Skip to content
AI & Automation

Pendo vs PostHog: Product Analytics for SaaS in 2027

Oct 20, 2026

TL;DR: Pendo and PostHog overlap on product analytics, but they are built for different buyers. Pendo sells a product-experience suite that covers analytics, in-app guides, feedback and roadmaps, and its paid plans are sold on request. PostHog bills product analytics on usage, offers a free tier and billing limits, and publishes an open-source release you can self-host. If you need in-app guidance and NPS work in the same tool, lean toward Pendo and expect a sales conversation. If engineering owns instrumentation and keeping event data on infrastructure you run is a requirement, lean toward PostHog. No price is printed in this article for either vendor: Pendo's paid plans show "Request pricing" instead of a figure, and our fetch of PostHog's pricing page returned no readable figures, so the number has to come from a quote and your own usage counts.

How we evaluated

We compared the two products on four criteria: how pricing is structured and disclosed, what each product covers beyond analytics, how much control the buyer keeps over its data, and what a move between the two would involve. Every vendor claim here comes from a vendor page we fetched on October 19, 2026, or from a source named in the text. Where a vendor page did not state something, the comparison table says "not published" rather than filling the gap with an estimate.

We did not run either product in a trial and did not interview customers, so this is a document review, not a hands-on test. We also chose not to print any vendor price figure. A figure that cannot be dated and linked to a fetched page is worse than no figure, because a buyer will quote it back to the vendor in a negotiation.

Who Pendo is for

Pendo describes its platform as designed to benefit several functions across an organization, and its site names product, IT, revenue, customer success, marketing and HR teams among the groups it serves. The modules listed on its product page include Product Analytics, in-app Guides, Session Replay, Listen for feedback, a Sentiment module for NPS-style measurement, Roadmaps, and Orchestrate, which coordinates in-app messages with email. The practical appeal is that a product manager, a customer success lead and a marketer can work from one usage dataset rather than three.

Pendo's pricing page lists a Free plan and three paid plans, Base, Core and Ultimate, each behind a "Request pricing" button and described as custom monthly active user volume. The free plan is capped by monthly active users and includes analytics, in-app guides, and Pendo-branded roadmaps and NPS surveys. Because paid plans are sold on request, expect the purchase to be a negotiation with a seller, not a checkout. For a SaaS team, the closest buyers are a head of product or a head of customer success who needs guidance and feedback tools alongside analytics.

For the NPS side of the job, our SaaS NPS automation ROI analysis walks through how feedback signals turn into follow-up work, which is the stage where a feedback module either pays off or sits unused.

Who PostHog is for

PostHog's public material is written for builders. Its product analytics documentation says the product is billed by the number of events captured, describes a generous free tier measured per month, and notes that you can set billing limits to avoid surprise charges. The same page says no credit card is required to get started. The pricing page is headed "Start free, scale when you need," which signals a usage-first model rather than a sales-led one.

PostHog also publishes an open-source release under the MIT license. Its own disclaimer is direct about who that release is for: self-hosted open-source deployment is "made for hobbyists or hosting PostHog in weird and wonderful ways," it runs on a single machine, and PostHog says it can only provide limited support. For a SaaS company, PostHog fits an engineering-led group that instruments its own product, wants to query raw events, and may need to keep data on infrastructure it controls. PostHog also offers surveys, including NPS, and session replay, so the real point to confirm is in-app guides: it is a weaker fit for a team that needs in-app guides out of the box, because the vendor pages we read do not list that module.

Teams that want the in-app adoption side covered by a separate system can read our SaaS feature adoption automation guide, which covers how usage events drive targeted campaigns regardless of which analytics tool sits underneath.

How the two compare

The table below sets the two products side by side on the dimensions that affect a SaaS buyer. The cells are limited to what the pages we read actually state.

DimensionPendoPostHog
Paid plan pricing"Request pricing"; no figure on the page we readUsage-based; figures on the live pricing page, not printed here
Billing unitMonthly active users, custom volumeEvents captured, for product analytics
Free tierYes, capped by monthly active usersYes, with a monthly allowance
Spend controlsNot publishedBilling limits can be set
Self-hostingNot publishedOpen-source, MIT-licensed release for self-hosting
In-app guidesYes (Guides)Not listed on the pages we read
Session replayYes (Session Replay)Yes (session replay)
Feedback and NPSYes (Listen, Sentiment)Yes (surveys, including NPS)
RoadmapsYes (Roadmaps)Not listed on the pages we read
Where data is heldNot publishedSelf-hosting keeps data wherever you run it; PostHog Cloud offers US and EU regions

Source: Pendo's pricing and product pages, and PostHog's product analytics pricing docs, read October 19, 2026. "Not published" means the page we read did not state it.

