Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Delivery Notification Software for Freight Carriers 2027

Oct 31, 2026

Start with the category decision

Choose the category before the vendor. Delivery notification software for freight falls into three groups: parcel-tracking notifiers built for shippers and merchants, last-mile dispatch tools that message recipients from your own routes, and enterprise freight visibility platforms that send alerts as one feature among many. The group that fits depends on who controls the stop. If your drivers hand off to the recipient, you need notifications tied to your dispatch data. If a carrier you do not run moves the freight, you need a status feed and a reliable way to reach the consignee.

Delivery notification software sends recipients automatic status updates, such as an arrival estimate, out-for-delivery, delivered or exception messages, triggered by carrier, GPS or scan data.

TL;DR: operators with their own drivers should compare Onfleet first, because it publishes plan prices and documents dynamic ETA notifications. Shippers and brokers tracking third-party parcels should look at Ship24. Enterprise platforms such as project44 and FourKites earn a demo only when you coordinate many carriers across several modes.

Key Takeaways

  • Choose by who owns the stop: your own drivers point to dispatch-linked tools, while third-party carriers point to status feeds.

  • Onfleet publishes plan prices, but its entry Launch plan excludes dynamic ETA notifications, so an ETA message requires the Scale plan.

  • Ship24 has the lowest published entry price in this set, but it is built for tracking third-party parcels, not your own dispatch.

  • project44, FourKites, Samsara and Shipwell publish no plan prices, so budget for a demo and a written quote.

  • A vendor ETA accuracy figure can cover only shipments that report data, so ask what share of total volume it covers.

  • Zapier, Make or n8n can carry simple notifications, but you own retries, consent records, escalation and monitoring.

Who this is for

This guide is written for an owner or operations lead at a small freight carrier, a local delivery operator or a small broker. You already keep a dispatch or order record, and you want recipients to get timely status messages without a long enterprise rollout.

Red flags: you need multimodal ocean, air and rail visibility across many partners; you only need a tracking link on parcels from a store; or you expect a notification tool to replace driver check-ins and proof of delivery.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages and independent trade press. It is not based on hands-on trials of any product. Each criterion carries a weight, and the weights favor what a small operator can verify before buying a demo. We kept only products whose official site shows a notification or delivery-status offer. We dropped TruckerCloud because its official site describes insurer and fleet products and does not show a carrier-facing notification offer.

CriterionWeightWhat we checkedWhy it carries this weight
Customer-facing notification scope25%Which messages recipients receive, and through which channelsNotifications are the job the buyer is hiring the tool to do
ETA and exception logic20%Dynamic ETA, delay and exception triggersAn arrival estimate that never updates is a weak notification
Published pricing and entry cost20%Plan prices, included volume and add-onsOnly public prices let a small buyer compare before a demo
API and webhook access15%Whether notifications can be driven by your own dataDispatch-linked messages need an inbound signal
Role fit10%Whether the product serves a carrier, shipper or brokerA tool built for another role adds setup and cost
Evidence quality10%Whether claims trace to a page we openedClaims with no method or figure get less weight

Where a vendor publishes no price, we write "Quote-based" and do not estimate. Cost pressure is the reason pricing carries 20% of the weight. Average cost to run a truck: $2.336 per mile in 2025 according to FreightWaves (2026), up 3.4% from $2.260 in 2024. When margins are this thin, a per-message charge or an unused enterprise seat is a real cost.

Feature matrix

The matrix records what each official page we opened states. "Not stated" means the page did not say so. It does not mean the product lacks the feature.

VendorCustomer-facing notificationsETA logicAPI or webhooksPublished prices
project44Rule-based sharing; customer delay alerts in a case studyAI-powered ETAsNot stated on the page we openedNone
FourKitesEmail, WhatsApp, voice and SMS through its Tracy agent; branded customer portalML-predicted ETAsDeveloper documentation referenced, contents not shownNone
SamsaraLive Sharing links; AI-powered shipment exception alertsNot described on the page we openedDeveloper API and alert webhooksNone; quote path only
OnfleetAutomated recipient SMS on every planDynamic ETA on Scale and Enterprise onlyAPI and webhooks on all plansPublished
Ship24Delivery notifications on every tierAI Predictive Delivery Date add-on on ProTracking API and webhooks on ProPublished
ShipwellNot stated on the pricing page we openedNot statedNot statedNone

Samsara and project44 publish feature claims but no prices, so this matrix cannot rank them on cost. Shipwell's pricing page is the thinnest of the six: it offers a demo request and nothing else.

