Best AI Phone Answering Tools for Dealers: 7 Compared 2027
Start with the category decision
An AI phone answering tool is software that picks up an inbound call, works out what the caller needs, and then books, routes, or logs the result before a person answers. For a service department, the first decision is whether you need a tool that writes appointments into your scheduler or dealer management system (DMS), or one that takes messages and forwards calls. If you need bookings, the shortlist narrows to products that name a calendar or DMS connection and say what happens when the agent reaches its limit. Choose the category first, then the vendor.
TL;DR: For a service desk that needs bookings, shortlist the products that publish prices and describe a real scheduling connection. Goodcall publishes plan prices and books into a calendar. fonio publishes euro plan prices and describes a DMS connection without naming the system. Retell AI publishes a per-minute rate but says it ships no dealership connectors. Podium and CallRevu publish no price in the pages reviewed.
Unanswered calls are an old problem for dealers. A 2014 Marchex white paper sampled 1,000 mobile calls to dealerships, and Unanswered dealer calls: 16% in 2014 according to AutoRemarketing (2014).
Key Takeaways
Choose by the booking job, not the feature list. A tool that only takes messages leaves appointment work with your advisors.
Plan prices are public for Smith.ai, Goodcall, Retell AI, and fonio. JustCall publishes per-user plans and a starting add-on rate, while Podium and CallRevu publish no price in the pages reviewed.
Ask every vendor to name its scheduler and DMS connector in writing. Retell AI states that it does not ship prebuilt connectors for dealership service schedulers or DMS platforms.
Compare overage terms as carefully as base prices. Goodcall bills unique customers and says it never meters minutes, while Retell bills per minute.
Treat any "AI books the appointment" claim as a workflow with human review points. An advisor should own diagnostic calls, estimates, and failed bookings.
Zapier, Make, and n8n can be the buyer's own build path, but the buyer then owns logging, duplicate-booking prevention, escalation, and maintenance.
How we evaluated these tools
This is a desk review of public vendor pages, trade press, and a regulatory summary, checked October 29, 2026. We did not run calls through any product or request quotes. The weights below reflect what usually breaks a service desk: confirmed slots that never reach the calendar, calls that stall without a handoff, and bills that rise faster than expected.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries that weight |
|---|---|---|
| Booking into a real scheduler or calendar | 25% | A confirmed slot that never reaches the service calendar is worse than no answer |
| DMS or scheduler connector named in writing | 20% | "Integrates" claims vary, and a named connector is the only check you can audit |
| Human handoff and warm transfer | 15% | Diagnostic and warranty questions need an advisor who has the caller's context |
| Published pricing and overage terms | 15% | Overage rules decide the bill in a busy month |
| After-hours and overflow coverage | 10% | Calls outside open hours are where bookings are most often lost |
| Implementation and maintenance burden | 10% | The buyer owns prompts, calendar rules, and connector upkeep over time |
| Disclosure and consent controls | 5% | Regulators treat AI-generated voices as artificial voices under the TCPA |
The weights are our judgment, not a vendor score. A cheaper tool can still lose if it cannot write to your scheduler, and a pricier one can win if it names the connector your DMS needs.
Why calls leak, in numbers
The most recent service-call figure comes from the Car Wars 2026 Mid-Year Review, which covers the first half of 2026 and is summarized by Dealership Guy. Missed service calls: 3.4 million in 2026 according to Dealership Guy (2026). The same summary reports that only 46% of missed calls received a follow-up, according to Dealership Guy (2026).
| Benchmark | Figure | Year | Source type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Missed service calls, dealers | 3.4 million | 2026 | Industry mid-year review, via trade newsletter |
| Missed calls that received a follow-up | 46% | 2026 | Same mid-year review |
| Dealer calls unanswered, mobile sample | 16% | 2014 | Marchex white paper, via trade press |
These are market-wide figures. They size the problem without predicting your store's missed-call rate, so measure your own during a trial before you assume any tool recovers them.
