Mobile Veterinarian Practice Software: 6 Options 2027
Key Takeaways
Decide the category first: a full clinical practice system with field features, or a field-service scheduler with invoicing. They solve different problems, and price comparisons only make sense after that choice.
Offline use is the claim to get in writing. None of the vendor pages we opened confirms that a field clinical workflow runs without a connection.
Published pricing is uneven. Some vendors show a starting price, some are quote-based on the pages we opened, and one profile here is unverified because its official pages would not open.
The invoicing test is whether a visit becomes a bill before the vet leaves the property, not whether the software has an invoice screen.
Clinical charting is a separate requirement. A field-service tool can run bookings and invoices and still lack SOAP notes or vaccination records.
Any automation layer sits above the system you pick. Drafting invoices or flagging failed reminders needs API or export access, a named reviewer and an exception queue.
Start with the category decision
Mobile veterinarian practice software is a practice-management system built around visits that happen away from a clinic, combining route-aware scheduling, visit records captured in the field, and invoices closed on site.
Two different products get searched under this phrase. The first is a full practice-management system with clinical charting, vaccination records, inventory and billing, plus field features such as multi-stop schedules and a mobile app. The second is a field-service scheduler with a fieldworker app, bookings and invoicing, which may not hold clinical records at all. If your vets write SOAP notes and track vaccines on every house call, a field-service tool is the wrong category even when its price is lower. If your main pain is missed bookings and late invoices, a full system may cost more than the problem warrants.
TL;DR: Choose the category that matches your clinical-records need, then confirm offline behavior, on-site invoicing and the per-seat basis in writing before you compare prices.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small veterinary business that runs house calls, farm or field visits, or a mix of clinic and field work, and that is close to choosing a system. It assumes you already know you need a practice system, not a website builder or a payment terminal.
Red flags: you need clinical charting and vaccine records in the first month, your field crew regularly has no signal and the vendor will not describe offline behavior, or your accounting system cannot take a draft invoice from the practice system.
How we evaluated these tools
We weighted six criteria toward the work a mobile practice does away from a clinic. We opened each vendor's official pages that our research could reach, and we used independent listings and trade press for context and tier names, not for prices. Where an official page would not open, we printed no price for that vendor. Shepherd is left out of the comparison because we could not locate its official site during research.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for a mobile practice |
|---|---|---|
| Field scheduling and routing | 25% | Multi-stop days and house-call routes decide whether bookings survive a busy day. |
| Offline or poor-signal behavior | 20% | A visit started without signal must still be recorded and closed later. |
| On-site invoicing and payments | 20% | Invoices closed before the vet leaves reduce late bills and missed charges. |
| Published pricing and pricing basis | 15% | Per-seat, per-vet and flat bases produce very different totals for the same team. |
| Accounting and messaging integration | 10% | Draft invoices and reminder failures need a path into accounting and phone follow-up. |
| Verifiable documentation | 10% | Claims we could open on a vendor's own page carry more weight than third-party listings. |
The weights are our judgment, not a survey result. Change them if your practice is mostly clinic-based.
The 2025 AVMA economic report, according to dvm360 (2025), says mobile practices grew the most while brick-and-mortar revenue took the biggest hit, though it gives no percentage for mobile growth. The report is based on 2024 survey data.
The six options, one at a time
Each profile covers best fit, limitations, implementation and the primary page we used. Prices appear only where a vendor's own pricing page showed them, and each one names its source.
DaySmart Vet
Best fit: a practice that wants one cloud system for schedules, records, invoices and payments, and can work with a quote on the vendor's own basis. The DaySmart Vet mobile page lists a "Mobile & House Call" practice type and says field teams can manage schedules, records and care from the field.
Starting price: $123 per month according to DaySmart Vet (2026). The page names no plans and does not say whether that figure is per user or flat, so ask for the basis in writing.
Limitations: the pricing page describes running on any device with a stable internet connection and does not mention offline use, so assume a connection is needed until the vendor says otherwise. It also mentions optional add-on costs without listing them, and larger practices are routed to custom pricing.
