Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best CRM for Medical Device Sales Reps: 3 Steps for 2027

Nov 5, 2026

Decide the category before you compare brands

A CRM for medical device sales reps is the system where reps record hospital accounts, visit notes, procedure history and consigned or loaned stock, and where managers read the pipeline built from those records. For most small device teams, the first decision is the category rather than the brand. One category is a life-sciences platform built around regulated field workflows, which here means Veeva's Vault CRM and the Life Sciences Cloud from Salesforce. The other is a general CRM you configure yourself, which here means Microsoft's Dynamics 365 Sales, HubSpot's Sales Hub, and Zoho CRM. The category sets your data model, your cost per seat, and how much configuration work your team owns after launch.

TL;DR: If your reps log consigned stock, procedure cases and hospital visits from the field, shortlist Veeva and the Life Sciences Cloud from Salesforce, then get written quotes. If you want a general CRM with published seat prices and, as our read, a lighter setup, shortlist Sales Hub and Dynamics 365 Sales, and confirm offline logging in writing before you sign.

Key Takeaways

  • Choose the category first: a life-sciences platform fits device-specific field workflows, while a general CRM fits a team that will configure its own objects.

  • Offline visit logging is the requirement to verify first. Of the vendor pages we opened, only the Salesforce medtech material describes it.

  • Dynamics 365 Sales places its mobile task management in the Premium edition, so the cheaper Microsoft editions may not cover a rep's phone workflow.

  • Veeva publishes no price, so ask for a written list of modules and seats before you compare totals.

  • Seat price is not total cost: the per-organization charges on the Life Sciences Cloud pricing page can exceed the seat line.

  • Treat every blank in the feature matrix as an open question to put to the vendor in writing.

How we evaluated these tools

We weighted six criteria, because a device team's buying decision turns on field access and device data more than on generic pipeline features. We opened each vendor's own pricing page and, where available, its feature page, during research on October 30, 2026. We added two independent sources: a CMS release on Open Payments data and a trade-press report on a medtech sales survey. We left out vendors whose official pricing pages we could not open during research, so their figures do not appear here. Paragraphs labeled "Vendor facts" repeat what a vendor publishes; paragraphs labeled "Our read" are our analysis and make no vendor claim.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries this weight for a device team
Field access: mobile and offline visit logging25%Reps log visits in hospitals where a connection cannot be assumed; test with 1 rep's phone
Device-specific data: accounts, procedures, consigned stock20%Generic deal stages do not capture loaner, implant or case history
Price visibility at your seat count15%A list price per seat lets you compare; a quote-only price needs written line items
Integration and export: API, webhooks, CSV15%Any automation or audit trail depends on data you can extract reliably
Compliance support: BAA availability and audit trail15%Physician-facing records and any patient identifiers need controls
Implementation and admin load10%Small teams often have one person who owns the CRM

The weights are our judgment, not a vendor score. If your reps never leave the office, move 10 points from field access to price visibility. Compliance keeps its 15% because physician-facing activity is publicly reported at scale. CMS reported $13.18 billion for Program Year 2024 according to CMS (2025), covering 651,977 physicians, 338,340 non-physician practitioners and 1,288 teaching hospitals. Any CRM field that stores those interactions needs a named owner and an audit trail.

Feature matrix for field reps

The table below records only what each vendor's page says. "Not stated" means the page we opened is silent, which is different from saying the product lacks the feature.

VendorProductOffline access on the vendor pageDevice or field workflows namedMobile features named
VeevaVault CRM for MedTechNot statedMedical Suite and PromoMats named; no inventory or case workflow describedNot stated
SalesforceLife Sciences CloudYes: guidance and visit documentation work online or offlineAccount and territory views, consignment inventory, case and procedure trackingMobile location with customer and procedure history
MicrosoftDynamics 365 SalesNot statedNo healthcare or life sciences capability namedUnified mobile task management, Premium edition only
HubSpotSales HubNot statedNo device-specific workflow namedPre-meeting account summary and post-call email drafts
ZohoCRMNot verified; vendor page blocked during researchNot verifiedNot verified

The clearest difference is in the offline column. Salesforce's medtech page is the only one of these pages that says visit documentation and follow-ups can be completed without a connection. The Veeva page we opened lists Vault CRM Suite, PromoMats and Medical Suite as parts of Veeva Commercial Cloud and says nothing about mobile or offline use, so ask Veeva for a demonstration on a rep's phone with the network off. HubSpot's mobile page is specific about field use, with a pre-meeting account summary from Breeze Assistant and drafted follow-up emails, but it does not state offline access or healthcare features. Zoho's mobile page could not be opened during research, so its field features stay unverified in this guide.

