Skip to content
AI & Automation

Agent Texting Platform: 3 Steps to Pick One in 2027

Oct 16, 2026

Short answer: choose the texting layer before the brand

An agent texting platform is software that sends and receives text messages with leads and clients from a business number and logs each message against the contact record. The category decision comes first: texting built into a CRM you already run, or a standalone SMS tool connected to that CRM. For most small real estate teams the CRM route is the right first try, because the reply, the thread and the next follow-up task stay in one place. A standalone SMS tool makes more sense when you need transparent per-message pricing, a shared team inbox or heavy broadcast use.

TL;DR: If you already pay for a CRM with texting, test its consent and opt-out handling before you send anything. If you do not, choose between a CRM-bundled plan and a standalone SMS line by counting your monthly messages first.

Key Takeaways

  • Texting inside the CRM is the lowest-friction choice when the reply, the thread and the follow-up task need to live on one contact record.

  • Public pricing is thin: three of the six products below publish no dollar figure for their main plans, so you will need a quote.

  • Per-credit and per-message math decides the winner at volume, and a low entry price can cost more at 1,200 texts a month.

  • Consent is a process problem, not a checkbox: written consent, opt-out handling and a named reviewer matter more than the logo on the invoice.

  • Zapier-style automation can carry the workflow, but you then own retries, error branches, access controls and audit evidence.

  • Speed matters: Harvard Business Review's research found most companies respond too slowly, so automate the first response and keep a person on the first send.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small real estate business who is close to choosing a texting tool and wants the costs written down before a sales call. It fits teams that already run a CRM or are about to buy one, and teams that text leads, buyers, sellers and past clients from one shared number.

Red flags: you need a bulk-only SMS tool with no contact record, you expect the software alone to satisfy consent rules, or you plan to let automated replies go out to every inbound text with no human review.

If your team works the Southwood, FL market and wants local context before you set up follow-up texts, read our Southwood, FL real estate agent guide first.

How we evaluated these tools

We built this guide from public information only: vendor pricing pages, a vendor developer reference, and independent sources on consent and response speed. The weights below are our judgment, not vendor claims. They reward texting that stays on the contact record and penalize pricing that appears only after a sales call.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries that weight
Two-way texting on the contact record25%The reply, the thread and the next task should sit in one place.
Published price at your volume20%Credits, seats and numbers move the total more than the headline price.
Consent and opt-out controls20%Marketing texts need written consent and a working way to revoke it.
Speed-to-lead support15%How quickly a first reply goes out affects how many leads get qualified.
Export or API access10%You need your data out if you ever switch tools.
Setup and admin burden10%A tool nobody maintains fails quietly.

A product that publishes a price and includes two-way texting in its base plan scores higher on the first three rows than one that offers neither. A product with no API or export path loses ground on the export row. We left out Structurely, because its current site presents an omnichannel AI product for many industries with real estate as one use case. We also left out Salesmsg, because we could not open its pricing page during this research.

Feature matrix at a glance

ProductBuilt around a CRM recordTwo-way textingPublic pricesNotable limit
Follow Up BossYes, follow-up CRMIncluded on Grow, Pro and PlatformYesCalling is a per-user add-on on Grow
BoldTrailYes, real estate platformNot stated on the pricing pageNoPricing is gated behind a demo
LoftyYes, agent and team tiersMass and automatic texting in all four plansNoExtra text packages are a quote-based add-on
YlopoLead generation and nurtureAI text nurture on its plansNoTexting limits not stated on the pricing page
SimpleTextingStandalone SMS, not a CRMBuilt in, metered by creditsYesPricing page is not real-estate specific
TextedlyStandalone SMS, not a CRMPlans sized by monthly messagesYesTeammates are a separate charge

Our read: CRM-native texting means fewer tools to manage. Standalone SMS lets you check the per-message math on the vendor's own page before you talk to anyone.

Pricing and what a small team pays

Pricing checked October 16, 2026. Every figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page.

Entry-plan list price: $69 per user monthly according to Follow Up Boss (2026). The same pricing page shows Pro as a flat $499 a month for 10 users, Platform as a flat $1,000 a month for 30 users, and a lower per-user rate when billed yearly.

BoldTrail, Lofty and Ylopo do not publish plan prices, so the table shows "Quote-based" for them. Read the table as a starting point for your own math, because the entry price is rarely the total.