Feature matrix for the seven vendors
The matrix uses only what the pages we read said. "Not stated" means the page did not say it, not that the product lacks it.
| Vendor | Dealership-specific page | Books into a calendar or scheduler | Names a DMS | Human handoff described | Public plan price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai | No | Consultation booking in AI-first mode | No | Yes, complex calls go to a human receptionist | Yes |
| Goodcall | No | Yes, checks calendar before offering times | No | Yes, transfers to business line by default | Yes |
| Podium | Auto tag on voice AI features | Service AI checks availability via mapped opcodes | Not named | Yes, escalation tasks assigned by rules | No, quote-based |
| JustCall | Yes, auto dealership page | Yes, checks DMS for bays and technicians | Generic only | Yes, transfers complex issues to an advisor | Partly, per-user plans and add-on rate |
| Retell AI | Yes, service scheduling use case | Via custom functions or Cal.com and Calendly | No, ships no prebuilt connectors | Yes, warm transfer with briefing | Yes, per-minute |
| fonio | Yes | Yes, considers service length, lifts, and staff | Generic only | Not stated on the page read | Yes, excluding VAT |
| CallRevu DylanAI | Yes, release frames it for dealerships | Claims service scheduler integration, none named | Not named | Not described, routing by caller history | No, quote-based |
Only JustCall and fonio say their agents connect to a DMS, and neither names the product. Ask for the connector name in writing before you give any vendor a deposit.
Pricing and total cost
Pricing checked October 29, 2026. Each figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page and is cited where it appears. A vendor that publishes no plan price is marked quote-based.
Smith.ai's pricing page lists a Starter plan at $300 per month for 30 calls with $11.50 per call beyond that, a Basic plan at $810 per month for 90 calls with $10.50 per call beyond that, and a Pro plan at $2,100 per month for 300 calls with $8.50 per call beyond that, according to Smith.ai. The page does not say which of its three handling modes, AI-first, Hybrid, or Human-first, these plans apply to, so confirm that before you compare them with a per-minute rate.
Goodcall plans: $79, $129 and $299 a month according to Goodcall (checked 2026), for 100, 500, and 2,000 unique customers respectively. Goodcall bills unique customers rather than minutes, and its page says "We never meter minutes."
JustCall's Team plan is $29 per user per month, billed annually, according to JustCall, and its Pro plan is $49 on the same basis. Its AI Voice Agent is sold as an add-on, which its dealership page says starts at $0.99 per minute according to JustCall.
Retell pay-as-you-go voice: $0.07 to $0.31 per minute according to Retell AI (checked 2026). The page states there are no platform fees on that tier, and enterprise pricing is quote-based.
fonio's Solo plan is €99 per month, its Team plan is €299 per month, and its Scale plan starts at €539 per month, all excluding VAT and billed yearly, according to fonio (checked 2026). Its tiers are sized by daily call volume and included minutes, and the page lists no setup fee.
Podium's pricing page publishes no plan prices and sends buyers to sales, so AI Employee is quote-based in this review. The page does say that you can "Add on AI Employee to any plan" (Podium pricing). CallRevu's January 30, 2026 DylanAI release states no pricing, so its price is quote-based as well (CallRevu release).
