Attorney Signature Software: 3 Steps to Pick in 2027
Short answer on attorney signature software
Attorney signature software is a hosted tool that sends a document for signature, records who signed and when in an audit trail, and returns the finished file. Choosing one is a category decision before it is a brand decision, because the signing step either stands alone or sits inside a workflow that starts at intake or matter opening. Federal law gives electronic signatures real standing: a signature cannot be denied legal effect "solely because it is in electronic form," according to Cornell Law School LII (current text).
The short answer is this. Pick DocuSign if governance and template control matter most. Pick Dropbox Sign if you want a published per-seat rate and a documented event system. Pick SignNow if the lowest starting per-seat rate among the pages reviewed matters most. Pick Adobe Acrobat if your firm already runs Acrobat and Microsoft 365. Pick Zoho Sign if your firm already runs Zoho apps. Every choice still needs one named person who owns the templates and the completed-signature records.
TL;DR: Match the tool to your seat count and audit needs first, then decide whether automation has to sit above it.
Key Takeaways
The signing tool and the workflow around it are separate purchases, so settle whether you need both before comparing logos.
Seat price is only part of the cost. Envelope caps, plan tiers and minimum seat counts change the real bill.
DocuSign's pages describe the most governance features in this shortlist, including an admin console and Enterprise signer authentication, which suits firms that need controls.
Zoho Sign's paid per-user dollar figures did not appear in the page text reviewed, so request a written quote before comparing it.
Automation above a signing tool needs API or event access, a named owner and a human review step before anything is sent.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small legal business who is close to choosing a signature tool and wants the trade-offs stated plainly. It fits firms that send engagement letters, consent forms, settlement agreements or NDAs and need a signed file with a record of who signed and when. Firms that also run accounting or insurance work can compare the sector-specific shortlists: accounting firms and insurance agencies.
Red flags: no one has been named to own the signing templates and records, the firm expects a signature tool to decide whether a document is enforceable, or no system at the firm can send or receive data. If any of those is true, fix that first and then return to the shortlist.
How we evaluated these tools
The shortlist uses six weighted criteria. The weights are editorial judgment for a small firm, not vendor data, and each vendor is scored only on what its public pages state. Where a page is silent, this guide says "not stated" rather than assuming a feature is missing. Independent roundups give context but are generic. Toolradar's e-signature roundup, updated October 14, 2026, ranks DocuSign first among the tools it lists, according to Toolradar (2026). That is a general ranking, not a test against law-firm requirements.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for a law firm |
|---|---|---|
| Published price transparency | 20% | A buyer can budget only from numbers the vendor states |
| Usage caps and plan limits | 15% | Envelope or send caps drive overage risk |
| Audit trail and signer verification | 20% | A signed file is only as useful as its record of who signed |
| Native integrations | 15% | Matters should not depend on copying data between systems |
| API and event callbacks | 15% | Any automation needs a way to react to a completed signature |
| Admin controls and team sharing | 15% | Firms need to assign licenses and govern shared templates |
The weights total 100%.
Step 1: Price the seats and envelope caps
Pricing checked October 18, 2026. The figures below are the list rates shown on each vendor's pricing page as reviewed for this guide. Adobe prices e-signing inside its Acrobat plans, and the Zoho Sign page text did not show its paid per-user figures.
Standard plan list price: $30 per user monthly according to DocuSign (2026). That same page lists Personal at $11 for one user with 5 envelopes a month and Business Pro at $45 per user monthly. Standard and Business Pro each allow 100 envelopes per user per year, and each envelope counts once when sent, however many signers it has. DocuSign's Enhanced plans are quote-based.
Team plan list price: US$16.99 per license monthly according to Adobe (2026). This figure buys Acrobat Standard for teams, which is a PDF suite with e-signing included, not a signing-only seat. The same page prices the Pro tier for teams at US$23.99 per license monthly on an annual commitment, and it names no envelope or signature cap.
