Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best Material Ordering Software for Roofers: 5 Picks 2027

Oct 30, 2026

Where the order gets built

Most roofing firms shopping for material ordering software are really deciding where the order gets built. One option is a platform that pulls quantities from the estimate and sends the order to a distributor from inside the job record. The other is a supplier portal that someone logs into after the estimate is finished and types the quantities in again. The first saves re-keying, and the second is quicker to start but easier to get wrong.

Material ordering software turns a job's measured quantities into a supplier order, usually with that distributor's negotiated pricing and branch availability attached.

TL;DR: Pick the tool that connects to the exact branch you buy from, then favor the vendor that publishes enough pricing to model cost. Quote-based products can still be the right fit, but get API, QuickBooks and branch answers in writing before you sign.

Key Takeaways

  • Start with your branch. Roofr, AccuLynx, JobNimbus and Leap each name ABC Supply, SRS or QXO, but a national name does not guarantee that your branch account is connected.

  • Roofr and Leap publish plan prices. AccuLynx and JobNimbus are quote-based on their pricing pages, so their cost is a negotiation.

  • Supplier links are common in this group. The real difference is what returns to the office: order status, delivery dates and how a rejected line is handled.

  • JobNimbus's pricing page and a third-party report disagree on whether API access is included on every plan. Settle that before you plan any custom sync.

  • Zapier and Make can run a version of this workflow, but you own the duplicate-order protection, escalation and access control that a vendor bundles.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, trade press and integration documentation. We did not run any of these products. Every figure below comes from a page we opened and is cited where it appears, and anything we could not confirm is marked as unverified. Five products are scored because each has a public source naming a distributor connection: Roofr, AccuLynx, JobNimbus, Leap CRM and RoofLink. RoofIT appears in directory listings with supplier links, but we could not open an official vendor page with pricing or features, so it is not scored.

The weights below reflect how much each criterion changes the decision for a firm that orders from a distributor several times a week. Distributor connection carries the most weight because a tool that cannot reach your branch fails the core task, whatever else it does.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries that weight
Distributor connection depth (named suppliers, branch pricing, order submission)30%A tool that cannot reach your branch fails the core task
Order built from estimate or proposal quantities20%Re-keying quantities is where missing and duplicate lines start
Order status and exception handling15%Delivery dates and rejected lines decide whether crews are on time
Published pricing and total cost to run15%Quote-only pricing cannot be compared until a sales call
Accounting and API access for back-office sync10%Bills and job costs should reach the books without a manual step
Implementation effort and contract terms10%Setup time and one-year commitments change first-year cost

Weights sum to 100%.

Feature matrix: what each vendor states publicly

The matrix below is factual and reads only the pages we opened. "Not stated" means the page did not say so, not that the product lacks the feature. Estimate accuracy is a separate decision that this guide does not cover.

FeatureRoofrAccuLynxJobNimbusLeap CRMRoofLink
Named distributor linksABC Supply, SRS, QXOABC Supply, SRS, QXOABC Supply, QXO, SRSABC Supply, SRS (QXO not verified)SRS
Order placed inside the platformYesYesYesYesYes
Live supplier pricing shownYesYesNot statedYesYes
Order trackingNot statedYesNot statedYesYes
Published plan pricesYesNoNoYesNo official page found
API or webhooksNot statedNot statedListed as unlimited on pricing page; third-party report disagreesNot statedNot stated
QuickBooks syncBeta, appears on ScaleNot statedYesNot statedNot stated

Our read: AccuLynx's page describes order status in the most detail, including shipping and delivery dates and delay notices. Leap's ABC Supply integration is described as letting contractors "place tracked orders directly within Leap CRM," and RoofLink's report says contractors can "place and track material requests right in RoofLink without extra phone calls or duplicate entry." Roofr's pages do not describe order tracking in the pages we read, so ask about it directly before you assume it.

Pricing and total cost

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Only Roofr and Leap print plan prices on the pages we opened, so they are the only two you can model before a sales call.

