Skip to content
AI & Automation

HVAC Sales App: 6 Tools to Shortlist for Your Shop in 2027

Nov 5, 2026

The short answer and the category decision

An HVAC sales app is software that builds priced estimates, usually with good-better-best options, so a technician or salesperson can present and close the job on site. The category decision is whether you need proposal tooling inside a field-service system or a separate sales layer. For most owners searching this phrase, the first question is whether the proposal feature you need is included in the plan you can afford, not which brand has the longest feature list.

If you want published prices before you talk to anyone, start with Housecall Pro, Jobber, or Service Fusion. If you need a larger platform or flat-rate pricebook tools, expect to get written quotes from ServiceTitan, Workiz, or FieldEdge.

TL;DR: Shortlist two or three tools, confirm the proposal feature on the exact plan you would buy, and get written numbers from every quote-based vendor before you compare costs.

Key Takeaways

  • An HVAC sales app should be judged on three things: whether good-better-best proposals are on your plan, whether pricing is published, and whether the tool can send data to other systems.

  • Housecall Pro publishes plan prices, but its sales proposal tool and its webhooks sit on the top Max plan.

  • Service Fusion publishes annual and monthly prices with unlimited users, but custom documents and eSign are limited to its Pro plan.

  • ServiceTitan, Workiz, and FieldEdge do not publish plan prices, so compare them only on written quotes with add-ons itemized.

  • Trade-press coverage of an ACCA study ties broader option sets to higher close rates, which is an association, not a guarantee.

  • A workflow layer adds value only when someone owns the design, the approval steps, and the failure handling.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, trade press, and review directories. It is not based on hands-on trials. We weighted six criteria to reflect what an owner or operations lead needs before buying. The weights are our analytic judgment, not vendor or survey data.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries that weight
Proposal and good-better-best tooling25%The search intent is closing a sale on site, so presenting tiered options matters most.
Estimating and pricebook control20%Quotes built from a pricebook protect margin on every job.
Published pricing transparency15%A shortlist you cannot price is a shortlist you cannot budget.
Automation and integration access15%Webhooks, APIs, or exports decide whether a workflow layer is even possible.
Fit for a small team's size15%Per-user fees and seat caps change the bill faster than tier names do.
Contract and trial terms10%Free trials and contract length change the risk of a wrong choice.

Proposal tooling carries the largest weight. Pricing transparency is weighted at 15% because a vendor that hides its numbers forces a sales call before you can even rule it out.

Who this is for

This guide fits an owner or operations lead at a small home services business that does HVAC repair and replacement work and is comparing tools before a purchase. Choose from this list if you sell jobs with tiered options and want the estimate to become a job without rekeying it. It fits less well if your main need is accounting, payroll, or a general CRM with no field component.

Red flags: you have no written pricebook, you expect the software alone to fix discounting habits, or nobody on staff will own the data once it moves between systems.

Feature matrix: what each vendor publishes

ToolTiered proposalsEstimatesPublished priceWebhook or API access
ServiceTitanProposals page describes good-better-best optionsConfigurable pricebook with mobile field estimatesNo, quote-basedNot checked
Housecall ProSales proposal tool, Max plan onlyEstimate events listed in the webhook listYesWebhooks, Max plan only
JobberNot stated on pricing page; Grow adds quote customization and optional line-item upsellsProfessional quotes from CoreYesNot verified
Service FusionEstimate options on all plans; custom documents on ProIncluded on all plansYesNot checked
WorkizProposals on Ultimate onlyUnlimited on Standard, Pro, and UltimateNo, "Request pricing"Not checked
FieldEdgeProposal Pro with good-better-best optionsNot stated on the pageNo, quote-basedNot checked

"Not checked" means we did not confirm the feature during this review. It does not mean the feature is absent. Jobber's developer documentation returned an error when we tried to open it, so its API access is unverified.