Standard tier, monthly billing: $25 per user according to Dropbox Sign (2026). Billed yearly, the same tier is $17.50 per user monthly, which the page shows as starting at $420 a year for two users. The page also says Standard covers two or more users, Premium is a custom quote for five or more, and signature requests are unlimited.
The limits at a glance:
| Vendor | Entry or starting rate | Cap or limit stated | Minimum users |
|---|---|---|---|
| DocuSign | $30 per user monthly (Standard) | 100 envelopes per user per year | Not stated |
| Adobe | US$16.99 per license monthly (Acrobat Standard for teams) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Dropbox Sign | $25 per user monthly (Standard, billed monthly) | Unlimited signature requests | 2 users |
| SignNow | $8 per user monthly (Business, starting rate on annual billing) | Not stated | Not stated for Business; 10 for Business Cloud |
| Zoho Sign | Not published in page text read | 25 envelopes per user monthly (Standard) | Not stated |
The cells repeat rates cited in this section and in the vendor profiles below.
The table below applies the monthly rates to a 10-user firm. Annual cost is the monthly rate multiplied by 12 and by 10 users. It is an illustration, not a quote.
| Vendor | Plan | Per-user monthly | Annual cost, 10 users |
|---|---|---|---|
| DocuSign | Standard | $30 | $3,600 |
| DocuSign | Business Pro | $45 | $5,400 |
| Adobe | Acrobat Standard for teams | US$16.99 | US$2,038.80 |
| Adobe | Acrobat Pro for teams | US$23.99 | US$2,878.80 |
| Dropbox Sign | Standard, billed monthly | $25 | $3,000 |
| Dropbox Sign | Standard, billed yearly | $17.50 | $2,100 |
| SignNow | Business, starting rate on annual billing | $8 | $960 |
| SignNow | Business Cloud, 10-user minimum | $50 | $6,000 |
| Zoho Sign | Standard | Not published in page text read | Not published |
| Zoho Sign | Custom | Quote-based | Quote-based |
Worked example (hypothetical): take a 10-attorney firm that wants one shared template library and a seat for every attorney. At DocuSign's Standard rate of $30 per user monthly, ten seats come to $3,600 a year ($30 × 12 × 10). Ten seats on the Standard tier from Dropbox Sign, billed yearly, come to $2,100 a year ($17.50 × 12 × 10), a $1,500 gap before any Premium need. If DocuSign's 100-envelope yearly cap applies per user, ten users share 1,000 envelopes a year, so a firm that expects more sends should read the plan terms for what happens above the cap. For automation, Dropbox Sign's developer docs list signature_request_all_signed among its event types, according to Dropbox Sign developer docs (2026), which is the kind of completed-signature trigger a filing workflow needs.
Step 2: Check audit trails, identity checks and integrations
The matrix below normalizes what each vendor's pages state. "Not stated" means the pages reviewed did not say so. It does not mean the feature is absent, so test it in a trial before relying on it.
| Capability | DocuSign | Adobe Acrobat | Dropbox Sign | SignNow | Zoho Sign |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reusable templates | Yes, tier-based | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Audit trail | Yes, real-time | Yes | Not stated | Yes, real-time | Yes |
| Bulk send | Business Pro | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Enterprise, uses credits |
| API | Yes | Not stated | Yes, event callbacks | Yes, full access | Yes, REST APIs |
| Named integrations | Yes | Microsoft 365, Salesforce, Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive | Not stated | NetSuite, SharePoint, Dynamics, Salesforce, Microsoft 365 | Zoho apps and third-party apps |
| Signer identity check | Enterprise tier | Not stated | Not stated | Two-factor signer authentication | Verification and MFA |
| Admin console | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Teams only | Not stated |
| Named compliance standards | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | GDPR, SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, 21 CFR Part 11 (vendor homepage) | Claimed, not named |
DocuSign's product page names bulk sending to multiple signers in its Business Pro tier, a single admin console, and advanced signer authentication on Enterprise, according to DocuSign (2026). That page also gives monthly rates that differ from its plans page, so confirm the figure at checkout before budgeting.