Pricing and total cost

Pricing checked October 28, 2026. Figures appear only where the vendor's own page shows them. Every other vendor is marked Quote-based.

Launch plan: from $619 per month according to Onfleet (2026). That plan includes up to 2,500 completed deliveries and does not include dynamic ETA notifications.

Ship24's Free plan costs $0 for 10 shipments a month, according to Ship24 (2026). Pro plan: $59 for 1,000 shipments monthly according to Ship24 (2026), and Pro is the tier where webhooks and the tracking API are listed.

Samsara's pricing page publishes no dollar figures. Its "Check our prices" path asks for fleet size in bands from 1-5 to 5,000+ according to Samsara (2026). FourKites publishes no plan prices and describes an outcome-based model, though its notifications page says the Shipment Twin normalizes tracking across 500K+ carriers according to FourKites (2026). The project44 visibility page and the Shipwell pricing page show no prices either.

VendorPlanPriceIncluded volumeNotes
OnfleetLaunchfrom $619 per monthup to 2,500 completed deliveriesNo dynamic ETA notifications
OnfleetScalefrom $1,349 per month5,000 completed deliveriesDynamic ETA notifications included
Ship24Free$010 shipments per monthBlocked at the limit
Ship24Pro$59 for 1,000 shipments1,000 shipments and upWebhooks and tracking API listed
SamsaraQuote-basedQuote-basedFleet-size bandsNo dollar figures on the pricing page
project44Quote-basedQuote-basedNot publishedDemo and sales contact only
FourKitesQuote-basedQuote-basedNot publishedOutcome-based call to action
ShipwellQuote-basedQuote-basedNot publishedDemo request only

A worked month at 1,200 stops

This is an illustrative scenario, not a customer. Suppose a delivery operator completes 1,200 stops in a month and sends two SMS per stop, one when the driver is close and one at delivery. That is 2,400 messages. If each message fits one SMS segment, the SMS charge is 2,400 × $0.013 = $31.20 a month. Scale plan: from $1,349 per month according to Onfleet (2026), and that plan is the only one of the two Onfleet tiers that includes dynamic ETA notifications for the close-arrival message. The Launch plan alone would cost $619 + $31.20 = $650.20 a month, but it would drop the close-arrival message. The Scale plan costs $1,349 + $31.20 = $1,380.20 a month before any per-task overage, which the pricing page does not state. If the stop status comes from Samsara instead, an alert webhook carries the device under event.device.id, which you must map to your own stop record, according to Samsara (2026).

Vendor profiles

project44

Best fit: shippers and third-party logistics teams that need one view across carriers, forwarders and facilities. Its visibility page says project44 "connects all your carriers, forwarders, and facilities across every mode," and lists truckload, LTL, parcel and last-mile among the modes it covers.

Limitations: the page publishes no prices and points to "Get a demo" and "Contact sales." It does not explain how customer notification channels are configured, so ask for that in a demo.

Implementation: expect carrier onboarding through its "Instant, AI-powered onboarding" step and a data-quality review before any customer message goes out. Our read is that this is an enterprise-scale rollout and the wrong starting point for a small operator.

Evidence: the project44 visibility page.

FourKites

Best fit: shippers and logistics operators that want an agent to chase carriers for ETAs and milestones. Its notifications page describes Tracy as running "24/7 autonomous carrier communication across email, WhatsApp, voice, and SMS." That is carrier-side work as much as customer messaging.

Limitations: no published prices, an outcome-based model and a "Talk to an Outcome Advisor" call to action. The page does not describe setup steps.