Plan prices and yearly cost

Pricing checked October 29, 2026. Every figure below is a plan price the vendor published on its own pricing page. Where a vendor did not publish one, the table says Quote-based, and we did not estimate it.

Max plan: $299/mo billed annually, 8 users according to Housecall Pro (2026). The pricing page lists the sales proposal tool only on Max, so Basic and Essentials buyers should not expect proposals at those prices.

Jobber's Grow plan lists at $299 a month for five users at list price, according to Jobber (2026). Each user beyond the tier's count adds $29 a month, according to Jobber (2026).

ToolPlanPublished priceUsers includedYearly cost at that price
Housecall ProBasic$59/mo, billed annually1$708
Housecall ProEssentials$149/mo, billed annually5$1,788
Housecall ProMax$299/mo, billed annually8$3,588
JobberCore$49/mo list1$588
JobberConnect$199/mo list5$2,388
JobberGrow$299/mo list5$3,588
JobberPlus$499/mo list5$5,988
Service FusionStarter$208/mo, billed annuallyUnlimited$2,496
Service FusionPlus$325/mo, billed annuallyUnlimited$3,900
Service FusionPro$533/mo, billed annuallyUnlimited$6,396
ServiceTitanQuote-basedQuote-basedNot publishedQuote-based
WorkizAll plansQuote-basedNot publishedQuote-based
FieldEdgeAll plansQuote-basedNot publishedQuote-based

The yearly column multiplies the published monthly figure by 12. It excludes card processing, add-ons, and setup fees, which the vendors list separately or do not list at all.

Why tiered proposals move the close rate

The sales step this search targets is the option presentation. A trade-press write-up of a study by ACCA and Farmington Consulting Group reports a clear gap by option count. Close rate: 52% with four or more options according to ACHR News (2026). Contractors offering one to three options close 42% of the time, according to ACHR News (2026).

The study measures association, not a controlled test. Treat the gap as a reason to log how many options you present and what closes, not as a forecast of your own close rate.

The follow-up gap is where this usually leaks. Here is a proposed, configurable flow for it, not a live deployment. It would start from the Housecall Pro event estimate.option.approval_status_changed, which the help article lists alongside the other estimate events. When an option stays open past a follow-up window the owner sets, US Tech Automations could be configured to draft a follow-up email with that option's tier and price. The draft goes into an Approval Queue, where a coordinator can approve, edit, or reject it before a Send Reply step sends it through Gmail. The output is a row in a Google Sheets log of open options by tier.

Prerequisites are Housecall Pro's Max plan, because the help article says webhooks are "only available on the MAX plan," a hosted endpoint that receives events, and the signing secret Housecall Pro returns when you save that endpoint URL. Human review points are a coordinator approving every draft and the owner setting the follow-up window and any escalation rule, such as routing declined options above an owner-chosen value to the owner. We have not verified the webhook payload fields, so confirm them in a sandbox before scoping.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates the vendor's published facts from our read of them.

ServiceTitan

Best fit: larger shops that want pricebook-driven field estimates, membership renewals, and marketing tools inside one platform. The ServiceTitan proposals page names "Digital HVAC Sales Tool," "Polished Sales Proposals," and "Sync Pricebook + Mobile Estimates" as features for presenting options and closing in the field.

Published facts: the page does not publish a price for the software, its tiers, or sample jobs. It calls good-better-best proposals "a proven way to increase conversion rates" without citing any data. A directory page reports contractor-sourced monthly costs that vary widely by shop size, according to ServiceMag (2026), but ServiceTitan's own pricing is quote-based.

Limitations and implementation: pricing is quote-only, and the directory says live platform access requires signing a contract. Our read: choose it when the pricebook and membership work justify a platform-level contract, and ask for a written quote that names every module.

Housecall Pro

Best fit: owners who want published monthly tiers and a built-in sales proposal tool on the top plan. The published tiers are Basic, Essentials, and Max, all billed annually, and the Housecall Pro pricing page shows the figures in the price table above.