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Overage or add-on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai | Starter | $300 per month for 30 calls | $11.50 per call over 30 |
| Smith.ai | Basic | $810 per month for 90 calls | $10.50 per call over 90 |
| Smith.ai | Pro | $2,100 per month for 300 calls | $8.50 per call over 300 |
| Goodcall | Starter | $79 a month for 100 customers | 79¢ each beyond 100 |
| Goodcall | Growth | $129 a month for 500 customers | 26¢ each beyond 500 |
| Goodcall | Scale | $299 a month for 2,000 customers | 15¢ each beyond 2,000 |
| Goodcall | Enterprise | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| JustCall | Team | $29 per user per month, billed annually | Not published |
| JustCall | Pro | $49 per user per month, billed annually | Not published |
| JustCall | AI Voice Agent add-on | Starting at $0.99 per minute | Volume discounts mentioned, not tied to plans |
| Retell AI | Pay-as-you-go | $0.07 to $0.31 per minute | No platform fee listed |
| Retell AI | Enterprise | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| fonio | Solo | €99 per month, excluding VAT, billed yearly | No setup fee listed |
| fonio | Team | €299 per month, excluding VAT, billed yearly | No setup fee listed |
| fonio | Scale | From €539 per month | Custom rates apply |
| Podium | Plans | Quote-based | AI Employee is an add-on to any plan |
| CallRevu | DylanAI | Quote-based | Quote-based |
Here is one worked scenario, labeled as illustrative. Suppose a service desk's AI agent handles 1,200 minutes in a month. At Retell's published $0.07 to $0.31 per minute, that is $84 to $372 before any telephony or other charges your contract adds (1,200 × $0.07 = $84; 1,200 × $0.31 = $372). Now suppose the same desk chooses Goodcall's Growth plan and 620 unique customers reach it in a month. Five hundred are included at $129, and 120 extra cost 26¢ each, so the bill is $129 + $31.20 = $160.20. Building on Retell puts the booking step in your hands. Retell's use-case material says the agent calls your scheduler's API during the call, and its webhook documentation lists call_ended for post-call logging, with retries up to 3 times if no 2xx status arrives within 10 seconds, so your endpoint must treat a repeated event as the same booking.
Vendor profiles: best fit, limits, and evidence
Each profile separates what the vendor's pages say from our read of them.
Smith.ai
Facts: Smith.ai offers three handling modes: AI-first, Hybrid, and Human-first. Its site says complex calls are handed to a human receptionist, and it lists human escalation as a paid add-on. Its named integrations are legal practice tools such as Clio and MyCase, and its examples are law-firm focused. The pricing page is cited above.
Our read: Smith.ai fits a shop that wants a staffed receptionist with AI first-touch, and it is the weakest of the group for automated DMS booking. The named integrations do not include any automotive system, and the pricing page does not say which handling mode its plans apply to. Ask for the mode and a written scheduling path before you buy.
Goodcall
Facts: Goodcall answers around the clock, identifies whether a caller is new, existing, urgent, or spam, and texts and emails the lead details when a call ends. It checks your calendar before offering times, and its sample booking uses Google Calendar. By default, transfers go to your business line, and it can also route to a person, take a message, or schedule a callback. It can update HighLevel or your own system, and its site names no dealer management system and no automotive examples.
Our read: Goodcall is the cleanest fit for after-hours booking into a calendar. Its limits are the missing DMS connection and the absence of automotive references. Because billing counts unique customers, a busy month raises the bill, so run the overage math in the table before you commit.
Podium
Facts: Podium's pricing page says plans are "designed to fit your specific business needs" and points buyers to sales. Its July 2026 release notes say that when the AI employee needs a human, "a task is created automatically and assigned based on your escalation rules." The same notes tag several voice AI features "For Home Services and Auto," and say that before you turn on Service AI, you can run a test to confirm your mapped opcodes return appointment availability (Podium release 26.7).
Our read: Podium is worth a sales conversation if you already run Podium for messaging and reviews. The price is unknown until you ask, and the opcode mapping is the question that matters: confirm which DMS it reads from, who maintains the mapping, and who fixes it when it breaks.
JustCall
Facts: JustCall's auto page says its agent answers at all hours, collects the year, make, model, and symptoms, and checks the shop's DMS for open bays and technicians. It texts the appointment details and logs the record in the CRM. It says it "transfers complex issues or urgent requests to a human advisor with full context." Its named integrations are CRM tools, including HubSpot, Salesforce, and Pipedrive, and it does not name a DMS product.
Our read: JustCall describes the most complete service workflow of the vendors that publish one, but the DMS sync is the claim to verify. Two costs stack in practice: a per-user plan and a per-minute add-on for the voice agent.
