Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Best Patient Portal Software for Independent Clinics 2027

Oct 31, 2026

Pick the category before you compare vendors

A patient portal is the login-protected part of a clinic's software where patients message the practice, complete forms, book visits and view parts of their record. For an independent clinic the first decision is structural: either the portal comes with the practice system you already run, or you buy it as a separate product and connect it to your schedule and chart. The bundled option is usually simpler to maintain, while a standalone portal can suit a clinic that wants one specific workflow and accepts an integration to keep working.

TL;DR: If you already run a practice management system, check its portal before anything else, because a standalone portal adds a second login, a second bill and an integration you must maintain. If you do not run one, shortlist vendors that publish prices and list the portal in every plan, then request written quotes from the rest.

The need is widespread. Primary care portal offered: 68% of individuals in 2024 according to ASTP/ONC (2025). That figure describes patients rather than clinics, but it tells you that the people you serve already use portals elsewhere and will expect yours to work.

Key Takeaways

  • Start with the portal inside your current system of record. A standalone portal is one more product to log into, pay for and integrate.

  • Three of the six vendors profiled here publish plan prices on their own pages. DrChrono and Elation Health require a quote for every plan, and Tebra's plans are quote-based too.

  • Confirm portal inclusion plan by plan. Several pages list the portal broadly without showing which tier includes it.

  • Total cost depends on add-ons. Team seats, compliance modules and billing fees often sit outside the headline plan price.

  • Ask for API, webhook or export access in writing before you plan any automation around the portal.

  • Shortlist two vendors, then test each demo with one real intake form and one real cancellation.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's comparison built from public vendor pages and independent sources. It is not a hands-on trial, and none of the figures below come from a test we ran. Each vendor was scored against the same weighted criteria, shown in the table, and the weights are our judgment about what matters to a small clinic buying a portal.

CriterionWeightScaleWhy it matters
Portal scope in the published plan25%0–5Messaging, forms, booking and record access are the jobs a portal has to do.
Price transparency and entry cost20%0–5A vendor that publishes plan prices lets you budget before a sales call.
Fit for a small team20%0–5Seat, practitioner and client-count rules decide whether a plan stays affordable as you hire.
Workflow prerequisites15%0–5Integration, export and API access determine what you can automate later.
Specialty fit10%0–5Medical, allied health and therapy clinics have different intake and billing needs.
Independent evidence10%0–5Government data and KLAS research show what buyers report, apart from vendor claims.

The weights are our analysis, not vendor data. Everything in the sections below is labeled either as factual data from a page or as our analysis of that data. Several vendor pages returned access errors when we tried to open them, including athenahealth's pricing and product pages, so we profile only the vendors whose pages we could read. The athenaOne gap is explained near the end.

Patient behavior also shapes the portal-scope criterion. Multiple portals: 59% of individuals in 2024 according to ASTP/ONC (2025). Many patients already juggle more than one portal, so a clinic portal should be judged on how cleanly it fits into that mix, not only on its own feature list.

What each portal lists on its published pages

These are the factual data points from each vendor's pricing or product page. "Not confirmed" means the page we could read did not show whether that item is included in each plan.

VendorPlans listedPortal listingOnline bookingPrice status
DrChrono3"Patient Portal + App" under practice management on each plan, with inclusion inferred from the listingNot confirmedQuote-based
Healthie4"Client portal" included in all four plansNot confirmedPublished
Tebra5"Patient Portal" included in four bundles, not in Patient Experience + MarketingNot confirmedQuote-based plans, published add-ons
Elation HealthNot namedPatient Portal under Patient EngagementNot confirmedQuote-based
Jane3"Secure Client Portal" listed, with per-plan inclusion not confirmedIncluded in every planPublished
SimplePractice3Client portal linked from the site, with plan inclusion not statedNot confirmedPublished

Our analysis: Healthie is the clearest on portal inclusion because its page lists the client portal in every plan. Jane is the clearest on booking. DrChrono and Tebra present the portal as part of a larger EHR contract, which is a strength only if you want that EHR. For SimplePractice, the portal is the core product for therapy practices, so the missing per-plan detail matters more there than it does for a general medical clinic.

Published prices and what they leave out

The table lists only figures we read on each vendor's own pricing page. Where a vendor publishes no plan prices, the table says so.

