Skip to content
AI & Automation

7 Best Multi-Location Vet Client Messaging Platforms 2027

Oct 30, 2026

Key Takeaways

TL;DR: Decide the category before you compare names. A messaging layer on top of a practice system you already run is a smaller change than moving every clinic to a new system, and a price comparison only holds for the category you pick.

  • Three of the seven vendors we checked print a starting figure on their own pricing pages: Weave, ezyVet, and Shepherd.

  • Shepherd is the only vendor here that prints both per-location and per-doctor prices, which makes its cost the easiest to model for a group.

  • Most of the other vendors quote multi-site pricing on request, so ask each one for a written quote built on your location and doctor counts.

  • Multi-site reporting is mostly described by vendors themselves, so get per-site routing, reporting, and opt-out handling in writing before you rely on it.

  • In a group, the failures that cost money are duplicate sends, wrong sender names, and opt-outs that do not carry across clinics, not the first message.

Pick the category before the vendor

A multi-location vet group client messaging platform is software that sends texts, emails, reminders, and booking prompts to clients of several clinics from shared templates, with routing and reporting broken out by location.

The shortlist splits into two categories. The first is a messaging layer that sits on the practice management system (PIMS) each clinic already runs. Weave, PetDesk, and Covetrus Comms fit here. Weave's pricing page lists veterinary among its integrations without naming the systems. PetDesk's multi-location guide says its messaging depends on a PIMS that works consistently across sites. Covetrus Comms is the most restrictive of the three, since its page names only Covetrus Pulse, Avimark, and ImproMed.

The second category is messaging inside a practice management system that the group would run as its core software. ezyVet, Shepherd, and Vetspire describe client communication as part of their own systems. VitusVet's pricing page lists messaging next to payments and reminders, but it does not say whether VitusVet replaces your PIMS, so ask before you compare.

The category decision controls migration cost. A layer keeps medical records and billing where they already are, while an all-in-one system moves the record of truth for every clinic at once.

Why multi-site groups buy differently

A tool that works for one clinic often breaks across three, because the failures come from differences between sites: different templates, different staff, different sender names, and different opt-out records. Ownership structure is part of why this matters.

Corporate share: about 30% of general practices according to PublicSource (2026), citing Brakke Consulting, which puts most general companion animal practices still under independent ownership. A practice-by-practice map from Orbital puts corporate ownership at roughly 25% of US practices, according to Orbital (2026). Specialty care is more consolidated: a 2025 analysis in Frontiers in Veterinary Science, which draws on a 2022 Brakke Consulting overview, puts corporate ownership at approximately 75% of specialty and emergency practices and 25% of primary care practices, according to Frontiers (2025).

Whatever the exact share, the practical point is the same. A multi-site group has to set message rules once and enforce them in every clinic, and an independent owner with one site rarely faces that problem.

How we evaluated these tools

The weighted criteria below decide the comparison. We checked each vendor's public product and pricing pages on October 26, 2026, along with the independent sources cited in this guide. We did not run trials, demos, or customer calls, so every claim is either something a public page states or a vendor claim we label as one. Where a pricing page shows no figure and points to a demo, we label the price Quote-based.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for a group
Multi-location controls (per-site routing, shared templates, group reporting)25%Decides whether one messaging standard holds across clinics.
Client messaging depth (two-way text, reminders, email, postcards, booking)20%Determines how many separate tools staff still juggle.
Practice system fit (named integration or built-in chart)20%Sets migration cost and what breaks if one clinic runs a different system.
Price transparency at group scale15%Printed per-site or per-doctor figures make a budget testable.
Consent and opt-out handling stated publicly10%Opt-outs are the highest-risk failure across sites. None of the seven pages we checked describes this in detail, so every vendor scores low here.
Implementation and onboarding terms stated publicly10%Onboarding cost and time land in year one.

These weights are our judgment, not an industry standard. If your group runs one practice system everywhere, raise the messaging depth weight. If your clinics run different systems, raise the practice system fit weight. We left Digitail out of the scored set because its pricing and home pages returned errors during our checks, so we cannot say what it costs or confirm its multi-site claims.

