Skip to content
AI & Automation

8 Best Multi-Client Payroll Software for Bookkeepers 2027

Oct 31, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Multi-client payroll software runs payroll for several employer clients from one login, so the tool you pick decides how cleanly each company stays separate.

  • Check three things first: one login for all clients, separate billing per client, and a named person who approves every run.

  • Patriot Software shows the lowest base fee among the vendor pages we could read, but base fees alone do not show what a client book costs.

  • Gusto's prices could not be read during this check, and Paychex prices are quote-based, so request written quotes from both.

  • Client-count discounts are common, but each vendor sets its own tiers and decides whether they cover the full bill.

  • A proposed workflow can flag payroll variances for review, but a bookkeeper still approves every run before anything reaches a ledger.

TL;DR: For most firms running payroll for several small clients, shortlist the tools that publish accountant or partner terms, request written quotes from the rest, and run the same two-client payroll on each shortlisted tool before you commit.

What multi-client payroll software is and why the choice matters

Multi-client payroll software is a payroll platform that lets one bookkeeping or accounting firm run, review and file payroll for several separate employer clients from one login, with each company's pay schedule, tax accounts and reports kept apart.

The category decision is about control, not feature count. Before you open any pricing page, answer three questions: does one login hold every client company, can each client be billed separately, and does a named person review each run before it is approved? A tool that answers yes to all three suits a firm that is still growing its client book. A tool that fails any of them creates review work that a monthly fee does not cover.

Who this is for: an owner or operations lead at a small accounting or bookkeeping business that runs payroll for several employers and is close to choosing one platform. A single employer with one in-house payroll is not the reader this guide serves.

Red flags: you run payroll for only one employer; nobody in the firm can approve each run before it goes out; your clients insist on holding their own bank and tax credentials for every change.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public information. We opened each vendor's pricing or product page where it was readable, a government page on deposit rules, and comparisons published by Patriot Software, a competitor that ranks itself first and is weighed accordingly. The weights below are our judgment for this decision, not a published vendor score.

CriterionWeightWhat we checked
Multi-client control25%One login for many companies, with separate billing and permissions per client
Filing and deposit coverage20%Whether deposit cadence and state filing are described, and who handles them
Published cost at bookkeeper scale20%Base fee and per-worker fee on the vendor's own pricing page
Accountant or partner terms15%Client-count discount tiers and whether they apply to the full bill
Ledger and export fit10%Whether exports or integrations connect to bookkeeping software
Support and implementation10%Support tiers and onboarding steps the vendor states

Multi-client control and filing coverage carry the most weight together, because an error that crosses client companies is slower to unwind than a monthly fee is to compare. Where a vendor did not publish a price, we write Quote-based or say the price was not read, and we print no estimate.

Feature matrix for bookkeepers

This matrix records only what the pages we opened state. "Not verified" means we did not find the point on a page we read, not that the vendor lacks it.

ToolPublic price on vendor pageAccountant or partner termsMulti-company login described
QuickBooksYesUsers included on each tier; partner pricing not listed on payroll pageNot verified for payroll
GustoNot read at checkPartner revenue share or discounts, per Patriot's guideDashboard for multiple clients, per Patriot's guide
RipplingNot read at checkPartner programs; partner pricing by callNot verified
OnPayYesPartner revenue share and client-count discountsNot verified
Patriot SoftwareYesPartner program pricing, shown behind a separate linkYes, one login for multiple businesses
CheckMarkYes, Business EditionAccountant discount that rises with client countYes, unlimited clients and companies
ADPQuote-basedNot described on vendor pageNot verified on vendor page
PaychexQuote-based, per a third-party reviewPartner Pro portal, per Patriot's guideMulti-client oversight, per Patriot's guide

The matrix removes tools quickly. A vendor with no public price and no described multi-company login should not receive your client list until it confirms both in writing. CheckMark's accountant terms are the most explicit on the pages we read, which makes them the easiest to model.

Accountant discount: 10% at 2 to 20 clients according to CheckMark (2026). The same page says each client is billed separately from the month it is added, which matters for a firm that onboards clients mid-year.

Pricing at bookkeeper scale

Pricing checked October 28, 2026. Figures below come only from vendor pricing pages we opened, and the paragraphs beneath the table cite each one. The 12-client column is our arithmetic on list prices for 12 clients and 96 employees paid once a month; it ignores add-ons, user limits and tier fit.

ToolListed base per monthPer worker per monthClient-count discount12 clients, 96 workers, list total
QuickBooks$88$6.50Not stated$1,680
GustoNot readNot readFrom 3 clients (per Patriot's guide)Not read
RipplingNot readNot readPartner pricing by callQuote-based
OnPay$49$610% to 20%$1,164
Patriot Software$17$4Partner discount by active clients (per Patriot's guide)$588
CheckMark$20$5Rises with client count$720
ADPQuote-basedQuote-basedUp to 6 months free for new sign-upsQuote-based
PaychexQuote-basedQuote-basedNot statedQuote-based

Lowest listed base fee we read: $17 a month plus $4 per worker according to Patriot Software (2026). The page pairs that list price with 50% off for three months and a 30-day free trial, so model the list rate, not the promotion, for a book you expect to keep.

