Zillow Rental Manager Alternatives: 6 Compared for 2027
Key Takeaways
Choose by the work you need done, not by the word "free." A listing and screening tool and a platform with accounting and maintenance solve different problems.
Zillow Rental Manager is strongest at listing, screening and collecting rent in one place. A competing vendor's review says it lacks maintenance tracking, accounting and detailed reporting.
Minimums often set the bill for small portfolios. DoorLoop's per-unit plans carry monthly minimums, so a 25-unit owner pays the floor, not the per-unit rate.
Tenant-paid fees for screening, card payments and ACH can matter as much as the subscription, so compare them on the same pricing page.
Rentec Direct's Starter plan stops at 10 properties and tenants. A growing portfolio changes plans, not just tiers.
Zillow's own fee pages could not be confirmed during research, so this guide prints no Zillow prices. Check Zillow's current schedule before you budget around a free tool.
Why owners start looking for a Zillow alternative
A Zillow Rental Manager alternative is landlord software that covers the listing, screening and rent-collection job Zillow's tool handles, and adds or prices differently the accounting, maintenance and owner reporting a growing portfolio needs. The TL;DR: use a low-cost listing tool for a few units, move to a platform once you need owner statements or work orders, and compare the full fee schedule rather than the headline price.
Most rental stock sits in small buildings. Units in 1-4 unit properties: nearly 46% of 49.5 million according to ALTA (2022), which reports the 2021 Rental Housing Finance Survey. That is the owner this guide is written for: someone running a handful of buildings who wants fewer tools and fewer surprises.
Zillow's tool earns its place on listing exposure and on collecting screening and rent in one spot. Where it stops is the back office. A DoorLoop review of Zillow Rental Manager describes it as lacking maintenance request tracking, accounting and detailed reporting, and says support is ticket-based. DoorLoop sells a competing product, so treat that as one vendor's read and check it against the current Zillow product.
For a broader view of small-landlord software, see our guide to property management software for small landlords.
How we evaluated these tools
We weighted seven criteria to match the decision an owner or operations lead actually makes: what the bill will be at their unit count, what tenants pay on top, and how much back-office work the tool removes. The weights are our judgment, not an industry standard. An owner who self-manages a few units may reasonably weight cost higher than we do.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for this decision |
|---|---|---|
| All-in monthly cost at your unit count | 25% | 25 of 100 points: minimums and per-unit rates decide the bill more than headline prices |
| Fee transparency | 15% | 15 of 100 points: whether the pricing page states tenant-paid and landlord-paid fees |
| Rent collection cost | 15% | 15 of 100 points: ACH and card fees hit collection every month |
| Accounting and owner reporting | 15% | 15 of 100 points: owner statements and bank reconciliation are where manual work piles up |
| Screening and leasing workflow | 10% | 10 of 100 points: applications, screening and e-signed leases are the core listing job |
| Maintenance workflow | 10% | 10 of 100 points: work orders and vendor coordination decide whether a tool replaces a spreadsheet |
| Growth path | 10% | 10 of 100 points: plan caps, team seats and API access determine whether you switch again |
Our sources were the public pricing pages of six alternatives (TurboTenant, Hemlane, DoorLoop, TenantCloud, Buildium and Rentec Direct), DoorLoop's API reference, and two independent references on rental housing. The Census Bureau's Rental Housing Finance Survey page lists 2024 data released February 19, 2026, which is newer than the 2021 fieldwork behind the ALTA figures. That page carries no unit-count figures of its own.
Zillow Rental Manager's own pricing and help pages, and Avail's pricing page, could not be opened during research. Neither has price figures here. Third-party sources also disagree on Zillow's screening and listing fees, so we print none. We do not rank the six from first to last, because the right fit depends on unit count and on which costs you carry. Vendor pages are the source for their own prices, not independent evidence of product quality.
