Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best Call Recording Software: 7 Options for Insurance 2027

Oct 28, 2026

Start with the category decision

For most small insurance agencies, the real decision is not which brand records calls best. It is whether recording comes inside a business phone system you already need, or gets added through a separate recorder. Call recording software captures, stores and indexes the audio of phone calls, and for an agency it also has to keep the record a compliance review may later request.

TL;DR: buy the lowest-priced plan that records automatically and keeps audio for your required retention period, then confirm both in writing before you sign.

Our recommendation is to start with the phone platform your agents already use, confirm automatic recording on the exact tier you would buy, and add a separate archive only if the phone platform cannot meet your retention rule. The sections below show which of seven options clear that bar on their public pages and which need a written answer first.

Key Takeaways

  • Buy recording inside the phone system you already need, and confirm that automatic recording is on the tier you will actually pay for.

  • On RingCentral's RingEX plans, automatic recording starts at the Advanced tier, while Core offers on-demand recording only.

  • Medicare sales calls carried a 10-year retention rule in 2022 trade coverage, so agencies that sell Medicare products need to plan for it.

  • Nextiva's recording row did not come through on the page we read, so its recording tier needs written confirmation before you compare prices.

  • AgentTech is the insurance-specific option among the seven vendors checked, but its page states no retention period.

  • A configured workflow only helps if a named person owns the review queue.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, a statute, and trade press, not from hands-on testing. We weighted the criteria toward the failures that cost small agencies most: a recording feature that sits on a higher tier than the one quoted, unknown retention periods, and usage charges that sit outside the base price. The weights are our analysis. The prices and features are facts taken from the pages cited in this article.

CriterionWeight (%)Why it matters
Automatic recording on the plan you would buy25Automatic capture means no agent has to press record on every call
Retention and retrieval period20Medicare sales calls carried a 10-year rule in 2022 trade coverage
Consent and disclosure fit15Some states, such as Florida, require every party's consent
Transcription and search10Search cuts the time needed to find one call across many
Per-seat price on the plan that meets the first two criteria20Price counts only after the recording tier and retention are confirmed
API, webhook or CRM export10An archive that cannot connect to the CRM adds manual work

A criterion the vendor page does not state is marked as unconfirmed in the matrix below, not counted as present.

Feature matrix on the plans buyers see

VendorRecording on the plans we readTranscription listedRetention listedQuote-based tier
RingCentralAutomatic on Advanced and Ultra; on-demand only on CoreNot on the page we readNot on the page we readNone; RingCentral lists RingEX prices on its plans page, which we did not check
DialpadListed on Sell Essentials and above"AI transcripts" on Sell Essentials"1-year recording & transcript retrieval"Connect Enterprise and Resolve
CallRail"Call recording and routing" on Lead Tracking"Call transcription and analysis" on Lead TrackingNot on the page we readNone listed
NextivaNot confirmed; check marks did not come throughNot confirmedNot confirmedContact center Professional and Premium
Aircall"Call recording" on Essentials and ProfessionalNot on the page we readNot on the page we readEnterprise
Zoom PhoneListed as included in the plan comparison tableNot on the page we readNot on the page we readNone listed
AgentTechAutomated call recordingTranscription includedNot stated; "compliance storage" onlyNot stated

"Not confirmed" means we did not find the detail on the page we opened, not that the feature is absent. We read Dialpad's "1-year recording & transcript retrieval" as a retrieval window, not as a storage promise.

What the price pages say

Each figure below is cited to the vendor page that carries it, except RingCentral, whose per-seat prices we did not check in this guide. RingCentral's support FAQ states that automatic call recording is only available on the Advanced and Ultra plans according to RingCentral, so confirm the Advanced per-seat price on RingCentral's plans-and-pricing page, which lists RingEX prices, and get it in writing.

Dialpad's pricing page lists Connect Standard at $15 per user a month, Connect Pro at $25, Sell Essentials at $39, Sell Advanced at $59 and Sell Premium at $79, and it does not label whether those figures bill monthly or annually according to Dialpad.

CallRail's pricing page lists Lead Tracking at $50 a month, Lead Tracking Complete at $95, Lead Conversion at $150 and Lead Conversion Complete at $195, each plus additional usage, with yearly billing saving up to 10% according to CallRail.

