6 Best Load Board Platforms for Owner Operators 2027
Key Takeaways
DAT One fits owner-operators who want the widest public load volume and broker credit data, and who will learn a fuller tool to get it.
Truckstop fits small teams that want tiered plans they can scale, though its prices exclude taxes and it charges an application fee.
123Loadboard fits budget-minded carriers who want monthly billing with no contract and a short trial before they commit.
TruckSmarter and Trucker Path both run free load boards; Trucker Path's page lists broker credit and rate-check features, while TruckSmarter's pricing page describes neither.
Uber Freight suits carriers who want instant booking on posted freight, but its carrier page does not publish a fee.
Pick a category first, free or paid, then run one board for a full month and count which one produced the loads you actually booked.
Start with the category decision, not the brand. A load board is an online marketplace where brokers and shippers post freight and carriers search, bid on, or book it. For an owner-operator, the first choice is whether you need a paid subscription that adds broker vetting and lane-rate history, or whether a free board that lists posted freight is enough to keep your trucks moving.
TL;DR: choose a paid board if broker credit checks and rate history will change which loads you accept. Choose a free board if brokers already send you freight and you need one more source. Either way, run a trial month before you commit to anything longer.
Volume is the main reason owner-operators pay for the large networks, and it is worth knowing the scale before you compare prices. DAT volume: 722,500+ average daily loads according to FreightWaves (2026), as the trade publication reports for DAT One. Truckstop volume: 600,000+ average daily loads according to FreightWaves (2026), using the same reporting. Those are the figures the publication cites, not counts we verified. A large posted volume tells you how much freight is available, not how much of it pays what you need.
How we evaluated these tools
We built this as an informed buyer's guide from public information: vendor pricing and feature pages, a trade publication, a review site, and the public API documentation that each vendor publishes. Nothing here describes a customer result or a live deployment. The weights below are our judgment about what matters to a small carrier, not a market measurement.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters to an owner-operator |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly cost for your real seat count | 25% | Entry prices are per plan or per user, and a cheap single seat can cost more for a team |
| Posted load volume and lane depth | 20% | More posted freight gives more choice, but volume does not guarantee a paying load |
| Broker vetting data | 15% | Credit and days-to-pay data reduce the chance of accepting freight from a slow or risky payer |
| Rate and lane benchmarks | 15% | Average-rate history helps you turn down an offer that sits below market |
| Routing and booking tools | 15% | Mileage, tolls and in-app booking cut the admin time on each load |
| Trial, billing and fee transparency | 10% | Trials, application fees and tax treatment change the real first-month cost |
Each vendor was read against these criteria using only the pages named in its profile. Where a page did not say, the feature matrix below reads "Not stated" and does not assume the feature is absent.
Pricing and total cost
Pricing is where vendor pages and third-party roundups disagree most, so the table below uses only the vendors' own pricing pages that we opened. Plan names and prices appear as each page presents them.
| Vendor | Carrier plans and monthly prices | Trial, fees and terms stated |
|---|---|---|
| DAT One | Standard $59, Enhanced $149, Pro $169, Select $259, Office $339 per month, according to DAT | No free trial described; no contract length stated; tiers are sized by truck count |
| Truckstop | Basic $42, Advanced $135, Pro $159 per month for up to 3 users, according to Truckstop | Basic covers up to 3 users; prices exclude fees and taxes; an application fee applies and is credited if approved; no free trial mentioned |
| 123Loadboard | Standard $39, Premium $59, Premium Plus $79 per month, according to 123Loadboard | 5-day free trial included; promotions valid for fleets up to 10 trucks; billed monthly with no contracts |
| TruckSmarter | Free Loadboard $0, Unlimited $49 per month, Enterprise Quote-based, according to TruckSmarter | Free board includes in-app bidding and booking; AI chat free tier has limited usage that resets weekly |
| Trucker Path | TruckLoads lower tier $29.99 per month or $239.88 billed annually; higher tier $49.99 per month or $399.99 billed annually, according to Trucker Path | Free load search; tier names change across the page; a banner says prices are increasing |
| Uber Freight | Not published | Carrier page does not state a carrier fee, payment or quick-pay terms |
Pricing checked October 27, 2026. "Quote-based" marks a plan the vendor does not price publicly. Uber Freight's carrier page does not state a carrier fee, so we list its cost as "Not published" rather than free.