Essentials plan on Roofr: $249/mo billed monthly according to Roofr (2026). On the same page, Starter is $0 a month, Scale is $349 a month billed monthly or $299 billed yearly, and a Roofr measurement report costs $13 on paid plans and $19 on Starter.

Roofr's card payments carry a 2.8% + 30¢ fee for Mastercard, Visa and Discover, and ACH payments carry 0.5% capped at $40, according to Roofr (2026). The same page says material estimates are included on Essentials and Scale and are a $5 add-on on Starter.

VendorPlanPublished priceBilling and inclusions
RoofrStarter$0/moFree plan; measurement reports $19 each
RoofrEssentials$249/mo billed monthly; $209/mo billed yearlyMeasurement reports $13 each on paid plans
RoofrScale$349/mo billed monthly; $299/mo billed yearlyMeasurement reports $13 each; QuickBooks sync listed as beta
Leap CRMEssential$79/moSingle user only
Leap CRMTeam$298/moFirst user included; $99/mo per added user
Leap CRMPremium$750/moSix users included
JobNimbusEssentials, Pro, Premium, EnterpriseQuote-based"Request pricing" on each tier
AccuLynxNo tiers publishedQuote-basedPricing page lists no prices or tiers
RoofLinkNot foundNo official pricing page foundExcluded from price comparison

The Roofr and Leap figures in this table come from their pricing pages. JobNimbus and AccuLynx publish no figures, and we could not open an official pricing page for RoofLink, so those rows say so.

Our read: The two priced models are shaped differently. Roofr says it charges no per-seat fees, while Leap's Team plan includes the first user and charges for each added user. Add measurement reports, processing fees and add-ons before you compare totals, because the subscription line alone understates what a busy office pays.

Vendor profiles: best fit and limits

Roofr

Best fit: a small roofing firm that wants measurement, proposals and distributor ordering in one tool, and that is comfortable on published monthly plans. Roofr says a connected ABC Supply account shows real-time material pricing before a proposal goes out. Digital Commerce 360 reports that Roofr sends SRS orders to a contractor's preferred branch with job details attached, and that SRS's network includes more than 430 locations, according to Digital Commerce 360 (2025).

Limits: the products page labels QuickBooks as beta and appears to include it only on Scale, though the table layout is unclear. Measurement reports are billed per report, and Starter buyers pay for material estimates as an add-on. Roofr is a poor fit if you need a per-seat model with QuickBooks sync live on a lower tier.

Implementation: connect the distributor account you already use. The QXO integration launched in June 2025, and trade coverage says Roofr orders go directly to QXO for fulfillment.

AccuLynx

Best fit: a firm that wants estimating, supplier ordering and delivery records in one job file. AccuLynx's material-ordering page says estimating templates pull supplier pricing and availability, that quantities and waste factors are calculated automatically, and that orders "can then be directly submitted to your supplier through AccuLynx." The page names ABC Supply, SRS and QXO.

Limits: AccuLynx's pricing page publishes no prices or named plan tiers, according to AccuLynx (2026), so the cost means a quote. The material-ordering page states no fee for the ordering integrations, which is a claim to confirm in writing.

Implementation: the Order Manager shows status updates, shipping and delivery dates and delays, and the page says a branch that cannot fill an order will contact you by phone or email. The Materials Report breaks out purchases by supplier, with quantities, colors and spend. The source is the AccuLynx material-ordering page.

JobNimbus

Best fit: a firm that wants CRM, production tracking, QuickBooks sync and supplier ordering in one system, and that will accept a sales-led contract. JobNimbus lists Essentials, Pro, Premium and Enterprise with a "Request pricing" button on each, and it publishes integration caps of 2 on Essentials, 5 on Pro and unlimited on Premium, plus 10, 30 and 100 active automations a month on the first three tiers, according to JobNimbus (2026).

Limits: every tier is quote-based. The integration caps conflict with a separate line that lists supplier integrations as unlimited on every plan, so ask which one applies. A third-party report says API access requires the top plan, while the official page lists API and webhooks as unlimited on all plans. JobNimbus's own support article says it "does not recommend building a custom API unless you have experience with coding" (JobNimbus support).