Limitations: the sales proposal tool and webhooks both sit on Max. The Housecall Pro webhook help article says webhooks are only available on the MAX plan, and it notes that after you save an endpoint URL, Housecall Pro returns a signing secret.

Our read: Housecall Pro is the clearest published-price option in this list. The real price of a proposal-and-automation setup is the Max line, not Basic.

Jobber

Best fit: service-led businesses that want quotes, invoicing, and client follow-ups on published tiers. Core includes professional quotes. Connect adds automated quote and invoice follow-ups and QuickBooks Online sync. Grow adds quote customization with visuals, optional line-item upsells, and job costing, according to the Jobber pricing page (2026).

Limitations: the plan feature list we read does not mention a flat-rate pricebook. We could not open Jobber's developer documentation, so API access and webhook topics are unverified.

Our read: a reasonable choice if your work is mainly service calls and quoting, and you need QuickBooks sync on Connect. It is a weaker fit if pricebook-driven flat-rate estimates are central to your sales process.

Service Fusion

Best fit: teams that want unlimited users and estimates on every plan. Pro plan: $533/mo billed annually, unlimited users according to Service Fusion (2026).

Limitations: custom documents, eSign documents, and the customer web portal are included on Pro. On Starter and Plus, the pricing page lists custom documents and eSign as add-ons. Our read: because users are unlimited, the cost decision moves to the feature tier, so price the Pro plan before you assume proposals are included.

Workiz

Best fit: shops that want unlimited estimates and are willing to take a demo before comparing numbers. The Workiz pricing page shows "Request pricing" for each plan and lists proposals only on the Ultimate tier. Free trial: 7 days, no credit card according to Workiz (2026).

Limitations: the add-ons Genius Phone, Genius Answering, and Genius Marketing are sold separately with no prices shown, and card readers are too. Our read: the proposal feature sits behind the top tier, and the add-on costs are unknown until you get a quote.

FieldEdge

Best fit: shops that want flat-rate tools and a dedicated proposal product. The FieldEdge HVAC page names Proposal Pro and says "Present Good-Better-Best options with Proposal Pro to convert more quotes at higher ticket values."

Limitations: the page publishes no price, and its FAQ says cost depends on the number and type of licenses. The FAQ also says the average company saves 20 hours per week. That is a vendor claim, and the page cites no independent study for it, according to FieldEdge (2026).

Our read: it has the clearest proposal feature names of the quote-based group, and the weakest price transparency. Get a written quote with every license and add-on itemized before you compare it to anything.

Choosing by situation

ToolBest fitMain disqualifierChoose it if
ServiceTitanLarger shops that want pricebook, membership, and marketing tools in one platformQuote-only pricing, and a directory says live access requires a signed contractYou can budget a platform contract and want the proposal and pricebook tools in a larger system
Housecall ProOwners who want published monthly tiersProposal tool and webhooks both sit on MaxYou will pay for Max to get proposals and automation hooks
JobberService businesses that want quotes, invoicing, and follow-ups on published tiersNo flat-rate pricebook in its plan feature list; API access unverifiedYour work is service-led and QuickBooks Online sync on Connect covers your books
Service FusionTeams that add users over time and want unlimited seatsCustom documents and eSign only on ProTeam size is your main cost driver and you will buy Pro
WorkizShops willing to take a demo before comparing numbersNo published price; proposals only on UltimateYou are comfortable getting written quotes before comparing
FieldEdgeShops that want flat-rate tools and Proposal ProNo published price; cost depends on licensesYou can get a written quote with licenses and add-ons itemized

Use this table as a first cut, then confirm the plan that includes the proposal feature. If you only need scheduling, invoicing, and a basic website, a lower tier without proposals may be enough.