Implementation: ask for a written quote that names the users counted, the payment processing terms and the full add-on list. Neither page describes onboarding or data migration, so those terms belong in the same document.
ezyVet
Best fit: a practice that wants a full clinical system with a field workflow and accepts a quote for its scope. The ezyVet mobile page describes a scheduling section for multi-stop days, showing barn visits and yard calls in one view, with routes and schedules that update across devices as the day changes.
ezyVet's pricing page says you can get started for as little as $260.50 per month, that it integrates with more than 100 veterinary software solutions, and that corporate pricing is available on request, according to ezyVet (2026).
Limitations: the mobile page acknowledges unreliable connectivity and spotty connections but does not describe an offline mode. It points to the ezyVet Go app for logging in from the field, and the page does not say whether that app is included in a quote. The pricing page offers no free trial and invites visitors to take ezyVet for a test drive instead.
Implementation: ask for a field visit walkthrough that covers check-in, charting and invoice close, and get contract and training terms in writing. The FAQ on the pricing page, as captured in our research, had headings for contract and training costs with no answers under them.
OctopusPro
Best fit: a mobile practice that mainly needs booking, dispatch, a fieldworker app and invoicing, and that keeps clinical charting somewhere else. The OctopusPro veterinary page describes mobile vet visits, vaccinations, recurring appointments and invoicing in one system, plus route planning based on proximity.
OctopusPro's Starter plan costs $36.25 per month for one admin and one fieldworker, the Established plan charges $60 per admin seat and $6 per fieldworker seat each month, and the Unlimited Users plan has a $99 monthly platform fee with either $1 per booked job or 2% of monthly invoiced revenue, according to OctopusPro (2026). A branded mobile app is an add-on with a one-time US$2,500 build fee per platform, according to OctopusPro (2026).
Limitations: the vet page does not mention SOAP notes or vaccination record management, so clinical charting is a gap to verify. The Unlimited Users plan has a usage fee that is a real cost to model, and it requires your own Google Maps API key.
Implementation: the pricing page lists QuickBooks and Xero integrations. Confirm which invoice fields sync, and whether your plan includes the open REST API and webhooks that appear in the page's feature list for all three plans.
Digitail
Best fit, from third-party descriptions: a mobile-first clinical system with a named Mobile tier and room to grow into Growth features. The CostBench Digitail page lists four tiers, Mobile, Growth (Brick & Mortar), Growth AI and Enterprise, and marks Growth AI and Enterprise as contact-sales.
Verification gap: Digitail's official plans page returned an access error when we tried to open it, so we print no Digitail price here. The third-party figures we saw for Digitail disagree with each other, and we did not use them.
Limitations: the contents of each tier could not be read on the vendor's own page, so its field features are unverified in this guide. Ask which modules each tier includes before you compare it with the rest of this list.
Implementation: ask for a written quote per veterinarian, and confirm whether the Mobile tier covers offline use and house-call routing before you begin an evaluation.
AcuroVet
Best fit: a cloud practice system with patient medical records, telemedicine, billing and invoicing, for a team that wants to try it before committing. The AcuroVet pricing page says every plan comes with 14 days free, according to AcuroVet (2026).
The page shows no plan prices. Its one named plan, Enterprise, is handled by contact sales, so we list AcuroVet as quote-based.
Limitations: the page does not describe house-call routing or offline use, and it does not split features by plan. Third-party listings describe offline tablet apps for field data entry, which is worth testing, but we did not confirm that claim on the vendor's site.
Implementation: ask for a per-user quote and the exact scope of the tablet app in writing, including what data syncs when a visit is closed.
VaroVet
Best fit: a clinic-based team that wants published tiers, an audit log and an add-on payments option. The VaroVet pricing page is the most explicit of the six on price, but it is built around clinics and shows euro prices excluding VAT, with a USD option that carries no converted amounts. Its prices are set out in the pricing section below.
Limitations: the page does not describe house-call routing or offline use. Locations are limited by plan, with one on Basic and up to two on Professional, which matters if a van-based team counts as a separate site. The Desk add-on is priced per clinic, so a field team may not fit that unit.
Implementation: ask how the vendor treats a mobile team, whether vehicles or home visits count as locations, and whether payments can be added without the Desk add-on.