Reading the table, the analytics core is close. Both products measure what users do inside a product, and the differences cluster around everything built on top of that data: guidance, feedback, and who controls the infrastructure. Those differences matter more to the decision than any single feature checkbox.

Pricing: what to verify and what to ask

Pricing checked October 19, 2026. Pendo's paid plans carry no published figure on the pricing page we read, and our fetch of PostHog's pricing page returned no readable figures, so neither vendor's price is printed here. This is deliberate. A number without a dated, linkable source would be the first thing a vendor disputes.

Both vendors meter on a unit that grows with your business, and the unit is what drives the bill. Pendo prices paid plans against monthly active users. PostHog prices product analytics against events captured, with the per-event rate changing as volume rises. The two units behave differently: a product with many light users and a product with a few heavy event-emitting features can land in opposite places on cost. Model both against your own monthly active users and event counts before you compare anything.

For Pendo, the number is usually driven by the monthly active user volume in your contract tier, the modules you add on top of analytics, and the rules for overage or a mid-contract tier change. For PostHog, the number is usually driven by events captured each month, which products generate those events, and the billing limit you set. In both cases the buyer should ask a short, specific list of questions before accepting any quote.

Question to put to the vendorWhy it changes the number
What is metered: monthly active users, events, or seats?The metric is the bill, and a different unit can move cost sharply in either direction
Which modules are in the quote?Guides, replay, feedback and flags can sit on separate meters or tiers
How is overage billed, and when can we change tiers?Growth can trigger a mid-contract upgrade or a usage charge
What data export is available, in what format, and at what cost?The exit cost decides how reversible the choice is
Is there migration help, and who pays for it?Engineering time is usually the largest line in a switch
What support covers self-hosting, if any?The open-source route moves operational risk onto your own team

Pros and cons

Pendo

The main advantage is breadth. Analytics, in-app guides, session replay, feedback, roadmaps and orchestration sit under one vendor, so the product, success and marketing teams can act on the same usage picture. The free plan gives a team a way to test the platform before a contract. The main disadvantage is commercial: paid plans are sold on request, the pricing unit is tied to monthly active users, and the pages we read do not describe a self-hosting option. A team that expects its user base to grow quickly should ask how tier changes are handled before signing.

PostHog

The main advantage is control. Usage-based billing with a free tier and billing limits lets a team start without a contract, and the open-source release means the data can sit on infrastructure you operate. The main disadvantage is operational. The vendor describes the self-hosted release as suited to hobbyist scale, with limited support and no guarantee, so running it for a serious SaaS product means your engineers own scaling, upgrades and recovery. Modules beyond product analytics also need checking on the bill, because the vendor documentation we read prices product analytics on its own meter and the pages we read do not list in-app guides.

What switching actually costs

Switching has three costs: data, retraining and time. On data, plan to rebuild dashboards, cohorts and funnels rather than port them. Event names, user identity rules and session definitions rarely map one-to-one between tools, so the first step is an event inventory that lists every tracked event, its owner and the report that depends on it.

On retraining, the people who read dashboards and build guides will need to learn a new query model and a new set of settings. That cost is easy to underestimate because it does not appear on a vendor invoice. It shows up as a few weeks in which reports are slower to produce and a few mistakes that a trusted analyst would have caught in the old tool.

On time, the vendor guides we reviewed put a migration of event tracking in a range that depends mostly on how many sources you have and whether events need to be re-instrumented. The table below uses those estimates as a yardstick. They were written for other migrations, not for a Pendo-to-PostHog move, so treat them as a floor for planning rather than a forecast.

SourceMigration scopeEstimate
Hightouch guide10 to 30 event sources4 to 6 calendar weeks
Hightouch guide70 to 100 event sources8 to 12 weeks
RudderStack docsSimple migration, a few sources2 to 4 weeks
RudderStack docsComplex migration, re-instrumented events8 to 12 weeks

Source: Hightouch and RudderStack migration documentation, read October 19, 2026. Both vendors wrote these for their own migrations, not for this pair of products.

Hightouch estimates 4 to 6 weeks for 10 to 30 sources. According to Hightouch, organizations with 10 to 30 event sources often see 4 to 6 calendar weeks for a migration, and its phases are planning, SDK changes, destination setup, validation and retiring the old tool. According to RudderStack, a simple migration is typically 2 to 4 weeks, while a complex one with re-instrumented events runs 8 to 12 weeks. RudderStack puts complex migrations at 8 to 12 weeks.

The data question carries more weight when personal data is involved. Product analytics often captures identifiers tied to real users, so the choice of tool is also a choice about processing. According to gdpr-info.eu, Article 83(5) of the GDPR sets fines for breaches of the basic processing principles at up to EUR 20 million or 4% of worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher. This is not legal advice, but it is the reason a data-processing review belongs in the evaluation before a contract is signed.