Worked example: ten extra jobs a month

Take a hypothetical shop that presents 100 proposals a month and assumes a $400 average ticket. The $400 is an assumption for this example, not a sourced figure. At the 42% close rate for one to three options and the 52% rate for four or more options cited above, the shop closes 42 jobs in one case and 52 in the other, a gap of 10 jobs worth $4,000 a month in gross revenue before labor and materials. Housecall Pro's Max plan at $299 a month, billed annually, according to Housecall Pro (2026), costs $3,588 a year, so the gross gap of $4,000 minus $299 leaves $3,701 a month if the benchmark holds. The Max plan's event list includes estimate.option.approval_status_changed, the event the follow-up flow above would start from. The math is illustrative. The close-rate gap is a survey association, not a promise, so rerun it with your own ticket size and close rate.

Build it yourself or buy the workflow

The alternative to a workflow layer is stitching this together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors, and produce audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still designs and owns the parts that fail quietly: idempotency, so a redelivered webhook does not send a second follow-up; escalation when no one responds; access controls on customer data; and maintenance when the field tool changes its events. Housecall Pro's webhook help article says that setup is work that "developers usually perform."

A second proposed flow covers the step after the sale. When the invoice.paid event arrives from the same Housecall Pro webhook list, US Tech Automations could be configured to add a note to the matching HubSpot deal, write a row to a Google Sheets ledger for the bookkeeper, and create a QuickBooks Online draft for review rather than posting it. Prerequisites are Max-plan webhook access, HubSpot and QuickBooks Online credentials with the least access needed, and a payment export from Stripe or another processor if payments run outside the field tool. Human review points are the bookkeeper checking each QuickBooks draft against the invoice amount before posting, and the owner approving any deal-stage change. We have not confirmed how HubSpot or QuickBooks fields map to Housecall Pro records, so that mapping is a scoping task.

Glossary

  • Good-better-best proposal: Several priced options for the same job, so the customer chooses a tier instead of accepting a single price.

  • Pricebook: The list of labor, material, and flat-rate prices that a company pulls into estimates.

  • Flat-rate pricing: A fixed price for a defined task, set in the pricebook rather than built from hours on the job.

  • Webhook: A message a software tool sends to another system when a named event happens, such as job.created.

  • Idempotency: A design property where receiving the same event twice does not repeat the action.

  • Approval queue: A holding step where a person approves, edits, or rejects a drafted message before it sends.

Frequently asked questions

Is an HVAC sales app the same as field service software?

No, not exactly: an HVAC sales app focuses on estimates, options, and closing, while field service software also covers scheduling, dispatch, and invoicing. Several tools in this list do both, so the choice is about which side you need to buy first.

Which of these tools publish plan prices?

Housecall Pro, Jobber, and Service Fusion publish plan prices on their pricing pages. ServiceTitan, Workiz, and FieldEdge are quote-based on their own sites.

Do good-better-best proposals raise close rates?

The trade-press study cited above points that way, but it measures association, so test the effect in your own sales log before you assume it.

Do I need webhooks to use a workflow layer?

Yes, for event-driven flows. Housecall Pro's help article says its webhooks are only available on the Max plan, so confirm your tier before you scope any automation.

Should I trust these prices?

Treat them as a dated snapshot: the figures were checked October 29, 2026. A vendor's written quote or current pricing page overrides this article.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a workflow layer if your only need is a good-better-best proposal, because Housecall Pro's Max plan already includes its sales proposal tool and Service Fusion's Pro plan includes custom documents and eSign. Skip it if nobody will review drafts, since the approval steps stop working without a person. Skip it too if your only automation is an invoice reminder that your field tool already sends.

Bottom line for your shortlist

Shortlist two tools that publish prices and fit your team size. Confirm the proposal feature on the exact plan you would buy, then ask the quote-based vendors for written numbers that itemize add-ons. If you later need the follow-up and after-sale steps automated, see how US Tech Automations configures this, and check the prerequisites above before you buy anything.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.