Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Best Customer Support Software for Freight Brokers 2027

Oct 30, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Choose the category first: a shared-inbox helpdesk for an email-heavy desk, or a suite tier when phone and multi-step automation are central.

  • Published entry prices sit close together, but the tier that adds phone, API access, or automation can cost several times the entry price.

  • Six vendors publish enough per-seat pricing to build a four-agent, twelve-month cost model, and the gaps are marked in the cost table.

  • Several pricing pages do not label whether a seat price is monthly or annual, so confirm the billing term in writing before you compare totals.

  • Zapier or n8n can run much of the same logic, but the buyer owns error handling, access control, escalation, and maintenance.

  • For a small brokerage, red flags matter more than feature lists: phone-first volume, no owner for integrations, and load data kept only in spreadsheets.

Pick the category before the vendor

Customer support software for freight brokers is a helpdesk that receives carrier and shipper messages, assigns each one to an owner, tracks its status, and connects to the systems that hold load data.

Choosing a tool before choosing a category is the most common way to overbuy. If your team answers mostly email from carriers and shippers, the question is whether several people need to see and reply from one queue. If your desk takes most of its volume by phone, the question is whether telephony and call routing justify a suite tier. Settle that first, and the list of six vendors narrows quickly.

TL;DR: For an email-first brokerage, start with a shared-inbox helpdesk and price the automation and API limits you will need. For a phone-heavy desk, price a suite tier before comparing seat prices. If your team already runs HubSpot's CRM, compare Service Hub on total cost. A no-code build works only if one named person will own it.

The category is broad. Adjacent category: 77,718 US businesses in 2026 according to IBISWorld (2026). That count covers freight forwarding and customs brokers, which is wider than property brokers, so read it as context rather than a market size for this product.

How we evaluated these tools

This is a buyer's guide built from public pricing pages, product documentation, and independent sources. We did not run these products ourselves, so every feature claim below is either published by the vendor or flagged as unclear. The weights reflect what should move a small brokerage's decision most. They are a judgment, and you can change them to match your own team.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries that weight
Email and shared-inbox fit for carrier and shipper threads25%Most support volume arrives by email, and a shared queue stops two people from answering the same load question
Published pricing clarity and four-agent cost20%Pricing pages mix billing terms, add-ons, and quote-only tiers, so a comparable total matters more than a headline price
API and integration access, as published20%Load status usually lives in a TMS, and a helpdesk without a documented API forces manual copying
Automation and AI usage limits15%Action, task, and outcome meters decide whether automation stays affordable as volume grows
Setup and maintenance burden10%A tool one person can run beats a deeper tool nobody maintains
Phone and calling fit10%Telephony matters only for teams that take a meaningful share of carrier calls

Vendor-reported figures are labeled as vendor-reported. Independent sources are used for market context and for the one freight-specific product development below, not for ranking.

What the published prices say

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. The figures below are the ones printed on each vendor's pricing page on that date, with the billing term noted only where the page shows one. Where a vendor does not publish a price, the table says Quote-based.

Entry price: $19 per agent per month, billed annually according to Zendesk (2026), with Suite Team at $55 billed annually or $69 billed monthly, Suite Professional at $115 or $149, and the Copilot and Contact Center add-ons at $50 and $83 per agent per month, paid yearly. Suite Enterprise has no published price and routes buyers to sales.

Freshdesk's Growth plan costs $19 per agent per month billed annually, its Pro plan $55, and its Enterprise plan $89, its connector app tasks cost $80 per 5,000 tasks, and its Growth plan includes 1,200 MCP actions per year, according to Freshworks (2026). The page shows no monthly-billed figures for these tiers, and its meta description quotes a starting figure that matches none of the plan cards.

Front's Starter plan costs $25 per seat per month billed annually, its Professional plan $65, and its Enterprise plan $105, and its API rate-limit increase is a $200 add-on per 100 requests per minute per month, available on all plans, according to Front (2026).

Help Scout's Standard plan costs $25 per user per month, its Plus plan $45, and its Pro plan $75, with extra inboxes at $10 per month billed annually or $12 billed monthly, and its API limits read 200, 400, and 800 calls per minute without a plan mapping, according to Help Scout (2026). The page does not say whether the plan figures assume monthly or annual billing.

