit, and quote-based tools need a written quote before they can be compared. |
| Integration: public API or documented export path | 20% | Without a sync path, every return and household is re-keyed by hand. |
| Operating fit: trial length, contract terms, seat model | 15% | Shapes how reversible a switch is for a small team. |
| Evidence quality: vendor documentation and independent coverage | 15% | Separates documented claims from marketing copy. |
Price clarity carries 20% because it is the criterion most often hidden behind a "contact sales" link. Evidence quality carries 15% because much of the coverage in this category comes from vendors or from competitors that sell adjacent tools, so we treat unverified claims as unverified.
Who this is for
This guide is for owners and operations leads at small financial services firms who have narrowed their options to a Holistiplan replacement or add-on. It covers planning tools, not tax preparation software or CPA-only filing products, and it does not assume you already use a particular CRM.
Red flags: you need one tool to handle tax preparation, filing and client billing; nobody on staff will own intake review or the export and API work; or your household count sits near a pricing tier boundary and you have not checked the price at the next tier.
If the CRM handoff is your bottleneck, read how Redtail and Wealthbox compare for advisors before you choose a planning tool.
Feature matrix: what each vendor publishes
The matrix records only what the pages we opened say. "Not stated" means the detail was not on the pages reviewed, not that the product lacks it, so confirm every open cell in a written spec before you shortlist.
| Product | Published price | Return intake or tax snapshot | Roth or withdrawal planning | Public API | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Holistiplan (baseline) | Yes, by household per year | Yes, return PDF upload through the API | Roth projections endpoint | Yes, REST | 7-day free trial |
| Income Lab | Yes, per plan | Pro only: 1040 upload analysis | Core: Roth conversion optimizer and withdrawal sequencing | Not stated | 14-day trial, converts to Pro |
| RightCapital | Yes, per advisor per month | Premium and Platinum: Tax Analyzer | Listed in the tax menu; tier not stated | Not stated | 14-day free trial |
| FP Alpha | Yes, annual, plus credit tiers | Tax Planning tier: snapshots and projections | Roth conversion analysis | Not stated | Not stated |
| Covisum (Tax Clarity) | Quote-based for tools; add-on user fee published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 10-day free trial |
| Tax Planner Pro | Quote-based | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Holistiplan is the only product in the table where we verified a documented public API with tax-return upload, so it is the only one where we can describe the sync design in endpoint terms. That is a fact about documentation, not a verdict on the other products. Among the alternatives, Income Lab's Pro plan and RightCapital's Tax Analyzer are the closest published matches to Holistiplan's intake, and both sit above each vendor's entry tier.
What each vendor charges on its pricing page
Pricing checked October 19, 2026. Each row links to the page its figure came from. Where a vendor publishes no figure for a plan, the table says Quote-based.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Billing unit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Holistiplan | Basic Tax, 75 households | $1,599 | Yearly | Holistiplan pricing |
| Holistiplan | Premium Tax, 75 households | $1,999 | Yearly | Holistiplan pricing |
| Income Lab | Core | $1,990 | Yearly, or $199 a month | Income Lab pricing |
| Income Lab | Pro | $2,990 | Yearly, or $299 a month | Income Lab pricing |
| RightCapital | Basic | $149.95 | Per advisor per month | RightCapital pricing |
| RightCapital | Premium | $209.95 | Per advisor per month | RightCapital pricing |
| RightCapital | Platinum | $254.95 | Per advisor per month | RightCapital pricing |
| FP Alpha | All-In-One Planning Solution | $1,995 | Per year, listed as an annual flat fee | FP Alpha pricing |
| FP Alpha | Tax Planning, 75 credits | $1,125 | Credit tier, firm-wide bank | FP Alpha pricing |
| Covisum | Core suite and individual tools | Quote-based | Not published per tool | Covisum pricing |
| Covisum | Associate license | $39.99 | Per additional user per month | Covisum pricing |
| Tax Planner Pro | Full product | Quote-based | Not published | Tax Planner Pro pricing |
Income Lab's Pro plan costs $2,990 a year on annual billing, against $3,588 if billed monthly at $299, so annual billing saves $598 a year, according to Income Lab (2026). Holistiplan's price rises with household count, and its Basic Tax plan includes insurance at 150 households and above. The pricing page we opened does not list the feature differences between Basic Tax and Premium Tax, so ask for that comparison in writing.
