UltraTax Alternatives for Small CPA Firms: 5 Options 2027
Pick the tax engine before the workflow layer
For a small firm leaving UltraTax CS, the first decision is the tax-preparation engine, and the workflow layer comes second. An UltraTax alternative, in this guide, is a tax-preparation suite that prepares and e-files federal and state returns for a firm, as distinct from practice-management or workflow software. Choose the engine whose pricing unit, deployment and preparer model match your return mix, then decide what sits above it. For a broader view of the category, see best accounting software for CPA firms.
Direct answer: price Drake Tax first if you want figures printed on the vendor's own page before a sales call. Put ProConnect on the list if you want Intuit's per-return tiers and annual bundles in writing. Shortlist Lacerte if your work is complex and spread across several preparers, which is how Intuit describes the product. Consider ProSeries if you expect to stay solo, because its Basic packages are only offered on the Solo plan. Keep CCH Axcess Tax on the list only if a written quote is acceptable, since this review could not open any Wolters Kluwer pricing or package page.
TL;DR: match the engine to your return counts and preparer count, get every quote in the vendor's own pricing unit, and add workflow tooling only after you know which exports the engine supports.
Key Takeaways
Published prices are uneven. Drake and ProConnect print dollar figures on their pricing pages. Lacerte and ProSeries point buyers to pay-per-return or unlimited options without figures, and UltraTax CS says its pricing is custom.
Drake's Pay-Per-Return option is a clear published entry point. Its base covers 10 individual returns, and additional returns are priced separately.
The 2026 AICPA-member survey gives UltraTax CS the largest share of the products it names, and gives Drake Tax and Lacerte an overall average of 4.4 out of 5.
Per-return and per-user units can land far apart for the same firm. Run the worked example in the pricing section with your own return counts before you compare totals.
US Tech Automations' public site names Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe as integrations, and names no tax-suite connector. Confirm exports with each engine vendor before you sign anything.
New York requires certain preparers to e-file, and clients there cannot opt out, so e-file capability can be a requirement rather than a feature.
How we evaluated these tools
This comparison is an informed buyer's guide built from public pages, a published survey and vendor documentation. No product was installed or run for this article. The weights below are this guide's own analysis of what changes a small firm's decision, not vendor or survey data.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|
| Fit to return volume and preparer count | 25% | Pricing units differ (per return, per user, bundle), so the same firm can land far apart |
| Published price transparency | 20% | A figure on the vendor page lets you compare before a sales call; quote-only products take more time |
| Deployment and access stated on the vendor page | 15% | Desktop, hosted and online options change IT work and remote access |
| Independent adoption and rating signal | 15% | Survey data from AICPA members who prepared returns for a fee, self-reported |
| E-file and state coverage stated | 10% | Mandates make e-file a requirement, not a feature |
| Export or integration evidence | 10% | Decides whether an automation layer can sit above the engine |
| Implementation and support burden | 5% | Matters, but public pages rarely show it |
A product with no published figure is marked Quote-based, and it is never scored on an estimate. Where a vendor's pages could not be opened, the profile says so. Survey share measures which products respondents use, not which products produce better returns.
Feature matrix from public pages
The matrix records only what the pages reviewed say. "Not stated" means the page was open and gave no such detail. "Not checked" means the page was not reviewed for that attribute.
| Product | Published price on vendor page | Pricing unit stated | Deployment stated | Survey share 2026 | Survey overall rating (of 5) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UltraTax CS | Not published | Custom, based on users, returns and states | Not specified | 22.3% | Not stated |
| Drake Tax | Published | Per return, per user, unlimited | Online product listed | 14.3% | 4.4 |
| ProConnect Tax | Published | Per return, annual bundle, per user | Not checked | 4.4% | Not stated |
| Lacerte | Not published | Pay-per-return or unlimited options | Desktop, optional monthly hosting | 16.7% | 4.4 |
| ProSeries | Not published | Pay-per-return or unlimited options | Desktop, hosting available | 11% | Not stated |
| CCH Axcess Tax | Not verified (pages blocked) | Not verified | Not verified | 13.8% | 4.0 |
Survey share: UltraTax CS 22.3%, Lacerte 16.7%, Drake Tax 14.3% according to The Tax Adviser (2026), from a sample of 1,808 AICPA members who prepared 2025 returns for a fee.