Retell AI
Facts: Retell's service scheduling page describes booking that checks open slots and rebooks when a caller changes time mid-call. It says a warm transfer "waits for the advisor to pick up and briefs them privately," and managers can listen to live calls and take over. It also says: "Retell does not ship prebuilt connectors for dealership service schedulers or DMS platforms." Calendar booking works natively with Cal.com and Calendly.
Our read: Retell suits a team that will build and own the scheduler connector and wants per-minute pricing and API control. It is the wrong choice for a shop that needs a packaged DMS connection on day one. Its per-minute model also rises with call length, so long service consultations cost more than short ones.
fonio
Facts: fonio's dealership page says its assistant can schedule test drives, inspections, sales consultations, and tire changes, and that it "takes into account the length of the service, the lifts available at that time, and the number of staff on duty." It says the assistant "is connected to your dealer management system (DMS), your CRM, and the dealership's internal calendar" but names no DMS product. Its prices are in euros and exclude VAT, and the page does not describe a human handoff.
Our read: Among the vendors reviewed, fonio's public page covers the service-desk details most closely, especially lifts and staff. Its DMS claim is generic, and the page does not describe how a caller reaches an advisor. Convert euro prices and ask about handoff before any comparison with dollar quotes.
CallRevu DylanAI
Facts: CallRevu announced DylanAI on January 30, 2026, describing "deep integration with service schedulers and DVA platforms." The release calls an open API initiative a plan that will support "all major schedulers," which is future-tense, and names no scheduler today. It describes real-time awareness of who is available, busy, or offline, and it gives no pricing.
Our read: DylanAI is relevant if your dealership already runs on CallRevu. Because the release names no scheduler and describes the API as a plan, verify each connection before you rely on it.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small dealership who has a scheduler or DMS that can be reached by export or API, and who wants a service desk that books appointments rather than only taking messages.
Red flags: no one on staff can name who owns calendar rules and escalations; the DMS vendor has not confirmed API or export access in writing; you expect the AI to quote diagnoses, estimates, or warranty decisions.
Who should choose which vendor
| Vendor | Choose it if | Main caution |
|---|---|---|
| Goodcall | You want after-hours calls booked into a calendar, priced per unique customer | No DMS named and no automotive examples |
| fonio | Your service desk needs lifts, staff, and service length in booking logic, and you want published plans | Euro prices exclude VAT, and the DMS product is not named |
| JustCall | Your phones already run on JustCall and you want the dealership workflow its page describes | DMS not named, and the voice agent is an add-on |
| Retell AI | Your team can build and own the scheduler connector and wants per-minute pricing | No prebuilt dealership or DMS connectors |
| Smith.ai | You want a staffed hybrid or human-first receptionist with per-call pricing | Plan mode not labeled, and no automotive references |
| Podium | You already use Podium for messaging and want its AI Employee | No price without a sales call, and the DMS mapping needs verification |
| CallRevu DylanAI | Your dealership already runs on CallRevu | No price and no named scheduler in the launch release |
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a custom workflow if a single vendor's built-in booking already writes to your DMS and your advisors accept its handoff, because a second system adds a second place for errors. Skip it if you only need answered calls and lead texts, which Goodcall already describes as built in. Skip it if no one on your staff will own the calendar rules, because a workflow without an owner stalls.
Where a custom workflow fits the service lane
A proposed design from US Tech Automations would treat after-hours and overflow booking as one configurable workflow, not a deployed system. Trigger: a service call reaches the AI agent after hours or while every line is busy. Action: the agent collects the year, make, model, and symptom, then asks the scheduler for open slots that match the service length. Output: a booked slot in the calendar, a text confirmation to the caller, and a CRM record. Prerequisites are API or export access to the scheduler or DMS, a written table of service lengths, and a named owner for calendar rules. The site's public integration list shows Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks, and Stripe, plus "and more," but no dealer management system, so that connection must be confirmed separately. Human review points: any call that describes a warning light, a safety concern, or a warranty question goes to an advisor queue, and an advisor checks unconfirmed bookings at the start of each day.
