5 Best Accounting Software for Single Rooftop Dealers 2027
Start with whether your DMS already keeps the books
For most single-rooftop dealers, the first decision is where the books should live, not which brand to buy. Dealer accounting software is the system that holds the general ledger, payables, receivables and month-end reports, either as a standalone product or as a module inside a dealer management system (DMS). The franchised system is large, with NADA counted 16,991 franchised light-vehicle dealers in first half 2026 according to NADA (2026), but not every franchised dealer is a single rooftop, so this guide starts from the software decision rather than from market size.
If your DMS already posts deals, repair orders and parts into its own ledger, a standalone tool adds a second set of books that someone has to reconcile. If the DMS handles sales and service but the accounting goes to an outside accountant, a standalone cloud ledger is the usual answer, and QuickBooks Online is the option many outside accountants already know. That is our read from public sources, not a result from a hands-on trial.
TL;DR: Keep the DMS ledger if it posts deals and repair orders in real time and your accountant can work inside it. Otherwise, QuickBooks Online is the default standalone choice, Xero and Zoho Books are the lower-cost alternatives, and Business Central only fits if you need inventory and multi-entity depth. None of the standalone pages we read shows per-vehicle cost or floor-plan tracking, so that work stays with a process or a workflow.
Key Takeaways
Check whether your DMS already posts deal and repair-order activity to its own ledger before you compare any standalone product.
QuickBooks Online is the option most likely to match an outside accountant's existing tools, but its public pricing page describes no vehicle-level inventory costing.
Xero and Zoho Books publish the lowest entry prices, and both carry introductory or free-tier terms that need a close read.
Business Central is priced per user and suits operations that need ERP depth, which is more than many single rooftops need.
Autosoft's accounting module comes with its DMS, and its public article describes real-time posting but publishes no prices.
A proposed workflow can draft floor-plan and per-unit entries, but a named person should approve every batch before it posts.
Who this is for
Who this is for: an owner or operations lead at one franchised or independent dealership who is close to choosing a ledger, or deciding whether to keep the one the DMS already provides. The question is narrower than which software is best. It is about the books one store has to close every month.
Urban Science counted 18,393 new-car rooftops in mid-2025 according to Wards Auto (2025). NADA counts franchised dealers instead, so the two figures measure different units and should not be added or compared directly.
Red flags: your DMS already runs the general ledger and your accountant works in it; you need per-vehicle cost and floor-plan accrual to post without manual rebuilds; or you run several rooftops or legal entities and need consolidated books from the start.
Terms used in this guide
Rooftop: one dealership location with its own sales, service and parts operation, which is what the head query means by "single rooftop."
DMS (dealer management system): the core software that runs deals, service, parts and often accounting for a store.
General ledger: the chart of accounts and journal that every other entry rolls into.
Floor-plan financing: a lender-funded loan on each vehicle in inventory, with interest that accrues while the vehicle sits on the lot.
Per-unit cost: the acquisition, reconditioning, transport and financing cost attached to one VIN.
Accountant access: outside accountants who can log in to the books, which some plans include in the price.
Real-time posting: a deal or repair order that lands in the ledger when it closes, not in a batch at month-end.
How we evaluated these tools
The weights below are our judgment. Every input comes from public pages, trade press and industry associations, and no product was run for this guide, so the scores describe fit on paper and the questions to put to each vendor. Weights total 100 percent, and dealer-specific cost detail carries the most weight because per-unit cost and floor-plan interest set margin on every vehicle.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for one rooftop |
|---|---|---|
| Dealer-specific cost detail | 25% | Per-unit cost and floor-plan interest set margin on each car |
| Fit with the DMS you already run | 20% | A second set of books that must be reconciled adds month-end work |
| Price clarity on the public page | 15% | Budget decisions need a listed price and its terms |
| Accountant and user access | 15% | Outside accountants and bookkeepers need seats at the right tier |
| Setup and integration burden | 15% | Mapping, imports and API access decide the go-live effort |
| Migration and exit risk | 10% | Moving years of history later is slow and costly |
Pricing and total cost
Pricing checked October 29, 2026.
Every figure in the table below is shown on the vendor's own pricing page on that date, and the QuickBooks Online rows show the 3-month promotional price, not the ongoing rate. Where a vendor publishes no price, the table says Quote-based. Treat the list prices as a starting point, because the caveats in the table change what you pay in the first months.