VendorPublished prices and feesPlans with a published pricePricing status
HealthieCore $18, Essentials $45, Plus $115, Group $135 per month billed annually; extra team members $50 per clinician per month; according to Healthie4Published
JaneBalance $59, Practice $79, Thrive $99 per month; insurance billing $20 per month on Practice and Thrive; according to Jane3Published
SimplePracticeStarter $49, Essential $79, Plus $99 per month billed monthly after a three-month introductory rate, according to SimplePractice3Published
TebraPlans quote-based; EPCS setup about $75 per provider one time; PDMP integration $500 per facility plus about $50 per user per year, according to Tebra0Plans quote-based, add-ons published
DrChronoQuote-based for 3 plans, according to DrChrono0Quote-based
Elation HealthQuote-based for all plans, according to Elation Health0Quote-based

Pricing checked October 27, 2026.

Our analysis: a published headline price is a starting point, not a total. Healthie's page charges additional team members separately, and its monthly figures differ between the plan cards and the comparison table, so the annual figures are the cleaner comparison. Jane's insurance billing is an add-on on its two higher plans, and its entry plan caps appointments per month. Tebra's compliance modules carry their own one-time and recurring fees, which means a quote for Tebra should list each module separately. For a three-clinician practice, start with the plan you need, add the seats, then add billing and compliance modules, then compare that total with what you already pay for the system you would replace.

Vendor profiles: fit, limits and evidence

VendorBest fitMain limitChoose it if
DrChronoTeams that want EHR and portal in one quoted contractNo published plan pricesYou can get written scope and a quote before you shortlist
HealthieMulti-clinician practices that want portal, scheduling and billing tools togetherLower tiers cap active clientsYour active-client count fits a tier you have confirmed in writing
JaneAllied health and clinic-based therapy with booking and insurance billingPer-plan portal inclusion not confirmedBooking and billing matter more than EHR depth
SimplePracticeTherapy and counseling practicesPer-plan portal inclusion not statedClient messaging and scheduling are your core needs
TebraMedical practices that want EHR, billing and patient engagement under one contractPlans are quote-onlyYou want EHR and billing compared as one quote
Elation HealthPrimary-care independents in the small-practice segmentQuote-only pricing; portal scope needs a demoYour practice is primary care and you want a KLAS-ranked small-practice option

DrChrono

DrChrono fits a practice that wants its EHR, practice management and patient portal under one quoted contract. Its pricing page lists Foundation, Growth and Premium, and it asks for a quote on each. The page lists a "Patient Portal + App" item under practice management on all three plans. Because that is a listing rather than a checkmark, confirm the inclusion in writing. EverCommerce completed its acquisition of DrChrono, according to DrChrono.

Healthie

Healthie fits multi-clinician practices that want scheduling, charting, billing tools and a client portal on one platform. Its pricing page lists the client portal in all four plans, and the plans are tiered by active client count and billing period. The monthly figures on the page differ between the plan cards and the comparison table, so ask for the current figure in writing before you budget. For teams that plan to build on the platform, Healthie's webhook reference lists events such as appointment.created and appointment.updated. For created and deleted events, its examples carry identifiers only, and the page advises fetching the record by resource_id through the GraphQL API (Healthie docs).

Jane

Jane suits allied health and clinic-based therapy practices that need online booking, a client portal and insurance billing in one product. Its pricing page includes online booking in every plan and lists a "Secure Client Portal." The per-plan checkmarks did not come through in our reading of the page, so confirm which plans include the portal before you buy. The entry plan caps appointments per month, which matters for a busy front desk. Its add-ons are priced separately from the base plans, so a team's total depends on which add-ons it opts into.

SimplePractice

SimplePractice fits therapy and counseling practices. Its pricing page publishes three standard monthly rates after an introductory period, and it links to a client portal. The page does not say which plans include that portal, so ask for the plan detail and a sample client invitation before you sign. For a therapy-led practice the portal is the feature clients use most, so test it with a real client account rather than relying on the feature list.

Tebra

Tebra fits medical practices that want EHR, billing and patient engagement under one contract. Its pricing page says pricing varies with the number of providers and directs buyers to a quote. It lists the portal as included in four of five bundles and leaves it out of Patient Experience + Marketing. Compliance add-ons, including electronic prescribing for controlled substances and prescription drug monitoring program integration, carry their own fees, so ask for each module on the quote.

Elation Health

Elation Health has the clearest independent signal of the six. KLAS Research ranked it first in the small-practice ambulatory EMR and practice management category in its 2026 awards. Elation small-practice KLAS score: 81.7 according to KLAS Research (2026). Elation's pricing page asks for a practice-specific quote and lists a Patient Portal under Patient Engagement, which it describes as a way to stay engaged with patients through Elation Patient Passport. Treat the portal as something to demo, because the page describes the feature without showing its limits.

The athenaOne gap

athenahealth's own pages returned access errors during our research, so we could not confirm its portal scope or price model, and we have not profiled it. KLAS does list athenahealth's athenaClinicals as a 2026 winner in a larger independent-practice category (KLAS report). If your group is bigger than the clinics these six vendors usually serve, request a demo and a written quote from athenahealth before you rule it in or out.