Overall rating: Drake Tax and Lacerte 4.4 of 5, CCH Axcess Tax 4.0 according to The Tax Adviser (2026). The readable article text gives no overall rating for UltraTax CS, ProSeries or ProConnect Tax.
| Product | Survey share 2026 | Overall rating (of 5) |
|---|---|---|
| Lacerte | 16.7% | 4.4 |
| Drake Tax | 14.3% | 4.4 |
| CCH Axcess Tax | 13.8% | 4.0 |
Share is a usage signal. It tells you what peers file with, not which engine fits your returns. This review also dropped ATX from the set, because no official ATX page could be opened.
What the pricing pages show
Pricing checked October 19, 2026.
Every figure below was read on the vendor pricing page named in the Source column during this review. A row marked Quote-based means the page gave no figure.
| Vendor | Plan or unit | Figure on vendor page | Source page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Drake Tax | Pay-Per-Return, 10 individual returns included | $379.99 | Drake pricing page |
| Drake Tax | Additional individual return | $49.99 | Drake pricing page |
| Drake Tax | Additional business return | $74.99 | Drake pricing page |
| Drake Tax | Tax Online, first user included | $299.99 | Drake pricing page |
| Drake Tax | Pro, unlimited returns | $3,295 (asterisked) and $3,145 | Drake pricing page |
| ProConnect Tax | Individual return, as you go | $109.95 | Intuit pricing page |
| ProConnect Tax | Business return, as you go | $129.95 | Intuit pricing page |
| ProConnect Tax | Essentials 50, 1 user, 50 individual returns | $2,478 per year, starting at $3,700 | Intuit pricing page |
| ProConnect Tax | Plus, 2 users, 200 individual returns | $5,868 per year, starting at $8,802 | Intuit pricing page |
| Lacerte | Pay-per-return or unlimited options | Quote-based | Lacerte product page |
| ProSeries | Pay-per-return or unlimited options | Quote-based | ProSeries product page |
| CCH Axcess Tax | All packages | Quote-based (pages could not be opened) | Not available |
| UltraTax CS | Custom by users, returns and states | Not published | Thomson Reuters product page |
Drake's Pay-Per-Return base costs $379.99 for 10 returns according to Drake Software (2026), and the page prices each added individual return separately.
Read the Drake Pro row with care. The page shows two figures, one with an asterisk and one without, plus a note that a retail price takes effect Dec. 1 with no year. The page does not say which figure applies today. Intuit lists user access as a separate line and says taxes are charged on top of its bundle amounts.
Take an illustrative firm, not a customer, that expects 120 individual returns and 15 business returns in one season. On Drake's Pay-Per-Return option, the $379.99 base covers 10 individual returns, so the other 110 cost $5,498.90 at $49.99 each, and the 15 business returns add $1,124.85 at $74.99 each, for a total of $7,003.74 (Drake pricing page). On Intuit's as-you-go rates, the same mix is 120 individual returns at $109.95, or $13,194.00, plus 15 business returns at $129.95, or $1,949.25, for $15,143.25 (Intuit pricing page). Those are the highest-cost routes on each vendor's page, and cheaper published options exist for the same mix. Drake's Pro option for unlimited returns shows $3,295 (asterisked) and $3,145, and the page does not say which figure applies, so confirm that in writing. Intuit's Plus bundle for 2 users and 200 individual returns is $5,868 a year, but its row lists individual returns only, so confirm whether the 15 business returns are covered. If those figures apply, then at this volume the unlimited and bundle options cost less than either per-return total above, by roughly half or more. The math covers returns only. It leaves out features, user access, state returns and staff time. If the firm also tracks each client in HubSpot, a proposed workflow could assign each follow-up task to the owner recorded in hubspot_owner_id on the deal, and a preparer would approve any client message before it sends (HubSpot Deals API).
Vendor profiles
Each profile separates what the vendor's page states from what this review infers. Where a page could not be opened, the profile says so.
Drake Tax
Best fit: a firm that wants figures on the vendor's own page before a sales call and expects to buy per return. Drake's page prints its Pro, 1040 and Pay-Per-Return figures together, so a budget can start from printed numbers.
Limitations: the Pro row shows two figures without a label for which one applies. The page lists fees for Drake Pay, bank products and Protection Plus without prices, and its retail-price note has no year.
Implementation: get the add-on fee list and the applicable Pro figure in writing before you fix a return count. For a side-by-side with ProConnect and UltraTax, read Drake vs ProConnect vs UltraTax.
Primary evidence: Drake pricing page.
ProConnect Tax
Best fit: a firm that wants Intuit's per-return tiers or annual bundles with printed numbers. The page prints individual and business return rates both as you go and bought upfront at volume tiers.
ProConnect's as-you-go individual return costs $109.95 according to Intuit (2026). ProConnect's bundle for one user and 50 returns costs $2,478 per year according to Intuit (2026), with a starting-at figure of $3,700 on the same page.
