Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best Patient Recall Software: 7 Options for Clinics 2027

Nov 2, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Choose the category first. Patient recall software finds patients who are due or overdue for care and invites them to book, which is narrower than a scheduling system or a full EHR.

  • Medical fit is the first filter. Luma Health shows health system, dermatology, oncology, and pediatric examples, and NexHealth lists Epic and athenaClinicals as integrations, while Lighthouse 360 presents itself as a dental product.

  • Only one option here publishes a starting price on its pricing page: Weave, at $199 per month, with the basis not stated. The others are quote-based, or their figures did not load in the pages reviewed.

  • Ask every vendor for three things in writing before a demo: confirmation that your practice management or EHR system supports recall, a business associate agreement, and an all-in quote that includes setup and per-message fees.

  • The reminder research is directional. The CDC-hosted review covers cancer screening reminders, and none of the sources used here tests these products against each other.

  • A configured workflow layer can add escalation and audit trails, but the clinic then owns the design, the access controls, and the maintenance.

Start with the category decision, not a brand

Patient recall software is a tool that finds patients who are due or overdue for care from scheduling or health record data and invites them to book by text, email, or voice. TL;DR: if your scheduling system already sends automated recalls that match your visit types, configure that first; if it does not, a dedicated recall product is the most direct purchase; and a workflow layer suits a clinic that wants to own the logic.

Many products that appear for this search were built for dental offices first, and several still show dental examples on their own recall pages. For a medical clinic, that matters in three places: which health record systems the vendor reads due dates from, whether recall rules can follow medical visit types rather than dental procedure codes, and whether the vendor will sign a business associate agreement. Those three questions drive the comparison below.

How we evaluated these tools

This is a weighted buyer's framework, not a lab test. Each product was judged only on what its official pages, its pricing page, and the independent sources cited here said as of October 29, 2026. The six criteria below carry the weight, and each weight reflects what a small medical clinic can check before it signs.

CriterionWeightWhat it measuresWhy it matters for a medical clinic
Medical fit25%Named EHR or practice management integrations, and medical examples on the vendor's own pagesA tool that reads only dental codes will miss many visit types
Recall logic20%How due or overdue patients are identified, and how the message cadence is setWrong triggers create noise and patient complaints
Channels and rebooking15%Text, email, voice, and whether patients can book from the messageBooking friction decides whether recall turns into visits
Pricing transparency15%Whether a starting price or plan structure is publishedLets you compare options before a sales call
Contract and data terms15%Whether a business associate agreement and data storage are addressed on the vendor's pagesPatient data needs a BAA before it moves
Setup effort10%Onboarding, integration work, and staff training the vendor describesIntegration work often dominates rollout cost, according to independent reviewers

The weights sum to 100%. Three products were excluded. Demandforce was dropped because we could not confirm its current owner from sources we could open. Pabau's pricing page scales by user count and its focus is aesthetic, wellness, and multi-specialty care, and its figures did not appear in the page we captured. Adit's listed practice types are dental, optometry, chiropractic, and orthodontics, with no medical category. A buyer's guide published on Pabau's own blog ranks Pabau first, so this guide does not use that ranking.

Feature matrix for medical clinics

The matrix records only what each vendor's pages state. "Not verified" means the pages reviewed did not say, and that answer belongs in a vendor demo.

VendorDue-date sourcePatient channels namedMedical evidence on vendor pagesPricing basis
Luma HealthRecalls and ticklers, plus care-gap listsMultichannel, multilingual messaging; channels not itemizedHealth system, dermatology, oncology, and pediatric examplesQuote-based
WeaveRecall listed as a featureNot verifiedNot verifiedStarting from $199 per month
NexHealthDue dates and procedure codes from the health recordEmail and textEpic and athenaClinicals listed; customer stories are dentalQuote-based
SolutionreachAutomatic identification of due or overdue patientsText, email, and voiceNot specified for medical practicesQuote-based
DoctibleProcedure type, appointment timeline, provider, and visit historyEmail and textIntegrations section lists dental, orthodontics, chiropractic, and visionQuote-based; demo required
MedicasimpleRecall rules tied to patient history and treatmentsSMS and WhatsApp; no email on the recall pagePlatform describes dental to physio and aesthetics; recall examples are dentalPer full-time practitioner; figures not captured
Lighthouse 360Automated recall remindersRecall channels not itemizedPresented as a dental solutionNot published

NexHealth is the clearest about how due dates are read: its recall page says it reads due dates and procedure codes from the health record. Luma stands out for breadth of clinical use on its own pages. Doctible and Solutionreach state their triggers and channels but do not name the systems they connect to. Medicasimple is a full practice platform, so recall is one module among several. Weave's pages reviewed here list recall as a feature, but they did not confirm medical-specific recall workflows.