Feature matrix: what each pricing page includes
"Yes" or "No" means the vendor's pricing page or plan description states it for the plan named. "Not stated" means the page we read is silent, which is not the same as "no."
| Vendor | Free plan | Tenant screening | Accounting | Maintenance | Owner portal | Public API |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zillow Rental Manager | Not confirmed | Yes (per competing review) | No (per competing review) | No (per competing review) | Not stated | Not stated |
| TurboTenant | Yes | Yes, on the free plan | Pro plan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Hemlane | Yes | Yes | Starter plan | Essential and above | Not stated | Not stated |
| DoorLoop | No | Yes | One plan | One plan | One plan | One plan |
| TenantCloud | Not stated | Not stated | Pro plan | Starter plan | Pro plan | Not stated |
| Buildium | No | Yes, paid per report | Essential and above | Essential and above | Not stated | Premium plan |
| Rentec Direct | No | Yes | Starter plan | PM plan | PM plan | Pro plan |
Zillow's row comes from a competing vendor's review, not from Zillow's own pages. For the other rows, plan names show which tier the page ties each feature to. Buildium's Premium plan lists an Open API. Rentec Direct's Pro plan lists an open API, Zapier and Tasklet integrations, and QuickBooks sync. The Starter plan leaves those out.
Published prices and what they add up to
Each row below shows the vendor's published terms, with the 25-unit math worked from those same terms. Where a vendor publishes no total for 25 units, the row says so.
| Vendor | Plan | Published prices and 25-unit math |
|---|---|---|
| TurboTenant | Free, Essentials, Pro | Free at $0. Essentials from $12.42 a month and Pro from $16.48 a month. Annual plans by unit band: Essentials $149 (1-10 units) and $199 (11-30); Pro $199 (1-10) and $399 (11-30). At 25 units, Essentials is $199 a year and Pro is $399 a year. Tenant screening $45 to $55, paid by the tenant. according to TurboTenant |
| Hemlane | Starter, Basic, Essential, Complete | Starter $0. Basic $30, Essential $48 and Complete $86 a month, each including a $28 platform fee. Per-unit rates of $2, $20 and $58 after a 14-day trial. Tenant screening $40, paid by the tenant. The page gives no total for 25 units. according to Hemlane |
| DoorLoop | One, Connect, Multiply | $2.50, $4.00 and $5.00 per unit a month, with $199, $299 and $399 monthly minimums. Tenant screening $35. At 25 units each per-unit charge falls below its minimum, so the bill is $199, $299 or $399. according to DoorLoop |
| TenantCloud | Starter, Growth, Pro, Business | Starter $18 a month, or $15 a month billed annually. Growth $35 or $29.17. Pro $60 or $50. Business from $100 a month. Lease caps of 10, 30 and 60 on the first three. Tenant ACH fees of $1.95, $1.75 and $1.50. The page also shows Starter at $25 in its plan cards. At 25 units, Growth's 30-lease cap fits at $35 a month if each unit is one lease. according to TenantCloud |
| Buildium | Essential, Growth, Premium | Starting at $62, $192 and $400 a month. Tenant screening $17 on Essential and $20 on Growth and Premium. Credit card payments 2.99%. Per-unit totals are not published, so the page gives no 25-unit figure. according to Buildium |
| Rentec Direct | Starter, Pro, PM | Starter $25 a month for up to 10 properties and tenants. Pro and PM are unlimited and set by a unit-count calculator, with $50 a month shown as the listed figure. Screening $14.95 to $29.45 on Starter and $10 to $18 on Pro and PM. At 25 units Starter does not qualify, so Pro or PM applies. according to Rentec Direct |
| Zillow Rental Manager | Listing, screening and rent payments | Not confirmed. Zillow's pricing and help pages could not be opened, and third-party screening and listing fee figures conflict. No figures are printed. |
Pricing checked October 19, 2026.