Limitations: per-return tiers at 400 returns and above show "contact sales" rather than a figure, per-user access is a separate line, and taxes sit on top of bundle amounts. ProConnect also had the smallest survey share in the matrix above.
Implementation: match your return count to the right tier, and ask for the user-access line in the same quote. The page text read in this review did not list state coverage, so ask for it directly. The side-by-side with UltraTax is in Drake vs ProConnect vs UltraTax.
Primary evidence: ProConnect pricing page.
Lacerte
Best fit: a firm with complex returns and several preparers. The product page describes its tools as "designed for complex returns and multiple preparers," and it cites a wide forms library and automated diagnostic checks.
Limitations: no price is published. The page points to pay-per-return or unlimited options and a separate pricing page. Hosting is an optional monthly add-on and requires a Fast Path purchase for concurrent users, so remote access is a cost line, not a default.
Implementation: request one quote that covers the product, hosting and the number of concurrent users. Confirm whether Intuit Sign and secure K-1 email, which the page lists as features, are included in the quoted plan.
Primary evidence: Lacerte product page.
ProSeries
Best fit: a firm that expects to stay solo, or one that accepts a network license once it adds users. The page says Basic packages are only available for the Solo plan, so the Basic route depends on staying a one-preparer practice.
Limitations: a separate ProSeries network license is required for accounts with 2 or more users. The page warns that Professional and Basic "may not include the same functionality," and it does not state state coverage. No price is published.
Implementation: compare the Professional and Basic feature lists in writing before you choose, and ask for the network-license price in the quote.
Primary evidence: ProSeries product page.
CCH Axcess Tax
Best fit: a firm that accepts a quote-only purchase and wants to evaluate a Wolters Kluwer product. The survey puts its overall rating lowest among the products the readable text names, as shown in the matrix above.
Limitations: every Wolters Kluwer page fetched in this review returned HTTP 403. This profile therefore carries no price, firm-size limit or state count from the vendor, and no primary page is cited for it.
Implementation: ask Wolters Kluwer for a written quote that lists user count, return types and states, and ask for any firm-size limits in writing before you compare it with the other engines.
UltraTax CS (the incumbent reference)
Best fit: a firm that already runs the CS Professional Suite. The product page describes integration with Accounting CS and Practice CS, and it lists support by phone, email, chat and a help center.
UltraTax CS e-files more than 371 individual and business state and local returns according to Thomson Reuters (2026).
Limitations: pricing is custom, based on users, returns, and states and jurisdictions. The page does not state a firm size or a deployment model.
Implementation: map every CS Professional Suite link before you leave, because switching usually means replacing a set of connected products rather than one tool.
Primary evidence: Thomson Reuters product page.
Who this is for
Who this is for: owners and operations leads at small accounting firms who are replacing UltraTax CS or choosing a first tax engine, and who need printed numbers, a return-count model and a written answer on exports before a sales call.
Red flags: you expect automation to prepare, review or file returns; you have no written intake or document checklist to automate; or you need a named tax-suite connector before signing and no vendor has confirmed one.
Choose by fit:
Drake Tax: you want printed figures before a call and a per-return or capped model.
ProConnect Tax: you want Intuit's per-return tiers or bundles with printed numbers.
Lacerte: you have complex returns and several preparers, and you accept quote-based pricing.
ProSeries: you expect to stay solo, or you accept a network license once you add users.
CCH Axcess Tax: you accept a quote and will verify package limits with Wolters Kluwer directly.
The follow-up gap after the engine is chosen
Choosing an engine does not finish the work. Document requests, status checks and invoice follow-up often stay manual, and that is where a workflow layer earns or loses its cost. The three workflows below are proposed and configurable. They do not describe a live customer or a measured result.
A proposed document-chasing workflow starts when a HubSpot deal moves to a document-request stage, which is a change to dealstage read through the Deals API. The workflow pulls the missing-items list from a checklist in Google Sheets, drafts a reminder email naming those items, and places the draft in an approval queue. A preparer approves, edits or rejects each draft, and only then does it send through Gmail. The public site describes the same approve, edit or reject step for its support example, so the tax version would need to be configured and tested. The prerequisites are HubSpot access to deal properties, a checklist sheet someone maintains, and a Gmail connection. The review point is every client-facing message.
A second proposed workflow handles invoice follow-up. The trigger is an invoice in QuickBooks that passes its due date with a balance still open. The workflow creates a HubSpot task for the deal owner and drafts a payment reminder. The output is a task on the owner's list and a draft in the approval queue. The prerequisites are QuickBooks access and a field map for due date and balance, which this review did not verify against QuickBooks' own developer documentation. The owner decides whether a reminder goes out and sets any payment-plan language by hand.