ProductEntry planEntry priceAdd-ons or limits
Follow Up BossGrow$69 per user monthly, or $58 billed yearly (pricing)Calling $39 per user monthly (pricing)
BoldTrailNot publishedQuote-based (pricing)Not stated
LoftyFour tiersQuote-based (pricing)Extra text packages, quote-based
YlopoSolo, Growing Team, CompleteQuote-based (pricing)Texting limits not stated
SimpleTextingBase configuration$39 estimated monthly (pricing)5.5 cents per extra credit; $20 per added teammate (pricing)
TextedlyBasic$29 monthly for 500 messages (pricing)Teammates extra; tiers rise by message count
Zapier (reference)Pro, annual$19.99 for 750 tasks (pricing)Team tier listed on the same page

Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence

Follow Up Boss

Published: two-way texting is included on Grow, Pro and Platform, while calling on Grow is a $39 per user monthly add-on, and the page lists a 14-day free trial with no contracts, according to Follow Up Boss (2026).

Best fit: a team that already wants follow-up discipline from its CRM and wants every text on the contact record.

Limits: on Grow, the per-user total rises quickly once agents also need phone calls.

Our read: the cheapest path for a team that already lives in its CRM, not the cheapest standalone SMS line.

BoldTrail

Published: the pricing page offers "Watch demo & get Pricing" and lists no plan prices. It does not state texting terms on the page we opened, according to BoldTrail (2026).

The platform belongs to Inside Real Estate, and many agents still know it as kvCORE.

Best fit: brokerage or team buyers who expect a sales conversation before they commit.

Limits: you cannot compare cost without a demo, so ask for texting and consent terms in writing.

Red flag: if you need a published price before you talk to anyone, this one will frustrate you.

Lofty

Published: Lofty lists four plans, each marked "Request Pricing," and says mass and automatic texting is included in all four, with extra text packages as a quote-based add-on, according to Lofty (2026).

Best fit: teams that want texting bundled into a broader platform and will accept a quote.

Limits: the ongoing cost of text packages is hard to forecast until the quote arrives.

Our read: ask for a written quote that lists seats and text packages on separate lines.

Ylopo

Published: Ylopo's pricing page lists Solo, Growing Team and Complete plans without dollar amounts, and it describes "AI text nurture on every lead" on the Solo plan.

Best fit: teams that want AI-driven nurture and texting in one product and will take a quote.

Limits: the page does not state texting limits, so request them in writing.

Red flag: if you only need a manual text thread with clients, you may be paying for nurture you never use.

SimpleTexting

Published: the base configuration is shown as an estimated $39 a month, billed yearly at $398.40, with 500 credits, extra credits at 5.5 cents each, unlimited contacts and 3 users, according to SimpleTexting (2026).

Best fit: a team that wants a standalone number, transparent credits and listing-alert broadcasts to past clients.

Limits: it is not a CRM and not real-estate specific, so the contact record and the deal pipeline live somewhere else.

Our read: its pricing is the easiest of the group to model before you buy.

Textedly

Basic tier: $29 for 500 messages monthly according to Textedly (2026). The tier list runs from Basic up to Legend, and teammates are a separate charge.

Best fit: teams that send higher volumes of campaigns and want pricing tied to message count.

Limits: it is a standalone SMS tool, so the CRM link and the consent records are your job.

Third-party roundups list it for real estate teams, but the pricing page we opened does not say so.

Build it yourself or buy: where automation tools fit

The fairest alternative to any product above is stitching a texting provider to your CRM in Zapier, Make, or n8n. On Zapier, Pro tier with annual billing: $19.99 for 750 tasks according to Zapier (2026) is the entry paid tier on that page. Those tools can keep run histories, retries and error branches when you configure them, and Zapier's Team tier includes an audit log. What you still own is idempotency, so a retry never sends the same text twice, plus escalation paths, access controls and ongoing maintenance.

US Tech Automations builds custom AI automation workflows, and its team designs, builds and supports each one. Its site names Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe as integrations. It does not name a texting integration, so any SMS connection must be confirmed before a build starts. What a proposed design could configure differently from a stitched Zap is the approval gate and the suppression rule written as one flow, with a named reviewer on each exception.

Our read: DIY fits when someone on your team will own the flows. A managed build fits when you want a designed workflow and a support contact who knows it.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if one agent sends a few texts a week and already has texting on a CRM plan, a proposed custom build adds a design and review step that a simpler tool avoids. If you only need a shared number and a team inbox, a standalone SMS line is simpler to set up. If nobody on your team will review exceptions, a managed workflow still needs a person to approve its output, so buy the tool that matches your staffing.

The National Association of Realtors' 2019 guidance says the TCPA requires written consent before autodialed telemarketing texts, and it warns that individual agents are not inherently protected, according to National Association of Realtors (2019). That page carries an archive notice, so confirm the current rule with counsel before you text anyone who has not opted in.

On the provider side, Twilio's 10DLC guide says anyone sending SMS or MMS over a 10DLC number from an application to the US must register for A2P 10DLC, with a brand and a campaign. Plan that registration before launch, not during it.

