Skip to content
AI & Automation

5 Best Three-Way Reconciliation Software for Attorneys 2027

Oct 19, 2026

Start with the category decision

Choose the product shape before you compare brands. A small firm shopping for three-way reconciliation software is really picking between two shapes. One is a legal trust-accounting product, where client ledgers, the trust journal, and reconciliation reports sit in one system. The other is a general accounting platform, usually QuickBooks Online, with a trust layer added through a second subscription. The legal-native shape suits a firm that wants one system for trust work. The add-on shape suits a firm whose books already live in QuickBooks Online and whose accountant already reviews them.

TL;DR: Start with Tabs3 if you already run it for billing. Start with LeanLaw if QuickBooks Online is your books. Compare CosmoLex and MyCase if you want trust ledgers inside a legal platform, and price the MyCase add-on before you commit. Look at TrustBooks if you want a service team to finish the bank side. Clio is not scored here, for the reason explained in the method section.

For the broader bank-reconciliation question outside trust accounts, see our bank reconciliation software comparison.

Key Takeaways

  • Three-way reconciliation is a monthly match of three records: the trust bank statement, the trust journal, and the sum of every client ledger.

  • Software can keep the journal and client ledgers current, but a person must explain each gap and sign the result.

  • Every product here names three-way reconciliation somewhere, yet the plan or add-on that includes it differs, so read the plan, not the marketing page.

  • The lowest per-user entry price in the cost table is not automatically the cheapest reconciliation option.

  • The system you already run matters most: QuickBooks Online, Tabs3, and legal-native platforms each lead to a different shortlist.

  • Clio is excluded from scoring because its pages could not be checked in this research, so compare it directly before you decide.

Three-way reconciliation in plain terms

Three-way reconciliation is the monthly check that the trust bank statement balance, the trust journal balance, and the total of every client's ledger all agree, with each difference explained before anyone signs. The Florida Bar's trust-accounting guidance describes two monthly comparisons: the bank balance against the journal, and the client-ledger totals against the reconciled bank balance, according to The Florida Bar (2017). That article is from 2017, so confirm the current rule text in your state before you set a schedule, because frequency requirements differ by state.

How we evaluated these tools

This guide is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, a bar publication, and one outside review. We did not test any product, run a demo, or request a quote. The weights in Table 1 set what we read first and how heavily each fact counts. We did not turn them into numeric scores, because the public pages do not support a fair numeric comparison across vendors.

CriterionWeightMinimum primary sources before we count it
Three-way reconciliation named on the vendor's own pages25%2 vendor pages
Client-level trust ledgers20%1 vendor page
Bank statement import or feed15%1 vendor page
Published price for the plan that includes reconciliation15%1 pricing page
Accounting link (QuickBooks sync or built-in books)15%1 vendor page plus 1 outside check
Limits and add-on terms stated on the page10%1 pricing page

The weights favor the question a reconciling attorney actually asks: does the three-number match happen inside the tool, and who checks it? Clio is not scored. Its pricing page and its help-center reconciliation article both refused automated access during this research, so we could not confirm its plans or features from a primary page, and we did not borrow figures from secondary sites. QuickBooks Online appears only as the base platform that some add-ons connect to.

Feature matrix at a glance

Table 2 maps each product against the same five questions. Cells use the vendor's own wording where we had it.

VendorThree-way reconciliationClient ledgersBank feeds or importQuickBooks link
LeanLawRuns inside QuickBooks Online, per its blogSub-ledger for every clientNot stated on pricing pageTwo-way sync on Core
CosmoLexListed as a platform featureTrust and ledgers in all plansAutomated bank feedsOne-way, Core and Pro
MyCaseNot on Basic; add-on on Pro and AdvancedTrust accounting in all plansNot statedNot stated
TrustBooksAuto-generated on all tiersIncluded on all tiersIncluded on all tiersNot stated
Tabs3Three-way review named on its trust pageClient-specific trust balancesNot statedQuickBooks Desktop, per Lawyerist

Our analysis: the matrix hides the biggest difference, which is where the reconciliation sits in each plan ladder. CosmoLex names the feature in its marketing but does not say which plan holds it on the pricing page. MyCase makes it an add-on. TrustBooks includes it on its lowest tier. Tabs3 names the three-way review, but its pricing page does not map features to tiers. Ask every vendor for a sample three-way report before you buy.

What each tool costs

Table 3 lists every published plan we could read. Each price comes from the pricing page cited in that vendor's profile below. "Quote-based" means the vendor does not publish a figure.