Adobe's product page names "Send in bulk," audit trails and a central Admin Console, and it lists Microsoft Word, Teams, Salesforce and Workday as places to send from, according to Adobe (2026). It does not name an API or a signer identity check on the page reviewed, which matters if a firm plans to automate sends.
Vendor-by-vendor fit and limits
Each profile separates the published facts from our read. The read is analysis, not vendor data.
DocuSign
Published facts: the plans page lists Personal, Standard, Business Pro and Enhanced tiers, with real-time audit trails on every tier. Reusable templates appear on Personal, shared templates on Standard, and locked templates on Business Pro. Enhanced plans are quote-based, and locked templates on that tier require contact with sales.
Our read: DocuSign fits a firm that wants the broadest governance set and will pay for the tier that includes it. Its main limitation is that the most control sits in tiers that require a sales conversation, and the envelope caps apply on the team tiers. Implementation starts with shared templates, a decision on who holds locked templates, and a count of envelopes per send, since each send counts once no matter how many signers it has.
Adobe Acrobat
Published facts: Adobe sells Acrobat plans for individuals and for teams, with e-signing bundled into each. The product page lists bulk sending, audit trails, license assignment from an admin console, and storage integrations with Box, Dropbox, Google Drive and OneDrive.
Our read: Adobe fits a firm that already standardizes on Acrobat and Microsoft 365 and wants PDF editing and signing under one license. The limitation is that a firm needing only signatures pays for a suite, and the pages reviewed show no signature cap and no API. Implementation means assigning licenses from the admin console and choosing where signed files are stored.
Dropbox Sign
Published facts: the pricing page lists Essentials for one user, Standard for two or more users, and Premium as a custom quote for five or more users. The developer docs list event types such as signature_request_sent and signature_request_all_signed, delivered as HTTP POST requests with multipart/form-data bodies.
Our read: Dropbox Sign fits a small team that wants a published per-seat rate and a documented event system for filing. The main limitation is that the pages reviewed did not state template or audit-trail detail, so confirm both in a trial. Implementation means registering a callback URL the firm controls, parsing the multipart payload, and using signature_request_all_signed as the trigger for filing.
SignNow
Published facts: SignNow's DocuSign comparison page lists Business at $8 per user monthly as a starting rate on annual billing, Business Premium at $15, Enterprise at $30, and Business Cloud at $50 with a 10-user minimum. Extra users can be added up to 10 for a per-user fee, and beyond that the page directs buyers to sales. Renewal is automatic.
Business plan starting rate: $8 per user monthly according to signNow (2026). The vendor's homepage names GDPR, SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA and 21 CFR Part 11 as standards it helps customers meet, but that claim needs confirmation from its security documentation before a firm relies on it.
Our read: SignNow fits a firm with a fixed headcount that wants the lowest starting per-seat rate in this shortlist. The limitations are that the $8 rate applies on annual billing, the page does not show how other tiers bill, and automatic renewal means cancelling before the renewal date. Implementation means confirming billing and renewal terms in writing before signing.
Zoho Sign
Published facts: the pricing page lists Standard at 25 envelopes per user monthly, Professional with unlimited envelopes, and Enterprise, where bulk sends consume credits. Custom is quote-based, and the page offers a yearly billing discount.
Standard envelope cap: 25 per user monthly according to Zoho (2026). The paid per-user dollar figures did not appear in the page text reviewed, so Zoho's cost is not published there.
Our read: Zoho Sign fits a firm already running Zoho apps that wants signing inside that stack. The limitations are the unpublished paid rates and the absence of any legal-specific feature on the pages reviewed. Implementation means requesting a written quote and confirming how bulk-send credits are charged before buying.
Step 3: Decide where automation sits
US Tech Automations would sit above the signing tool as a proposed, configurable workflow, not as a signing product of its own. The two designs below are for review, not a description of any deployed setup. Both need API or export access from the signing tool and from the firm's matter system.