Pricing and total cost signals

Only one option in this set publishes a starting price on its pricing page, so most of the comparison has to happen in a sales conversation. The table records what each pricing page says.

VendorPublished pricePlan or tier namesPricing note
WeaveStarting from $199 per monthUltimate, Elite, ProTier prices on request; basis not stated
Luma HealthQuote-basedCustomized subscriptionImplementation and support may be billed outside the base subscription
NexHealthQuote-basedBuilt from modules: Scheduling, Communications, Forms, Payments, Verification, InsightsCustom plans; contact sales
SolutionreachQuote-basedPatient Connect, Practice Efficiency, Practice Growth, Enterprise"Request a Quote" on three plans and "Get in Touch" on Enterprise, which is for 6+ locations
DoctibleQuote-basedNot named on the recall pagePricing requires a demo request
MedicasimpleFigures not capturedStarter, Simple, Smart, SuperiorPer full-time practitioner per month, billed monthly; 14-day free trial
Lighthouse 360Not publishedNot publishedVendor page offers a demo and a build-your-own options tool

Pricing checked October 29, 2026.

Weave starting price: $199 per month, basis unstated according to Weave (2026). The same page lists bulk texting allowances of 15,000 messages a month for Ultimate, 3,000 for Elite, and 1,500 for Pro, according to Weave (2026). The page does not say whether the $199 covers one location, one user, or the whole account, so ask before comparing it with anything else.

Medicasimple's pricing page says part-time practitioners pay 50% of the full-time rate, and it offers a 14-day free trial, according to Medicasimple (2026). Its plan figures did not load in the captured text, so this guide prints none of them. NexHealth, Solutionreach, Doctible, and Luma publish no figures, so any comparison among them is only as good as the written quotes you collect.

Independent reviewers note that quote-based pricing becomes hard to compare when implementation, integration, and premium support sit outside the base subscription. Build your own total cost table with the same line items for each vendor: setup and integration, per-provider or per-location counts, text and voice overage, and the fees for the first year. A quote that omits any of those lines is not comparable with one that includes them.

What the evidence on reminders supports

The strongest public evidence on recall-style outreach comes from a 2012 review of client reminders, which measured cancer screening rather than general visits. The table below keeps those figures apart from vendor claims.

MeasureFigureSource yearHow to read it
Mammography screening completed12.3 percentage points (median increase)2012 reviewCancer screening, not routine visits
Multicomponent programs, breast screening5.0 percentage points (median)2012 reviewSmaller when reminders sit inside a larger program
Multicomponent programs, cervical screening3.7 percentage points (median)2012 reviewSame caveat
Luma reminders and recall feature score4.72026 profileThird-party aggregate, not a clinical outcome
NexHealth patient return rate on its page85%2026 pageVendor-reported, for practices using online and one-click booking

Breast screening reminder effect: 12.3 percentage points according to CDC (2012). The same review reports that telephone reminders had a larger effect than written reminders for breast and cervical screening, which supports giving a phone or text channel a heavy weight in your scoring. Because the figures come from cancer screening, use them as a direction rather than a forecast for your own visit types.

Running the numbers on one overdue cycle

Consider a hypothetical four-provider clinic, not a real customer, with 300 patients overdue for a routine visit. If staff phone each patient twice at three minutes per call, manual outreach takes 300 × 2 × 3 = 1,800 minutes, or 30 staff hours per cycle. Suppose automated texts go out first, and 20% of those patients, or 60, still have no reply, so staff call only them: 60 × 2 × 3 = 360 minutes, or 6 hours. Under those assumptions the cycle saves 1,800 − 360 = 1,440 minutes, or 24 staff hours, before text fees and setup time. In a configured design, the messaging layer would log messaging_service_sid on each send and turn each undelivered status into a call task, with error_code kept for review, so a failed text does not silently drop a patient; the field names come from Twilio's Message resource. Replace the reply rate, call length, and staff rate with your clinic's own numbers before you use the result to decide anything.

Vendor profiles: where each option fits

Each profile names the best fit, the limits the sources show, and what to check during implementation. The source for each claim is linked in the same paragraph.