VendorPlanPublished priceBilling and unitAdd-on or limit
LeanLawCore$55 per user per monthPer user per monthTrust accounting; two-way QuickBooks sync
LeanLawPro$75 per user per monthPer user per monthAdds LEDES files and granular permissions
LeanLawContingencyQuote-basedNot publishedSettlement and lien tracking
LeanLawEliteQuote-basedNot publishedPriority support, unlimited invoice templates
CosmoLexLaunch$49 per user per monthPer user per month; yearly billing availableThree-way not named on this plan's page
CosmoLexCore$99 per user per monthPer user per month; yearly billing availableAdds QuickBooks Online integration
CosmoLexPro$129 per user per monthPer user per month; yearly billing availableAdds general ledger, payables and built-in business (operating) accounting
MyCaseBasic$60 per user per month, or $50 billed annuallyPer userThree-way not available
MyCasePro$120 per user per month, or $100 billed annuallyPer userThree-way is a separately priced add-on
MyCaseAdvanced$150 per user per month, or $130 billed annuallyPer userThree-way is a separately priced add-on
TrustBooksTier One$59 per monthFlat monthly; extra users billed per userAuto-generated three-way reconciliation
TrustBooksTier Two$79 per monthFlat monthly; extra users billed per userAdds firm bookkeeping and financial statements
TrustBooksTier Three$249 per monthFlat monthlyStaff complete bank reconciliation for one bank account
Tabs3Cloud subscriptionStarting at $89 per user per monthPer user per monthPracticeMaster add-on at $35 per user per month
Tabs3OnSite subscriptionStarting at $69 per user per monthPer user per monthFeature mapping not stated on pricing page

Pricing checked October 19, 2026.

Two figures anchor the table. Core plan: $55 per user per month according to LeanLaw (2026), and LeanLaw describes all of its plans as running natively on QuickBooks Online, so that subscription is an extra cost. The lowest per-user entry figure in the table is CosmoLex's Launch plan, but its pricing page does not name three-way reconciliation for that plan. The clearest flat-rate reconciliation figure is TrustBooks' top bank tier: Tier Three: up to 100 transactions per month according to TrustBooks (2026), and the page sends larger volumes to a quote.

Table 4 collects the limits and add-ons from the same pricing pages.

VendorFree trialPlan limitPer-user add-onQuote-based plans
LeanLawNot shown3 invoice templates on ProNot listed2
CosmoLex10 daysNot publishedNot published0
MyCaseNot shownNot publishedSeparately priced three-way add-on0
TrustBooks14 days100 transactions per month on Tier Three$10 per user per month on Tiers One and Two0
Tabs3Not shownNot published$35 per user per month0

Vendor profiles

LeanLaw: for firms whose books already run in QuickBooks Online

Best fit: a firm that already runs QuickBooks Online and wants trust ledgers synced into the same books its accountant reviews. The pricing page says IOLTA trust accounting is part of Core and that every plan runs natively on QuickBooks Online. It does not mention three-way reconciliation. That claim comes from LeanLaw's post dated September 22, 2026, which says the reconciliation runs inside QuickBooks Online and that trust ledgers sync into it, according to LeanLaw (2026).

Limitations: the plans assume a QuickBooks Online subscription you pay for separately. Contingency and Elite are quote-based. The reconciliation claim sits in a blog post, not on a feature page. The same post says no product, including LeanLaw, certifies bar compliance.

Implementation: build one trust sub-ledger per client before you import history, because the three-way check fails if the client-ledger total does not match the journal. Ask LeanLaw for a sample three-way report from a test company file before you commit.

Our read: strong for an accountant-led firm that already keeps its books in QuickBooks Online. Weak for a firm that does not use it and does not want to start.

Best fit: a firm that wants trust, billing, and bank matching on one legal platform. CosmoLex lists Launch, Core, and Pro at $49, $99, and $129 per user per month according to CosmoLex (2026). Its features page describes trust accounting, three-way reconciliation, and matter-based billing in one platform, says new transactions are "automatically matched with book entries," and offers a 10-day trial, according to CosmoLex.

Limitations: the QuickBooks Online integration is offered on Core and Pro, runs one way from CosmoLex into QuickBooks Online, and turns off CosmoLex's built-in Business Accounting and Matter Budgets features while enabled, so the business accounting that comes with Pro is switched off as well. The pricing page does not say which plan includes three-way reconciliation, so get that in writing before you choose Launch.

Implementation: during the 10-day trial, reconcile last month's trust statement by hand and compare your result with the tool's three-way report before you rely on it.

Our read: a good fit for a firm that wants a legal-native platform and can accept the QuickBooks trade-off. Red flag: a firm that needs two-way QuickBooks sync.