Intercom's Essential plan is listed at $19 per seat per month beside a struck-through $29, its Advanced plan at $85, and its Expert plan at $132, its Fin AI agent starts at $0.99 per Fin outcome, its Pro add-on starts at $100 per month, and its Copilot add-on is $29 per agent per month, according to Intercom (2026). Enterprise terms are quote-based on that page.

HubSpot's Starter tier lists $7 and $20 per seat per month, Professional lists $90 and $100, and Enterprise lists $150, with one-time onboarding of $1,500 for Professional and $3,500 for Enterprise, and each credit beyond the included 500, 3,000, or 5,000 by tier costs $0.010, according to HubSpot (2026). The page does not label which of the paired seat figures is monthly and which is annual, so treat those rows as ranges.

The table below converts the per-seat figures into a four-agent, twelve-month cost. It excludes add-ons, usage fees, onboarding, and taxes.

VendorPlanPer seat, annual billingPer seat, monthly billingFour agents, 12 months (annual billing)
ZendeskSupport Team$19$25$912
ZendeskSuite Team$55$69$2,640
ZendeskSuite Professional$115$149$5,520
ZendeskSuite EnterpriseQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
FreshdeskGrowth$19Not shown$912
FreshdeskPro$55Not shown$2,640
FreshdeskEnterprise$89Not shown$4,272
FrontStarter$25Not shown$1,200
FrontProfessional$65Not shown$3,120
FrontEnterprise$105Not shown$5,040
Help ScoutStandard$25Not labeled$1,200
Help ScoutPlus$45Not labeled$2,160
Help ScoutPro$75Not labeled$3,600
IntercomEssential$19Not labeled$912
IntercomAdvanced$85Not labeled$4,080
IntercomExpert$132Not labeled$6,336
IntercomEnterpriseQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
HubSpotStarter$7 or $20Not labeled$336 to $960
HubSpotProfessional$90 or $100Not labeled$4,320 to $4,800
HubSpotEnterprise$150Not labeled$7,200

What the volume math looks like for four agents

Consider an illustrative four-person desk that receives 900 carrier and shipper emails a month, with each taking 7 minutes of agent time to read, route, and answer. That is 6,300 minutes, or 105 hours, which works out to about 26 hours of email per agent each month before any phone work. If a routing rule sorts those tickets by sender type, it would read fields such as requester_id, which the Zendesk ticket API reference exposes on every ticket, and custom_status_id to keep a custom status such as waiting on carrier visible in the queue. The question for the buyer is whether 26 hours per agent is a load the desk can absorb, and whether the routing rule works on a sample of real mail before any tier is bought.

Automation and API limits, side by side

Automation and API limits are where the headline price stops predicting the bill. Each vendor meters a different unit, so compare the unit before you compare the tier.

Action Builder: 40K actions per month on Support Team according to Zendesk (2026), rising to 100K on Suite Professional, with extra action credits at $200 per 100K actions per subscription term.

VendorMetered unitPublished allotment or priceTier scope on the page
ZendeskAction Builder actions40K per month; 100K per monthSupport and Suite Team; Suite Professional
FreshdeskConnector app tasks$80 per 5,000 tasksAll plans
FreshdeskMCP actions1,200 per yearGrowth
FrontAPI requests per minute$200 add-on per 100 requests per minute per monthAll plans
Help ScoutAPI calls per minute200, 400, and 800Not mapped to plans
IntercomFin outcomesFrom $0.99 eachUsage on paid seats or standalone
HubSpotHubSpot Credits500, 3,000, and 5,000 included; $0.010 per extraStarter, Professional, Enterprise (inferred from column order)

The freight-specific version of this problem is already being productized. DAT One announced a certified integration with Parade's CoDriver on July 10, 2025, covering phone and email, and it is aimed at answering and vetting carrier contact for brokers. The coverage does not say how much human oversight remains. Parade's own claim of a 90% improvement in carrier response times is unverified, as reported according to Air Freight News (2025).

Feature matrix

The matrix records what each pricing page states. "Not stated" means the page we read did not say, not that the feature is absent. Every figure in it appears in a cited sentence in the sections above.