What each platform documents for field work
This matrix records only what the vendor pages we opened say. "Not described" means the page is silent, not that the feature is missing, so treat each gap as a question to put to the vendor.
| Vendor | Route or house-call scheduling | Offline use | On-site invoicing | Records from the field |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DaySmart Vet | Listed as a mobile and house-call practice type | Not described; cloud access stated | Charges captured in the moment, per its equine example | Records and notes reachable from the road |
| ezyVet | Multi-stop day view; routes update across devices | Not described; mentions the Go app | Charges added during the visit | Notes and charges captured on site |
| OctopusPro | Proximity-based route planning | Not described | In-app invoicing; QuickBooks and Xero | Visit notes and attachments; SOAP notes not mentioned |
| Digitail | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
| AcuroVet | Not described on pricing page | Not described on vendor page; third-party listings claim offline tablets | Billing and invoicing listed | Patient medical records listed |
| VaroVet | Not described | Not described | Payments add-on available | Clinical users and audit log listed |
The offline column is the one to press on hardest. A field crew with no signal finds that gap first, and the vendor's answer should be in writing before you sign. Digitail's row is blank for the same reason: its official page was not reachable, so nothing in that row is confirmed.
Pricing and cost for a two-vet field team
Pricing checked October 27, 2026. The scenario is a practice with two vets and three field staff, the same one used in the worked example below. Every figure here comes from a vendor pricing page cited in the profiles above, and totals are arithmetic on those published figures, not vendor quotes.
Basic plan: €69 per month for one clinical user and up to 300 visits a month, with Professional at €149 per month and three clinical users included, according to VaroVet (2026). The Professional plan adds €35 per extra clinical user, the payments add-on is 3% plus €0.30 per transaction with a €30 monthly platform fee, and Enterprise starts at €6,000 per year, according to VaroVet (2026).
| Vendor | Illustrative monthly cost | Illustrative annual cost |
|---|---|---|
| DaySmart Vet | $123 starting; basis not stated | Not computed |
| ezyVet | From $260.50 starting; scope not priced | Not computed |
| OctopusPro | $138 on Established (2 admin, 3 fieldworker seats) | $1,656 (12 × monthly) |
| VaroVet | €149 on Professional (2 clinical, 3 non-clinical users) | €1,788 (12 × monthly) |
| AcuroVet | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| Digitail | Not verified | Not verified |
ezyVet's line starts at $260.50 per month, but its scope is quote-based, so we do not total it. DaySmart's basis is not stated, so the $123 figure cannot be multiplied across a team without the vendor's answer. AcuroVet and Digitail are not computed because neither page gave a figure we could verify.
A per-seat plan and a flat plan can look cheap at two vets and expensive at eight. Model your own seat count before you compare totals.
Closing the gap between the visit and the invoice
The costliest gap in most mobile practices sits between the visit and the invoice. US Tech Automations can design a proposed workflow for that gap, configured on top of whichever practice system you choose, and it would not go live until you approve it. The trigger is a visit marked complete in the practice system. The action reads that visit's line items through the system's export or API and drafts an invoice in QuickBooks Online. The output is a draft invoice plus an exception list for visits with missing items. Prerequisites are API or export access in your plan, a QuickBooks connection and a mapping of service codes to income accounts. The review point is a staff member approving each draft before anything reaches a client, because a wrong service code on a house call becomes a wrong bill.
The second gap is failed client messages. A proposed US Tech Automations design would fire when a reminder sent through Twilio returns a status of failed or undelivered, read the error_code on that message, and send the visit to a front-desk call list. Twilio's Message resource documentation defines error_code as the error returned when the status is failed or undelivered. Prerequisites are a Twilio account, reminders that send through it, and a named owner for the call list. The review point is staff confirming the phone number on file before the next visit, not after it.
Zapier, Make and n8n can connect the same steps, and they can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way. What a stitched build leaves to you is the rest: idempotency, so a retried event does not create two invoices; escalation when a draft fails; role-based access; and ongoing maintenance when a vendor changes a field name. A proposed US Tech Automations design could specify those controls up front, such as a named review queue, an escalation rule for failed drafts and access limited by role, but it still depends on the same API access and a staff owner for the queue. Whichever route you choose, those controls are yours to test.
