Automotive Econtracting Software: 6 Options for 2027
Automotive econtracting software: choose the lender path first
Automotive econtracting software is the system that prepares a car sale's finance contracts, collects signatures on them, and sends the package to lenders while the signed file stays attached to the deal. This guide compares six options a small dealership can realistically shortlist, and it starts with the decision that matters most: whether your lenders accept digital packages, and through which vendor.
The category splits into three paths. Dealer-side suites such as Dealertrack, CDK, and RouteOne combine contract preparation, signing, and lender submission. Auto/Mate eDEAL is a signature feature inside the Auto/Mate DMS. DocuSign and signNow are general e-signature tools that collect signatures well but leave lender routing and the deal file to you.
TL;DR: If your lenders already accept digital submission through a suite, shortlist the suites and get written quotes. If you run the Auto/Mate DMS, check eDEAL first. If you only need signatures, a general tool gives you a published per-user price to start from, but it does not replace the lender step.
Key Takeaways
Four of the six options are dealer-side or DMS-side products (Dealertrack, CDK, RouteOne, and Auto/Mate eDEAL). DocuSign and signNow are general e-signature tools.
Only DocuSign and signNow put per-user prices on the pages we read. The Standard plan on DocuSign costs $30 per user per month, and signNow's starting price is $8 per user per month.
Dealertrack's own page cites 550+ lenders on its digital contracting network, so lender coverage is the first thing to check against your own list.
The general e-signature tools describe signing, but the pages we read do not describe a dealer deal jacket or lender submission.
The funding-speed figures in this guide come from 2020 coverage or vendor claims. Treat them as history until a vendor confirms current numbers in writing.
A Zapier, Make, or n8n build can handle routing, but you own error handling, access controls, and upkeep.
Who this is for
This guide is for a small dealership owner or operations lead who is close to choosing and needs to know what each vendor will and will not put in writing. It fits a store where F&I staff send retail installment and lease contracts to finance sources, and where paper, fax, or re-keying slows funding.
Red flags: none of your lenders will accept an electronic package from any of these tools; your DMS cannot export or import deal data, so every contract gets retyped; or no one owns the signed contract file once it is complete.
How we evaluated these tools
We weighed six criteria, shown below. The weights are our judgment about what decides whether a deal gets funded cleanly. They are not vendor data. For each vendor we read the product or pricing page the vendor publishes, then checked dated trade coverage for older claims. We did not run any product or contact sales teams, so nothing here reflects a hands-on test.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries that weight | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lender reach and digital submission | 25% | A package a lender cannot accept stalls the deal, whatever the signing tool does. | Your lender list, confirmed in writing by the vendor |
| Deal jacket and DMS tie-in | 25% | One file per deal, without re-keying, lets a funding desk check completeness. | The export or import path for your DMS |
| Signing options | 20% | Customers sign in the showroom or remotely, and the file must hold up in review. | Remote-signing rules per lender and the audit trail |
| Published cost | 15% | Per-user and per-envelope terms change the bill as volume grows. | A public price or a written quote with overage terms |
| Implementation and support | 10% | Set-up work and data mapping decide how long go-live takes. | Named onboarding steps and support hours |
| Evidence quality | 5% | Dated, specific claims are easier to rely on than undated marketing. | The page date and independent trade coverage |
Two limits apply to the evidence. Some vendor pages carry no date, and RouteOne's current pages returned an access error to every request during this research, so its profile relies on 2020 coverage.
What each option publishes
The matrix separates what a vendor's page says from what we could not confirm. "Not stated" means the page we read does not mention the feature. It does not mean the product lacks it.
| Feature | Dealertrack | CDK | RouteOne | Auto/Mate eDEAL | signNow | DocuSign |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| One file for contracts and funding | Yes: one deal jacket | Yes: digital deal jacket | Not checked | Forms stored to the deal in the DMS | Not stated | Not stated |
| Lender submission | Yes: live funding checklist, 550+ lenders | Yes: from within CDK F&I | Not checked | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Remote signing | Yes, subject to lender participation | Yes, in-store or remote | Yes, per 2020 coverage | Yes, email forms to sign at home | Yes, by email, link, or mobile | Not checked |
| Audit trail | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes: timestamps, signer details, event history | Not checked |
| DMS tie-in | Integrates with leading DMS providers | Inside CDK F&I | Not checked | Feature of the Sales & Finance module | Not stated | Not stated |
| Published price | None on page | None on page | None found | None on page | Starting price on page | Plan prices on page |
Two notes apply. Dealertrack's comparison page carries a 2020 footer, while its digital contracting page is marked 2026, so read the comparison claims as older. Dealertrack's F&I aftermarket page states that "F&I Express is now part of Dealertrack," so older F&I Express material points to the same vendor.