| Vendor | Plan | Listed price | Billing and caveat | Users or limit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Simple Start | $19/mo (promotional) | Monthly; 50% off for 3 months promotion | 1 user; 2 accountants | Intuit |
| QuickBooks Online | Essentials | $42.50/mo (promotional) | Same promotion | 3 users; 2 accountants | Intuit |
| QuickBooks Online | Plus | $70/mo (promotional) | Same promotion | 5 users; 2 accountants | Intuit |
| QuickBooks Online | Advanced | $170/mo (promotional) | Same promotion | 25 users; 3 accountants | Intuit |
| Xero | Early | $27/mo after 6 months ($2.70 intro) | Monthly only | 20 invoices; 5 bills; users not stated | Xero |
| Xero | Growing | $59/mo after 6 months ($5.90 intro) | Monthly only | Users not stated; 3 budgets | Xero |
| Xero | Established | $97/mo after 6 months ($9.70 intro) | Monthly only | Users not stated; unlimited budgets | Xero |
| Zoho Books | Free | $0 | Revenue must not exceed $50K for the year | 1 user + 1 accountant; 1,000 invoices a year | Zoho Books |
| Zoho Books | Standard | $20/mo; $15/mo billed annually | Prices exclude local taxes | 3 users; 5,000 invoices a year | Zoho Books |
| Zoho Books | Professional | $50/mo; $40/mo billed annually | Prices exclude local taxes | 5 users; 10,000 invoices a year | Zoho Books |
| Zoho Books | Premium | $70/mo; $60/mo billed annually | Prices exclude local taxes | 10 users; 25,000 invoices a year | Zoho Books |
| Zoho Books | Elite | $150/mo; $120/mo billed annually | Prices exclude local taxes | 10 users; 100,000 invoices a year | Zoho Books |
| Zoho Books | Ultimate | $275/mo; $240/mo billed annually | Prices exclude local taxes | 15 users; 100,000 invoices a year | Zoho Books |
| Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central | Essentials | $80 per user/mo, paid yearly | Page labels prices informational | Per user | Microsoft |
| Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central | Premium | $110 per user/mo, paid yearly | Page labels prices informational | Per user | Microsoft |
| Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central | Team Members | $8 per user/mo, paid yearly | Page labels prices informational | Per user | Microsoft |
| Autosoft DMS | Accounting module | Quote-based | Demo request only | Not published | Autosoft |
Plus tier: $70 a month promotional for five users according to Intuit (2026). The same page shows a "50% off for 3 months" label on each tier, with a struck-through $38 beside the $19 Simple Start price, and it describes no annual contract. The struck-through figure is the regular price, which is $140 beside the Plus tier's $70, but the page text we read does not define the promotion's terms, so confirm with Intuit what you pay after the first three months before you compare with other vendors.
Early plan on Xero: $27 a month after six months according to Xero (2026). Xero's introductory rate is $2.70 a month for the first six months for a new US customer's first organization, and the offer ends at 11:59pm UTC on November 2, 2026, according to Xero (2026). Xero bills all plans monthly, and it notes that the base plans carry no per-user license fees, though it does not state user limits.
Professional tier on Zoho Books: $40 a month billed annually according to Zoho Books (2026), for five users, against $50 billed monthly. The free plan stays open only while revenue for the financial year does not exceed $50K, according to Zoho Books (2026), and extra users are priced separately.
Essentials tier on Business Central: $80 per user per month according to Microsoft (2026), paid yearly, with Premium at $110 and Team Members at $8 on the same page. The page says its prices are for information only and that the final price appears at checkout, so a reseller quote may differ from the list figure.
Autosoft publishes no price on its accounting article or the pages we read, so its cell says Quote-based. A demo request is the only route the article offers to a number.
Feature matrix from public pages
This matrix records only what the public pages we read say. Where a page is silent, the cell says "Not stated," not "no."
| Feature on the public page | QuickBooks Online | Xero | Zoho Books | Business Central | Autosoft DMS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price shown on vendor page | Yes, by tier | Yes, by tier | Yes, by tier | Yes, per user | No; demo request |
| Free tier or trial | Free plan (1 user, no third-party integrations); 30-day trial on paid tiers | No free tier listed | Yes, revenue-capped | 30-day trial listed | Not published |
| Published user limit | Yes, by tier | Not stated | Yes, by tier | Per-user license | Not published |
| Accountant access on the page | Yes, by tier | Not stated | Shown on free tier | Not stated | Not stated |
| Deal and repair-order posting | Not a DMS; needs export or sync | Not a DMS; needs export or sync | Not a DMS; needs export or sync | Not a DMS; needs integration | Yes; sales, repair orders and parts post in real time |
| Vehicle-level cost | Not native, per WickedFile | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not verified on page |
| Floor-plan interest | Manual journals, per WickedFile | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not verified on page |
| Annual billing option | Not offered on page | Monthly only | Yes | Yes, paid yearly | Not published |
Among the pages read, only Autosoft's article describes vehicle sales posting straight into accounting. The other four are general ledgers, so the rows that matter most for a dealership are the bottom three, and the next sections focus on that gap.