The caps and floors that set a 25-unit bill, in numbers:
| Vendor | Cap or floor on the pricing page | Effect at 25 units |
|---|---|---|
| TurboTenant | Annual bands of 1-10 and 11-30 units | 25 units sit in the 11-30 band: $199 or $399 a year |
| DoorLoop | $199, $299 and $399 monthly minimums | The bill is the minimum: $199, $299 or $399 a month |
| TenantCloud | Lease caps of 10, 30 and 60 | Growth's 30-lease cap fits 25 leases at $35 a month |
| Rentec Direct | Starter capped at 10 properties and tenants | 25 units exceed the 10 cap, so Pro or PM applies |
Read the minimums first. DoorLoop's per-unit rates look low until a small portfolio hits the floor, and at 25 units the floor is the bill. Rentec's Starter plan caps at 10 properties, so an owner planning to grow past that should price Pro or PM from the start. TenantCloud's bill follows lease caps, not unit counts, so the tier you need depends on how many leases you run, not only how many doors.
Tenant-paid fees sit in the same cells and can matter more than the subscription. Screening, card and ACH charges that tenants absorb do not show up on the landlord's invoice, so they are easy to miss when you compare plans. Rentec's cash-payment network also carries a one-time setup fee on Pro and PM, which the table omits for space. Check it before you sign.
The smallest paid tier in this group that states a unit limit is Rentec's. Rentec Direct's smallest paid tier: $25 monthly, up to 10 properties according to Rentec Direct (2026).
Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence
Each profile lists what the vendor's own page states, then our read. Links go to the pages we read.
TurboTenant
Published: The free plan covers listing and marketing, applicant screening and online rent collection. Essentials adds online lease creation and signing. Pro adds free ACH payments, income verification and fraud protection, and built-in accounting tools. The full-service Autopilot option has no published price and asks owners to call. TurboTenant pricing
Our read: Best for a self-managing owner who wants a free start and expects to add accounting later. The limits are that Autopilot pricing is private and the pricing page does not describe maintenance workflows, so confirm those before you rely on the tool for repairs.
Hemlane
Published: Starter is a free tier that includes tenant screening and full rental accounting. Basic adds lease management, e-signature, rent collection and late fees, with no ACH fee. Essential adds repair coordination, 24/7 emergency support and work-order management. Complete adds a vetted repair network and VIP support. Tenant placement, inspections and an eviction protection product are priced separately. Hemlane pricing
Our read: Best for an owner who wants a free start with a clear path to repair coordination. The paid tiers combine a platform fee with per-unit rates, and the page does not total a 25-unit bill, so get a written quote at your unit count before comparing it with a flat-rate tool.
DoorLoop
Published: DoorLoop prices three tiers, One, Connect and Multiply, per unit with monthly minimums, and offers yearly billing at a discount. One includes accounting, leasing, maintenance, payments, owner and tenant portals, and full API access. Connect and Multiply add AI agents that handle tenant messages and maintenance, with Multiply adding a lease renewal agent. DoorLoop pricing
Our read: Best for an owner who wants one platform with owner portals and an API. The limit is that the pricing page is inconsistent about whether AI features come with the base plan: its comparison table lists the AI Assistant differently from the plan descriptions. Confirm that before you buy on the strength of the agent features.
TenantCloud
Published: Starter covers 10 leases, Growth 30 and Pro 60. Starter includes online rent payments, maintenance management, listings and applications. Growth adds enhanced reporting and move-in and move-out inspections. Pro adds tax reports, bank reconciliation and a separate owner portal. Business is custom-priced. TenantCloud pricing
Our read: Best for an owner whose main constraint is lease count and who wants maintenance on the entry tier. The limits are that the page shows two Starter prices, so confirm the figure before budgeting, and that team seats are limited on the middle tiers.
Buildium
Published: Essential, Growth and Premium start at fixed monthly prices, and the page does not publish per-unit totals. Essential includes "all basic Accounting, Maintenance, & Leasing features." Bank accounts, screening and card payments carry separate charges. The Open API appears on Premium. Pricing above 5,000 units or for community associations is by phone. Buildium pricing
Our read: Best for an owner who expects to grow and wants the Premium integration path. The limit is that you cannot budget from the page alone at a given unit count. Ask for a written quote, and if you rely on the API, confirm it is on the tier you are buying. A Rent Manager vs AppFolio comparison covers the larger-portfolio end of this market.