Implementation: get a written tier, integration count and API answer before signing. If your team plans its own sync, that support statement is the vendor's warning to take seriously.

Leap CRM

Best fit: a team that wants a CRM with a supplier link included on its Team plan. Trade coverage reports that the ABC Supply integration is "included at no additional charge for all customers in the Leap CRM Team plan," and that it lets contractors browse branch catalogs and place tracked orders, according to Roofing Contractor (2025).

Team plan on Leap: $298/mo for the first user according to Leap (2026). The same page lists the Essential plan at $79 a month for one user, Premium starting at $750 a month with six users, and says all plans are available on one-year contracts paid monthly.

Limits: Enterprise is contact-sales only, and the one-year contract is a commitment to weigh before you start. The trade coverage names no limitations, and the Beacon and QXO connections described in Leap's own promotional material are not verified on pages we opened.

Implementation: in Leap, open Settings, then Materials, choose Manage suppliers and activate SRS with your SRS account number, a previous invoice and the invoice date. The SRS setup page says supplier pricing changes from SRS flow into Leap automatically.

Best fit: a firm that wants SRS branch pricing and ordering inside a roofing platform. A trade report dated October 27, 2025 says contractors can see local SRS branch pricing and "place and track material requests right in RoofLink without extra phone calls or duplicate entry."

Limits: the report names no fees, no supported products and no confirmed SRS location coverage, and it describes pricing as customer-specific. We could not find an official RoofLink pricing page. Third-party listings show a per-user figure, but they disagree on which company it belongs to, so we leave that figure out.

Implementation: confirm which SRS branch will be linked and whether your negotiated rates display before you commit.

Who this is for

This guide fits a small roofing or exterior firm that orders from a national distributor several times a week and already keeps estimates in a CRM or estimating tool. It fits less well if you order only occasionally, because a supplier portal and a shared checklist can cost less to run than any subscription.

Red flags: your estimates still live on paper or in one person's spreadsheet; your branch is not connected to any supplier named here; or a vendor will not put a per-user price in writing before you commit.

SituationStart withWhy
You need published plan prices before any sales callRoofr or LeapBoth publish plan prices on their pricing pages
You want supplier ordering included in a Team-level CRM planLeapTrade coverage reports the ABC Supply link is included on the Team plan
You want estimating and delivery records in one job fileAccuLynxOrder Manager and Materials Report are described on its material-ordering page
You want CRM, production and QuickBooks in one system under a sales-led contractJobNimbusOfficial pricing page lists QuickBooks integration and tiered automations
Your crews buy from SRS and you want branch pricing inside a roofing platformRoofLink or RoofrBoth describe SRS branch pricing; confirm RoofLink's fees and coverage directly

Checklist before you sign

  • Ask for your branch by name. A distributor brand is not the same as a connected branch account, so confirm which account and which branch the integration uses.

  • Get a per-user price in writing that includes add-ons, per-report charges and processing fees.

  • Confirm API and webhook access for the exact plan you buy.

  • Ask how a rejected or partly filled line returns to the office and who owns it.

  • Confirm that QuickBooks sync is production-ready and not labeled beta.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing only the subscription and skipping measurement reports, payment fees and add-ons.

  • Assuming "integrated" means order status returns automatically. Ask which statuses sync.

  • Buying one supplier's tool when your crews order from two distributors.

Where a configurable US Tech Automations workflow fits

A back-office layer can sit between the estimate and the supplier order, and US Tech Automations can configure one as a proposed design. The workflow described here is a design to review, not a deployed setup, and it implies no customer result. Its trigger is an accepted proposal in the CRM, or a webhook for the material list attached to that job. Its action copies line items and quantities into a draft supplier order and applies the waste factor the estimator entered. Its output is a draft order plus a status note written back to the job record, with any SKU that does not match the distributor catalog flagged for a person rather than guessed.