Implementation: plan for a sales-led onboarding. Our read is that a small carrier may pay for chasing capacity it does not need, so ask which parts can be switched off.

Evidence: the FourKites notifications page.

Samsara

Best fit: fleets that already run Samsara vehicles and want shipment exception alerts beside telematics. The shipment visibility page describes "Live Sharing" links that put "shipment location and status in your customer's hands" and "AI-powered shipment exceptions" that flag late deliveries.

Limitations: the page we opened does not describe an ETA message sent to customers, so confirm that in a demo. The Integrations menu lists "Pre-Delivery Installation," which suggests hardware is part of the rollout. Pricing is quote-based.

Implementation: Samsara offers a Developer API and alert webhooks, which is where a dispatch integration would start.

Evidence: the Samsara shipment visibility page.

Onfleet

Best fit: delivery businesses that run their own drivers and send recipients SMS as stops progress. The pricing page lists automated recipient SMS on every plan, dynamic ETA notifications on Scale and Enterprise, API and webhook access on all plans, and unlimited users.

Limitations: the entry plan lacks dynamic ETA notifications, SMS is billed by usage, and extra completed deliveries are billed per task at a price the page does not state.

Implementation: register a webhook endpoint and authenticate it. Onfleet's webhook reference includes taskArrival, which fires when a worker is inside a distance threshold set in meters, and taskEta, which fires when the worker's ETA reaches a threshold set in seconds. Our read is that Onfleet is the clearest published-price option for a delivery operator, provided you accept the plan step-up for ETA messages.

Evidence: the Onfleet pricing page and the Onfleet webhook reference.

Ship24

Best fit: shippers, merchants and brokers that need delivery updates for parcels they do not carry themselves. Its pricing page lists delivery notifications on the Free plan, customizable notifications on Essential, and a custom email domain on Pro.

Limitations: Ship24 tracks shipments from couriers. It does not dispatch your drivers. The Free plan stops at its monthly shipment cap, and paid tiers charge per extra shipment. Proof of delivery and AI predictive delivery date are paid add-ons on Pro.

Implementation: store the tracker ID on each order. Ship24's webhook documentation shows trackerId in its payloads, and it also documents a resend-webhooks operation, so a missed message can be re-requested through the API. Ship24's webhook page links to a separate proof-of-delivery page, so read that one before you rely on proof-of-delivery messages.

Evidence: the Ship24 pricing page and the Ship24 webhook delivery docs.

Shipwell

Best fit, by our read: shippers and brokers who buy freight through a demo-led process. The pricing page publishes no prices, plan tiers or free trial, and its only call to action is "Request a Demo."

Limitations: the pricing page does not describe notification, ETA or API features, so we could not verify those for this guide. Ask for the written notification scope and a price before you commit.

Implementation: start with a demo. No self-serve trial appears on the page.

Evidence: the Shipwell pricing page.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a custom workflow if Ship24's Free or Essential tier already covers the parcel updates you send, because a published tool with no build work is faster. Skip it if Onfleet's Scale plan already sends the dynamic ETA messages your recipients need and your team already dispatches there. Skip it if your existing TMS sends email on delivery and you have no SMS, consent or exception-handling needs.

Where the gaps show up

The gap usually appears between the carrier's status and the recipient's inbox. A status changes in one system, a message goes out late from another, and nobody owns the exception. US Tech Automations describes configurable workflows for that gap. The examples below are proposed designs, not live deployments, and each one needs an API or export prerequisite and a named human reviewer.

For a delivery operator on Onfleet, the proposed trigger is the taskArrival webhook, which fires when a worker is inside your distance threshold. The action looks up the recipient's preferred channel and SMS consent in your order record. The output is one arrival SMS logged against the task ID. Prerequisites are an Onfleet plan with webhook access, an authenticated webhook endpoint, and a consent field you maintain. The review point is a dispatcher who approves any arrival message for a stop that has already failed once, since a repeat failure is where a wrong message does the most damage.