Rentec Direct
Published: Starter is capped at 10 properties and tenants, with three managers and one ACH deposit account. Pro and PM are unlimited and priced by a unit-count calculator. Pro includes the open API, Zapier and Tasklet integrations, and QuickBooks sync. PM adds trust account management, an owner portal and owner ACH payouts. The page lists no setup fees or term contracts, and a two-week free trial. Rentec Direct pricing
Our read: Best for an owner who wants integrations and accounting without the enterprise tier, since Pro already includes Zapier access. The limits are the Starter cap, the tenant-paid cash payment network, and the one-time setup fee for that network on Pro and PM.
Zillow Rental Manager
Published: Zillow's pricing and help pages could not be opened during research, and third-party fee figures conflict, so this profile prints none. A competing vendor's review describes syndication to Zillow, Trulia and HotPads, screening, online applications, e-signed leases, rent collection and a mobile app. DoorLoop's review of Zillow Rental Manager
Our read: Best for a landlord whose main problem is getting a listing seen and collecting screening and rent in one place. The same review says it lacks maintenance tracking, accounting and detailed reporting. Check the fee schedule yourself before you budget around it.
Who should choose each option
| Vendor | Choose it if | Avoid it if |
|---|---|---|
| Zillow Rental Manager | Listing exposure and screening are the main job | You need maintenance, accounting or owner reporting now |
| TurboTenant | You self-manage and want a free start | You need a published maintenance workflow |
| Hemlane | You want a free start with a repair path | You need a fixed bill without a written quote |
| DoorLoop | You want one platform with owner portals and an API | Your unit count sits where minimums dominate the bill |
| TenantCloud | Lease caps set your tier and you want maintenance on entry | You need team seats beyond the middle tiers |
| Buildium | You expect to grow and want the Premium integration path | You need a published per-unit price to budget |
| Rentec Direct | You want integrations and accounting on a lower tier | You need more than 10 properties on Starter |
Who this is for: Owners and operations leads at small property management businesses who are close to choosing a replacement. Individual owners hold most of the small properties: Small properties owned by individuals: 70%, or 15.9 million according to ALTA (2022), again using the 2021 survey. That is the owner for whom a free or flat-rate tool may be enough, and for whom a minimum can cost more than the per-unit math.
Red flags: you need trust accounting or owner statements now, you cannot get a written total at your unit count, or most of your tenants pay by card.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: If you manage a handful of units and your only pain is getting listings syndicated and screening applicants, a free listing tool is simpler, and a listing automation comparison will help you pick one. If your current platform already handles showings, rent reminders and maintenance intake in its own workflows, adding a second layer of configuration creates a review burden you may not need. Owners who want a fixed monthly bill with no custom configuration should buy a published-price tool and skip a configured design.
Where the workflow pain sits: showings and late rent
Showings and late rent are where manual hours pile up, so they are the first places a configured workflow would help. The workflows below are proposed and configurable. They describe what a design could do, not a deployment we have run for any customer.
A proposed US Tech Automations showing-request workflow would start when a listing inquiry arrives in the inbox or in a message export from the property system. It would check open showing slots on the owner's calendar, draft a reply offering two or three times, and create a calendar hold with a note on the property record. Prerequisites are calendar access and either an API or a scheduled message export. On DoorLoop's One plan the page lists full API access, and on Rentec Direct's Pro plan it lists an open API, while Starter does not. A staff member should approve each reply before it sends, and should check any screening fee mention, since screening charges differ by plan. For a tool-by-tool look at showing automation, see our showing automation tools guide.
A proposed US Tech Automations late-rent workflow would trigger when the ledger shows a balance past due, read from the property system's API or a daily export. It would draft a reminder using the notice wording and timing the owner sets, queue it in the property system, and create a task for the owner. Prerequisites are ledger access and the notice rules for the owner's state and city. Human review matters most here: staff should confirm local notice requirements and approve any late fee or legal notice before it goes out, because those rules vary by place and a wrong notice is costly to fix.
