Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best On-Site Payment Software for HVAC in 2027: 8 Picks

Oct 30, 2026

Pick the category before the brand

If you are searching for the best on-site payment software for HVAC technicians, the first decision is the category, not the vendor. On-site payment software is the part of a tool that lets a technician take a card, bank payment or invoice payment at the job and attaches that payment to the job record. Payments-first products such as Square are built around that single step. Field service platforms such as Housecall Pro, Jobber, FieldEdge, Service Fusion and ServiceTitan also own the schedule, estimate and invoice, so the payment lands where the office already works.

Our recommendation is simple. If your office needs scheduling, estimates and invoices in one place, choose a field platform whose in-person payments sit inside the job record. If you only need to take cards at the door and your invoicing already works, a payments-first product is cheaper to start and simpler to run. The mistake to avoid is mixing the two without an export plan.

TL;DR: Among the field platforms checked, Jobber and Housecall Pro print processing rates on their pricing pages, Jobber alone prints an in-person Tap to Pay rate, and ServiceTitan, FieldEdge and Workiz publish no plan prices.

Key Takeaways

  • Choose a field platform when scheduling, estimates and invoices must sit in the same record as the card payment.

  • Choose a payments-first product when you only need to take cards at the door and your invoicing already runs elsewhere.

  • Jobber is the only field platform checked whose pricing page prints an in-person Tap to Pay rate.

  • ServiceTitan, FieldEdge and Workiz publish no plan prices, so get a written quote that lists users, processing and readers before you compare budgets.

  • A DIY stack in Zapier, Make or n8n can work, but the buyer owns retries, duplicate-event protection, access control and maintenance.

  • Confirm reader hardware, processing rate and accounting sync in writing, because several pricing pages leave them out.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pricing pages and two third-party review pages, all opened on October 26, 2026. We did not run any product or measure any payment, and every figure in the sections below comes from a page named in the text or is arithmetic on those figures.

The weights favor the moment the card is taken, because money collected at the job is the outcome the reader is buying. Published pricing carries 15% because a quote-only tool cannot be budgeted until a sales process ends. Accounting sync and reconciliation carry 20% because payments that do not match invoices create cleanup on every affected job. These weights are our judgment, not a vendor ranking.

Table 1 sets out the weighted criteria.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters
Card taken on the job25%The payment must happen before the technician leaves the site
Published pricing you can check15%Quote-only tools need a sales cycle before a budget is set; 3 of the 8 products are quote-only
Accounting sync and reconciliation20%Payments that do not match invoices create cleanup on every affected job
Total cost per technician20%Plan price, user count and processing rate decide the real cost, shown in the 12-job example below
Reader or phone hardware stated10%A physical reader is a per-technician purchase unless the phone takes the card
Fit for shop size and rollout10%Large rollouts need an implementation budget and a named owner

The review sites were a secondary check, not a scoring input. Their scores appear in a benchmark table later in this guide, and neither one replaces the pricing check.

Who this is for

  • Owners who want scheduling, estimates, invoices and card payments in one tool: start with Housecall Pro, Jobber, Service Fusion or FieldEdge, then compare their exports.

  • Owners who only need the card taken at the door: a payments-first product such as Square is the simplest starting point, and its Terminal is a hardware purchase.

  • Owners who expect a formal implementation project: consider FieldBoss, ServiceTitan or FieldEdge, but only after a written quote. FieldBoss's mobile user license: from $90 per user monthly according to FieldBoss (2026), and its pricing page lists one-time implementation fees separately.

Red flags: you need a published price before any sales call, which means ServiceTitan, FieldEdge and Workiz each need a quote first; you want a reader-only purchase but also need dispatch; or your accounting package cannot take a payment export.

If your next question is how to price the job before the truck rolls, the plumbing estimating comparison covers that separate decision.

What each vendor publishes

The matrix separates what each pricing page states from what we could not find there. "Not checked" means the page we opened did not say so; it does not mean the product lacks the feature.