Workflow A runs from intake to draft. The trigger is a matter record in the firm's practice system reaching "engagement letter ready." The action fills the signing template from matter fields and creates a draft request, not a sent one. The output is a draft in a review queue, with the request ID written back to the matter. The human review point is an attorney or paralegal who checks the fields and approves the send. The prerequisites are API or export access from the matter system and a signing-tool key scoped to that template.
Workflow B runs from completed signature to filing. The trigger is a completion event, such as signature_request_all_signed from a tool like Dropbox Sign, sent to an endpoint the firm controls. The action downloads the signed file and its audit record, files them to the matter folder and updates the matter status. The output is a filed document and a status note, plus an exception queue when a file or event fails. The human review point is someone who confirms the signed file matches the approved version before the status changes. The prerequisites are a callback endpoint with access controls and a named owner.
The DIY alternative deserves a fair comparison. Zapier, Make and n8n can run the same two sequences, and each can keep run histories, retries and error branches when configured. The buyer still designs and owns the rest: idempotency, so a retry does not send a second engagement letter; escalation; access controls on templates and filed records; monitoring; and maintenance when a signing API changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure those pieces differently, with a defined exception queue, an idempotency check on the send step, and a review gate before each status change. The firm would still approve each configuration and every review point.
Terms used in this guide
Electronic signature: a signature in electronic form that federal law says cannot be denied legal effect solely for that reason.
Audit trail: the record of who received, viewed and signed a document, and when.
Envelope: DocuSign's term for one sent package, which counts once per send regardless of how many people sign it.
Bulk send: sending one document to many recipients in a single action.
Event callback: a message the signing tool sends to a URL you control when a status changes.
Seat: a paid per-user license, which many vendors price by the number of users.
Decision checklist
- Name the owner of the templates and the completed-signature records.
- Count seats and expected envelopes per year before reading any rate.
- Confirm whether the cap is per user or per firm, and what happens above it.
- Confirm the audit-trail detail and signer verification each document type needs.
- Confirm the integration path to your matter system, and whether an API or export is required.
- Get renewal and billing terms in writing, including monthly versus yearly rates.
- Decide whether automation sits above the tool, and list its human review points first.
Frequently asked questions
Is an electronic signature enforceable for attorney documents?
Usually yes under federal law, because a signature cannot be denied legal effect solely because it is electronic, but state rules and your bar's guidance still apply to each document type. The federal rule is in 15 U.S.C. § 7001, and it does not replace review of individual documents.
Which option has the lowest listed per-seat rate?
Among the rates reviewed for this guide, SignNow's Business starting rate is the lowest per-user figure, but it applies on annual billing and the page does not state a minimum for that tier.
Do I need an API?
You need one only if a system outside the signing tool has to start a send or react to a completed signature. A firm that sends a handful of documents by hand does not need one.
Is the right choice the same for a solo attorney and a 10-attorney firm?
No. A solo attorney usually needs the lowest individual tier and simple templates, while a 10-attorney team needs seat math, shared templates and admin control over who can send.
Should Zapier, Make or n8n handle this instead?
They can, if the firm accepts ownership of the build. Those tools can keep run histories, retries and error branches when configured, but the buyer must design idempotency, escalation, access controls and maintenance.
When should a firm skip US Tech Automations?
A firm should skip it when the signing tool's native templates and integrations already cover the job, such as a solo attorney who signs a few engagement letters by hand, a firm with no system that can send or receive data, or a team that signs only occasional one-off PDFs. In those cases a plain signing plan with built-in templates is the simpler purchase, and an automation layer adds review work without a clear gain.
Conclusion
For most small firms, the decision starts with seat count, envelope caps and audit needs. DocuSign suits firms that want the most governance on the pages reviewed, Dropbox Sign suits a small team that wants a published rate and documented events, and SignNow suits a fixed headcount that wants the lowest starting rate. Once the signing tool is chosen, the next question is which intake and filing steps are worth automating, with a named owner for each review point. See how US Tech Automations configures this for those steps, and confirm the design with your own team before any send goes out. Firms that want the legal acceptance rules first can start with signature requirements for electronic legal compliance.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.