FeatureZendeskFreshdeskFrontHelp ScoutIntercomHubSpot Service Hub
Entry seat price, annual billing$19$19$25$25 (billing not labeled)$19$7 or $20
Email ticketing in base tierYes, all plansNot statedYes, StarterYes, shared inboxNot statedNot stated
Phone or callingSuite Team and aboveNot statedNot statedAircall add-onNot statedCalling minutes by tier
Published API access or limitsYes, all plansNot describedRate-limit add-on200, 400, 800 calls per minuteNot describedCustom Channels API row
Automation meteringAction Builder, 40K per monthConnector tasks, $80 per 5,000Not describedEnvoy add-on, per resolutionFin, from $0.99 per outcomeCredits, 500 to 5,000 included
Enterprise tierQuote-based (Suite Enterprise)$89 per agent, annual$105 per seat, annualNot offered on pageQuote-based$150 per seat
Named integrationsMarketplace apps (count not consistent on page)Not statedNot statedSalesforce, Jira, HubSpot on PlusNot statedJira, Aircall, LinkedIn, Microsoft Teams

Six vendor profiles

Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our reading of it. Evidence links point to the pages used.

Zendesk

Best fit: a brokerage that wants one vendor for email, voice, and a workflow builder, and is willing to move up to the Suite tiers for calling. The pricing page places telephony, voicemail, call recording, and group routing in Suite Team and above, while the Support Team tier lists no voice features.

Limits: Add-ons such as Copilot and Contact Center are priced per agent, so the total rises quickly once they are included. Suite Enterprise has no published price.

Setup: Action Builder runs multi-step workflows across systems, but its actions are metered and extra credits are a paid add-on. Plan routing rules around the metered actions before choosing a tier.

Evidence: Zendesk pricing and the Zendesk ticket API reference.

Freshdesk

Best fit: a small team that wants a per-agent entry point and a clear ladder from Growth to Enterprise. Its entry price matches Zendesk's Support Team on the published annual figures.

Limits: The pricing page does not describe API access by tier. SLA policies appear only on Pro and Enterprise, and custom object analysis is listed for Enterprise only.

Setup: Connector app tasks and MCP actions are metered separately from seats, so count the automations you need before picking a tier.

Evidence: Freshdesk pricing.

Front

Best fit: a small team that shares one or several inboxes and wants assignment, tags, and internal comments in one place. The Starter tier lists shared inbox and ticketing.

Limits: Professional caps workspaces, and the page lists shared-inbox capabilities without saying which tier includes each one, so ask for that mapping in writing.

Setup: The page treats API access as a rate-limit add-on rather than a tier feature, so estimate your request volume before assuming the base tier is enough.

Evidence: Front pricing.

Help Scout

Best fit: a small team that wants a shared inbox and a documentation site with little admin work. The Free plan covers one inbox and one docs site, which is enough to test the workflow on sample mail before paying.

Limits: Extra inboxes are a paid add-on, and the integration list on Plus names Salesforce, Jira, and HubSpot. Aircall appears on the page as an add-on, not as a built-in calling tier.

Setup: The page lists API limits in calls per minute but does not map them to plans, so ask which limit applies to your tier before you build against it.

Evidence: Help Scout pricing.

Intercom

Best fit: a team that wants an AI agent to answer first and a messenger for web chat, and expects to grow into automated resolution.

Limits: The bill has several layers: seats, Fin outcomes, and add-ons such as Pro and Copilot. Enterprise is quote-based, and the page does not say whether the Essential seat price assumes monthly or annual billing.

Setup: Fin is also sold on its own for teams with an existing helpdesk, with a minimum monthly commitment. A brokerage that keeps its current helpdesk could test that route before replacing anything.

Evidence: Intercom pricing.

HubSpot Service Hub

Best fit: a brokerage that already keeps contacts and deals in HubSpot's CRM and wants tickets next to those records.

Limits: The page does not label monthly or annual billing for its seat prices, onboarding is a one-time fee on top, and calling minutes and credits vary by tier.

Setup: The page names Jira, Aircall, LinkedIn, and Microsoft Teams among its integrations, and it lists a Custom Channels API row without showing which tier includes it.

Evidence: HubSpot pricing.

Building it yourself in Zapier or n8n

Zapier and n8n are the usual alternatives when a broker wants to avoid a helpdesk license. The Pro plan on Zapier costs $19.99 per month billed annually for 750 tasks, or $29.99 billed monthly, and the Team plan starts at 2,000 tasks for $69 billed annually, with a six-month audit log on Team, according to Zapier (2026).

n8n's pricing page lists error workflows on its Starter and Pro tiers, leaves audit logging out of both, and places SSO on Business. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when you configure them. What the buyer still designs and owns is observability, idempotency so a retried event does not open a duplicate ticket, escalation paths, access controls on load data, and the upkeep when a TMS changes a field name. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same categories of retry, error, and escalation settings, but the broker still supplies the credentials, the data-sharing approval, and the review rules.