Price history matters as well. Kitces reported in February 2025 that a late-2024 restructuring "nearly doubled the cost of the tool" and cited $1,999 for Holistiplan's 75-household plan, according to Kitces (2025). Treat any older price you find in a forum or review as stale until the vendor page confirms it.
Annualized list-price math
Prices in different units cannot be compared until they are converted to one scenario. The table converts each published figure to a yearly amount for a stated count, using arithmetic only.
| Vendor | Scenario and calculation | Annual list price |
|---|---|---|
| Holistiplan | Premium Tax, 75 households, published yearly price | $1,999 |
| RightCapital | Premium, one advisor: $209.95 × 12 | $2,519.40 |
| RightCapital | Premium, two advisors: $209.95 × 12 × 2 | $5,038.80 |
| Income Lab | Pro, annual billing, published yearly price | $2,990 |
| FP Alpha | Tax Planning, 75 credits, published tier price | $1,125 |
| Covisum | Associate license, one added user: $39.99 × 12 | $479.88 |
Take an illustrative case, not a customer: a two-advisor practice with 75 households that wants one tax snapshot per household each year. Holistiplan's Premium Tax plan at 75 households is $1,999 a year, or about $26.65 per household ($1,999 divided by 75). RightCapital's Premium plan for two advisors is $209.95 × 12 × 2, or $5,038.80 a year, about 2.5 times the Holistiplan figure, and it covers planning modules a tax-only comparison does not. FP Alpha's Tax Planning tier at 75 credits is $1,125 a year, or $15 a credit, if each household uses one credit for its tax review. On the sync side, Holistiplan's household records accept a crm_key value, and POST /households/create_or_update_many/ loads them in bulk, so the 75 records can be written in one call rather than 75 manual entries.
These figures are list prices for different scopes, not total cost. None of them includes the staff hours spent on intake, review or tax-year updates, and none includes Income Lab or FP Alpha seat counts beyond what their pages state.
Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence
Each profile separates published facts from our read. The "Our read" lines are analysis, not vendor claims.
Holistiplan: the baseline you are replacing
Published facts: Holistiplan prices by household per year. Its pricing page lists Basic Tax and Premium Tax at 75 households for $1,599 and $1,999 a year, unlimited users is a Basic Tax feature, and plans start with a free 7-day trial. Its public REST API creates households and clients, uploads tax-return PDFs, and returns processed tax data. Holistiplan's API accepts tax-return PDFs of 50 MB or smaller, with one upload per record, according to Holistiplan (2026). Return statuses include needsReview, which gives you a built-in review state, and income tax data is read-only apart from creating a Tax Report.
Best fit: firms whose core need is a return-driven tax snapshot for each household and who can name someone to review intake. Limitations: processed tax data cannot be written back through the API, so corrections happen upstream and need a review step. Red flag: if you need the tool to write corrected tax data back into its records, the endpoints we read do not show it. Implementation: map crm_key on households and clients before the first sync, and confirm the authentication steps with Holistiplan before scoping, because the reference we opened does not cover them.
Income Lab: retirement income first, tax inside
Published facts: Core costs $199 a month or $1,990 billed annually, and Pro costs $299 a month or $2,990 billed annually. Core includes Tax Lab withdrawal sequencing, a Roth conversion optimizer with bracket management, and 43 state tax engines. Pro adds a 1040 upload that Income Lab describes as giving "a complete tax analysis in seconds," along with one-time withdrawal planning, W-4 withholding analysis, NUA analysis for employer stock, Medicare and IRMAA planning, and an AI paraplanner. The trial is 14 days with full Pro access, requires a card, and converts to a paid Pro subscription unless you cancel.
Best fit: practices where withdrawal order and Social Security timing drive the advice, and tax is one input among spending and income. Limitation: the 1040 upload sits in Pro, which costs about 1.5 times Core on annual billing ($2,990 divided by $1,990). Red flag: if your need is intake-only tax work, you pay for retirement-income breadth you may not use. The API is not stated on the pages we opened. Our read: Income Lab is strongest where the tax answer must sit next to the spending plan, as in Income Lab's pricing page.