What each option costs

Pricing checked October 30, 2026. The figures below are list prices read from each vendor's pricing page on that date. Veeva publishes none, so its row reads quote-based.

Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise: $105 per user monthly according to Microsoft (2026). The Professional edition lists at $65 and Premium at $150, both paid yearly, and the page places its mobile task experience only under Premium.

The Starter tier of Sales Hub lists $7 and $20 per seat per month, Professional lists $90 and $100, Enterprise lists $150, and one-time onboarding fees are $1,500 for Professional and $3,500 for Enterprise, according to HubSpot (2026). The page does not clearly pair the two Starter and Professional figures with monthly or annual billing, so we show both.

The Core, Advanced, and Max editions of Sales Cloud cost $195, $395, and $550 per user per month, billed annually, according to Salesforce (2026). That page is labeled for information only and asks buyers to contact a sales representative.

On the Life Sciences Cloud pricing page, the Core, Advanced, Service Max, Sales Max, and Sales & Service Max editions cost $350, $525, $700, $700, and $725 per user per month, billed annually; Rebate Management is a separate charge of $20,000 USD per organization per month, according to Salesforce (2026).

The pricing page for Zoho lists a free edition for 3 users and a Plus edition that starts at $20 per user per month, according to Zoho (2026), and it does not tie that figure to a billing basis.

Veeva's commercial CRM page publishes no price and sends buyers to a sales contact, so the Vault CRM row is quote-based. Ask for the cost line by module and seat, because that page bundles several applications under Veeva Commercial Cloud.

Table 3 uses only the figures cited above. The eight-user column multiplies seats by the listed price by 12 months, before discounts, taxes and add-ons. The team of eight is an illustration, not a customer.

VendorPlanList price per user per monthEight-user list cost per yearExtra charges on the page
VeevaVault CRM for MedTechQuote-basedNot calculableNone published
SalesforceSales Cloud Advanced$395, billed annually$37,920Contact sales for details
SalesforceLife Sciences Cloud Core$350, billed annually$33,600Rebate Management at $20,000 USD per org per month
MicrosoftDynamics 365 Sales Enterprise$105, paid yearly$10,080Mobile task management needs Premium
MicrosoftDynamics 365 Sales Premium$150, paid yearly$14,400Mobile task management included
HubSpotSales Hub Professional$90 to $100 per seat$8,640 to $9,600One-time onboarding $1,500
HubSpotSales Hub Enterprise$150 per seat$14,400One-time onboarding $3,500
ZohoPlus editionStarts at $20, billing basis not statedFrom $1,920None listed on the page

Take a hypothetical team of 8 reps that wants every visit logged the same day. On the Professional tier of Sales Hub, the seats cost 8 × $90 = $720 per month, or $8,640 a year, and the $1,500 onboarding fee brings the first year to $10,140 at the lower price. On Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise, the same 8 seats cost 8 × $105 = $840 a month, or $10,080 a year, but mobile task management requires Premium, where 8 × $150 × 12 comes to $14,400. If the team also wants a proposed workflow to react when a rep links a new contact to a hospital account, HubSpot's webhook documentation names the ASSOCIATION_ADDED action as a subscription type, so that trigger starts from a documented event rather than a nightly export.

Vendor profiles, read against the evidence

Vault CRM (Veeva)

Vendor facts: Veeva's commercial CRM page places Vault CRM Suite inside Veeva Commercial Cloud, next to PromoMats for commercial content and Medical Suite for medical affairs, and says the suite unifies commercial teams and processes. The page does not mention offline or mobile access, does not state a customer count, and publishes no price.

Our read: The best fit is a device company that needs sales and medical affairs in one regulated system and expects to buy by module. The limitations are that the page bundles several applications, so a small team may pay for modules it does not use, and that offline behavior is unconfirmed for hospital visits. Implementation starts with a scoping exercise. Ask which module handles consigned or loaner stock, and ask for the implementation plan in writing before you request a quote.

