Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best Lead Tracking CRM for Plumbers: 6 Options for 2027

Nov 5, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Start with the category decision. For most small plumbing shops, a field-service platform with lead tracking built in beats a standalone sales CRM, because every lead has to end up as a booked job.

  • Jobber and Housecall Pro publish plan prices, and ServiceM8 publishes its full tier list. ServiceTitan, Workiz and FieldPulse ask for a quote, so their costs stop at a quote.

  • On Jobber, Pipeline is an add-on to the Core, Connect and Grow plans. On Housecall Pro, Pipeline is a separate add-on. The base price understates the cost of lead tracking on both.

  • Monthly and annual billing are different bases. Compare like with like before you add up a budget.

  • A DIY stack in Zapier, Make or n8n can work, but you own duplicate protection, error handling and maintenance.

  • Confirm export access in writing before you sign with any vendor.

TL;DR: Shortlist Jobber and Housecall Pro for published tiers and scheduling, consider ServiceM8 for a low-cost job record, and request quotes from ServiceTitan, Workiz or FieldPulse only if you run a larger dispatch operation.

A lead tracking CRM is software that records every inbound inquiry with its source, its status and its next action until that inquiry becomes a booked job or is closed out. This guide compares six field-service tools sold to plumbing and home services businesses, using only public vendor pages and independent research that we opened and checked.

Who this is for

This guide is for the owner or operations lead at a small home services business, usually a plumbing shop, who has already decided to fix lead follow-up and is close to choosing a system. Inquiries arrive by phone, web form and marketplace, and the open questions are which lead got a reply, which quote is still waiting, and which source is worth paying for.

Adoption varies a lot by how comfortable a shop is with software. Project management software: 14% of low-tech users according to HIRI (2025), against 29% of moderate-tech users in its study of home improvement contractors. The Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors Association's 2026 Industry Environmental Scan says technology adoption "continues to rise," with many contractors exploring AI tools for marketing, scheduling and operations, according to PHCC (2026). The practical point is that the tool has to suit the person who will type into it every day.

Red flags: you mainly need payroll or accounting software and treat lead follow-up as a side task; most of your leads come through one marketplace that already holds the customer relationship; or nobody in the office will own the pipeline every week.

How we evaluated these tools

This is a desk review of public pages. Each product was included because its vendor still sells it on a public pricing or product page, and we read those pages directly rather than relying on third-party price estimates. The third-party estimates disagreed with each other and with the vendors' own pages, so we treated them as leads to check, not as sources. We did not run trials or contact any sales team.

The weights below are our judgment about what matters for lead tracking at a small plumbing shop. They are not a vendor-supplied ranking.

CriterionWeightWhat a top score (5 of 5) requires
Lead capture and source tracking25%A named lead record with a source field, on the plan you would buy
Pipeline and follow-up20%Stages, owners and overdue flags described for leads, not only for jobs
Quote-to-job conversion15%A quote and the resulting job linked to the same customer record
Price transparency and total cost15%Plan prices and add-ons published, with the billing basis stated
Dispatch and scheduling fit15%Scheduling and dispatch covered on a plan that fits your crew size
Integration and implementation effort10%Accounting sync and export or API access named on the public page

The six products are Jobber, Housecall Pro, ServiceM8, ServiceTitan, Workiz and FieldPulse. HubSpot appears only as a generic CRM reference point.

What the feature pages actually say

The matrix below records what each vendor's public page states. "Not stated" means the page we opened does not say it. It does not mean the product lacks the feature, so confirm every gap in writing.

VendorPublished pricesLead or pipeline trackingTwo-way textingQuickBooks syncDispatch or scheduling
JobberYesPipeline is an add-on on Core, Connect and Grow; included on PlusGrow and aboveConnect and aboveNot named in the plan table
Housecall ProYes, annual-billing ratesPipeline is a separate add-onNot listedEssentials and MaxOnline booking and dispatch on all tiers
ServiceM8YesQuote follow-up on all plans; no lead pipeline namedIncluded on all plansNot statedJob and client history on all plans
ServiceTitanQuote-basedCRM listed; lead management not named as a moduleNot statedNot statedDispatching and scheduling in packages
WorkizQuote-basedLead tracking on all tiers; Genius Leads on Pro and UltimateNot statedNot statedGenius Scheduling on Pro and Ultimate
FieldPulseQuote-basedNot stated on the public pageNot statedNot statedBooking portal named; dispatch not stated