For a single operator, the entry plan sets the floor and the tier you actually need sets the real cost. 123Loadboard entry plan: $39 per month according to 123Loadboard. That entry plan sits below DAT's entry plan and Truckstop's Basic plan, but the rate and routing tools sit higher up the ladder on every board, so the cheapest seat is not always the cheapest tool. Trucker Path's TruckLoads page shows an annual price that works out cheaper per month than its monthly price, which is worth checking before you pick monthly billing.
Normalized feature matrix
The matrix puts each board's feature set on the same six columns. "Not stated" means the page we opened did not describe the feature; it does not mean the feature is missing.
| Vendor | Broker credit data | Rate averages or benchmarks | Routing or mileage | Booking or matching | Free trial stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAT One | Yes, from the Standard plan | Average spot rates: 15-day on Standard, 7-day on Enhanced; best available rates on Pro | TriHaul routing on Pro | Book Now listed on combined plans, not carrier tiers | Not described |
| Truckstop | Broker factorability data on Basic; Broker Rating on Advanced | Rate Insights on Pro | Route map on Basic | Book It Now on Advanced | Not mentioned |
| 123Loadboard | Credit scores on Premium | Rate Check on Premium Plus | Mileage and routing on Premium | Instant load matching on Premium | Yes, on carrier plans |
| TruckSmarter | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | In-app bidding and booking on the free board | Free board, no trial needed |
| Trucker Path | Broker credit score and days to pay in the app | Real-time market rates and rate checks listed | Route planner; tolls and fuel calculator on paid tiers | Not stated | Not stated |
| Uber Freight | Not stated | Upfront linehaul and fuel rate visibility | Not stated | Instant load bookings | Not stated |
The six platforms, one at a time
DAT One
Best fit: DAT One suits owner-operators who want the widest public volume and broker credit data in one subscription. DAT's pricing page aims its Pro plan at owner-operators and its Select plan at small fleets, and it marks Pro as the most popular option.
Limitations: the cheaper tiers carry fewer rate tools. Standard shows a 15-day average rate, Enhanced a 7-day window, and Pro and Select add best available rates and a Market Conditions tool, so the deeper rate analysis many buyers want sits above the entry plan. ExpertMarket's guide notes user reports of platform lag and occasional duplicate listings, according to ExpertMarket (updated December 2025). Upgrade prompts on the pricing page show the added monthly cost between tiers, so read the price of the tier you need, not the entry price.
Implementation: the DAT One app comes with every subscription. DAT's API page says APIs exist for the DAT Load Board, BookNow, DAT Tracking and Freight Posting, and that the developer portal requires a user account, with access questions sent to developersupport@dat.com. Endpoint details sit behind portal login, so budget for DAT approval before you design an integration.
Truckstop
Best fit: Truckstop suits a small team that wants tiered plans it can scale and that works with specialized or flatbed freight. FreightWaves describes its advanced filtering and side-by-side comparison as the strengths of the higher tiers.
Limitations: prices exclude fees and taxes, and an application fee applies. It is non-refundable and credited toward the first month only if the application is approved. The pricing page does not mention a free trial. It also lists separate dry-van and reefer prices on the same page, so compare the variant that matches your trailer before you count the seat cost.
Implementation: the Basic plan includes load search, private loads, Truck Post and a route map, and the page lists Truckstop TMS as included. The Advanced plan adds Book It Now and Broker Rating, and Pro adds Real-Time Live Loads and Rate Insights. Truckstop entry plan: $42 per month for up to 3 users according to Truckstop.
123Loadboard
Best fit: 123Loadboard suits a budget-minded carrier who wants monthly billing, no contract, and a short trial to test against real lanes. Its FAQ says carrier plans are billed monthly with no contracts and can be cancelled at any time.