In a proposed US Tech Automations configuration, an inbound reply containing an opt-out word your provider defines triggers a suppression. The contact is removed from every sequence, the consent field in the CRM is marked revoked, and a row goes to a Google Sheet with the timestamp for a person to review each week. The prerequisites are API or webhook access on the texting provider and the CRM, a consent field you define, and a named reviewer. The human review points are the first template send, any reply that mentions a complaint, and every opt-out exception.

Speed to lead

Harvard Business Review's analysis of online sales leads reported that "most companies are not responding nearly fast enough," according to Harvard Business Review (2011).

In a proposed US Tech Automations build, a new-lead event from the CRM triggers a check of the consent field. A first-text template personalized with the lead's name is queued for agent approval. Once approved, the sent message and its time are written back to the contact record and a follow-up task appears for the agent. The prerequisites are CRM API access; Follow Up Boss documents its API at its getting-started reference, with a base URL of https://api.followupboss.com/v1. Human review points are approving the template, editing any reply that mentions price, and escalating hot replies to the agent.

If you also track where leads come from, our referral tracking comparison covers the handoff side. For the recurring tasks around follow-up, see our 40-hour workflow post for agents.

Worked example: 1,200 texts a month

Take a three-agent team that sends about 1,200 texts a month to leads and past clients. Using the SimpleTexting base rates cited above, the $39 estimated monthly base includes 500 credits, and the remaining 700 credits at 5.5 cents each add $38.50, for an estimated $77.50 a month, assuming one credit per text and the three included users. On Textedly, the 1,200 messages exceed the 1,000 included in the Bronze tier, so the team moves to Plus at $79 for 2,000 messages, according to Textedly (2026). If the team builds its own response-time report on Twilio, each message record carries a date_sent field, which Twilio defines as the time it sent an outgoing message, so timing data comes from the provider rather than from memory.

Monthly textsSimpleTexting estimateTextedly tier
500$39 (500 credits included)Basic, $29 for 500 messages
1,200$39 + 700 extra credits at 5.5 cents = $77.50Plus, $79 for 2,000 messages
5,000$39 + 4,500 extra credits at 5.5 cents = $286.50Elite, $169 for 5,000 messages

Both columns use only the published rates from the two pricing pages linked in the comparison table above. Each row assumes one credit per text, so check how your provider counts long or media messages before you rely on the total.

Glossary

  • Two-way texting: messages that flow in both directions on one number, so a reply lands in the same thread.

  • Speed to lead: how quickly a first reply reaches a new lead after the lead arrives.

  • Prior express written consent: a recipient's written permission for marketing texts sent by automated means.

  • 10DLC: the registration system for application-based text messaging over standard ten-digit US numbers.

  • Opt-out keyword: a reply word, defined by your provider, that revokes consent and stops messages.

  • Drip sequence: a scheduled set of messages triggered by a stage in the pipeline or by a date.

  • Credit: the unit a provider bills against for message usage. Check how your provider counts long or media messages.

Decision checklist

  • Count your monthly texts to leads and past clients for the next six months, and write the number down.

  • Confirm in writing whether two-way texting is in the base plan or sold as an add-on.

  • Confirm your consent field exists and records where and when each contact opted in.

  • Confirm the opt-out keywords and who processes them.

  • Ask for an export path and the API documentation before you sign.

  • Name one person who approves the first automated send and reviews exceptions each week.

Frequently asked questions

Is texting inside a CRM enough for a small team?

Often yes, when you send modest volumes and want every reply on the contact record. Choose a standalone SMS tool only when you need per-message pricing you can model on the page, a shared inbox across several people, or broadcast use the CRM cannot handle.

Do I need 10DLC registration to text from a business number?

Yes, if the texts come from an application over a 10DLC number to US recipients, because registration requires a brand and a campaign. Twilio's 10DLC guide lays out the requirement.

Which product has the lowest published entry price?

Textedly's Basic tier is the lowest published entry point among the products we checked, and its figure appears in the profile above. Follow Up Boss and SimpleTexting both start higher on their pricing pages.

Can an automated reply go out without a person approving it?

Not safely for a small team. Keep a human approval on the first send and on any reply that mentions a complaint or a price.

Should I build this in Zapier instead of buying a platform?

Build it only if one person will own error handling, retries, access controls and maintenance, because those tools will not own them for you.

Where to go from here

Start with the CRM you already use, test consent and opt-out handling before the first send, and add a standalone SMS line only when the monthly math or a shared inbox requires it. If you want a designed workflow around that choice, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a proposed build, then confirm the texting connection in writing before anything goes live.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.