Lead tracking is the feature that most often disappoints. Jobber's Pipeline feature page describes stages, quote movement, follow-up flags and win or loss records, but it is sold as an add-on to the lower tiers. Jobber's lead management help article says lead management is available on select plans and places the lead source field on Core, Connect and Grow. Housecall Pro's pricing page lists Pipeline and Campaigns as separate add-ons. ServiceM8's pricing page does not use the word lead at all. Its quote follow-up appears on every plan, which covers part of the job but not a sales pipeline.

Published prices and the cost math

Pricing checked October 30, 2026.

Jobber's figures below are monthly, no-commitment rates after introductory discounts end. Grow plan on Jobber: $299 a month for five users according to Jobber (2026), with Core at $49 a month for one user and Connect at $199 a month for five users on the same basis.

ServiceM8's paid plans are Starter at $29, Growing at $79, Premium at $149 and Premium Plus at $349 a month, with unlimited users on each, according to ServiceM8 (2026). Its Free plan carries the job cap that matters most for a small shop, and the paid plans step up from there.

Housecall Pro's figures are annual-billing rates. Basic is $59 a month for one user, Essentials is $149 a month for up to five users and Max is $299 a month for eight users, according to Housecall Pro (2026). Its Max tier adds $35 a month for each user beyond eight.

ServiceTitan, Workiz and FieldPulse do not publish prices. ServiceTitan prices per technician on request, Workiz has a request-pricing button on each tier, and FieldPulse is seat-based and quote-driven. None of them gives a figure we can cite, so their rows read "Quote-based."

The table repeats the figures above. Jobber's and ServiceM8's rows and Housecall Pro's rows use different billing bases, so read them row by row.

VendorPlanPublished priceUsers includedJobs per month
JobberCore$49 a month1Not published
JobberGrow, five users$299 a month5Not published
Housecall ProBasic$59 a month, annual billing1Not published
Housecall ProEssentials$149 a month, annual billing5Not published
Housecall ProMax$299 a month, annual billing8Not published
ServiceM8Free$0130
ServiceM8Starter$29 a monthUnlimited50
ServiceM8Growing$79 a monthUnlimited150
ServiceM8Premium$149 a monthUnlimited500
ServiceM8Premium Plus$349 a monthUnlimited1,500 or more
ServiceTitanStarter, Essentials, The WorksQuote-basedNot publishedNot published
WorkizStandard, Pro, UltimateQuote-basedNot publishedNot published
FieldPulsePlan names not publishedQuote-basedNot publishedNot published

To compare the plans that publish a price, the table below multiplies each monthly rate by 12. It is a list-price check for a five-person office, not a quote. The Jobber rows are monthly rates with no commitment, while the Housecall Pro rows are annual-billing rates, so treat the gap between them as a range, not a verdict.

VendorPlanMonthly priceUsers coveredAnnual list cost
JobberGrow$2995$3,588
Housecall ProEssentials$1495$1,788
Housecall ProMax$2998$3,588
ServiceM8Starter$29Unlimited$348
ServiceM8Growing$79Unlimited$948
ServiceM8Premium$149Unlimited$1,788

None of these pages prices the lead-tracking add-ons in full. Add the Pipeline cost on Jobber and Housecall Pro, and the phone or marketing add-ons on Workiz and FieldPulse, before you compare totals.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read of the fit.

Jobber

  • Published: Pipeline is sold as an add-on to Core, Connect and Grow, and the pricing page lists it as included on Plus. Two-way texting and job costing appear from Grow upward.

  • Best fit: A small service business that wants scheduling, quoting and client records in one app, and that will pay for Pipeline if follow-up tracking is the main reason for buying.

  • Limitations: Lead tracking on the lower tiers is a lead label on the client record, not a full pipeline. The help article says a lead label stays until a job is created, an invoice is sent or a quote is approved.

  • Implementation: Decide your lead source list before you import anything. The lead source field can hold custom options, and UTM tags on request and booking links can fill in the source automatically.

  • Evidence: Jobber pricing page, Pipeline feature page, lead management help article.