Cloud use is now standard for businesses in the EU, which is part of why data location questions are routine. According to Brussels Times, which reports Eurostat data, paid cloud use among EU enterprises reached 52.7% in 2025, up from 17.8% in 2014. Paid cloud use reached 52.7% of EU enterprises in 2025.

YearShare of EU enterprises paying for cloud computing
201417.8%
202552.7%

Source: Eurostat figures as reported by Brussels Times.

Keeping alerts working after the move

Once either analytics tool is running, a usage signal still has to reach a person, or it is just a chart. A workable flow has four steps. In step one, the analytics tool flags an account whose usage drops below its normal pattern. In step two, a rule matches that account to its owner. In step three, the owner receives a task in the CRM, and US Tech Automations lists HubSpot among its integrations, so that handoff is a named connection rather than a manual copy. In step four, a person approves the outreach before it goes out, which mirrors the approval gate in US Tech Automations' sample support flow, where a reviewer approves, edits or rejects each draft before it is sent.

Whether a connector exists for Pendo or PostHog is a separate question, and the answer is not on the pages we read. Ask the vendor directly before you design a workflow around either analytics tool.

The verdict, and who should pick the other one

The two products are close on the core job, and for many SaaS teams the deciding factors are operational rather than analytical. Pick Pendo if the goal is a shared product-experience tool that also runs in-app guidance, feedback and roadmaps, and you can accept a quote-based contract tied to monthly active users. A Pendo buyer should pick PostHog instead if engineering owns instrumentation, usage-based billing fits the forecast, and self-hosting is a requirement your team can staff.

Pick PostHog if your engineers want to query raw events, you want to start without a sales conversation, and keeping data on infrastructure you run matters more than an all-in-one experience. A PostHog buyer should pick Pendo instead if product, customer success and marketing will all use guides and feedback every week, because in-app guides are the piece to confirm with PostHog, and building them yourself adds work that the suite already does.

Here is how the choice maps to common situations.

Your situationLean toward
Product, customer success and marketing need one tool with in-app guides and NPSPendo
Engineering owns instrumentation and wants to query raw eventsPostHog
Data must stay on infrastructure you runPostHog, if you can staff self-hosting
You want to start without a sales conversationPostHog
You are not sure yetRun both on your own event volume over the same window

The honest verdict is that neither product wins on every reader's terms. A checkbox comparison cannot settle the question, and a pilot on your own event volume is the check that will.

FAQs

Which of these two is cheaper for a SaaS team?

Neither can be ranked on price from published figures, so the answer depends on a quote and your own counts. Pendo sells paid plans on request, while PostHog's usage-based pricing moves with events captured. Model both against your monthly active users and event volume before you compare.

Does Pendo have a free plan?

Yes, Pendo lists a Free plan capped by monthly active users. It includes analytics, in-app guides, and Pendo-branded roadmaps and NPS surveys. Paid plans, Base, Core and Ultimate, are available on request.

Can PostHog run in production on our own servers?

It can be self-hosted, but PostHog's own disclaimer describes the open-source release as made for hobbyists, running on a single machine, without guarantee. According to PostHog, it is unlikely to scale past a couple hundred thousand events without significant effort. Production use means your engineers own scaling, upgrades and recovery.

How long does it take to move event tracking to a new tool?

Vendor estimates run from 2 to 12 weeks, depending on how many event sources you have and whether events need re-instrumenting. Those figures come from migrations between other tools, so use them as a planning floor. The real timeline depends on dashboard rebuilds and how many people must relearn the reports.

What should I ask a vendor before signing?

Ask what the contract meters, which modules are included in the quote, how overage is billed, and what data export costs. Ask whether migration help is included and who pays for it. The table in the pricing section lists the questions in full.

Does US Tech Automations integrate with Pendo or PostHog?

Its public integration list names Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe, and it does not name Pendo or PostHog. Ask the vendor directly before you plan a workflow around either analytics tool.

Key Takeaways

  • Pendo and PostHog overlap on product analytics, and the differences sit in guidance, feedback, billing model and data control.

  • Pendo's paid plans are sold on request and tied to monthly active users, so the number comes from a negotiation.

  • PostHog bills product analytics on events captured, has a free tier and billing limits, and offers a self-hosted release that its vendor describes for hobbyist scale.

  • Migration estimates from vendor guides run from 2 to 12 weeks, depending on the number of event sources and whether events are re-instrumented.

  • No price is printed here for either vendor, and the alert and approval steps described above can be built with workflow automation tooling once the analytics choice is made.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.