Limitations: user limits per plan are not stated on the pages we opened, so ask before you buy seats. FreightWaves lists smaller freight volume than top-tier boards as a drawback. The rate-check tool appears only on Premium Plus, so the entry tiers will not give you that comparison.
Implementation: Premium adds mileage, routing and driving directions, instant load matching, and credit scores. Premium Plus adds Rate Check and enhanced PC*Miler mileage. The 123Loadboard cost FAQ lists these tiers and their billing terms.
Trucker Path
Best fit: Trucker Path suits owner-operators who want a free load board with broker credit visibility and route planning, and who may pay later for the TruckLoads tiers. Its navigation products are a separate purchase, listed on its pricing page; they are not the load board.
Limitations: the paid tier names change across the TruckLoads page, and a banner says prices are increasing, so confirm the price at sign-up. The paid tiers add ad-free and unlimited-view features, which implies the free tier has ads or view limits, though the page does not say so directly. The TruckLoads page does not describe booking loads inside the app.
Implementation: the free load search is available on the web and in the app, and the paid tiers add toll estimates and a fuel surcharge calculator. Evidence is the TruckLoads page cited in the pricing table above.
TruckSmarter
Best fit: TruckSmarter suits an owner-operator who wants a $0 starting point with in-app bidding, booking and backhaul suggestions. The Unlimited plan is for heavier search use, with unlimited broker calls, unlimited load searches and recurring lane analysis.
Limitations: the pricing page does not describe broker credit data or rate averages, so ask for them before you rely on the board for accept-or-decline decisions. The Enterprise tier is quote-based, and the AI chat's free usage resets weekly.
Implementation: the board runs in the app, and the pricing page describes no integration API. Read the TruckSmarter pricing page before you upgrade, since the terms of the paid tiers sit there.
Uber Freight
Best fit: Uber Freight suits owner-operators who want instant booking on posted freight and upfront visibility into linehaul and fuel rates. Its carrier page states that Uber Freight is a licensed freight broker and is not a motor carrier, so the relationship runs through posted freight rather than a carrier agreement.
Limitations: the carrier page does not state a carrier fee, payment terms or quick-pay terms. FreightWaves lists limited ability to negotiate rates as a drawback.
Implementation: sign-up runs through onboarding pages linked from the Uber Freight carrier page, which does not list steps or requirements.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small logistics business who is close to choosing a board. The best matches are a single-truck owner-operator who books through brokers and needs a fast read on broker payment history, and a small team with one dispatcher that needs shared seats and a predictable monthly bill.
Red flags: you cannot name the lanes or equipment you run, you expect a free board to supply the same rate history as a paid one, or you plan to hold two paid boards at once without tracking which one produced your loads.
| Vendor | Choose it if | Red flag to check |
|---|---|---|
| DAT One | You want the widest public volume and broker credit data and can justify a monthly tier | Cost rises as you add tiers; API access needs DAT approval |
| Truckstop | You want tiered plans and booking tools on the higher tiers | Application fee and excluded taxes; separate equipment prices |
| 123Loadboard | You want a monthly plan with a short trial and mileage tools | Smaller freight volume per FreightWaves; user limits not stated |
| TruckSmarter | You want a free starting point with in-app booking | Broker credit and rate data not described on the pricing page |
| Trucker Path | You want a free board with broker credit and route tools | Tier names and prices shift across the page |
| Uber Freight | You want instant booking on posted freight | Not a motor carrier; fee and payment terms not stated |
Screening loads before you pay for a second board
The daily friction for most owner-operators is not finding freight. It is sorting it: reading alarm emails, checking broker payment history, and deciding within minutes whether a rate is worth the miles. That sorting step is where a workflow can shorten the work.
A proposed, configurable workflow from US Tech Automations would start with a trigger: a load alarm email that matches a lane you set. DAT's pricing page lists load match and exact match alarms on its Standard plan. The action parses the origin, destination, equipment and posted rate into a shared sheet and flags any offer below a minimum rate per mile that the owner sets. The output is a one-line summary in a shared queue for the dispatcher. The prerequisites are an alarm feed the workflow can read, such as forwarded alarm emails, or a DAT API integration that needs developer-portal approval first. The human review point is firm: the owner approves or rejects every booking, and the workflow never accepts a load or sends a rate confirmation.