Vendor profiles and who should choose each
The facts in each profile come from the vendor pages and articles cited there. The "Best fit" lines are our analysis.
| Vendor | Choose it if | Avoid it if |
|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Your outside accountant works in it and your DMS can send clean summaries | You need per-vehicle cost to post on its own |
| Xero | You want a low entry price with monthly billing and your accountant prefers it | You need a published user limit before you buy |
| Zoho Books | You want a free start or a low annual price for a small team | You need dealer-specific deal costing out of the box |
| Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central | You need inventory and multi-entity ERP depth and can fund an implementation | You want a DMS-style deal workflow with little setup |
| Autosoft DMS | You are replacing the DMS anyway and want accounting inside it | You want a published price before a sales call |
QuickBooks Online
Best fit. A single rooftop whose DMS can send clean deal and repair-order summaries, and whose outside accountant already works in QuickBooks. Choose it when the goal is a general ledger the CPA trusts and that stays simple to hand over.
Limitations. The tiers add users in steps, so a team of five needs the Plus tier, and the public pricing page does not describe vehicle-level inventory costing. The floor-plan section below explains what that gap means in practice.
Implementation. Map the DMS's revenue and cost categories to your chart of accounts, connect the bank feeds, set a monthly journal for floor-plan interest, and give the accountant access on the tier you buy. Human review: the controller approves every journal the DMS or a workflow creates.
Evidence. The Intuit pricing page lists the tiers, user limits and promotion.
Xero
Best fit. An owner who wants a low entry price with monthly billing, and an accountant who prefers Xero. It suits a clean general ledger fed by a DMS export.
Limitations. The page does not state user limits. The Early tier caps invoices and bills, and those caps are tight for a dealership's receivables. Some payment methods carry fees that the page links to separately rather than listing.
Implementation. Get user counts in writing before you sign, check the invoice cap against your monthly volume, and set a reminder for when the introductory rate ends. Payroll is an add-on priced separately on the same page.
Evidence. The Xero pricing page.
Zoho Books
Best fit. A smaller operation that wants a free start or a low annual price, with a team that fits the user caps. The free tier is revenue-capped, so it suits a store that expects to move up to a paid tier.
Limitations. Invoice, bill and receipt-scan allowances step up by tier, and the free tier limits reports and scans. The pricing page shows no dealer-specific vehicle costing.
Implementation. Zoho's invoices API identifies each invoice by invoice_id, which a month-end script can use to pair DMS export lines with ledger records. Confirm which tiers include API access before you scope a script. Human review: a bookkeeper reviews every unmatched pair before anything posts.
Evidence. The Zoho Books pricing page and the Zoho Books invoices API page.
Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central
Best fit. An operation that needs inventory, multi-entity accounting or ERP depth beyond one store's ledger, and that can fund an implementation. For most single rooftops this is more system than the job requires.
Limitations. Licenses are per user, so cost scales with headcount. It is an ERP, not a DMS, so deal and service posting need an integration. The page labels its prices as information only.
Implementation. The page sends buyers to a reseller or implementation firm for an assessment and quote, so plan a scoping step with one. Confirm which license tier each person needs before you ask for a quote. Human review: the controller signs off on the integration's first month-end close.
Evidence. The Business Central pricing page.
Autosoft DMS accounting module
Best fit. A rooftop that is replacing its DMS anyway and wants accounting inside the same system. Autosoft's article dated October 4, 2025 says "Vehicle sales, repair orders, and parts tickets all post directly into accounting in real time," according to Autosoft (2025).
Limitations. No price is published, and the only calls to action are a demo request and a phone number. The same article describes connections to "more than 200 third-party systems" without naming an accounting package, so ask for QuickBooks compatibility in writing if your CPA needs it. A DMS switch is a project, not a ledger setup.
Implementation. Request a written quote and a migration plan that covers history, chart-of-accounts mapping and manufacturer reporting needs. Human review: the controller signs off on the migration reconciliation before the old ledger is closed.
Evidence. The Autosoft accounting article.
Floor plan and per-unit cost are where the choice gets hard
The sharpest gap in a standalone ledger is per-vehicle cost. WickedFile, which describes itself as an auto-repair-native accounts payable platform, argues in a guide published June 26, 2026 that "QuickBooks does not treat a vehicle as an asset moving through acquisition, recon, transport, floor-plan interest, and sale," and that "floor-plan interest keeps accruing on aged units and nobody reconciles it back to the actual days on lot," according to WickedFile (2026).
WickedFile's own fix is a DMS with native accounting, which keeps cost and deal together. That is a vendor's argument, so check it against your lender statements rather than the sales deck.