Nextiva's pricing page lists NEXT Core at $15 per user a month, NEXT Engage at $25 and NEXT Scale at $75, and it shows its contact center Essential tier from $75 per agent, while Professional and Premium direct buyers to sales according to Nextiva.

Aircall's pricing page lists Essentials at $30 per license a month and Professional at $50, with call recording on both, annual billing saving 25 percent, and a minimum of three licenses according to Aircall.

Zoom's pricing page lists US & CA Unlimited at $16 per user a month billed annually or $18 billed monthly, Pro Plus at $20.50 or $24, and Business Plus at $24.50 or $29 according to Zoom.

AgentTech's insurance solution page lists automated call recording with compliance storage and transcription at $50 per seat, and it names neither a currency nor a billing period according to AgentTech.

Pricing checked October 26, 2026.

VendorPlanListed priceEight-seat yearly mathCall recording on that plan
RingCentralCorePrice not checked in this guide; confirm on RingCentral's plans pageNot calculatedOn-demand only
RingCentralAdvancedPrice not checked in this guide; confirm on RingCentral's plans pageNot calculatedAutomatic
DialpadConnect Pro$25 per user; billing period not labeled$2,400Not named on the page
DialpadSell Essentials$39 per user; billing period not labeled$3,744Listed
CallRailLead Tracking$50 base plus usage$600 base only, excluding usageListed
NextivaNEXT Engage$25 per user; billing period not labeled$2,400Not confirmed
NextivaContact center ProfessionalQuote-basedNot calculatedNot confirmed
AircallProfessional$50 per license; annual billing saves 25%$4,800 at listed monthly rate; $3,600 if the 25% applies to the listed figureListed
ZoomUS & CA Unlimited$16 annual; $18 monthly, per user$1,536 annual; $1,728 monthlyListed in the comparison table
AgentTechCall recording with compliance storage$50 per seat; currency and period not stated$4,800 if $50 is monthlyAutomated, per the page

Each listed price is the figure cited in the paragraphs above. The yearly math is our arithmetic for eight seats, not a vendor figure, and it excludes taxes, usage charges and add-ons. Quote-based means the vendor's page publishes no price, and we did not estimate one.

What eight seats cost, worked through

Take an illustrative eight-person agency, not a customer, that wants automatic recording on every seat. On RingCentral, automatic recording starts at Advanced, so eight seats on Core would leave every call depending on an agent pressing record, and we do not price the Advanced step in this guide, so confirm the Advanced per-seat price on RingCentral's plans page. On Aircall, eight Professional licenses at the listed $50 a month come to $4,800 a year, or $3,600 if the 25% annual saving applies to the listed figure, and the developer reference says call.ended fires when a call finishes, and call.comm_assets_generated covers recording links that can be missing from call.ended, so an archive that files on call.ended alone can file a call before its audio exists.

Vendor profiles: fit, limits and evidence

Each profile separates what the vendor page states from our read. Dialpad's Sell Essentials is listed at $39 per user according to Dialpad, which is the line to compare if you want recording tied to CRM work.

RingCentral

Best fit: an agency that wants one business phone system with automatic recording and will pay for the Advanced tier on each seat that needs it.

What the page states: RingCentral's support FAQ says automatic call recording is only available on the Advanced and Ultra plans, so Core is limited to on-demand recording.

Our read: The decision is the Core-to-Advanced step, not the base price. A cheaper seat that records only when someone remembers is a compliance gap, not a saving.

Limitations: The plan page does not state how long recordings are kept or whether storage has a cap.

Implementation: Ask RingCentral to confirm retention and export in writing, then decide which seats truly need Advanced.

Disqualifier: If every seat must record automatically and the budget cannot cover Advanced on each one, do not buy on the Core tier.

Dialpad

Best fit: an agency that wants recording tied to sales conversations and CRM integrations, and that is comfortable with a sales-focused product line.

What the page states: Sell Essentials describes "AI transcripts, call recording, and CRM integrations to close deals faster" and lists "1-year recording & transcript retrieval." Connect Standard and Connect Pro do not name call recording on the page we read, and Enterprise is quote-based.