Feature matrix across the seven tools

The matrix uses only what each vendor's own pages state, plus one vendor-written guide. "Not stated" means the page we checked did not say, which is not the same as the feature being missing, so ask the vendor directly.

VendorTwo-way textingRemindersMulti-location statedPractice system linkPublished price
WeaveBulk texting by planVaccine reminders, vet onlyNot statedVeterinary integrations listed, systems not namedStarting figure printed
PetDeskTwo-way textingAutomated remindersSingle login, per-location reportingNeeds a PIMS that works consistently across sitesQuote-based
Covetrus CommsText, email, postcards, voiceAutomated texts, emails, postcardsNot statedPulse, Avimark, ImproMedQuote-based
VitusVetTwo-way texting, text to payService and refill remindersScales for practice groupsNot named on the pageQuote-based
ezyVetClient communications, no detailNot detailedCorporate groups on requestPractice system with IDEXX connectionsStarting figure printed
ShepherdTwo-way SMS and MMSAutomated reminders includedPer-location pricingAll-in-one practice softwareFull public model
VetspireEmail and text inside the patient chartIntegrated reminders and online bookingClient pricing tailored per clinicAll-in-one, chart-basedQuote-based

If reminders are your main concern, the vaccine reminder software guide covers reminder-only tools in more depth than this comparison does.

Pricing and total cost

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Only figures printed on each vendor's own pages appear in the table below, and vendors that print no figure are labeled Quote-based.

VendorPublished starting figureMulti-location pricingText messaging pricingPricing status
WeaveFrom $199 per monthNot stated on the pageBulk allotments by planStarting figure printed
PetDeskQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based
Covetrus CommsQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-basedDemo requested
VitusVetQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-based30 days free after a demo
ezyVetFrom $260.50 per monthCorporate groups on requestNot itemizedStarting figure printed
Shepherd$299 per month for one doctor with the payment option$249 per location, or $199 with the payment option$99 per 5,000 messagesFull public model
VetspireQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-basedDemo requested

Shepherd's pricing page is the most complete public model of the seven. Shepherd location fee: $249 per month according to Shepherd (2026), or $199 per location if all locations use the vendor's payment option, with $99 for each doctor in a multi-location group. The same page lists two-way texting at $99 per 5,000 messages and estimates that most clinics send under 2,000 messages a month. Enterprise groups get custom quotes.

ezyVet starting point: $260.50 per month according to ezyVet (2026). The page does not say what that base rate covers, and it puts corporate-group pricing behind a request, so a starting figure is not a group quote.

The table below applies Shepherd's published group rates to an illustrative group of three locations and six doctors. It is arithmetic, not a quote, and it does not describe any real customer.

Line itemCountUnit priceMonthly total
Location fees at full price3$249$747
Location fees with payment option3$199$597
Doctor seats6$99$594

Worked example: a three-location group with six doctors pays $747 for location fees at the full $249 rate and $594 for six doctor seats at $99 each, or $1,341 a month before any texting charges. With the $199 payment-option rate, the location fees drop to $597 and the monthly total to $1,191, a $150 difference that comes to $1,800 a year. Using the same arithmetic in a DIY stack, if messages go out through Twilio, each message record exposes messaging_service_sid and date_sent, and Twilio's status page names five message statuses according to Twilio (2026), so the log must keep both fields to show which location sent what.

Two costs sit outside these pages: payment processing where a platform handles card payments, and staff time to keep templates current across clinics. PetDesk's multi-location guide advises buyers to get quotes on both current and likely footprints, since vendors bill per location, per user, or per veterinarian, and that advice is a useful checklist even though the guide is vendor-written.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read of fit. The vendor data is what the linked page states, and the best fit and limitations are our analysis.

Weave

  • Vendor data: The pricing page prints one starting figure, Weave starting point: $199 per month according to Weave (2026), and does not say which plan it covers. Plans are named Pro, Elite, and Ultimate. Bulk-text allotments are 1,500 a month on Pro, 3,000 on Elite, and 15,000 on Ultimate, according to Weave (2026).