Here is how a proposed, configurable workflow could handle the gap. US Tech Automations could be configured to draft a monthly floor-plan reconciliation. The trigger is the first business day after month-end, when a DMS inventory export with VIN, acquisition cost, reconditioning, transport and days on lot is available. The workflow matches each VIN to the lender's floor-plan statement, calculates interest per unit, and drafts journal entries for QuickBooks Online. The output is a draft batch plus an exception list of VINs where the DMS and lender balances disagree. The prerequisites are a DMS export that includes VIN and days on lot, QuickBooks API access granted to the workflow, lender statements in a readable format, and an agreed chart of accounts. Human review: the controller approves each batch, and nothing posts automatically. The homepage names QuickBooks among its connected tools but does not explain how that connection works, so confirm the connection method before you scope the build.
Month-end close, with a worked example
Take a hypothetical single rooftop with four people who need ledger access: a controller, two bookkeepers and a general manager who reads reports. The Plus tier on QuickBooks Online covers five users at a promotional $70 a month for the first three months, then the struck-through regular price of $140 a month, which comes to $1,470 in the first year (3 × $70 = $210; 9 × $140 = $1,260). The Professional tier on Zoho Books, billed annually at $40 a month for five users, comes to $480 a year (12 × $40). If all four people needed full Essentials seats on Business Central at $80 per user per month, the cost would be $320 a month, or $3,840 a year before any implementation fees (4 × $80 = $320; 12 × $320 = $3,840). The reconciliation is where the hours go: if the DMS exports 120 receivables a month and each one needs a manual match, a bookkeeper touches 120 lines, but a script keyed on invoice_id can pair each DMS line with its ledger record and leave only the mismatches for a person to review.
A proposed US Tech Automations flow for month-end could start when a deal is marked delivered in the DMS (the trigger), pull the invoice record and the matching ledger entry (the action), and write a posting batch plus a list of unmatched deals (the output). The prerequisites are DMS export or API access and a connection to whichever ledger you choose. Human review: a bookkeeper reviews every unmatched deal and every batch before anything reaches the ledger.
Zapier, Make or n8n instead of a packaged workflow
A fair comparison starts with the fact that many buyers will consider building the same flows in Zapier, Make or n8n. Those tools can keep run histories, retries and error branches, and they can produce audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency (so a retry does not post the same entry twice), escalation paths, access controls and ongoing maintenance when the DMS or the ledger changes its API. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those pieces as part of the build, and the homepage names an approval queue and escalation routing among its workflow examples. Each piece still needs a named owner, the prerequisites above, and a test of the duplicate-posting case before go-live. If you have a developer who will own the flow for years, building it yourself can be the cheaper path.
Common mistakes to avoid
Buying a standalone ledger before checking whether the DMS already posts to its own books.
Comparing list prices without reading the promotion or introductory-offer end date.
Assuming a plan includes the accountant or user access you need without checking the page for that tier.
Treating a DMS accounting module as a sales call instead of asking for a written quote and migration plan.
Skipping the duplicate-posting test when an integration retries a failed call.
Letting any automated flow post journal entries without a named human reviewer.
Frequently asked questions
Can a single rooftop run on QuickBooks Online alone?
Yes, for the general ledger and reporting, as long as the DMS can export deal and repair-order summaries and your accountant works in QuickBooks. Per-vehicle cost and floor-plan interest then need a manual process or a separate workflow, as WickedFile's guide describes above.
Is Zoho Books free for a dealership?
Only while revenue for the financial year stays under the free-tier threshold on Zoho's pricing page; above that threshold, a paid tier applies. The free tier also limits invoices, reports and receipt scans compared with the paid tiers.
Does Business Central replace a DMS?
No. Business Central is an ERP ledger priced per user, and its pricing page describes ERP licensing rather than a dealership deal workflow. If you need deal, service and parts posting, confirm the integration with a reseller before you buy.
Should a dealer wait for a DMS sales call before picking a ledger?
Yes, if your DMS already includes accounting. Ask for a written quote, a migration plan and the chart-of-accounts mapping before you buy a separate ledger, because a DMS accounting module changes the decision.
When should a dealer skip US Tech Automations?
Skip a custom build when a simpler existing tool already does the job. Three situations favor a plain ledger or the DMS alone: your DMS already posts deals and repair orders cleanly and your accountant is satisfied with month-end; your volume is small enough that one bookkeeper can match every receivable by hand in the ledger's own reconciliation screen; or you need occasional exports rather than a repeated monthly reconciliation. In those cases, a standalone QuickBooks Online or Zoho Books subscription, or the DMS's own accounting module, is the simpler choice, and a custom flow would add one more system to own.
Conclusion
Start with the ledger question: does your DMS already keep the books? If it does, compare only the accounting module against your accountant's needs. If it does not, QuickBooks Online is the default for an outside accountant, Xero and Zoho Books are the cheaper alternatives with terms to read closely, Business Central fits rooftops that need ERP depth, and Autosoft's DMS accounting module makes sense only if you are replacing the DMS anyway. Whichever you choose, put the lender statement and the DMS export side by side before the first close. To see how US Tech Automations would configure that kind of reconciliation with human approval points, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.