For a broker using Ship24, the proposed trigger is a tracking webhook whose event reads "Delivered to the addressee," the status text shown in Ship24's webhook examples. The action matches the trackerId to the order and reads the event timestamp. The output is a delivery email to the consignee, with a proof-of-delivery link only if you have bought that add-on. Prerequisites are the Pro plan for webhooks, a stored trackerId on each shipment, and an authentication check on your endpoint. The review point is a coordinator who checks any event your team has not mapped to a customer message, rather than letting an unknown status reach a customer.

DIY in Zapier, Make or n8n, or a managed build

Zapier, Make and n8n are real alternatives for a small team. They can pass a webhook payload into an SMS or email step, and when you configure them they keep run histories, retries and error branches. What you still design and own is the rest: idempotency, so a retried webhook does not send two arrival texts; escalation when a status is unmapped; access controls on recipient phone numbers; and upkeep when a vendor renames a field. Those are the parts that fail quietly.

A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same trigger, consent check and review queue, but it still needs the prerequisites named above and a named owner for the review queue. If you have one trigger and one channel, a no-code build may be the cheaper path. A managed option earns its cost when several triggers and channels must share one audit trail.

Glossary

  • ETA: estimated time of arrival, sometimes recalculated as the route changes.

  • Dynamic ETA: an arrival estimate that updates during the route, not a single fixed time.

  • Exception: a status outside the normal path, such as a failed attempt or a missed window.

  • Geofence: a map boundary that triggers an event when a vehicle enters or leaves it.

  • Proof of delivery (POD): the record that a recipient received the shipment, often a signature or photo.

  • Webhook: a message your system receives automatically when a status event occurs.

  • Completed delivery: the billing unit Onfleet uses for its plan allowances.

  • SMS segment: one unit of a text message, which determines how many charges one message creates.

Decision checklist

  1. Who owns the stop: your own drivers or a third-party carrier?

  2. Which messages do recipients need: delivery, arrival, delay or exception?

  3. Do you need dynamic ETA updates, and does the plan you are pricing include them?

  4. Will notifications come from your dispatch or order data through webhooks or an API?

  5. Is the price published, and what volume does it include?

  6. Do you hold recipient consent for SMS, and who reviews failed or unmapped events?

Frequently asked questions

Which option has the lowest published entry price?

Ship24 has the lowest published entry price in this set, but it is built for tracking third-party parcels, not for dispatching your drivers. The pricing section above lists its Free and Pro tiers.

Does Onfleet send ETA updates on its cheapest plan?

No, the Launch plan does not include dynamic ETA notifications, so the ETA message requires the Scale plan. Onfleet's pricing page lists that feature as included only on Scale and Enterprise.

Do I need an API to send delivery notifications?

Not for a simple SMS at each stop, but you need an inbound signal such as webhooks or an API if the message must reflect your dispatch or carrier data. Onfleet lists API and webhook access on all plans, and Ship24 lists its tracking API and webhooks on Pro.

Is a 90% ETA accuracy claim meaningful?

Treat it as a claim until the vendor says what share of total volume it covers. Vendor ETA accuracy claim: 90% on trackable shipments according to The Loadstar (2026). In a guest analysis of one global e-commerce operator, only 60% of inbound volume was trackable, and effective accuracy across everything it moved was 54%, according to The Loadstar (2026).

Can Zapier, Make or n8n replace a dedicated tool?

Often, for one trigger and one channel, yes, provided you configure run history, retries and error branches. You still design and own idempotency, escalation, access controls and maintenance.

Why not choose an enterprise platform?

Enterprise platforms such as project44 and FourKites are built for multimodal, multi-carrier networks. Both sell through demos rather than published plans, so the first customer message depends on a sales cycle.

Making the call

Choose the category first, then the plan that covers the messages you actually send. Operators with their own drivers should price Onfleet's Launch and Scale plans against their stop volume and decide whether dynamic ETA is worth the step-up. Shippers and brokers tracking third-party parcels should start with Ship24's published tiers. Anyone who needs enterprise visibility should ask for written notification scope before a demo. To see how US Tech Automations configures this kind of trigger, consent check and review queue, see how US Tech Automations configures this, including the prerequisites and review points for each proposed design.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.