MyCase: for firms already running matters and billing in MyCase

Best fit: a firm already using MyCase for matters and billing that wants trust accounting in the same vendor. The three-way reconciliation add-on is priced per user on top of the plan, according to MyCase (2026), and the page places that add-on on the Pro and Advanced plans. Trust accounting is included in every plan, and three-way trust reconciliation is not available on Basic.

Limitations: the add-on is a second per-user cost on top of Pro or Advanced. The pricing page does not state bank reconciliation or QuickBooks integration, so ask both questions in writing.

Implementation: price the add-on into the plan from the first day, and confirm which users need reconciliation access.

Our read: if reconciliation is the only reason to buy, the add-on is hard to justify on its own. The case for MyCase rests on the whole practice-management platform.

TrustBooks: for firms that want a service team on the bank side

Best fit: a firm with one trust account that does not want to staff the bank side. TrustBooks lists Tiers One, Two, and Three at $59, $79, and $249 per month, with auto-generated three-way reconciliation on each tier. Tiers One and Two add $10 per user per month, and the trial runs 14 days, according to TrustBooks (2026). Tier Three adds staff-completed bank reconciliation for one bank account and fixing the issues the team finds.

Limitations: Tier Three covers one bank account and up to 100 transactions per month. A firm with more accounts or higher volume is outside the tier and needs a quote.

Implementation: before you start, confirm which bank accounts the team can access and where the statements come from.

Our read: a good fit for one trust account with no staff time for the bank match. Red flag: multiple trust accounts, or monthly volume above the tier limit.

Tabs3: for firms already billing in Tabs3

Best fit: a firm that already runs Tabs3 for billing and wants trust accounting in the same system. Cloud subscription: $89 per user per month to start, according to Tabs3 (2026), with volume discounts possible, and PracticeMaster adds $35 per user per month. Tabs3's trust-accounting guide describes a three-way review that compares the bank balance, client trust balances, and internal ledger totals.

An outside review by Lawyerist lists advanced trust accounting and three-way reconciliation among the strengths. It also lists QuickBooks Desktop and Tabs3 Financials as its accounting integrations. It lists lack of integrations, not being DIY, and not being for solos among the drawbacks, and says the advanced features can get pricey quickly if you do not need them.

Limitations: the reviewer says Tabs3 "does not have many third-party integrations," and calls it a poor fit for solo attorneys. For full practice-management integration, you also need the PracticeMaster add-on.

Implementation: budget for PracticeMaster from the start if you need integrations, and ask Tabs3 for a three-way report sample.

Our read: a strong default for an existing Tabs3 billing shop. A weak first choice for a solo.

Where the month-end work sits

The labor is in the monthly match, not in the subscription. A proposed design from US Tech Automations would sit beside whichever tool you choose and handle the checks and routing around the reconciliation. It would not replace the reconciliation or the attorney's sign-off, and it describes a configurable design, not a current customer.

Trigger: the trust bank statement for the month arrives as an export, or the date set in the firm's written procedure is reached. Action: the workflow reads the statement balance, the trust journal total, and the client-ledger total from the accounting system's export, compares the three, and lists each difference by date, amount, and matter. Output: a discrepancy worksheet and a draft summary for the responsible attorney. Prerequisites: a statement export from the bank, a journal or ledger export from the trust system, and API access only if the firm wants the pull scheduled. Human review: an attorney clears each item and signs, and the workflow never writes a reconciled status on its own. For the wider workflow problems behind this, see our bank reconciliation workflow guide.

Worked example, hypothetical and not a measured result: suppose a firm with 3 attorneys, 2 trust accounts, and 180 open client ledgers spends 6 hours each month matching the statement, the journal, and the ledgers by hand. If a proposed design builds the three-way comparison before the reviewer starts, and the review then takes 2 hours, the firm saves 4 hours a month (6 minus 2), or 48 hours a year (4 times 12). The 2-hour figure assumes the exception list is short, and each of the two trust accounts needs its own export. On a platform whose API exposes trust transactions, such as the bank_transactions list in Clio's API, the comparison would read those records for each of the 180 ledgers instead of a hand-keyed copy.

Exception routing: a trust-ledger entry that would push one client's balance below zero, or a deposit posted without a matter, goes into a hold queue with a timestamp and a named owner. Prerequisites: the platform must expose transaction-level data, and the firm must agree who clears a hold. Human review: the bookkeeper decides, and the responsible attorney approves any release. Nothing in this design moves client money.

Build it yourself or buy a tool?