VendorOn-site card methodReader hardwareInvoice and online paymentAccounting sync
Housecall ProTap to Pay add-on, no price shownNot statedBasic includes online booking and paymentsQuickBooks Online on Essentials and Max
JobberTap to Pay in the app, no extra hardware neededNot required, per the pageOnline card and ACH bank paymentsNot checked
Service FusionPayments "in the field," per the FAQNot mentionedIntegrated Payments on all plansNot checked
FieldEdgeTechnicians collect payments on-siteNot mentionedIntegrated Payments on all plansNot checked
ServiceTitanPayments and financing listed; method not describedNot statedPayments listed under a pay-and-get-paid menuNot checked
WorkizTap to pay on all plansCard readers sold separatelyOnline payments and estimate depositsNot checked
FieldBossNot mentioned on the pricing pageNot mentionedNot mentionedNot checked
SquareCard-present rates listed by tierTerminal hardware soldNot checkedNot checked

Our analysis: Housecall Pro's pricing page names the plan tier that includes QuickBooks Online sync, which makes it the easiest of these to verify before signing. ServiceTitan's and FieldBoss's pages do not describe an in-field card method at all, so a live card test is the first thing to run in any demo. Square and Jobber are the two that publish in-person card rates on the pages we opened.

What it costs per technician

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Table 3 lists prices as printed on each vendor's page, and the last column links that page.

VendorPlanPublished priceUsers or licensesProcessing shownSource
Housecall ProBasic$79/mo monthly; $59/mo billed annually1 userAs low as 2.59%Housecall Pro pricing
Housecall ProEssentials$189/mo monthly; $149/mo billed annually5 usersAs low as 2.59%Housecall Pro pricing
Housecall ProMax$329/mo monthly; $299/mo billed annually8 users; $35/mo each extraAs low as 2.59%Housecall Pro pricing
JobberCore$49/mo list; $21/mo annual prepaid1 userTap to Pay 2.7% + 30¢Jobber pricing
Service FusionStarter$208/mo billed annuallyUnlimitedNot statedService Fusion pricing
SquareTerminal hardwareOne-time purchase, or monthly installmentsNot applicable2.6% + 15¢ in-personSquare Terminal, Square fees
FieldBossMobile user licenseFrom $90 per user per monthPer userNot statedFieldBoss pricing
FieldEdgeSelect, Premier, EliteQuote-based2, 4 or 6 mobile licensesNot statedFieldEdge pricing
ServiceTitanStarter, Essentials, The WorksQuote-basedPer technicianNot statedServiceTitan pricing
WorkizStandard, Pro, UltimateQuote-basedNot statedNot statedWorkiz pricing

These are list prices, not totals. They exclude processing on your card mix, add-ons, reader hardware the page does not price, and any implementation fee. Compare the processing rate with the share of invoices your technicians collect by card on site.

The entry point on Housecall Pro is the Basic plan at Basic plan: $59/mo billed annually according to Housecall Pro (2026). It covers one user and includes scheduling, estimates, online booking and payments, but QuickBooks sync appears only on the higher tiers.

For Square, In-person rate: 2.6% + 15¢ per payment according to Square (2026) is the top rate on Square's fee page, which also lists lower in-person tiers without tying them to plans. Terminal hardware: sold as a purchase, with monthly installments according to Square (2026) means the reader is a purchase, not a subscription line.

ServiceTitan, FieldEdge and Workiz show no plan prices. ServiceTitan's pricing page says its per-technician pricing "is designed to fit your business and goals, at any size," according to ServiceTitan (2026). The Workiz pricing page asks for pricing on each of its three plans and says card readers are sold separately. FieldEdge's page says pricing can vary with team size and add-ons.

Worked example, illustrative only: take a three-technician shop that collects cards on site for 12 completed jobs a week at an average $400 ticket. At the Jobber Tap to Pay rate of 2.7% + 30¢, each ticket costs $11.10 in processing ($400 × 2.7% is $10.80, plus $0.30), so 12 tickets cost $133.20 a week. At Square's top listed in-person rate of 2.6% + 15¢, each ticket costs 55¢ less than at the Jobber rate, so 12 tickets cost 12 × 55¢ less a week. The gap is $6.60 a week, or $343.20 across 52 weeks, before any plan fee or reader cost. The rate is not the whole decision, though: a Square-based setup still needs a link between each payment and its job, and Square's webhook reference lists events such as terminal.checkout.updated that a bookkeeping flow would have to subscribe to and match to job numbers.

Vendor profiles: fit, limits and rollout

Each profile gives the best fit, the limit we found on the pages opened, and the rollout check to run before signing. The facts come from the linked pages; the fit and rollout lines are our analysis.