Evidence: Veeva's commercial CRM page.

Life Sciences Cloud (Salesforce)

Vendor facts: Salesforce's medtech page describes a "360° view of each account, territory, and asset," stock visibility across consignment, purchased and vehicle inventory with real-time updates, and case and procedure tracking. It says contextual guidance works "online or offline," and that visit documentation and follow-ups can be completed without a connection. The page lists no standard prices; those sit on the separate pricing page cited above.

Our read: The best fit is a device team that needs inventory, case and procedure records in the same system as accounts, and that can justify an enterprise-grade platform. The limitation is cost outside the seat line: the Rebate Management charge can outweigh the seats for a small team. If you do not need the life-sciences layer, the Sales Cloud editions are the lower-cost Salesforce route. Implementation needs a Salesforce admin and a scoping project, so get the effort estimated, whether it comes from outside firms or your own staff, before you sign.

Evidence: Salesforce's medtech page.

Dynamics 365 Sales (Microsoft)

Vendor facts: Microsoft's page lists the Professional edition as core sales force automation with Microsoft 365 integration, and it marks the unified mobile experience for managing opportunities as available only in Premium. The page names no healthcare or life sciences capability and does not mention offline access. It also lists Relationship Sales as "Variable" with a 10-seat minimum and directs buyers to a sales specialist for pricing.

Our read: The best fit is a team already on Microsoft 365 that will configure its own entities and wants email and calendar integration. The limitations are that the field mobile experience needs Premium, offline use is unverified, and no device-specific data model is described, so consigned stock and procedure history need design work. Implementation depends on admin capacity. The page we opened does not estimate setup effort, so ask for a configuration estimate.

Evidence: Dynamics 365 Sales pricing and the Dynamics 365 Sales product page.

Sales Hub (HubSpot)

Vendor facts: HubSpot's pricing page lists a free edition for up to 2 users, caps pipelines at 15, 100 and 350 across its tiers, and caps workflows at 50, 300 and 1,000. Its mobile page describes an account summary from Breeze Assistant before a meeting and drafted follow-up emails after a call. It states nothing about offline access or healthcare.

Our read: The best fit is a small team that wants published seat prices and a short setup, and that will model consigned stock outside the standard sales objects. The limitations are pipeline caps on the lower tiers, no device-specific workflow on the pages we opened, and unverified offline behavior. Implementation is quick on the sales side, but the device data model is yours to build, and the one-time onboarding fees apply to the Professional and Enterprise tiers.

Evidence: HubSpot pricing and HubSpot mobile.

CRM (Zoho)

Vendor facts: Zoho's pricing page lists a free edition for 3 users and a Plus edition with a published starting price. The page has a monthly and annual toggle, but it does not tie the figures to a billing basis.

Our read: The best fit is a team of 3 users or fewer that wants to test before paying. The limitations are that the free edition caps at 3 users, and we could not verify Zoho's offline, field or healthcare features from vendor pages during research. Treat Zoho as a cost option to test, not a verified device fit. Before loading patient identifiers, confirm HIPAA and business associate terms with Zoho in writing, because this guide does not verify them.

Evidence: Zoho pricing.

Who should choose which product

Who this is for: Choose Vault CRM or the Life Sciences Cloud if your reps need consigned stock, case and procedure records and regulated content in one system, and your budget can absorb a quote. Choose Dynamics 365 Sales if you already run Microsoft 365, will pay for Premium for mobile tasks, and have an admin who can configure device objects. Choose Sales Hub if you want published seat prices and a short setup, and you can tolerate custom work for device data. Choose Zoho if you have 3 users or fewer and want to test before paying.

Red flags: you cannot get written confirmation of offline visit logging, reps will load patient identifiers before a business associate agreement is signed, or you expect the CRM alone to replace your inventory system.

Decision checklist:

  • List the five records your reps must create: account, visit, procedure, consigned item and contact.

  • Ask each vendor, in writing, whether those records can be created and edited offline on a phone.

  • Collect the seat price, module list and any per-organization charges in one document.