Pricing and two-user cost
Only two vendors put a price on the pages we read. Standard plan: $30 per user per month according to DocuSign (page read October 25, 2026). That price is billed monthly on an annual commitment, and the same page lists Business Pro at $45 per user per month and Personal at $11 per month for individuals.
Starting price: $8 per user per month according to signNow (page read October 25, 2026). The page does not name the plan behind that starting price, and it lists Business Premium and Enterprise tiers with no prices.
| Vendor | Plan or product | Published price | Two-user annual cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| DocuSign | Standard | $30 per user per month, annual commitment billed monthly | $720 |
| DocuSign | Business Pro | $45 per user per month, annual commitment billed monthly | $1,080 |
| signNow | Starting plan (not named on page) | $8 per user per month | $192 |
| Dealertrack | Digital Contracting | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| CDK | Digital Contracting or Digital Finance Office | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| RouteOne | eContracting | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| Auto/Mate | eDEAL, inside the DMS | Quote-based | Quote-based |
Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Two-user totals are our arithmetic from the published per-user prices, not vendor quotes. Quote-based means the vendor page we read gives no public price, so Dealertrack, CDK, RouteOne, and Auto/Mate eDEAL need a written quote before any cost comparison. Dealertrack's comparison page describes "No Transaction Fees," which is a claim to write into the quote, not a price.
Figures to confirm before any demo
Each figure below comes from a vendor page or from 2020 trade coverage, and each appears with its citation in the section that uses it. Ask every vendor to confirm current versions before you rely on them.
| Vendor | Figure | Value |
|---|---|---|
| DocuSign | Standard plan envelope allowance | 100 per user per year |
| DocuSign | Standard plan price, annual commitment | $30 per user per month |
| signNow | Starting price | $8 per user per month |
| signNow | Free trial length | 7 days |
| Dealertrack | Lenders on the digital contracting page | 550+ |
| Dealertrack | Claimed import-to-submit time | Under a minute |
| CDK | Claimed lender funding time, 2020 | 24 hours or less |
| RouteOne | Remote eSigning fee waiver, 2020 | Until Sept. 1, 2020 |
Vendor profiles
Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read. The order follows the buying path: dealer-side suites first, then the DMS-side feature, then general e-signature tools.
Dealertrack
Vendor facts: Dealertrack's digital contracting page describes one deal jacket that holds documents from lead to funding, a Ready Sign tool that turns uploaded forms into signable forms, and a Live Funding Checklist that shows lender-required documents. Lender network: 550+ lenders according to Dealertrack (© 2026 page). The same page calls its network "the largest automotive digital contracting network" and says "Under a minute from import to submit for verification," a claim we could not test. It lists Digital Contracting Choice as a solution option without explaining it in the text we could read.
Best fit: stores whose lenders sit on Dealertrack's network and that want one file for contracts, funding documents, and aftermarket products.
Limitations: The page publishes no price. Its remote signing depends on lender participation, as the page itself says. The comparison page's footer is dated 2020, and its tablet footnote says compatibility is with "most 9″ or larger devices."
Implementation: Ask for the current lender list, confirm the DMS integration for your system, and run the Live Funding Checklist against two real deals with your F&I manager before you sign.
Our read: The lender list decides this. If your lenders are on it, Dealertrack is a strong fit. If they are not, the suite does not close the funding gap you bought it to close.
CDK
Vendor facts: CDK's eContracting page leads with "eContracting in Minutes" and says dealers can sign lender contracts and submit them directly to the lender from within CDK F&I. It describes a digital deal jacket and in-store or remote signing. It publishes no prices, describes an "affordable entry point," and points visitors to a "Get a Demo" button. CDK's 2020 Sign Anywhere remote-signing product was reported by Auto Remarketing (2020). CDK said remote signing could cut lender processing from four to six days to 24 hours or less, according to Auto Remarketing (2020). The same article says the tool works only with compatible finance companies, and that it is free for customers who already use CDK eSign.