On QuickBooks, the Simple Start plan lists $88 a month plus $6.50 per employee, and a 50% promotion for three months lowers the base to $44, according to Intuit (2026). Its Essentials tier includes 3 users and its Premium tier includes 5 users, which matters if a bookkeeping team shares one login.

The Payroll Essentials plan on OnPay lists $49 a month plus $6 per worker. Its partner program starts at a 15% base revenue share, with client discounts of 10% for one to two clients, 15% for three to 19 clients and 20% for 20 to 49 clients, according to OnPay (2026).

ADP's RUN page lists four tiers, each behind a Get pricing button, and promotes up to 6 months of payroll free for new sign-ups, according to ADP (2026).

Paychex's own pricing pages did not load during this check, and a third-party review reports that Paychex no longer publishes pricing publicly, according to SpotSaas (2026).

We could not read Gusto's public pricing page during this check, so this guide prints no Gusto price. Ask Gusto for a written quote built on your client count before you compare it with the rest of the table. We could not read Rippling's pricing during this check, so this guide prints no Rippling price; its total depends on products and headcount.

One firm's monthly math

Take a firm with 12 small clients and 96 employees in total, each paid once a month. Using the list prices above, Patriot's base of $17 plus $4 per worker gives 12 × $17 = $204 plus 96 × $4 = $384, or $588 a month. CheckMark's Business Edition at $20 plus $5 per employee gives $240 plus $480, or $720, and its accountant discount at 2 to 20 clients brings that to $648. On OnPay, the Payroll Essentials plan at $49 plus $6 per worker gives $588 plus $576, or $1,164, and its 15% tier for 3 to 19 clients would bring it to $989.40 if the discount covers the whole bill. On QuickBooks, the Simple Start plan at $88 plus $6.50 per employee gives $1,056 plus $624, or $1,680 at list. These totals are arithmetic, not quotes. The integration step adds a cost the table does not show: Gusto's reference documents a pay-periods operation for each company at the /v1/companies/{company_id}/pay_periods path, according to Gusto (2026), so a sync across 12 clients would make one such call per company each cycle, and access to that API depends on Gusto's partner terms.

Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence

QuickBooks Payroll

Best fit: firms whose bookkeeping already runs in QuickBooks and whose team fits the user count on the tier they choose. Limits: the payroll pricing page does not describe a client list or batch payroll, so verify both with Intuit before you rely on them. Implementation: map each client to its own company, confirm the user count on the chosen tier, and get the tax-filing terms in writing.

Gusto

Best fit: firms that want a broad payroll and HR suite and plan to use a partner program. Limits: Gusto's pricing and partner pages could not be read during this check. Patriot's guide, which competes with Gusto, says its discounts require at least 3 clients, support quality varies by tier and HR features may exceed what small clients need, according to Patriot Software (2026). Implementation: request a written partner quote, confirm the revenue-share or discount terms, and confirm the integrations you need with QuickBooks, Xero or FreshBooks.

Rippling

Best fit: firms whose clients want HR, IT and finance in one system and who will buy beyond payroll. Pricing: quote-based, because we could not read Rippling's pricing page during this check. Limits: payroll and other products are quote-based, the total depends on products and headcount, and partner pricing requires a call. The vendor page does not describe multi-entity features, so ask whether each client can sit in its own entity.

OnPay

Best fit: firms that want published per-worker pricing and a partner path that rewards client growth. Limits: discounts depend on client count, and HR and time tracking are priced separately on the vendor page. Patriot's guide describes multiple permission levels for clients and colleagues, which you should confirm directly. Implementation: get the partner terms in writing and check whether the discount applies to payroll fees only or to the full bill.

Patriot Software

Best fit: firms that want the lowest base fee among the pages we read and one login across several businesses, with unlimited users. Limits: Patriot publishes the guide that ranks it first, and that guide lists US-only payroll and a size limit on businesses, so weigh its ranking accordingly. Implementation: the partner rates sit behind a separate page, so request them before you model a book.

CheckMark

Best fit: firms with many client companies that want per-client billing and a discount that rises with client count. Limits: the accountant page describes ACH direct-deposit files and an employee self-service portal, but it does not describe integrations with third-party accounting or HR software. Implementation: confirm the ledger connection in writing before you commit, and ask how mid-year onboarding is billed.

ADP

Best fit: firms expecting larger client payrolls that need HR and compliance depth and can accept quote-based pricing. Limits: Patriot's comparison, which competes with ADP, calls its pricing not transparent and describes a free Accountant Connect console that the ADP page we read does not describe. Implementation: ask ADP for the Accountant Connect terms and a quote that separates recurring fees from setup and add-ons.

Paychex Flex

Best fit: firms that want full-service payroll with time tracking, benefits and retirement options in one platform. Limits: pricing is custom-quoted, and Patriot's guide says the interface can be complex. Implementation: request a quote that covers each client's pay frequency and states, and confirm whether the Partner Pro portal, which Patriot's guide describes for multi-client oversight, is included.