Who should choose which vendor

Who this is for

  • Healthie suits a practice with several clinicians on one platform that can keep its active-client count inside a tier confirmed in writing.

  • Jane suits a practice where booking, client messaging and insurance billing are the core needs, especially in allied health or clinic-based therapy.

  • SimplePractice suits a therapy-led practice where client messaging matters more than EHR depth.

  • Tebra suits a medical practice that wants EHR, billing and portal in one contract and can accept a quote-based process.

  • DrChrono or Elation Health suits a practice that can obtain written portal scope and pricing in a demo before it shortlists.

Red flags: you cannot get a written list of which portal features each plan includes; no one on staff will own portal setup, approvals and patient messages; or you need custom integrations that the vendor will not scope in writing.

Decision checklist

  1. Ask which plan includes the portal, and get the answer in writing.

  2. Ask whether each added clinician, client or message costs more, and get the rate.

  3. Ask whether API, webhook or export access is included, and at which tier.

  4. Name the person who approves patient outreach and any clinical flag.

  5. Ask how you export patient records and messages if you leave.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a simpler product is the better choice in three cases. If your need is only online booking and messaging, the portal inside Jane or SimplePractice may cover it with less setup. If your system offers no API or export access, there is nothing for an automation layer to read, so the work stays manual. And if no one on staff will review the queue each day, a workflow that creates tasks will create a backlog rather than save time.

Where a workflow layer fits, and where it does not

US Tech Automations can configure a proposed intake-review workflow for a clinic that uses Healthie. The trigger is a patient signing a completed form, which emits form_answer_group.signed. The action fetches the signed answers by resource_id through the GraphQL API and maps selected fields to a staff review queue. The output is a review task that lists the answers, flags missing fields and links to the record. Prerequisites are API credentials, a sandbox for testing the field mapping, and confirmation that the clinic's plan includes webhook access. Human review comes first: front-desk staff confirm identity before anything is filed, and a clinician reviews any clinical flag. In this proposed design the workflow does not write to the chart.

A second proposed workflow handles cancellations. The trigger is appointment.deleted. The action fetches the appointment, checks whether the patient has another upcoming visit, and creates a reschedule task for the front desk. The output is a task that shows the cancellation and the open slot staff can offer. Healthie's event reference says recurring appointments require contacting its support team, so confirm how your recurring visits are handled before you rely on this trigger. Staff decide whether to send any outreach, and the workflow sends nothing on its own.

Many clinics compare this against stitching the same steps together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building them in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still owns idempotency, so a retried event does not create two tasks; escalation when a queue stalls; access controls; and maintenance when a vendor renames a field. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure the same trigger-action-output steps with those controls named up front, but it would still need your API access, your sign-off on the field mapping and a named owner for each queue.

Worked example (illustrative, not a customer result): assume a three-clinician practice receives 40 new intake forms a week, and staff spend 6 minutes re-keying each form into the chart. That is 240 minutes, or 4 hours, a week, and across 50 working weeks it comes to 200 hours a year. If a mapped review task halved that re-keying time, which is an assumption to test rather than a measured result, the saving would be 100 hours a year. The saving only holds if the field mapping is right and a staff member still checks each form, so count that review time against the saving before you commit. The trigger for this example is form_answer_group.signed.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a separate patient portal if my practice system already has one?

Usually not. Start with the portal inside your current system, and buy a separate one only if its scope or price is clearly better for the workflow you need.

Is a patient portal the same as online booking?

No. Online booking is one feature, while a portal also covers messaging, forms and record access, which is why the plan-by-plan check matters.

Which vendors in this guide publish prices?

Healthie, Jane and SimplePractice publish plan prices on their pages. DrChrono and Elation Health ask for quotes for their plans, and Tebra publishes add-on figures while keeping its plans quote-based, so compare those vendors on written proposals.

What should I ask a vendor before the demo?

Ask which plan includes the portal, what each added clinician or client costs, whether API or export access is included, and how records leave the system if you switch.

Can a workflow tool replace the portal vendor?

No. A workflow layer reads events and moves work to people; it does not replace the portal's patient login, messaging or record access, and it depends on the portal vendor's API.

Choose the portal your staff can run and maintain

Pick the portal that your staff can operate every day and that your plan confirms in writing. For most independent clinics, that means shortlisting two vendors whose published plans include the portal you need, then running the same intake form and the same cancellation through each demo. If you later want automation on top of the portal, see how US Tech Automations configures this intake review as a proposed design, with the API prerequisites confirmed first.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.