Housecall Pro

  • Published: Max plan on Housecall Pro: $299 a month, billed annually according to Housecall Pro (2026), with eight users included. Online booking and dispatch are listed on all three tiers.

  • Best fit: A shop that wants online booking, dispatch and invoicing on a tiered price, and that can add lead tracking as a deliberate second purchase.

  • Limitations: Pipeline and Campaigns are separate add-ons, so the base tier does not give you a pipeline. QuickBooks sync starts at Essentials. Additional users on Max cost extra.

  • Implementation: Start on Basic only if one person runs the office. Price the Pipeline add-on before you commit, because the base tiers do not include it.

  • Evidence: Housecall Pro pricing page.

ServiceM8

  • Published: Free plan on ServiceM8: 30 jobs a month, one user according to ServiceM8 (2026). Paid plans include unlimited users and two-way SMS.

  • Best fit: A solo operator or small crew that wants a flat account price, job and client history, and quote follow-up on every plan.

  • Limitations: The page does not name a lead pipeline or a lead source field. Its phone add-on shows inconsistent trial lengths, so get that term in writing. Job caps rise by tier, so count your monthly jobs before you choose.

  • Implementation: Treat quote follow-up as your lead queue, and assign one person to clear it every day.

  • Evidence: ServiceM8 pricing page.

ServiceTitan

  • Published: Packages are named Starter, Essentials and The Works, with per-technician pricing on request. CRM is listed among its key features, and its site also names FieldRoutes, Aspire, Convex and Conduit as other products.

  • Best fit: A larger contractor with a dispatch team and budget for a quoted package. This is our read, not a vendor claim.

  • Limitations: Without a public price, you cannot compare costs until you have a quote. Lead management is not named as its own module; Marketing and Sales Prospecting through Convex are the closest matches. Ask which product your quote covers, because the site lists several.

  • Implementation: Plan for a quote-led process. The page offers request-pricing buttons rather than a self-serve sign-up.

  • Evidence: ServiceTitan pricing page.

Workiz

  • Published: Standard, Pro and Ultimate tiers, each with a request-pricing button. Lead tracking is included on all three, and Genius Leads is on Pro and Ultimate. The automation limits are 5 on Standard, 10 on Pro and 30 on Ultimate, according to Workiz (2026).

  • Best fit: An owner who wants lead tracking and phone handling in one product, and who will ask for a quote on both.

  • Limitations: Genius Phone, Genius Answering and Genius Marketing are sold separately, so the phone line is an extra cost to ask about. Roles and permissions are not included on Standard.

  • Implementation: Count the automations your workflows need, then match that count to a tier before you negotiate.

  • Evidence: Workiz pricing page.

FieldPulse

  • Published: Seat-based, quote-driven pricing. The page names no plan tiers or prices. An AI assistant called Maverick is included on all plans, and the Engage phone system is priced by line and license on request.

  • Best fit: An HVAC or plumbing shop that wants a seat-based platform with a booking portal and customer management, and is comfortable with a quote conversation.

  • Limitations: The public page does not say which tier, if any, includes CRM or lead tracking. The pricing FAQ on hidden fees and free trials did not come through when we read it.

  • Implementation: Bring your exact seat count and phone needs to the quote, and ask for lead stages and lead source fields by name.

  • Evidence: FieldPulse pricing page.

Summary by buyer type:

VendorChoose it ifThink twice if
JobberYou want published tiers, scheduling and quoting, and will pay for PipelineLead follow-up must be inside the base plan
Housecall ProYou want booking, dispatch and invoicing on tiered pricingYou need a pipeline in the base tier
ServiceM8You want a flat account price and job records for a small crewYou need a named sales pipeline
ServiceTitanYou run a larger dispatch operation and can buy a quoted packageYou need prices before you can compare
WorkizYou want lead tracking and phone handling in one productYou cannot get a quote on the phone add-ons
FieldPulseYou want a seat-based platform and are comfortable with a quoteYou need to read the tiers before any sales call

Where leads get lost in practice

The leak usually happens between the first call and the first quote. A lead arrives, the phone is not answered or the note is not written down, and the quote goes out without a next date. Lead tracking closes that gap only if each lead has a source, a status and a due date that someone checks.