Choosing a tool, and where a simpler option wins

Use the table below to match a tool to your situation, then request written quotes from the two or three that fit.

ToolChoose it ifAvoid it if
QuickBooksYour bookkeeping already runs in QuickBooks and your team fits the user count on the tier you chooseYou need a published partner discount, which its payroll page does not list
GustoYou can get a written partner quote and expect your client count to qualify for its discountsYou need a published price before you shortlist
RipplingYour clients want HR, IT and finance in one system and you can accept quote-based totalsYou need a fixed published total before comparing
OnPayYou want published per-worker pricing and a partner path that rewards client growthYou need the partner discount confirmed for the full bill before you commit
Patriot SoftwareYou want the lowest base among the pages we read and one login across several businessesYou need partner rates before you have requested them
CheckMarkYou run many client companies and want a discount that rises with client countYour ledger connection is a hard requirement you cannot confirm in writing
ADPYou expect larger payrolls that need HR and compliance depth and accept quote-based pricingYou need a published price before comparing
PaychexYou want full-service payroll with time and benefits and will request a quoteYou need public prices to shortlist

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if you run payroll for two or three clients who all work from one vendor's standard reports, that vendor's own multi-client view is simpler than adding a review layer. The same holds if your clients need direct access to their own payroll accounts, because a shared workflow raises a permissions question you must settle first. Skip any configured workflow when you cannot get a clean export each month, because the review step depends on it.

Where the review work lands each month

The deposit cadence is the review step most firms underestimate. Monthly depositor cutoff: $50,000 or less in lookback taxes according to IRS (2026), and the IRS page we read was last reviewed October 14, 2026. Employers above that line follow a semiweekly schedule tied to paydays, so the bookkeeper should check each client's lookback total rather than assume one cadence for the whole book.

A proposed, configurable workflow from US Tech Automations could start when a client's pay period closes, which is the trigger. It would pull that client's payroll export from the payroll tool, which requires a report export or API access your payroll provider allows, and compare gross pay, employer tax totals and headcount with the prior period and with the client's time-tracking export. The output would be a variance sheet and a draft review note filed in that client's folder. The human review points stay fixed: a bookkeeper approves any variance above a threshold the firm sets, and nothing reaches the ledger without that approval.

Build or buy: a configured workflow or a stitched stack

The alternative most firms weigh is stitching this together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way, so a well-built stack is a fair option. The buyer still owns observability, idempotency so a rerun does not double-post, escalation, access controls and maintenance when a client changes states or an export format shifts. A US Tech Automations design could configure those pieces differently by defining the run log, retry rules and escalation queue before any client is connected. Its prerequisites would be the same exports, a named owner for the escalation queue, and a scheduled review of mapping rules.

Glossary for the payroll decision

  • Lookback period: the earlier window the IRS uses to set a client's deposit schedule.

  • Monthly depositor: an employer whose lookback taxes fall at or below the IRS threshold, with deposits due monthly.

  • Semiweekly depositor: an employer above that threshold, with deposit due dates tied to paydays.

  • Per-worker fee: the charge for each employee paid in a cycle, on top of any base fee.

  • Partner revenue share: a share of client fees paid to the firm that brings a client to the platform.

  • Accountant or partner portal: a single login that lists every client company the firm runs payroll for.

  • Pay period: the date range a payroll run covers, which an export or API call returns for each company.

Decision checklist before you request quotes

  • Count your clients, the employees in each, and the states each client files in.

  • Ask every vendor for a written quote built on your exact client list, not a per-employee rate.

  • Confirm whether a client-count discount applies to the full bill or only to base fees.

  • Confirm that each client can be billed separately and removed cleanly.

  • Confirm the export format and whether your bookkeeping ledger connects without custom work.

  • Name the person who approves each run and the variance level that triggers a review.

  • Run the same two-client payroll on each shortlisted tool before you commit.

Frequently asked questions

Which tool shows the lowest base fee on the pages we read?

Patriot's Basic Payroll plan shows the lowest base among the vendor pages we opened, and its price is cited in the pricing section above.

Do bookkeeper discounts apply automatically?

No, each vendor sets its own rules, so confirm the client-count threshold and whether the discount covers the full bill before you commit.

Does a multi-client tool handle deposit schedules for me?

Most pages we read do not describe deposit scheduling, so confirm it in writing, because the IRS sets the cadence from each client's lookback taxes.

Should I request quotes or sign up first?

Request written quotes first, because several vendors price payroll only on request and an early sign-up can lock in a plan before the client math is settled.

Can a workflow replace payroll software?

No, a workflow reviews exports and routes exceptions, while the payroll provider still runs payroll, files taxes and holds the accounts.

Making the call for your client mix

If you run payroll for several small clients on one login, shortlist the tools with published accountant or partner terms, request written quotes from Gusto, Paychex and ADP, and run the same two-client payroll on each shortlisted tool before you commit. If you want the variance review automated with a named human approver, see how US Tech Automations configures this for an export-based design, and keep the approval step with your bookkeepers.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.