  • Our read, best fit: A group that wants a messaging layer on a PIMS it already runs, plus a printed starting figure to compare against.

  • Limitations: The page does not mention multi-location practices and does not name its PIMS integrations. Vaccine reminders are marked vet only, without tier details.

  • Implementation: Confirm the system integration and per-site sender setup in writing before you buy.

PetDesk

  • Vendor data: PetDesk's multi-location guide says it gives corporate managers visibility into all sites from a single login, with a centralized dashboard and per-location reporting. The same page says pricing is not publicly listed and requires a demo conversation.

  • Our read, best fit: A group that wants per-location reporting from one login and is ready to take a quote.

  • Limitations: The guide is vendor-written, and the platform depends on a PIMS that works consistently across sites.

  • Implementation: Ask for a quote built on your current location count and the count you expect in two years.

Covetrus Comms

  • Vendor data: Clients can choose text messages, email, postcards, or voice. Staff can send and receive texts, including images, from Covetrus Pulse, Avimark, or ImproMed. Pricing is not printed, and the page's call to action is a demo request. Source: the Covetrus Comms page. The page also carries a customer testimonial with appointment and revenue figures. We did not verify those figures and do not rely on them here.

  • Our read, best fit: Pulse, Avimark, or ImproMed groups that want multi-channel outreach from the system they already run.

  • Limitations: The page does not mention multi-location support, and the choice narrows to three named systems.

  • Implementation: Confirm that the integration is supported on each site's system version before you commit.

VitusVet

  • Vendor data: VitusVet lists no plan names or prices on the pages we checked. It offers a free trial for 30 days after a demo, according to VitusVet (2026). Messaging features include two-way texting, text to pay, service and refill reminders, and postcards.

  • Our read, best fit: A group that wants payments and reminders in one messaging workflow and a trial period before committing.

  • Limitations: Multi-location appears only as "scales" for practice groups. No per-site features are described.

  • Implementation: Ask whether VitusVet replaces your PIMS or works alongside it, since the page does not say.

ezyVet

  • Vendor data: The starting figure is covered above. The page lists cloud access, practice management tools, integrations, IDEXX diagnostic connections, updates, and support as general inclusions. It lists client communications among the functions the software manages.

  • Our read, best fit: A group ready to run records and billing in ezyVet and that will negotiate corporate pricing directly.

  • Limitations: The page does not explicitly mention multi-location practices, and corporate pricing is available only on request.

  • Implementation: Plan a full practice system migration, since the pricing page describes no migration path.

Shepherd

  • Vendor data: The Shepherd pricing page publishes one-doctor pricing, group pricing, texting, and the portal. Relief vets are a $99 monthly add-on. Technicians, client service staff, and managers get their own logins at no added cost. Automated reminders and the pet owner portal are included.

  • Our read, best fit: A group that wants pricing it can model per location and per doctor, and that is willing to run its practice on Shepherd's software.

  • Limitations: Texting is metered, so a high-volume group's costs rise with volume. Enterprise groups need a custom quote. The payment option changes the per-location price, so compare both versions before you decide.

  • Implementation: Price relief vet coverage into the doctor count, not as an afterthought.

Vetspire

  • Vendor data: Vetspire's features page describes messaging to clients and referring veterinarians from the patient chart, event-based admin triggers, automated reminders with online booking, and client pricing that can be adjusted by clinic. The page prints no prices and offers a demo request.

  • Our read, best fit: A group that wants messaging to live inside the patient record and clinic-specific client pricing.

  • Limitations: Tailored client pricing governs what clients pay, not what the group pays the vendor, so it does not reduce software cost. No prices are printed.

  • Implementation: Ask how records migrate if you are moving from another PIMS.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip it if you run a single clinic and your practice system's built-in messaging already covers reminders. Skip it if you only need a vendor-run broadcast service with no workflow logic. Skip it if you cannot export appointment or vaccination records from each clinic, because a workflow has nothing to trigger from. In those cases, a simpler product from the list above is the better fit.