Luma Health

Best fit: larger medical groups and health systems that want recall to sit inside broader outreach, such as care gaps, referrals, and pre- and post-visit messages. Luma's website describes recalls and care gaps that can be acted on from faxes or from recall and ticklers lists, and its examples span health systems, dermatology, oncology, and pediatrics (Luma Health website). The site lists no prices and offers only a demo call to action. In an independent profile, the reminders and recall feature scores Luma reminders and recall score: 4.7 according to RFP.wiki (2026), while the same profile scores care-gap campaigns at 4.1 and calls their depth less documented.

Limitations: reviewers in that profile say reminder cadence can feel aggressive to patients, that system lag can affect reminder responsiveness, and that advanced follow-up automation may require a higher tier. Implementation: ask for a named integration path for your system and a written cap on the number of follow-up messages before any demo.

Weave

Best fit: practices that already use Weave for phone and texting and want recall in the same system. Its pricing page lists recall among the features and gives a starting price of $199 per month, with tier prices available only on request. Limitations: the pages reviewed for this guide did not confirm recall workflows for medical specialties, and the starting price's basis is not stated. Implementation: ask whether recall reads due dates from your specific practice management or EHR system, and whether the published text allowances fit your monthly volume.

NexHealth

Best fit: multi-location groups that want recalls triggered by due dates and procedure or continuing-care codes from the health record, sent by email or text. Its help article says the recall template goes out on a schedule and can be set by appointment type, and its feature page says you can add as many follow-up messages as you want (NexHealth recall help article). Limitations: the customer stories on the feature page are dental, and the help article says the custom recall template depends on whether your health record system supports it. If you do not see the Custom tab, the article says to contact support. Implementation: the vendor's onboarding team sets up recalls for each appointment type, so budget time for that step.

Solutionreach

Best fit: mid-size practices that want due or overdue patients identified automatically and contacted by text, email, or voice, with criteria the practice can customize. Its pricing page publishes four plans, Patient Connect, Practice Efficiency, Practice Growth, and Enterprise, and the first three have a "Request a Quote" button while Enterprise has "Get in Touch", according to Solutionreach (2026). Limitations: the recall page says it integrates with practice management software but does not name the systems, and its outcome claims are vendor-reported (Solutionreach recall page). Implementation: request the integration list and a sample message cadence before you sign anything.

Doctible

Best fit: smaller practices that want reminders on a fixed timeline, with messages sent from the practice's own phone number and patients booking straight from the text or email. Its recall settings can send reminders 60 and 30 days before a recall date, and 7 and 20 days after it, according to Doctible (2026). Limitations: the page says it integrates with "most popular" EHRs and practice management systems but does not list them, and its integrations section names dental, orthodontics, chiropractic, and vision. Pricing requires a demo request. Implementation: confirm your system in writing, and ask where appointment history is stored, because the page says Doctible keeps it on its own platform.

Medicasimple

Best fit: clinics that want recall inside a broader practice platform covering scheduling, forms, payments, and reporting across several disciplines. Its recall rules tie to patient history and treatments: when a treatment is completed, the next recall is scheduled automatically, and a 12-month timeline shows who is due, overdue, messaged, or still needs a call (Medicasimple recall page). Channels are SMS, plus WhatsApp where it is enabled, and the recall page does not list email. Limitations: every recall example on the page is dental, and the page does not describe integrations specific to recall. Implementation: if you already run a practice management system, plan the migration and staff training as part of the decision, not after it.

Lighthouse 360

Best fit: dental practices, from single locations to dental service organizations, that want automated recall reminders alongside appointment reminders and review requests. The Henry Schein One page presents the product as a dental solution and calls it ideal for single-location practices, group practices, and DSOs, according to Henry Schein One (2026). Limitations: the page does not mention medical practices, names no practice management integrations, and publishes no prices. For a medical clinic, treat this as a disqualifier rather than a close call.

Where a configured workflow layer fits

A workflow layer is the option when a clinic wants recall logic it can read, change, and audit, and it has someone who will maintain it. A proposed design for the overdue-patient step would start on a nightly trigger. The workflow would read patients whose recall date has passed, using a scheduled export or read-only API access from the practice management system, remove anyone with a future appointment, and queue a text through the clinic's messaging provider. The output is a daily log that marks each patient as sent, delivered, undelivered, or booked, so the front desk can review it each morning. Prerequisites include read access to due dates and visit history, a signed business associate agreement with each vendor that touches patient data, and written approval of message templates by whoever owns compliance at the practice. US Tech Automations would configure that design; it is a proposed workflow, not a description of a live deployment.