The same pattern covers missed calls that never book. Trigger: a call ends without a confirmed slot. Action: US Tech Automations would create a follow-up task in the CRM with the call summary and send a text offering a callback window. Output: a logged task with an owner and a due time. Prerequisites are CRM write access and a message template that tells the caller they spoke with an AI assistant. Human review points: an advisor approves any estimate before it is promised, and any outbound AI voice call needs counsel review, because the FCC ruled in February 2024 that AI-generated voices are "artificial" under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act, according to Cooley (2024).
Building the same workflow in Zapier, Make, or n8n
A fair comparison starts with the stack many shops already own. Make's error-handling documentation describes how a Commit handler "stops the scenario run and commits all changes made up to that point," and it explains how failed runs are kept for review (Make error-handling docs). Those are real observability features. The buyer still designs and owns what gets logged, idempotency so a retried run does not book the same slot twice, the advisor escalation path, access controls on DMS credentials, and maintenance when the DMS API changes. A workflow tool also does not answer a phone on its own, so the voice layer is a separate purchase or build. US Tech Automations describes a four-step engagement on its site: you describe the problem, they design the workflow, they build and test it, and they provide ongoing support. That makes maintenance part of the described model, but the DMS check still comes first.
Decision checklist
Name the scheduler or DMS product, and confirm read and write access in writing.
Confirm the service-length table the agent will use for each job type.
Name the escalation path and who receives it on nights and weekends.
Price the bill for your busiest month using the overage terms, not the base plan.
Confirm call-recording disclosure and AI-voice consent rules with counsel.
Set pilot measures before launch: booked slots that reach the calendar, calls transferred to an advisor, and calls that end with no booking and no follow-up task.
Glossary
DMS (dealer management system): The core system that holds customer, vehicle, and repair-order records.
Warm transfer: The AI stays on the line until a person answers, then briefs them before connecting the caller.
Overage: The per-unit charge for usage above a plan's included amount.
Concurrency: The number of calls a voice platform can handle at the same time.
Webhook: A message the vendor sends to your endpoint when an event happens, such as
call_ended.Idempotent: Safe to repeat. A retried request does not create a second booking.
Human handoff (escalation): The moment the AI passes a call or task to a named person.
Service length: The time a job takes in the service bay, used to size the calendar slot.
Frequently asked questions
Is an AI phone answering tool enough to run a service department?
No single tool runs the department, because it answers and books calls while advisors still handle diagnostics, estimates, and warranty decisions. Keep a named human owner for every escalation.
Which of these vendors publish prices?
Smith.ai, Goodcall, Retell AI, and fonio publish plan or per-minute prices, JustCall publishes per-user plans and a starting add-on rate, and Podium and CallRevu publish none in the pages reviewed.
Does any vendor here name a dealer management system?
No vendor here names a DMS product on its pages. fonio and JustCall describe a DMS connection in general terms, and Retell AI says it ships no prebuilt DMS connectors, so get the connector name in writing before you buy.
Can an AI voice agent place outbound calls to customers?
Use caution, and have counsel review it first, because the FCC treats AI-generated voices as artificial voices under the TCPA, a point covered in the workflow section above. Inbound answering carries less of that risk than outbound calling.
What should a pilot measure?
A pilot should measure three things: booked slots that reach the calendar, calls transferred to an advisor, and calls that end with no booking and no follow-up task. Compare those counts against your current missed-call rate, not against a vendor's claim.
When should a shop keep a human-first desk?
Keep a human-first desk when most calls are diagnostic or warranty questions, because an AI tool can book a slot but should not decide those calls.
Closing: decide the booking path first
Start the shortlist with the booking path: the scheduler or DMS, the named connector, and the human owner for escalations. Price only from the pages above, then ask each vendor for the written answers in the checklist. If a configured workflow is the right answer for your desk, see how US Tech Automations configures this. For the sales side of the same store, read our BDC automation comparison before you decide.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.