Where text routing and reminders break down

The failures in a multi-site setup rarely show up on the first send. They show up when a retry sends a second reminder, when one clinic's reminder goes out under another clinic's sender name, or when a client opts out at one site and keeps receiving texts from another.

US Tech Automations can design a proposed reminder workflow for a group like this, though none of it is a live deployment. The trigger is a scheduled pull of upcoming vaccine due dates from each clinic's practice system export or API. The action maps each record to that location's sender identity and approved template, and the output is a batch placed in a review queue. Prerequisites are read access to each system's export, a consent and opt-out field on every client record, and a sender identity for each location. The human review point is a practice manager who approves each batch, and any message that is not a routine reminder goes to a person before it sends.

A proposed US Tech Automations design for missed appointments follows the same pattern. The trigger is a no-show status written back to the group's record, the action creates a follow-up task for that location's front desk and drafts a message from an approved template, and the output is a logged task with the template version attached. Prerequisites are status write-back or export, approved template text for each location, and a named owner for replies that mention complaints or medical questions. Front-desk staff confirm each follow-up before it sends, and complaints are routed to a person rather than answered automatically.

Zapier, Make, and n8n are a fair alternative here. When configured, they keep run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence, so a DIY build is not automatically weak. What the buyer still owns is idempotency, so a retry does not double-text a client, plus escalation paths, access controls across clinics, and maintenance when a PIMS export changes. A proposed US Tech Automations build could package routing, approval gates, and the audit view as configured parts of the workflow rather than custom code, but that still depends on the export and consent prerequisites above, and the group signs off on every template.

Who this is for

Who this is for: an owner or operations lead running more than one clinic who needs one messaging standard, a separate sender identity for each site, and a record of who approved each message. A single-clinic practice that only wants reminders can usually stay with its existing system's module.

Red flags: no one owns message approval at each site, your clinics cannot export appointment or vaccination records, or you expect a fixed price without giving location and doctor counts.

Common mistakes when buying

  • Comparing starting prices without the location and doctor counts behind them.

  • Assuming "multi-location" means shared templates. Many pages do not say so.

  • Buying a messaging tool before you confirm which practice system each clinic runs.

  • Skipping the opt-out test. Confirm that a client who opts out at one clinic is opted out everywhere.

  • Treating client-facing pricing features as software cost. Vetspire's clinic-specific client pricing sets what clients pay, not what the group pays the vendor.

Decision checklist

  • Confirm the category: a layer on your existing PIMS, or a full practice system switch.
  • Write down your location count, doctor count, and a two-year text volume estimate.
  • Get a written quote on that footprint from each shortlisted vendor.
  • Ask for per-site sender identity, template control, and reporting in writing.
  • Test opt-out handling across two sites before go-live.
  • Confirm the data export you need for any workflow you plan to build.

Frequently asked questions

Which platform has the lowest published starting figure?

Weave prints the lowest starting figure among the vendors that publish one, but its page does not say which plan it covers or how many locations it assumes.

Do these platforms report across locations?

PetDesk describes per-location reporting from one login, and Vetspire describes clinic-specific client pricing, but the other pages we checked do not describe multi-site reporting.

Do I need to replace my practice management software?

Not necessarily, since Weave, PetDesk, and Covetrus Comms are built to sit alongside a system you already run, though Covetrus Comms works only with the three systems its page names.

Texts to clients generally need prior consent and a working opt-out, and the rules differ for reminders and marketing messages, so confirm your process with counsel before you launch.

Can we build this in Zapier, Make, or n8n instead?

You can, and those tools can log runs and handle retries, but you must design idempotency, escalation, access controls, and upkeep yourself, and that upkeep is the main cost of a DIY build.

When is a messaging platform the wrong choice?

If one clinic only needs reminders, its existing practice system's module is usually simpler, and a shared inbox may be all you need.

Next step on the shortlist

Start with the category decision, then ask two or three vendors that fit it for a written quote on your location and doctor counts, your practice system versions, and your consent process. Those three inputs decide most of the cost differences in this guide. To see how a configurable workflow would handle routing and approvals for a group like yours, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.