The honest alternative for many small firms is to stitch the workflow together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or to build a script in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors, and keep an audit trail when they are configured that way, so the question is not whether they can do the work. The buyer has to design and own the rest: idempotency, so a rerun does not post the same entry twice; escalation to a named person; access controls over trust data; and maintenance when a bank changes its export format. A proposed design from US Tech Automations could configure the same run history, retries, and escalation path as a managed workflow, but the firm would still supply the export access, the reviewer, and the approval rules. For a firm with one trust account and a bookkeeper who already runs a clean monthly match, a purpose-built trust tool or the reconciliation report inside the platform may be the simpler choice. For another side-by-side look at how we compare software categories, see our best AI writing tools for SaaS guide.

Who should choose which

Who this is for:

  • LeanLaw: a QuickBooks Online firm that wants trust ledgers in the books its accountant reviews.

  • CosmoLex: a firm that wants trust, billing, and bank matching in one legal platform and accepts the QuickBooks trade-off.

  • MyCase: a firm already running matters and billing in MyCase.

  • TrustBooks: a firm with one trust account that wants a service team to finish the bank side.

  • Tabs3: an existing Tabs3 billing shop.

Red flags: a plan that does not name three-way reconciliation on its pricing or feature page; a firm that expects software to certify its reconciliation; more trust accounts or monthly transactions than the plan allows.

VendorChoose it ifDisqualifier
LeanLawYour books already run in QuickBooks OnlineNo QuickBooks Online subscription and no plan to add one
CosmoLexYou want one legal platform and accept the QuickBooks trade-offYou need two-way QuickBooks sync
MyCaseYou already run matters and billing in MyCaseReconciliation is the only reason to buy
TrustBooksYou want a service team on the bank side with one trust accountMore trust accounts or volume than the tier allows
Tabs3You already bill in Tabs3You are a solo firm or need many third-party integrations

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a workflow layer if the tool you pick already produces a three-way report that your attorney reviews inside the platform, because the extra design adds little. Skip it if you have one trust account and a bookkeeper who reconciles it in a spreadsheet with a second reviewer, since a written checklist does the same job. Skip it for a solo firm on TrustBooks' Tier One, where the tier already generates the three-way report.

Decision checklist

  • Get the name of the plan that includes three-way reconciliation, in writing.

  • Count trust accounts, bank accounts, and monthly transactions against the plan's limits.

  • Confirm whether reconciliation runs inside QuickBooks Online, through a sync, or in a separate platform.

  • Request a sample three-way report from a test file or trial account.

  • Name the responsible attorney and the reviewer in the written procedure.

  • Check your state's current trust-account rule text before you set the schedule.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Buying the lowest per-user price without confirming which plan holds the reconciliation.

  • Treating the software's report as the compliance record instead of the attorney-signed review.

  • Leaving the QuickBooks Online subscription out of the cost when a product runs on it.

  • Matching only the bank balance and skipping the client-ledger total.

Frequently asked questions

Is three-way reconciliation the same as a bank reconciliation?

No. A bank reconciliation matches one bank balance to one book balance, while a three-way reconciliation adds the total of all client ledgers so that every client's money is accounted for.

Does buying the software make the firm compliant?

No. LeanLaw's own blog says no product, including LeanLaw, certifies bar compliance, so the firm must still compare, investigate, and document each reconciliation.

How often must a trust account be reconciled?

Florida's trust-accounting guidance, dated 2017, requires monthly reconciliation, but other states set their own schedules, so check the current rule in your state before you choose a tool that runs monthly reports.

Which option is cheapest for a solo attorney?

Use Table 3 and compare like with like. CosmoLex's Launch plan is the lowest per-user entry figure, but its pricing page does not name three-way reconciliation for that plan, so ask before you buy it. TrustBooks' Tier One is the lowest flat monthly figure in the table, and it names three-way reconciliation on the tier itself.

Should a small firm add a workflow tool on top of its reconciliation software?

Only when the reconciliation is already done and the firm needs checks, routing, and an exception queue around it. A workflow layer does not replace the reconciliation or the reviewer, and the walkthrough above lists the export prerequisites and review points.

Where does Clio fit?

Clio is not scored here because its pricing and help pages refused automated access during this research. Compare its current plans and its reconciliation documentation directly before you choose.

Bottom line

Start from the system you already run, then verify the plan that holds three-way reconciliation before you compare anything else. LeanLaw is the one to test if QuickBooks Online is your books; CosmoLex only if a one-way sync into QuickBooks is acceptable. Tabs3 is the natural start if you already bill there. MyCase and CosmoLex suit a firm that wants trust inside a legal platform, with the add-on or plan cost checked first. TrustBooks suits a firm with one trust account that wants a service team to finish the bank side. To see how a proposed review workflow could be set up around whichever tool you pick, see how US Tech Automations would configure this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.