  • Confirm whether the vendor will sign a business associate agreement before any patient identifier reaches the system.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a simpler existing tool wins in three cases. If your team has only a few reps and no consigned stock, the CRM's own task and reminder features may cover the work. If you have not chosen a CRM yet, a workflow has nothing stable to connect to, so pick the CRM first. If the real problem is that reps skip logging, an automation will not fix the habit, and a manager's weekly review of open visits will do more.

Where visit data goes wrong

Most device teams lose time at the moment a visit becomes a record. A rep leaves a hospital, types notes on a phone, and the consignment change or case detail never reaches the account owner. A trade-press report on a 2026 survey puts a figure on what better field tools may be worth: AcuityMD survey: AI-using reps 3x more likely to meet quota according to MedTech Spectrum (2026). That survey covered 150 reps across capital equipment, durable medical equipment and surgical sales. It measures correlation, it does not mention CRM, and AcuityMD sells AI tools to medtech, so treat the result as directional.

A proposed design from US Tech Automations would start when a rep saves a visit record that includes a consignment or loaner note. The trigger is that record update, the action matches the hospital account and item number against a stock export and flags any mismatch, and the output is a follow-up task for the rep plus a row in an audit log with the time, rep and account. Prerequisites are API access or a scheduled CSV export from the CRM, an agreed item-number list, and a sandbox copy for testing before any live stock record changes. Human review points are a named person who clears every mismatch before stock records change, and a compliance check on any note that mentions pricing, rebates or physician payments.

A second proposed design covers duplicate hospital accounts. The trigger is a new account created by a rep, the action compares its name and address with existing records, and the output is a candidate-match queue rather than a merge. The prerequisite is read access to account records. The review point is that a named owner approves every merge, and the workflow never applies one on its own.

The realistic alternative is stitching these steps together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building them in-house. Configured well, those tools keep run histories, support retries and error branches, and can produce audit evidence. The buyer still designs and owns idempotency so a retried run does not create a duplicate task, the escalation path, access controls on the stock export, and maintenance when a field name changes. What a proposed US Tech Automations design could configure differently is the review step itself: a named queue for mismatches, a documented escalation to the operations lead, and a weekly review of the run log. Those are prerequisites to agree on before build, not features a team gets by default.

Three steps for 2027

  1. Map the records. List the objects your reps must create, the fields in each, and the person who owns each field. Include consigned stock and procedure history if your team uses them.

  2. Test offline on a real phone. Ask each vendor to log a visit with the network off, then confirm the answer in writing. Veeva, Dynamics 365 Sales, Sales Hub and Zoho need this check most, because their pages we opened do not state offline logging.

  3. Price the total. Multiply seats by the list price by 12, then add onboarding, modules and per-organization charges. Use Table 3 as the starting point and request written quotes wherever a figure is missing.

Questions buyers ask

Is Veeva the only real choice for a medical device team?

No. Veeva Vault CRM is one option, the Life Sciences Cloud from Salesforce is another, and a general CRM can work if you accept more configuration work on your side.

Do I need a business associate agreement with the CRM vendor?

Yes, if reps will store protected health information in the system, so ask each vendor to sign one before any patient identifier is loaded.

Can Sales Hub handle medical device sales?

Sales Hub can run the sales pipeline and rep activity, but the pages we opened name no device-specific workflow, so consigned stock and procedure history need a design you build and maintain.

Why does Dynamics 365 Sales need Premium for mobile tasks?

Microsoft's page places its unified mobile experience for managing opportunities under the Premium edition, so a team that needs that feature should price Premium rather than Enterprise.

What will eight reps cost on these products?

Multiply eight seats by the listed per-user price and by 12 months, then add onboarding and extras; on Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise the list cost is $10,080 a year before extras, as Table 3 shows.

Should we build this in Zapier, Make, or n8n instead?

Build it there if someone on your team can own run monitoring, retry logic, access controls and maintenance after launch. If nobody can, buy a configured build and make sure the handover covers those four items.

Put the shortlist in writing

Start with the category: a life-sciences platform for regulated device workflows, or a general CRM you configure yourself. Keep the shortlist to two products, and get written answers on offline visit logging, business associate agreements and total cost before you sign. If you want to see how the review queue and audit log described above would be specified for your own stock and account data, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.