Best fit: stores already on CDK F&I that want lender submission in the same product.
Limitations: There is no public price. The speed claim is CDK's own and applied to compatible lenders in 2020. The "free" offer applied to CDK eSign customers, so it does not show what a dealer pays for Sign Anywhere.
Implementation: Ask which of your lenders support Sign Anywhere and whether eSign is already licensed, because the 2020 offer depended on it.
Our read: CDK is the dealer-side option to test if you already run its F&I stack. If you do not, a separate CDK purchase is hard to justify from the public pages alone.
RouteOne
Vendor facts: RouteOne's own pages returned an access error to every request during this research, so this profile relies on trade coverage from May 2020. That coverage describes eSign Anything, which lets dealers send eSignable deal documents through RouteOne's secure portal, collect signatures "in one session" remotely or in-store, and add signature fields to documents the dealer uploads. The article reported that "RouteOne has waived fees until Sept. 1 for remote eSigning" according to Auto Remarketing (2020). The company says the feature meets finance sources' compliance and security requirements.
Best fit: dealers already on RouteOne for credit and contracting who want to keep that workflow and add their own documents to the signing packet.
Limitations: There is no current price, which we list as Quote-based. The fee waiver ended in 2020. We could not confirm today's feature set or lender list from a vendor page.
Implementation: Get the current price, support terms, and lender list in writing. Ask whether eSign Anything and dealer uploads are included in your current agreement.
Our read: Keep RouteOne on the shortlist, but score it only on current written facts, not on 2020 coverage.
Auto/Mate eDEAL
Vendor facts: eDEAL is a signature capture feature in the Sales & Finance module of the Auto/Mate DMS. F&I staff capture signatures on digital PDF forms on a tablet, can save unfinished signing sessions, and can email forms so a customer signs from home. Signed forms are "stored directly to the deal and downloaded as a .zip file." The eDEAL page gives no price and does not say whether eDEAL is sold separately or bundled with the DMS. It lists a sales line, 888-655-1435, for pricing questions.
Best fit: stores already on the Auto/Mate DMS that want signature capture and storage without a second vendor.
Limitations: The page we read does not describe a lender network or lender submission. It is undated. Because the signed file lives in the DMS, a DMS change would move the whole file with it.
Implementation: Confirm the module license, the tablet hardware, and whether your lenders accept the zip package as delivered.
Our read: This is a DMS-side option, not a standalone choice for a store on another system.
signNow
Vendor facts: signNow's dealer page describes sending paperwork by email, link, or mobile so customers do not have to return to the showroom, and it says the iOS and Android apps support offline signing. Its audit trails record timestamps, signer identity details, and event history, and they export with the signed PDF. The page lists a 7-day free trial and says business plans include unlimited users. It does not mention a deal jacket or retail installment contract routing.
Best fit: stores that need a general e-signature tool for documents outside the lender packet, with an audit trail and an API.
Limitations: The page describes no lender submission and no deal jacket. The starting price has no plan name, and the higher tiers have no prices on the page.
Implementation: signNow's event callback guide lists document.complete, subscribed by document_id, which the guide describes as "One specific document reaching completion." The guide does not define "fully signed," so confirm how multi-signer packets behave before you build on it.
Our read: Strong for documents and audit trails, weak as a lender bridge.
DocuSign
Vendor facts: DocuSign's pricing page lists Personal, Standard, and Business Pro plans, with Enhanced plans available only through sales contact. The Standard plan includes 100 envelopes per user per year. Envelopes past a plan's allowance are billed at a rate the page does not state. The page says buyers can cancel within 30 days of purchase without penalty, and it notes that additional tax may apply.
Best fit: stores that need signatures on documents and will build the deal jacket and lender routing in their own process or in a workflow tool.
Limitations: The pricing page does not describe dealer deal jackets or lender submission, and we did not find a DocuSign dealer page in this research. The envelope overage rate is not stated.
Implementation: Count envelopes per user per year before you choose a plan. The included total grows only with paid seats, and adding a co-buyer as a signer on the same envelope does not change it.
Our read: A published per-user price makes signatures easy to budget. The lender step stays with you.
Where the deal file breaks, and where a workflow layer helps
The deal file tends to break in three places: the signed packet never gets attached to the deal, a lender's required-document list changes, or someone re-keys figures from the signing tool into the DMS.