Housecall Pro

Best fit: a shop that wants scheduling, estimates, online booking and card payments in one tool and accepts a per-user tier. The Basic plan covers one user, so a second technician means moving up. Tap to Pay is listed as an add-on for taking card payments on a phone without a reader, but the page gives no price for it. The processing rate appears only as "as low as" a figure, which is a floor rather than a rate for your card mix. Rollout: confirm which tier includes QuickBooks Online sync, and whether the open API access listed on the Max plan is needed for any export.

Jobber

Best fit: a small crew or owner-operator who wants to take a card in the app with no separate reader. The page says Tap to Pay needs "no extra hardware," and it is included on the Core plan. Tap to Pay rate on the Jobber page: 2.7% + 30¢ per payment according to Jobber (2026). Online card invoices and bank payments carry separate rates on the same page, and instant payouts add a fee, so read the full schedule before you compare totals. Limits: the Core plan covers one user, and higher plans price extra users separately. Rollout: verify accounting sync for the tier you choose, because we did not confirm QuickBooks sync on the pages opened.

Service Fusion

Best fit: shops that want unlimited users on a month-to-month contract with a built-in payment gateway for invoices. The Starter plan on Service Fusion is $208 per month billed annually, according to Service Fusion (2026), and the page says annual billing saves 15%. Limits: the page does not state processing fees or card-reader hardware. Its FAQ says the payment service works "on the web and in the field," which is a claim to test on a live job before you buy. The page also shows a second price set without a billing label, which we did not use. Rollout: ask for the processing schedule and reader options in writing.

FieldEdge

Best fit: shops that want technicians to collect payments on site inside a field platform, with several mobile licenses under one plan. FieldEdge's Select, Premier and Elite plans include 2, 4 and 6 mobile app licenses, according to FieldEdge (2026), and each plan includes Integrated Payments. Limits: no plan prices are published, pricing can vary with team size and add-ons, and neither card readers nor processing fees are mentioned. Rollout: ask for a written quote that names the processing rate and any reader purchase, and confirm the downgrade rule, which the page says takes effect at the end of the contract period.

ServiceTitan

Best fit: operations that will run a formal sales evaluation and budget for onboarding, because pricing is per technician and set through a quote. Its pricing page lists Starter, Essentials and The Works packages, and a menu that includes payments, integrated financing and accounts payable, but it does not describe how a card is taken in the field. Limits: no price is published, so any cost comparison depends on a quote. Rollout: ask for the in-field payment flow in a live demonstration using your own technician and a real card, and get the processing rate in writing.

Workiz

Best fit: owner-operators and small shops that want tap to pay, online payments, estimate deposits and consumer financing across three plan levels. The pricing page lists Standard, Pro and Ultimate with a request-pricing option on each, and it says card readers are sold separately. Limits: no plan prices or processing fees are printed, so the reader cost stays unknown until a quote arrives. Rollout: request one written quote that covers the plan, the readers and the processing schedule, then run a card test at a job.

FieldBoss

Best fit: larger shops with a formal implementation project and a back-office license need. The mobile license price is in the "Who this is for" section above. The pricing page lists one-time implementation fees by onboarding plan (Rapid, Complete and Enterprise) and uses a "Get Quote" button for each. Limits: the page does not mention card readers, on-site payments or processing fees, so payments are the part to verify before any contract. Rollout: ask whether payments are in the implementation scope and get that answer in writing before the project starts.

Square

Best fit: owners who need the card taken at the door and already run invoicing and bookkeeping elsewhere. The Terminal is a hardware purchase, and the fee page lists in-person rates by tier, so the decision turns on the hardware and the rate your account receives. Limits: a payments-first product does not replace scheduling, estimates or dispatch, and the fee page does not say which tier a given business gets. Rollout: confirm the in-person rate your account would receive before you compare it with a field platform's rate in the worked example above.

Independent review scores, read with care

FieldServiceSoftware.io scores FieldBoss at 8.7 out of 10 and FieldEdge at 8.6, according to FieldServiceSoftware.io (last reviewed September 28, 2026). SelectHub's field service page scores ServiceTitan at 85 out of 100 and Jobber at 74, according to SelectHub (page undated, opened October 26, 2026).

Table 4 puts the two score sets side by side.