RightCapital: tax as one module on one platform
RightCapital's Premium plan: $209.95 per advisor per month according to RightCapital (2026). The Basic plan at $149.95 includes tax planning, the Platinum plan at $254.95 keeps the Tax Analyzer, and every plan requires an annual commitment for the first year. Assistant access is $40 per assistant per month, and Enterprise is handled through contact sales.
Kitces described the Tax Analyzer in February 2025 as "more about quickly setting up future planning scenarios" than a detailed read of the prior year's return, according to Kitces (2025). That same article listed the Premium plan at $179.95 a month, so the figure has moved; budget from the live page.
Best fit: an advisor who wants planning, estate, retirement and insurance modules in one platform and treats tax as one module among several. Limitation: the tax detail needs Premium, not Basic. Red flag: if tax intake is the core workflow and only one or two people run it, paying per advisor for every seat can cost more than a return-based tool. If you are weighing RightCapital against eMoney, see RightCapital vs eMoney for financial advisors.
FP Alpha: credits for tax work inside a larger product
FP Alpha's All-In-One Planning Solution: $1,995 a year according to FP Alpha (2026). The same page lists the All-In-One with 55 snapshots, 35 tax, 10 estate and 10 insurance. Its Tax Planning tiers run from $1,125 for 75 credits to $9,750 for 750 credits, and the FAQ describes credits as a firm-wide annual bank that any seat can use. The price per credit falls from $15 at the smallest tier to $13 at the largest, so the unit cost drops only if your volume fills the bigger tier.
Financial Planning's September 2024 profile listed $1,995 as an annual per-advisor rate for tax, estate and insurance services, which conflicts with the pricing page's flat-fee label, according to Financial Planning (2024). Confirm the billing unit before budgeting. The same profile says the AI was trained for possible tax-law changes tied to provisions that sunset in 2025, and it gives no detail on how updates are monitored, so ask FP Alpha how it handles tax-law updates in writing.
Best fit: firms that want estate and insurance analysis alongside tax in one product and can plan their credit use. Red flag: if your firm only needs tax work, the All-In-One bundle includes estate and insurance you may not use, so price the Tax Planning tier by itself. Its tax module is documented as a tax snapshot, projection and Roth conversion analysis in Kitces' February 2025 coverage. The API is not stated on the pages we opened.
Covisum Tax Clarity: a single retirement-tax tool with add-on users
Covisum's Associate license costs $39.99 per additional user per month, according to Covisum (2026). The pricing page says subscriptions are "designed for single-user access," that all plans include unlimited client profiles, and that the suite, the Essentials add-on and individual tools are quote-based. Monthly plans bill every 30 days and annual plans bill once per year. The page says there is no contract, and it provides no refunds for partial months or years. A 10-day free trial applies to all tools.
Best fit: a solo advisor, or a pair, who wants Tax Clarity as one tool inside a retirement workflow and can accept one login per user. Limitation: the single-user design means every added person needs an Associate license, and the core price is not published. Red flag: if you need one shared tax intake queue for a team, the single-user design fits poorly. Third-party listings show a starting price, but we did not open a page that confirms it, so we leave that figure out of the tables. Implementation: request one written quote that covers the individual tool and the add-on users you need.
Tax Planner Pro: a quote-based candidate with thin public evidence
The pricing page we opened carries the product title, "Tax Planner Pro — Tax Planning Software for Financial Advisors & CPAs," and no prices, feature list or contact text in the content we retrieved. Source: Tax Planner Pro's pricing page.
Best fit: advisors who work closely with CPAs and want to test the tool's projections against their own client files. Limitation: we could not confirm multi-year projection, state coverage or export features from the pages we opened, so this profile has the thinnest evidence in the guide. Red flag: with no published price, a written quote is the only comparison path. Implementation: before you put it on a shortlist, ask for a written quote and a written feature list that covers multi-year projections, state tax coverage and export format.
Implementation: where a workflow layer fits
Most of the cost after purchase is intake, not the tax engine. A return that lands in the wrong household record, or sits unreviewed for two weeks, costs more than a monthly seat. Zapier, Make or n8n can move records between a CRM and a tax tool, and they can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when configured. The buyer still designs and owns the parts that fail in practice: idempotency, so a retried upload does not create a second household; escalation when a return is flagged; access controls on client files; and maintenance when a vendor changes an endpoint. If your CRM choice is still open, compare Wealthbox and Salesforce for advisors before you map crm_key.