Human review sits at three points in that design. A clinician or office manager approves the exclusion rules for patients with open clinical issues before the first send. Any reply that mentions symptoms, a complaint, or an opt-out routes to a staff member and never to an automated answer. Undelivered texts create a phone task rather than a second automated message, which keeps the cadence within the limits the practice set. A proposed design can also cap follow-ups per patient, a control that a native recall tool may or may not expose, so the demo should test that limit directly.

The main alternative is stitching the flow together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building it in-house. Those platforms can support run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency so a patient never receives the same text twice after a retry, escalation paths, access controls for patient data, and maintenance when the practice management system changes. A native recall product removes much of that build work but limits you to its channels and cadence rules. A workflow layer keeps the logic flexible and moves ownership of that logic to the clinic. US Tech Automations has the same ownership split in its proposed design, which is why the human review points above matter.

When not to use US Tech Automations: skip a workflow layer if your practice management system already sends recall texts with the cadence you need and staff do not want more moving parts. Skip it if you need a full patient-access platform with AI phone handling and scheduling as the main purchase, where a platform like Luma Health is the simpler fit. Skip it, too, if your system offers no export or API path for due dates, because the workflow would depend on manual file drops that staff eventually stop maintaining. In each case, a native recall tool is the simpler answer.

Who should choose which option

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small healthcare business who has a scheduling or EHR system, wants overdue patients contacted without a manual call list, and can name the person who approves messages and handles opt-outs. Red flags: you need one tool to replace your EHR or scheduling core; your system offers no export or API path for due dates; or no one at the practice owns message approval, opt-outs, and complaints.

Use this checklist before any demo:

  • Name the practice management or EHR system you run, and ask each vendor to confirm recall support for that exact system in writing.

  • Ask for the business associate agreement before any patient data is shared in a trial or demo.

  • Ask whether recall cadence can be capped per patient and set per appointment type.

  • Ask which channels are included in the quote and which cost extra, including WhatsApp and voice.

  • Collect a quote that lists setup, integration, per-message fees, and year-one total.

Matching the options to needs: choose Luma Health for larger medical groups that want recall inside broader outreach; Weave if you already use it for phone and texting; NexHealth for multi-location groups whose health record system supports its recall templates; Solutionreach for mid-size practices that want a quote-based recall product with named plan tiers; Doctible for smaller practices that want a fixed reminder timeline; Medicasimple if you want recall inside a broader clinic platform. Choose Lighthouse 360 only if your practice is dental.

Common mistakes when buying recall software

  • Choosing on the lowest starting price when the page does not say what the price covers.

  • Assuming "integrates with most EHRs" means your system is supported.

  • Skipping how opt-outs, wrong numbers, and replies to symptoms are handled.

  • Judging success by messages sent instead of visits booked.

  • Treating cancer screening research as proof that reminders will work the same way for every visit type.

  • Signing before the BAA is in hand, or assuming a vendor's standard terms already cover your state's rules.

Frequently asked questions

Is patient recall software the same as appointment reminders?

No, appointment reminders go to patients who already have a visit booked, while recall software finds patients who are due or overdue and invites them to book. Recall needs the due-date logic and the cadence rules, which a reminder feature alone does not provide.

Does a recall tool need a business associate agreement?

Yes, in most cases a vendor that stores or processes patient information for your clinic needs a business associate agreement before any data moves. According to AMA (2016), using a cloud provider to maintain ePHI without a BAA is a violation of HIPAA rules. That AMA summary is from 2016, so confirm current HHS guidance with your counsel before you sign.

Which option has the lowest published price?

Weave is the only option here with a starting price on its pricing page, at $199 per month, but the page does not say what that covers. Every other option is quote-based or did not publish a figure in the pages reviewed, so a fair comparison needs written quotes.

Can Zapier, Make, or n8n replace a recall product?

Yes for a narrow flow, but only if the clinic builds and maintains the controls itself. Those tools can support run histories, retries, and error branches when they are configured that way, while observability, idempotency, escalation, access controls, and upkeep stay with the buyer.

Is Lighthouse 360 a good choice for a medical clinic?

No, the vendor presents it as a dental solution and its page does not mention medical practices. For a medical clinic, a medical-first recall product is the better starting point.

Next step for the shortlist

Start with the system you already run, then take the shortlist of two or three options to written quotes that include setup, integration, and per-message fees. Ask each vendor for the business associate agreement and the integration confirmation before the demo, and compare the answers against the criteria table above. The question that decides the shortlist is whether the recall tool reads your visit types from your own system. For a proposed workflow built on those answers, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.