A second proposed workflow applies if the team already tracks brokers in HubSpot. HubSpot's webhook guide lists deal.propertyChange, which notifies you when a property you specify changes on any deal, and the subscription needs a property name and the crm.objects.deals.read scope. The design would have a broker reply update a custom reply-status property created in advance, fire the subscription, and create a task for the dispatcher while moving the deal to a review stage. Two checks stay in place: the owner confirms the broker's credit and days-to-pay fields before accepting any rate, and a test deal runs first, because the guide notes that some properties, such as hs_lastmodifieddate, cannot be used for property-change subscriptions.
The realistic alternative is stitching these steps together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building a script in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when you configure them. What the buyer still has to design and own is observability, idempotency (so a repeated alarm does not create two tasks), escalation when a step fails, access controls and ongoing maintenance. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure retry rules and an escalation path to the owner, and the owner would keep the booking decision. If someone on your team already maintains integrations, the DIY route may be cheaper to run; if no one does, the maintenance burden is the cost to price.
Worked example (illustrative, not a customer): suppose an owner-operator reads 60 alarm emails a week and spends about 3 minutes checking each broker and rate, which is 3 hours a week. A screen that drops 40 of the 60, about two in three, because the posted rate falls below a floor the owner sets, leaves 20 emails at about 1 hour a week, so 2 hours a week come back, or 8 hours in a four-week month. That only works if the alarm emails land in a mailbox the workflow can read and if the broker-credit check still runs on the 20 that remain. If the same owner tracks broker replies in HubSpot, a deal.propertyChange subscription on the reply-status property is the trigger, and the test deal should run for a full week before anyone relies on it.
Common mistakes to avoid
Buying the entry plan and assuming the rate tools come with it; check which tier adds the rate windows you need.
Comparing a per-user price with a per-plan price without counting the seats you will actually use.
Forgetting the fees and taxes that a pricing page excludes from its headline number.
Treating posted freight on a free board as if it were a broker-vetted booking.
Signing up without using the trial; the trial is the only test that shows whether a board's loads match your lanes.
Overlooking the dry-van and reefer variants that one pricing page lists separately.
Questions owner-operators ask
Which board should a solo owner-operator start with?
Start with the board whose entry plan covers the lanes you run and includes broker credit data, then test it for one month before you add a second. On the pages we opened, DAT's Standard plan lists broker credit data and 123Loadboard's carrier plans include a trial, so both are reasonable first tests.
Is a free load board enough?
A free board can be enough if brokers already send you freight and you need one more source of posted loads. The free boards on the pages we opened show fewer broker-vetting and rate tools than the paid tiers, so a free board alone leaves more of the accept-or-decline decision to you.
Do the free trials give enough time to judge a board?
123Loadboard lists a 5-day free trial on its carrier plans, which is short. Use the first days to test your real lanes and your real brokers rather than browsing the posted loads, and note which loads you would have booked.
Can I automate posting or booking through an API?
Not without approval. DAT's developer portal requires a user account, and access questions go to developersupport@dat.com, so plan for that lead time before you design anything around its API. Keep the first version of any workflow on exports or alarm emails, which need no approval.
Do I need automation at all?
Not always. If you book only a handful of loads a month, the board's own alerts and a shared sheet will do most of the work.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a custom workflow if your board's alerts already reach you in time, if you book a few loads a month through a single contracted account, or if no one on your team will review the output each day. In those cases a spreadsheet and the board's alerts are the simpler tool, and buying a second subscription to feed a workflow adds cost without a clear return.
Where to start
Pick the category first, then the board. For most owner-operators, the first month should answer one question: which board produced the loads you booked at a rate you accepted? Count those loads, keep your trial notes, and move to a paid tier only if the data changed a decision. If you want to see how US Tech Automations configures this kind of screen, see how US Tech Automations configures this. If your next question is dispatch rather than sourcing, the dispatch software guide covers that side.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.