A proposed US Tech Automations design for the Holistiplan path is a configurable workflow, not a deployment we have run for a customer. Its trigger is a household moving to a "tax review due" stage in the firm's CRM. The first action calls POST /households/create_or_update_many/ with the CRM record ID stored in crm_key, so the household is created once and updated on retries rather than duplicated. The second action creates a tax return record and sends the prior-year PDF to POST /tax_returns/{id}/multipart_upload/, which accepts files up to 50 MB and one upload per record. The output is a CRM note that records the return's status, plus a task for the advisor. Prerequisites: API credentials and onboarding from Holistiplan, confirmed with the vendor before scoping; a CRM field that holds each household's ID; and a named owner for that mapping.
Two points need a person. Any return that reaches needsReview or error goes to an operations lead rather than the advisor's queue, and no client-facing summary is released until an advisor signs off on the income tax data. Someone also has to confirm the tax year in use, because tax-law changes move the numbers each year.
For Income Lab, RightCapital or FP Alpha, the same design starts with an export step, because the pages we opened did not show a public API for those products. A proposed US Tech Automations design would trigger on a planning-review request, export the scenario inputs, route them to the planner, and write a summary note to the CRM only after the advisor approves the figures. Confirm export formats in writing before you scope that work.
Decision checklist
Name the job first: return intake, multi-year projection, or withdrawal planning.
Write the billing unit beside every price: household, advisor, credit or user.
Ask every quote-based vendor for the tier that matches your household count, in writing.
Confirm the API or export path before a tool goes on the shortlist.
Check each vendor's return scope against the returns your clients actually file.
Name the owner for intake review and for the annual tax-year check.
Glossary
Tax snapshot: a summary of a client's prior-year return inside the tool.
Roth conversion analysis: a model of whether moving pre-tax money into a Roth account lowers the client's lifetime tax.
IRMAA: Medicare premium surcharges tied to income, which Income Lab's Pro plan lists as a planning topic.
Credit: a unit of tax work that FP Alpha sells in tiers, held in a firm-wide bank.
Associate license: Covisum's add-on seat for an extra user.
Idempotency: a property where repeating a sync produces the same record, not a duplicate.
crm_key: Holistiplan's field for storing a CRM's own record ID.
Frequently asked questions
Does Holistiplan publish its prices?
Yes. Its pricing page lists Basic Tax and Premium Tax by household count, billed yearly, from 30 to 750 households, with Enterprise above 750 handled through a quote.
Which alternatives publish a price you can budget from?
Holistiplan, Income Lab, RightCapital and FP Alpha publish list prices on their pages. Covisum publishes only its add-on user fee and quote-based core pricing, and Tax Planner Pro publishes no price on the page we opened.
How do I compare prices with different billing units?
Convert each figure to an annual amount for the same number of advisors, households or credits, then ask for the tier that matches your count in writing. The annualized table above shows the method, and its figures are list prices, not total cost of ownership.
Which alternative should a firm try first?
Start with the job you cannot do today. A return-based snapshot points toward Holistiplan or FP Alpha's tax module, a single planning platform points toward RightCapital, and withdrawal sequencing points toward Income Lab. Test the shortlisted tool on your own household file before you commit.
Is a workflow layer worth it for a small firm?
Often not, if the tool's own upload covers your return volume and your CRM already has a verified handoff. When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a workflow layer if you file only a few returns a year and the planning tool's upload handles them without a second system to maintain. Skip it if your team already routes tasks inside one platform, because a second orchestrator adds a place where records can disagree. And skip it if nobody has written down who reviews intake, since a workflow will run faster than your review process and widen the gap. A US Tech Automations design only makes sense once the handoff and the review points are written down.
Choosing among the five
For most small firms, the decision reduces to three questions: which job the tool must do, what the unit of price is in your practice, and whether intake can reach your CRM without someone re-keying records. Holistiplan answers the first question most directly and publishes the most detail about its tiers and API. Income Lab, RightCapital and FP Alpha are better read as planning platforms with tax inside them. Covisum and Tax Planner Pro need a written quote before they can be compared fairly. To scope the implementation side, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a proposed intake design, with the prerequisites and review points listed above.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.