DIY stacks in Zapier, Make or n8n versus a configured platform
Many owners at this size assemble the stack in Zapier, Make or n8n instead of buying a platform. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured, so the question is not capability. The question is who designs and owns the parts that break: observability, idempotency (so a retried trigger does not send two reminders), escalation, access controls and ongoing maintenance. In a DIY build, the owner carries all of them.
A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those same items as part of the build, but each still needs a named person who owns the escalation path and reviews the logs. The vendor's API tier also decides whether a DIY route works at all. Rentec Direct's Pro plan lists Zapier and Tasklet integrations, while its Starter plan does not. Buildium lists its Open API only on Premium. Check the tier before you design around an integration.
The worked example below is illustrative, not a customer result. An owner with 40 units receives six maintenance requests a week, and sorting each one takes about 0.5 hours, so 6 × 0.5 = 3 hours a week goes to triage before any repair is booked. A workflow that drafts a work order for routine requests cuts that first-pass sorting, but a person still approves every write. On DoorLoop, a unit is changed through PUT /units/{unitId}, and the reference says the body replaces the stored unit, so any omitted property is cleared. A write that sends only listing.rent could clear other listing fields unless the full object is sent. That is the review point a configured workflow must enforce, and a buyer should check it before going live. The DoorLoop API reference lists the full body fields.
Decision checklist and common mistakes
Before you choose, check these:
Get a written total at your unit count, including any monthly minimum.
List every tenant-paid fee: screening, card payments and ACH.
Confirm whether accounting and owner statements are in the tier you are buying.
Check the API or export access on that tier before you plan any automation.
Ask which features are in the base plan and which are add-ons, especially where a pricing page is inconsistent.
Common mistakes to avoid:
Comparing headline prices and ignoring minimums or lease caps.
Treating a free listing tool as free to run when tenant-paid fees apply.
Assuming an entry plan covers the growth you expect. Rentec's Starter plan stops at 10 properties.
Building an automation on an API that is only on a higher tier.
Trusting a single ranking. Many comparison sites carry affiliate links, so read the vendor's own page for the figures.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Zillow Rental Manager free for landlords?
Zillow's own fee pages could not be confirmed during research, and third-party sources disagree on screening and listing fees, so do not assume it is free without checking Zillow's current schedule. Once you have the figures from Zillow's own page, compare them against the tenant-paid fees on the alternatives listed above.
Which alternative is the cheapest for a very small portfolio?
Several options start with a free tier, including TurboTenant and Hemlane, but the cheapest choice depends on tenant-paid fees, ACH costs and whether you need accounting. Compare the full fee schedule for the number of units you actually manage.
Do DoorLoop's minimums make it a poor fit for small landlords?
They can, because when your unit count keeps the per-unit charge below the monthly minimum, the minimum is what you pay. DoorLoop is a stronger fit once the per-unit charge exceeds the minimum or once you need the full platform with owner portals and API access.
Can I build this in Zapier, Make or n8n instead of buying a platform?
Yes, if you are prepared to own the run history, error handling, access controls and ongoing maintenance yourself. Those tools support those features when configured, but the owner must design them, and the integration you need may depend on the vendor's API tier.
Does Rentec Direct fit a portfolio above 10 properties?
No, not on Starter. Rentec's Starter plan caps at 10 properties and tenants, so a larger portfolio moves to Pro or PM, which are priced by a unit-count calculator.
Should I trust a comparison site's ranking?
Use a comparison site for the list of options, but check the figures on each vendor's own pricing page. Many comparison sites carry affiliate links and weight criteria differently from your own needs.
Bottom line for choosing a Zillow alternative
Start with the work you need done. A listing and screening tool can be enough for a handful of units, and a platform with accounting, owner portals and maintenance is worth the extra cost once owner reporting becomes a weekly task. Whichever you pick, get a written total at your unit count, list the tenant-paid fees, and confirm the API tier before you plan any automation. For a configured design, see how US Tech Automations configures this and what it would need from your current systems.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.