Prerequisites are API or webhook access on the CRM plan you buy, a supplier account with branch pricing, and QuickBooks API access if bills should be created. The CRM access item is the one to settle first, for the JobNimbus reason above, and the pages we opened for Roofr and Leap do not publish a webhook event list. Human review points stay in place: an estimator approves quantities before anything is submitted, a purchasing lead approves any order routed for approval, and an accounts payable reviewer checks the supplier invoice before a bill is recorded.

Each run should write an order ID to the job, keep the trigger payload for audit, and place failures in a queue with a named owner. That queue is where the review points matter most, because a rejected supplier line goes to a person instead of being retried blindly.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

Skip a configured workflow if your distributor branch already has a native connection inside a CRM you already own, because a second system adds a maintenance job. Skip it if you order only occasionally and a supplier portal plus a checklist is simpler to run. Skip the US Tech Automations design too if your estimates do not live in a system that can send a material list at all, because the workflow would have nothing reliable to read.

Building it yourself in Zapier or Make

The real alternative for many buyers is a stitched build in Zapier or Make, or an in-house script. Both can do more than buyers assume once configured. Zapier's API outage page sets this rule: Auto-pause at 95% of runs in 7 days according to Zapier (2026), after which the Zap stays off until someone re-enables it. Zapier's throttle guidance adds that REST Hook triggers allow up to 10,000 requests in a 5-minute period, and that an integration can return a Retry-After header so retries land at a set time, according to Zapier (2026). Zapier's help center describes Zap history with the failing step and a Replay option once the cause is fixed. Make's help describes a Retry error handler that stores incomplete executions and enables automatic or manual retries, according to Make (2026).

So the fair comparison is this: those platforms can support run histories, retries and error branches when you configure them. You still design and own duplicate-order protection, so a retried order is not sent twice; escalation to a named person; access controls on supplier credentials; and maintenance when a distributor or CRM changes its interface. A configured US Tech Automations design would name those same owners and review points explicitly, and it would still need the same API prerequisites and a supplier account. Stitched tools are the better choice when order volume is low and one person can own the flow. A configured workflow is more useful when several people must sign off on failures.

A worked example with three estimators

Consider a hypothetical firm, not a real customer, with three estimators placing 40 supplier orders a month and re-keying each one into a distributor portal. Assume each re-key takes 15 minutes, which is our assumption and not a measurement. That is 600 minutes, or 10 hours, of duplicate entry each month, or about 3.3 hours per estimator, so check those assumptions against your own order log before you rely on them. If the CRM in question is HubSpot, its webhook reference lists ASSOCIATION_ADDED as the subscription action for association creation events, so a subscription on it could start a draft order when a material list is linked to a job, while the estimator still approves quantities before submission.

Frequently asked questions

Is material ordering software the same as a roofing CRM?

No. Most tools in this guide bundle both, so the first decision is which system holds the job record and the proposal, and the ordering module should read from that record rather than replace it.

Do Roofr, AccuLynx, JobNimbus and Leap all connect to ABC Supply?

Roofr, AccuLynx and Leap each describe an ABC Supply connection on a page we opened, and JobNimbus lists an ABC Supply integration page, but the depth varies, so ask for your branch by name.

Which vendors publish prices before a sales call?

Roofr and Leap publish plan prices on their pricing pages, and the figures are in the pricing section above. JobNimbus and AccuLynx route buyers to a quote, and we could not open an official pricing page for RoofLink.

Can I build this in Zapier or Make instead?

Yes, and both can keep run histories and retries when configured, but you own duplicate-order protection, escalation, credential access and ongoing maintenance.

What should a small firm check first?

Check the branch connection first, then a written per-user price, then API access for the plan you intend to buy.

Making the call

For most roofing firms in this comparison, the decision starts with the distributor branch you actually use, then the price model you can plan around. Roofr and Leap give you public plan prices to start from, and Leap's Team plan is where the ABC Supply link is described as included. JobNimbus and AccuLynx need a quote conversation first, so bring your branch, your monthly order count and your QuickBooks needs. If you later want a back-office layer that reads from the tool you pick, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a design to review before anything goes live.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.