A proposed workflow for a plumbing office would start when a new client or request record appears in the system of record, such as a new request in Jobber or a new contact in HubSpot. The trigger writes the lead source and the timestamp to that record, then queues a first-reply text that a named office person approves before it sends. The output is a record with a source, a status and a follow-up date. The prerequisites are API or export access to lead records, a sending number with consent language your business has approved, and one named person who reviews templates. US Tech Automations would configure that sequence on the CRM you choose and would not replace the CRM's own records.

Stitching it together yourself

Many small shops compare these products against a spreadsheet, a shared calendar and a stack built in Zapier, Make or n8n, or against a custom build. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps and send errors to a separate branch once they are configured that way. The buyer still designs and owns the parts that break quietly: duplicate protection when a webhook fires twice, escalation when a text fails, access controls on customer data, and maintenance when a vendor changes its API. That is the real comparison, and it is a staffing question as much as a software one.

Here is an illustrative calculation, not a customer result. Assume a plumbing office logs 60 new leads a month and 15 of them never get a logged next step after the first call. That is 25% of new leads (15 ÷ 60) with no owner, or 180 stalled leads over 12 months. If one in five of those would have booked at an average job value of $400, the lost work is 36 jobs and $14,400 a year (180 × 0.2 × $400). A CRM that keeps lead status in a field such as HubSpot's hs_lead_status on each contact, read back through the /crm/v3/objects/contacts endpoint, makes those 15 visible each morning. The software cost is a separate line, and the math only holds if someone keeps the field current.

A second proposed workflow handles quotes. When a quote is marked sent and no reply is logged by the follow-up date the owner set, the workflow creates a task for a named person and drafts a follow-up message for review. It never sends without approval. The output is a task linked to the quote, the drafted text and a log entry. The prerequisites are readable quote status through the CRM's API or a scheduled export, and an owner for the task queue. US Tech Automations would configure this pattern only after the export test passes; US Tech Automations does not assume a live deployment anywhere in this guide.

HubSpot's sales CRM is free for up to 2 users, according to HubSpot (2026), and its sales pricing page does not describe dispatch. That makes it a reasonable lead database for a small team, but not a field-service system on its own.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

Skip US Tech Automations if your needs are just a shared calendar and invoicing, because a field-service suite such as Jobber or Housecall Pro already covers those with fewer moving parts. Skip it if your CRM exposes no API or export you can confirm in writing, since the workflows above depend on that access. Skip it as well if no one on your team will review message templates before they go out.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing a monthly no-commitment rate with an annual-billing rate as if they were the same basis.

  • Assuming a plan includes lead tracking, then finding that Pipeline is an add-on after your data has moved in.

  • Treating "lead tracking" as a pipeline when the vendor means a lead label on a client record.

  • Skipping the export test, which can leave you with records you cannot take with you.

  • Buying a dispatch suite for an office where one person answers the phone and writes the quotes.

  • Trusting third-party price estimates over the vendor's own page, which is where the conflicts came from.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a free option for a small plumbing shop?

Yes, with hard limits: ServiceM8's free plan is built for a solo operator, and HubSpot's free sales CRM is capped by seat count, so neither is a complete dispatch and lead system.

Do I need a separate CRM if I already use a field-service app?

Only if the app stores jobs but not the lead source, the lead status and the next follow-up date. Check those three fields before you buy a second system.

Why does ServiceTitan not appear with a price?

Its pricing is per technician and available on request, so no public figure exists to cite, and it appears as quote-based rather than as an estimate.

Can I build this in Zapier, Make or n8n instead?

Yes, if you accept that your team owns the logic, retries, duplicate protection, access controls and maintenance. Those tools can keep run histories and error branches once configured, but the design and upkeep stay with you.

Does a lead tracking CRM replace follow-up work?

No. A CRM shows who needs a reply and when, but someone still has to make the call or send the text.

Bottom line

For most small plumbing shops, the decision comes down to whether lead follow-up is inside the base plan you can afford or inside a priced add-on you can name today. Start with the published tiers at Jobber, Housecall Pro and ServiceM8, request quotes from the quote-based vendors if your crew is larger, and write down every add-on before you sign. If you want a concrete picture of how these workflows get configured, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.