A third proposed workflow addresses the gap between the engine and the deadline calendar. The trigger is a scheduled export of return status from the tax engine, if the engine offers one. The workflow compares returns marked ready against the firm's deadline sheet and writes a list of mismatches for the owner. The prerequisite is an export format the engine supports. This review did not verify a public API or export for any tax engine in this guide, so that check is the first task before any build. The owner confirms every flagged item before anyone acts on it.
US Tech Automations builds, runs and supports custom workflows for clients, according to its public site. The site names Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe as integrations, names no public API, and did not state access controls on the page reviewed. Ask for those in writing before any client data moves.
Zapier, Make or an in-house build
Many firms will try this first in Zapier or Make, or with an in-house developer. That is a fair route, and both tools can support run history, retries and error branches when they are configured. According to Zapier (2026), manual replay of errored runs is available on every plan, including Free, while autoreplay is not available on Free. The same article warns that a full-run replay counts as a new run, so successful steps use tasks again. According to Make (2026), Make's error-handling article describes 5 handlers, Skip, Retry, Resume, Commit and Rollback, and says Rollback reverts changes only in modules that support transactions.
| Capability when configured | Zapier | Make | In-house build |
|---|---|---|---|
| Error handling | Manual replay of errored runs on every plan; autoreplay not on Free | Five handlers: Skip, Retry, Resume, Commit, Rollback | Whatever the developer codes |
| Retries | Autoreplay on paid plans; safely halted runs are not replayed | Retry requires incomplete executions to be enabled | Whatever the developer codes |
| Replay cost | Full-run replay counts as new runs and uses tasks again | Not checked in this review | Compute and developer time |
| Owner duties | Idempotency, access controls, escalation, maintenance | Same four duties | Same four duties plus monitoring |
What the buyer still owns is the part no tool configures for you. That means idempotency, so a replayed step does not create a duplicate task or email; escalation to a named person; access controls over client data; and maintenance when a tax-suite field or report changes. Those costs do not appear on a per-task price.
A proposed design from US Tech Automations would configure the same error branch, approval step and a record of each approved draft, with the prerequisites above, and a preparer would still review each client-facing output. The difference is who maintains it. A managed build puts support in the vendor's scope, which should be written into the agreement. A Zapier or Make build leaves maintenance with your staff.
Common mistakes and when a simpler setup wins
Comparing a per-return rate with a per-user bundle without first counting returns and users.
Reading survey share as a quality score. The AICPA survey measures use and ratings among respondents, not outcomes.
Budgeting from a figure with an unexplained asterisk or retail-price note.
Starting an automation build before confirming which exports the engine supports.
Letting an automation send client messages without a named approver.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a simpler setup wins if you file a small number of returns and the engine's own e-file and client tools cover the work, if your staff already maintain a Zapier or Make flow that works, or if you need a tax-suite connector confirmed before any build and the engine vendor cannot name one. In those cases, buy the engine first and keep the workflow in tools you already run until a real gap appears.
Frequently asked questions
Is Drake Tax a direct replacement for UltraTax CS?
Drake Tax can go on the shortlist as a replacement, but this review did not verify feature parity with UltraTax CS. Check every return type and state you file against Drake's list before you switch.
Which option has the lowest starting price?
No single starting figure fits every firm, because Drake's Pay-Per-Return, Drake's Tax Online and ProConnect's per-return tiers price different units. Compare each one against your own return count and user count before you rank them.
Does the AICPA survey show which product is best?
No. It shows which products AICPA members who prepared 2025 returns for a fee reported using, and how they rated them. That is a usage signal, not a verdict on your firm.
Can an automation layer replace my tax software?
No. The workflows described in this guide sit above the tax engine and handle reminders, tasks and approvals. They do not prepare or file returns.
Do I need an API to connect my tax suite?
Only for automated reads and writes. A scheduled export can support status checks, but this review did not verify a public API or export format for any tax engine covered here, so ask each vendor in writing.
Does New York's e-file rule apply to my firm?
The mandate applies if you prepared at least one authorized tax document for more than 10 different taxpayers in calendar 2025, according to New York State Department of Taxation and Finance (2026), and clients cannot opt out.
Next steps
Shortlist two engines and run the worked example with your own return counts. Ask each vendor for a quote in its own pricing unit, and get the export or connector list in writing before you commit. For the wider stack, read accounting automation for CPA firms and best tax software for CPA firms. If you want to see how the follow-up layer would be configured against your own tools, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.