Our read: The one-year line describes retrieval, not a ten-year archive. Ask how long audio is kept after that window before you treat Dialpad as an archive.

Limitations: Recording is confirmed on Sell, not on the Connect tiers that fit a general phone-system purchase.

Implementation: Confirm whether your agents need Sell or Connect, because the recording feature follows the product line.

Disqualifier: Buying Connect Pro on the expectation of recording, without written confirmation from the vendor.

CallRail

Best fit: an agency that runs paid search or lead campaigns and needs each inbound call tied to its campaign.

What the page states: Lead Tracking lists "Call recording and routing" and "Call transcription and analysis." The Lead Conversion plans add "Call transcripts."

Our read: CallRail is built around tracking numbers and attribution. It adds a layer on top of the phone system your agents use rather than replacing it.

Limitations: The listed price excludes additional usage, so the base figure is not the full bill.

Implementation: Point tracking numbers at the lines your sales calls use, and check that the recording setting covers each of them.

Disqualifier: If the need is the phone system itself, CallRail is the wrong category.

Nextiva

Best fit: an agency that wants a hosted business phone system and may later add a contact center.

What the page states: NEXT Core, Engage and Scale are listed per user, and the comparison table includes a "Call Recording" row. The check marks for that row did not appear in the text we read, so we could not tell which NEXT tier includes recording.

Our read: This is the vendor where the page cannot settle the question. Get the tier in writing before you compare prices.

Limitations: Some plans show a comparison price beside the listed one, and the billing toggle does not label which figure applies.

Implementation: Ask for the recording tier and retention period in a written quote, along with the price for the billing term you will use.

Disqualifier: No written confirmation of the recording tier means the page alone should not decide the purchase.

Aircall

Best fit: a small team that buys by license, wants recording on its middle tiers, and plans to connect recordings to other systems through webhooks.

What the page states: Essentials and Professional both list call recording. The minimum is three licenses, and the Enterprise tier is for teams of 25 or more licenses.

Our read: Aircall's developer reference is the strongest evidence in this guide for an archive design, because it names the events an integration can listen for.

Limitations: The pricing page does not state retention periods.

Implementation: Subscribe to call.ended to know when a call finishes, then wait for call.comm_assets_generated before filing audio. Give the integration an API key with access to call and recording data, and set the retention tag yourself rather than relying on defaults.

Disqualifier: A team of two is below the three-license minimum the page lists.

Zoom Phone

Best fit: an agency already running Zoom Workplace that wants calling and recording in the same tool.

What the page states: The pricing page lists US & CA Unlimited, Pro Plus and Business Plus. The comparison table marks call recording as included on all three, although the individual plan cards do not mention it.

Our read: The recording entry sits in the comparison table, not on each card, so confirm it on the exact plan before you rely on it.

Limitations: The page we read gives no retention period or storage limit for recordings.

Implementation: Get the storage limit and retention period in writing, then check whether they fit the retention rule that applies to your agency.

Disqualifier: If you need a stated retention period and the vendor cannot provide one, Zoom is not a fit for a compliance archive.

AgentTech

Best fit: an agency that wants an insurance-specific recorder with compliance storage and transcription, and can accept a per-seat price.

What the page states: The solution page describes automated call recording, search, transcription and "compliance storage," priced at $50 per seat. The text we read does not state a retention period or CRM integration.

Our read: The insurance focus is the reason to shortlist it. The missing retention period is the reason to ask for a written specification before you buy.

Limitations: We read a solution page, not a full product specification, so some features may sit in a document we did not open.

Implementation: Request the retention period, the export format, and the currency and billing term behind the $50 figure in writing.

Disqualifier: Without a written retention specification, do not sign on the solution page alone.

Recording rules define what the software must do, so check them before comparing features. Florida's statute allows interception of a communication only when all of the parties to the communication have given prior consent according to Florida Legislature. Other states use a one-party rule, so the rule for a given call depends on where each party is. A multi-state agency should default to the strictest state involved, and the simplest safe practice is a disclosure at the start of every recorded call.