Where a proposed workflow fits

A proposed, configurable design from US Tech Automations would begin with a trigger: a new message in a shared carrier inbox, or a web-form submission, that contains a load or MC number. The first action would match that number against the load record and the carrier's vetting data. That requires read access to the TMS through an API or a scheduled export, plus a helpdesk login with permission to create tickets. The output would be a ticket with the load, carrier, and status fields filled in and a draft reply waiting for approval. A dispatcher reviews and sends every outbound reply, and any message that mentions rate, payment, detention, or damage skips the draft and goes straight to an operations lead.

A second proposed design covers shipper questions about where a load is. The trigger is an inbound message with a load reference. The action pulls the most recent status event from the TMS, and the output is a templated status update that a person checks before sending. The prerequisites are a status field with timestamps in the export, a named owner for exceptions such as late pickups, and a log of every automated action so the team can audit what went out. Nothing here describes a live deployment or a measured result. Before either design runs, the broker would need to confirm each data source, its permission scope, and the review rules, because a status answer is only as reliable as the record behind it.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

A simpler tool wins in three situations. If two people handle all carrier and shipper email, a shared-inbox tier such as Help Scout's Standard plan or Front's Starter plan asks for far less setup than any configured workflow. If your TMS already sends and tracks carrier messages and you rarely hear from shippers, a separate layer adds a system to maintain for little gain. If nobody on staff can own API credentials, permissions, and review rules, a plain helpdesk with saved replies will serve you better than an integration nobody can fix.

Who this is for

Who this is for: an owner or operations lead at a small brokerage who handles most carrier and shipper contact by email and can name one person to own the tool. The fit is strongest when that person can read a status field and request API access.

Red flags: most of your volume arrives by phone with no email trail; nobody on staff can request API credentials or approve a data export; load records live only in spreadsheets.

Decision checklist

  • Count carrier and shipper messages per week by channel: email, phone, and web form.

  • Get the billing term for each seat price in writing before comparing totals.

  • List every metered unit you need, including automation actions, API calls, connector tasks, and calling minutes.

  • Ask each vendor for API limits by plan, not only the headline rate.

  • Name the person who owns the integration and the access rules for load data.

  • Test one routing rule on a week of sample mail before buying the tier.

Glossary

  • TMS (transportation management system): the system that holds load, carrier, and rate records.

  • Shared inbox: one email queue that several people can see, assign, and reply from.

  • Check call: a status call or message asking a carrier where a load is.

  • Metered action: a unit a vendor counts toward a monthly allotment, such as a Zendesk action or a Freshdesk connector task.

  • Fin outcome: the unit Intercom bills for each resolution its Fin agent handles.

  • Webhook: an automatic message a system sends when an event occurs, such as a new ticket.

  • API rate limit: a cap on requests per minute that limits how fast an integration can read or write.

  • Idempotency: a design rule that stops a retried event from creating a duplicate ticket.

Frequently asked questions

Which helpdesk has the lowest published entry price?

Freshdesk's Growth plan and Zendesk's Support Team tie for the lowest clearly billed entry price in this group, while HubSpot's Starter tier lists a lower seat figure whose billing term the page does not label.

Do we need a suite tier if carrier calls matter?

Yes, if calls are a core channel, because Zendesk's pricing page places telephony in its Suite tiers rather than in the Support Team tier.

Is a shared inbox enough for freight broker support?

A shared inbox handles the email queue well, but it does not hold load status by itself, so you still need a TMS export or an API connection to answer status questions.

Should we build this in Zapier or n8n instead?

Build it yourself only if one named person will own the flows, their error handling, and their access controls, because those tools can run the logic but cannot decide who owns it.

Do the listed prices include add-ons, onboarding, or usage fees?

No, the cost table excludes add-ons, usage fees, onboarding fees, and taxes, so compare the metered units in the automation table before you sign.

Bottom line

Choose the category first, price the tier that covers your real channels, and then check the automation and API meters that will set the bill. All six products publish enough to build a first-pass cost model, and the gaps are the questions to put to each vendor. If you want to see how the proposed workflows above would be scoped against your own inbox and TMS, see how US Tech Automations configures this before you commit to a tier.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.