VendorFieldServiceSoftware.io score (out of 10)SelectHub score (out of 100)
FieldBoss8.7Not in part read
FieldEdge8.6Not in part read
Housecall Pro8.370
Jobber7.874
Service Fusion7.777
ServiceTitan7.685
WorkizNot listedNot in part read
SquareNot listedNot in part read

FieldServiceSoftware.io says affiliate links, where present, do not change ranking. SelectHub says vendors cannot pay to rank or influence their position. Neither page tests a card taken on a job, and both scores measure whole field service software rather than payments. Use them to shortlist, not to choose. The two sites also order the same vendors differently, which is a reason to rely on the pricing pages instead.

Closing the loop after the technician leaves

Much of the pain sits after the truck leaves: payments that do not match invoices, declined cards that nobody follows up, and deposits that never reach the books. The two workflows below are proposed designs, not live deployments, and each names its prerequisites and the person who reviews it.

US Tech Automations could configure a proposed reconciliation workflow, which is a design to review, not a running system. The trigger is a job marked complete in the field platform. The action pulls the invoice and payment records through that platform's export or API and matches each payment to its job number. The output is a daily exception list of jobs with an invoice but no payment, or a payment that differs from the invoice total, sent to the office manager. Prerequisites are API or export access on the plan you buy, which Housecall Pro's pricing page ties to open API access on its Max plan, and a verified connection to your accounting package. The human review step is a named office person who approves every refund, partial payment or adjustment before anything posts to the books.

A second proposed workflow starts from a card-terminal event instead of the books. Square's webhook reference lists terminal.checkout.updated, and its webhook overview says delivery retries stop at roughly one day after the original event. A configured flow could subscribe to that event, write a status note to the job when a checkout fails or is cancelled, and create a task for the dispatcher. Prerequisites are a webhook endpoint you host, signature checking you build and test, and a plan for events that arrive late. US Tech Automations would configure the review step so that a dispatcher decides whether the technician re-runs the card, collects another way or books a return visit.

The DIY route is real. Zapier, Make and n8n can run flows like these, and when they are configured they keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence. The buyer still has to design and own duplicate-event protection so a repeated event does not post a payment twice, escalation to a named person, access controls for bank and customer data, and upkeep when a vendor changes its API. US Tech Automations would typically configure those same pieces, but only after the prerequisites are in place: API credentials, a test account, a named owner for exceptions and human approval before anything posts.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip it if your field platform already sends a daily payment report your bookkeeper trusts, because a second layer is one more process to maintain. Skip it if one technician only needs to take cards at the door, where a payments-first terminal or the platform's own Tap to Pay is simpler. Skip it if you have not chosen a field platform yet, because the export or API you can reach decides the design.

Common mistakes buyers make

  • Comparing plan prices and ignoring the processing rate that applies to your card mix.

  • Treating an "as low as" figure as the rate your account will receive.

  • Settling the reader question before the first card has been run on a real job.

  • Buying a payments-first terminal for a shop that also needs dispatch and estimates.

  • Leaving accounting sync for after signing.

  • Accepting a quote that does not list the reader price, the implementation scope or the users it covers.

Questions buyers ask before signing

Is Tap to Pay enough for an HVAC technician?

For one technician taking cards at the door, Tap to Pay on a phone is enough on the pages checked because it removes the reader purchase. Confirm the processing rate and that each payment posts to the same job record.

Do I need a separate card reader if the field app takes cards?

Often no, because Jobber's pricing page says Tap to Pay needs no extra hardware. A shop that wants a physical reader should price that separately, since Workiz's page says card readers are sold separately.

Which in-person rate is lower, Jobber's or Square's?

On the rates printed, Square's top in-person rate of 2.6% + 15¢ is below Jobber's Tap to Pay rate of 2.7% + 30¢, but that compares processing only, not scheduling, estimates or invoices.

Are these prices final?

No. They are list prices as printed on the pages opened October 26, 2026, and each quote-based vendor sets its own price after a sales conversation.

Can a payments-first product replace field service software?

Not for scheduling, estimates or dispatch. A payments-first product covers the card and invoice step, so it works best beside an office system you already trust.

Before you sign

Before you sign, get a written quote that lists the plan, the users it covers, the processing rate, the reader hardware, the accounting sync and the export you will use for reconciliation. Then run one real card through one real job before you roll the tool out to the whole crew. If you want to see how a reconciliation or exception workflow could be configured for your current software, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.