Medicare is the second rule. Medicare sales call retention: 10 years according to IA Magazine (2022). The article reported that sales calls with Medicare beneficiaries must be recorded "in their entirety" and kept in a HIPAA-compliant audio recording system, with the requirement taking effect October 1, 2022. We did not open the CMS text itself, so confirm the current federal requirement before you set retention.

Where a configured workflow fills the gap

A proposed design from US Tech Automations would start when a call ends in the phone platform, using the vendor's event rather than a manual export. On Aircall, that trigger is the call.ended event, and the workflow would wait for the recording link from call.comm_assets_generated before fetching the audio. The action would tag each file with the agent, the line, and a call type the agency enters, such as sales, service or enrollment, then write it to the CRM record with a retention tag. The output is a filed record plus an item in a review queue. The prerequisites are webhook or API access on the plan you buy, export rights for audio files, CRM API credentials, and storage that can hold the retention period you set.

The human review points are specific. A compliance owner approves any call tagged as a sales or enrollment call before the record closes, and a call with a blank consent-disclosure field goes to that owner rather than filing silently. The workflow cannot tell whether a disclosure was spoken, so the agent's disposition code has to carry that answer. The compliance owner also signs off on retention settings, because the 10-year figure applies only if your agency sells Medicare products. US Tech Automations would configure these steps as proposals for your review, not as a deployed system.

Stitching this together in Zapier, Make or n8n is a real alternative, and often where the reader starts. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and produce an audit trail when they are configured that way. The buyer still designs and owns the rest: idempotency so a retried webhook does not file the same call twice, escalation when a step fails, access controls on the audio, and maintenance when a vendor changes its API. A proposed US Tech Automations design would specify those pieces up front, but your team still has to confirm access controls and own the review queue after go-live.

US Tech Automations is the wrong choice in three cases. Skip a custom workflow if your phone plan already records every call automatically and you only need search and export, because RingCentral's Advanced tier or Aircall's Professional plan may cover that without a build. Skip it if the only goal is ad attribution, where CallRail's own tracking reports are the simpler tool. Skip it too if nobody at the agency will own the review queue, because a workflow without a human reviewer moves the compliance risk rather than reducing it.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small insurance agency who has narrowed the list and needs a decision rule. It fits agencies that take sales, service or enrollment calls by phone and need the audio findable later. It does not fit a firm that only needs a voicemail greeting.

Red flags: no one has been named to own the review queue; the vendor will not confirm retention in writing; the team expects automatic recording on a tier the vendor describes only as on-demand.

Decision checklist before you sign

  • Name the exact plan and seat count, and get the recording tier confirmed in writing.

  • Ask for the retention period in years, and whether recordings can be locked against deletion.

  • Confirm whether recordings can be searched and exported by agent, date and phone number.

  • Confirm the billing term behind each listed price, and any usage charges on top of it.

  • Name one owner for consent disclosures and one for the review queue.

  • Check that the API or webhooks you need are included on your plan, not just offered elsewhere in the product line.

Questions buyers ask before signing

Is call recording included in a basic business phone plan?

Not always. RingCentral's Core tier offers only on-demand recording, and Nextiva's recording tier could not be confirmed on the page we read, so check the tier before you assume.

Do we need automatic recording, or is on-demand enough?

For sales, service and enrollment calls, automatic recording is the safer choice, because on-demand recording depends on an agent pressing record on every call. On-demand is reasonable only for calls your policy already designates, such as a training line.

How long must Medicare sales calls be kept?

The 2022 trade coverage we found says 10 years in a HIPAA-compliant audio system, and you should confirm the current CMS text before you rely on it. This applies only if your agency sells Medicare products.

Do callers have to be told that a call is recorded?

In states that require every party's consent, yes. Florida is one example, so the safe default for any agency is a disclosure at the start of each recorded call, with a check that agents actually say it.

Is call tracking the same as call recording?

No. Call tracking attributes a call to an ad or number, while call recording stores the audio. CallRail's Lead Tracking plan lists both "Call recording and routing" and call tracking features, so it covers both jobs.

Next step

Choose the lowest-priced plan that records automatically and keeps audio for your retention period, and get both confirmed in writing before you sign. If you want to see how a review queue, consent check and retention tag would be configured around the phone platform you pick, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.