A two-vet practice, costed out
Take a hypothetical practice with two vets, three field technicians and 60 booked house calls a month. On OctopusPro's Established plan, two admin seats at $60 plus three fieldworker seats at $6 comes to $138 a month, while the Unlimited Users plan costs a $99 platform fee plus 60 booked jobs at $1 each, or $159 a month, so Established is cheaper at this size. If the practice sends one reminder per visit through Twilio, that is 60 messages a month, and a failed one carries a status of failed with an error_code on its message record, which a workflow can route to a call list instead of a missed visit. The math is illustrative and is not a quote from either vendor.
Decision checklist before you buy
Write down whether your records need SOAP notes and vaccine history on the road, and shortlist only systems that show them.
Ask each vendor, in writing, what happens to a visit started without signal and when it syncs.
Get the per-user or per-seat basis in writing, counting admin, fieldworker and non-clinical users.
Confirm whether the invoice closes on site and which fields sync to QuickBooks or Xero.
List what the quote includes: onboarding, migration, the mobile app and any add-on that the pricing page marks as optional.
Name the person who owns exceptions from any automation before you turn it on.
Mistakes that cost mobile practices money
Comparing starting prices without modeling the seat counts of the team you actually run.
Reading "mobile" in a feature list as proof of offline use.
Buying a field-service scheduler when the real gap is clinical charting.
Letting an automation send invoices or client messages with no review step.
Leaving data export and migration terms until after signing.
Who should pick which option
| Vendor | Choose it if | Verify before you sign |
|---|---|---|
| DaySmart Vet | You want one cloud system with payments and a house-call practice type | Offline behavior and whether the starting figure is per user |
| ezyVet | You want multi-stop day scheduling and on-site invoicing inside a full clinical system | Scope of the quote, whether the Go app is included, contract and training terms |
| OctopusPro | You mainly need booking, dispatch, a fieldworker app and invoicing | Clinical charting; the Unlimited plan's usage fee and Google Maps key |
| Digitail | You want a named Mobile tier and room to grow into AI and enterprise features | Current prices and tier contents, since the official page was not reachable |
| AcuroVet | You want patient records, telemedicine and billing with a 14-day trial before committing | Offline tablet app and per-user price, both unconfirmed on the vendor site |
| VaroVet | Your team is clinic-based and wants published euro tiers and an audit log | House-call and offline features, and whether a van counts as a location |
The table is a shortlist, not a ranking. Start with the category decision, then use the verification column as the first question you put to each vendor.
Questions buyers ask
Do these systems work without a signal?
No vendor page we opened confirms a full offline clinical workflow, so treat offline use as a question to answer in writing. The only offline claims in our research come from third-party listings for AcuroVet, and ezyVet's mobile page describes connectivity problems without describing an offline mode.
Is a field-service scheduler enough for a mobile vet?
It can be enough for bookings, dispatch and invoices, but not for clinical charting. OctopusPro's vet page does not mention SOAP notes or vaccination record management, so check that before you rely on it.
Which price should I compare first?
Compare the cost at your own seat counts, because the vendors use different bases. DaySmart Vet's basis is not stated, ezyVet's starting figure excludes scope, and two of OctopusPro's three plans charge per seat.
Do I need to replace my system to automate invoices?
Usually not. A workflow layer can sit above a system that already holds the visit record, as long as that system offers API or export access. Replacing a full system is a larger migration, and its terms belong in the quote.
How current are these prices?
They are the figures on the vendor pages we opened, checked October 27, 2026. Pricing pages change, so confirm them at the quote stage and get the basis of each figure in writing.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
Skip a workflow layer if your practice system already sends invoices and reminders correctly and your volume is low enough to check by hand, because a built-in invoice screen is simpler. Skip it if your current system has no API or export, since a workflow has nothing to read and the migration comes first. Skip it if your main gap is booking rather than billing, because a field-service scheduler such as OctopusPro's Starter plan lists bookings and invoicing in its feature set without an extra layer to run.
Bottom line
For most mobile practices, the order is the category first, then offline and invoicing terms in writing, then price at your own seat counts. If your team already keeps its records in a system, a proposed automation layer can close the visit-to-invoice gap with review points in place, and you can see how US Tech Automations configures this for the prerequisites in your stack.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.