A proposed US Tech Automations design would start from a signing event. For example, when signNow sends document.complete for a packet, the workflow would check the signed documents against the lender's current document list, attach them to the deal record, and post a status note for the F&I manager. The prerequisites are API or webhook access from the signing tool, a DMS export or import path for deal data, and a current copy of each lender's document list. Human review points stay in the flow: the F&I manager approves each packet before it goes to a lender, and a second person checks any change to a disclosure. This is a configurable design, not a description of a live deployment.
Zapier, Make, and n8n can carry the same trigger-and-route logic. When configured, they can keep run histories, retries, and error branches. The buyer still designs and owns idempotency, escalation, access controls, and maintenance when a lender or DMS changes its format. A proposed US Tech Automations design could set the document check and the approval gate as named steps, with the escalation owner written into the flow, but it still needs your DMS export, your lender list, and a named reviewer.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip it if one lender already takes digital packages through a suite you license, because that suite's own queue is simpler than a second layer. Skip it if you send only a few documents with no lender routing, where a general e-signature template is enough. Skip it if your only need is signature capture inside an Auto/Mate DMS, because eDEAL covers that step.
Worked example: two F&I users, 30 deals a month
Take an illustrative store, not a customer, that sends 30 deals a month, or 360 a year, through two F&I users. Included envelopes: 100 per user per year according to DocuSign (page read October 25, 2026). If each deal goes out as one DocuSign envelope on the Standard plan, the two users cover 200 envelopes a year (2 × 100), which leaves 160 envelopes above the included total, and the two seats cost $720 a year (2 × $30 × 12). That seat cost does not cover this store's volume, so the buyer must get DocuSign's overage rate or a larger allowance in writing. The same two seats on signNow's starting price cost $192 a year (2 × $8 × 12), but that price has no named plan, so read it as a floor. In a proposed design, signNow's document.complete event would start the packet check described above, and the workflow would need signNow API access and an F&I manager's approval before any lender submission.
| Step | Input | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Deals per year at 30 a month | 30 × 12 | 360 |
| Included envelopes, two users on DocuSign Standard | 2 × 100 | 200 |
| Envelopes above the included total | 360 − 200 | 160 |
| Two seats on DocuSign Standard | 2 × $30 × 12 | $720 per year |
| Two seats on signNow starting price | 2 × $8 × 12 | $192 per year |
Decision checklist and common mistakes
Checklist before you request quotes:
Write down every lender you use and ask each vendor, in writing, whether that lender takes digital packages.
Ask each suite for a two-user and a five-user quote that includes overage terms.
Confirm the DMS export or import path for the deal fields you need to move.
Name the person who owns the signed file and where it is stored for audit review.
Confirm remote-signing rules for each lender before a customer is promised a remote close.
Ask for dated feature lists. Treat undated pages as drafts.
Common mistakes:
Buying a general e-signature tool and assuming the lender step is covered.
Comparing list prices without the overage terms.
Treating a 2020 fee waiver or a funding-speed claim as current.
Skipping a live test of the funding checklist on real deals.
Questions buyers ask
Is automotive econtracting software just e-signature?
No. E-signature collects signatures on documents, while automotive econtracting software also builds lender-specific packets and submits them to finance sources. On the pages we read, DocuSign and signNow cover only the signature step.
Which options publish prices?
Only DocuSign and signNow put per-user prices on the pages we read, at $30 and $8 per user per month respectively. Dealertrack, CDK, RouteOne, and Auto/Mate eDEAL are quote-based in this research.
Can DocuSign alone handle a car deal?
It can collect signatures, but the DocuSign pricing page we read does not describe a deal jacket or lender submission. The lender routing and the complete deal file stay with you.
What if one lender does not take digital packages?
That lender's deals still need a paper or lender-portal path. Ask each vendor for its current lender list before you buy, and check that list against the lenders you actually use.
Is a Zapier, Make, or n8n build enough?
It can work for simple routing if you configure run histories, retries, and error branches, and you accept ownership of idempotency, escalation, access controls, and upkeep.
Closing the shortlist
Start with lender coverage, get written quotes from the suites, and use the two published per-user prices as the floor for a general e-signature fallback. If your gap sits between signing and funding, see how US Tech Automations configures this, then test it against your own lender list and your own DMS export.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.