6 Best Physical Therapy EMR and Billing Software for 2027
Pick the category before the brand. If you bill insurance and run two or more therapists, buy a PT-specific EMR with billing built in, and get a written quote before you commit. If you are a cash-pay or low-volume solo, a lower-cost scheduling and billing tool may cover most of the work. If your real bottleneck is moving data between the EMR, the clearinghouse and your staff, a workflow layer above the system is a separate decision, and this guide treats it that way.
A physical therapy EMR is the clinical record for PT visits, covering plans of care, visit notes and billing codes, usually bundled with scheduling and patient communication. Administrative spending: approximately $1 trillion per year according to Health Affairs Scholar (2023), which also attributes $200 billion to financial transactions alone. That is a system-wide estimate, not a clinic benchmark, so use it to frame why billing tools matter rather than to size your own overhead.
TL;DR: WebPT is quote-only, PT Everywhere and Jane publish dollar tiers, Physitrack leads on home exercise and patient apps but does not claim EMR billing, SPRY bills a percentage of collections, and Prompt Health's prices come from a third-party source rather than its own price sheet. US Tech Automations is not one of the six ranked products. It sits above whichever system you choose, coordinating steps across systems, and it has its own section below.
This guide has no sponsorship relationship. No commercial relationship affects the weights, verdicts or ordering.
Key Takeaways
Choose a PT-specific EMR with billing if you bill insurance across several therapists. Choose a lower-cost scheduling tool if you are cash-pay and solo.
Only PT Everywhere and Jane publish full dollar tiers on their own pricing pages. WebPT lists no dollar figures and directs buyers to a demo.
Billing fee models differ. PT Everywhere's revenue cycle add-on is a flat $39 per therapist per month, while SPRY's billing service takes 4% to 6% of collections.
Third-party price claims are unconfirmed. SPRY appears at $79 per clinician in one source, and SPRY's own blog calls that figure illustrative. Get written quotes that state seats, visit definitions, add-ons and clearinghouse fees.
A workflow layer above the EMR can coordinate work across systems, but it needs API or export access, mapped edge cases and named human approvers before any go-live.
Evaluation methodology: how we weighted the criteria
Our selection method: we reviewed each vendor's pricing page where one exists plus the third-party guides cited in each profile, then scored the six products against the seven criteria below. The weights are our analysis, not vendor data. Billing and documentation carry the most weight because they drive daily work and the timing of cash.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for this buyer |
|---|---|---|
| PT-specific documentation and home exercise | 20% | Visit notes and plans of care drive daily use |
| Billing and clearinghouse, as stated | 20% | Claims flow determines cash timing, and vendors differ |
| Published price transparency | 15% | Lets you compare before a sales call |
| Two-provider total cost | 15% | Cost scales with headcount and add-ons |
| Patient app and scheduling | 10% | Affects adherence and no-shows |
| Integration and implementation | 10% | Data has to move between EMR, billing and workflow tools |
| Evidence quality | 10% | Vendor-authored claims are weighted lower |
Feature matrix
Each cell reflects what the vendor or the cited guide states. "Not stated" means the pages we reviewed did not claim the feature. It does not mean the feature is absent.
| Vendor | Billing and clearinghouse, as stated | Patient app and home exercise | AI scribe | Pricing public? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WebPT | Clearinghouse fees included on Enhanced and ULTIMATE | Home exercise and patient portal on all tiers | Not stated | No, demo request only |
| Prompt Health | Billing listed; clearinghouse not stated | Home exercise requires Engage add-on | Yes, Sidekick add-on | Volume bands per Physitrack guide |
| Physitrack | Not claimed for the EMR | Yes, PhysiApp with 18,000+ videos | Yes, drafts SOAP notes | From $59.99 per user per month |
| SPRY | Billing service at 4% to 6% of collections | Not stated | Not stated | Starts at $79, unconfirmed |
| Jane | Insurance billing add-on | Prescribing via Physitrack integration | Yes, $15 per practitioner | Yes, $59, $79, $99 |
| PT Everywhere | Insurance billing and revenue cycle add-on | Not stated | Included in all plans | Yes, $49, $149, $199 |
Pricing and total cost
Pricing checked October 20, 2026. Where a vendor's own page had no dollar figure, we show the third-party number with its source and label it as such.
| Vendor | Published figure | Source and date | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| PT Everywhere | $49 Starter, $149 Standard, $199 Pro per month | PT Everywhere pricing, checked Oct 20, 2026 | One therapist included; extra seats $75 for seats 2 to 5 |
| Jane | $59 Balance, $79 Practice, $99 Thrive per month | Jane pricing, checked Oct 20, 2026 | Insurance billing adds $20 per month plus $5 per full-time practitioner |
| SPRY | From $79 per clinician per month | Physitrack guide, June 5, 2026; SPRY blog | Billing service at 4% to 6% of collections |
| Physitrack | From $59.99 per user per month | Physitrack guide, June 5, 2026 | Vendor-authored; billing not claimed for EMR |
| Prompt Health | $289 at 80+ visits, $199 at 10 to 79 visits, $75 under 10 visits, per provider per month | Physitrack guide, June 5, 2026 | Third-party reported; Prompt's price page returned a 404 |
| WebPT | Contact vendor; no dollar figures | WebPT pricing, checked Oct 20, 2026 | Clearinghouse fees included on Enhanced and ULTIMATE |
Median physical therapist pay: $102,760 per year according to BLS (May 2025 data). At that median, a $224 monthly software bill is about 2.6% of one salary, so the software line is rarely the expensive part of the decision. Staff time spent on denials usually costs more.
The table below models two therapists over 24 months at list prices. It excludes setup fees, which none of the sources quantified.
| Scenario (2 therapists, 24 months) | Monthly subtotal | 24-month subtotal | Excluded or unknown |
|---|---|---|---|
| PT Everywhere Standard + 1 extra seat | $224 | $5,376 | Revenue cycle add-on not included |
| PT Everywhere Standard + 1 seat + RCM for both | $302 | $7,248 | Setup time varies |
| PT Everywhere Pro + 1 seat + RCM for both | $352 | $8,448 | Pro adds SMS, telehealth, fax |
| SPRY, 2 × $79 | $158 | $3,792 | Billing at 4% to 6% of collections extra |
| Prompt Health, 2 × $289 (80+ visits each) | $578 | $13,872 | Add-ons; third-party figure |
| Jane Practice, second practitioner | Not stated | Not stated | Second-practitioner price not shown on page reviewed |
| WebPT | Contact vendor | Contact vendor | Quote depends on provider count |
Vendor profiles
WebPT
Best fit: multi-provider groups that want one PT-specific suite covering documentation, billing, marketing and reporting, and that can accept a sales quote before committing. The pricing page describes Starter for start-ups and smaller cash-pay practices, and Enhanced for growing practices that take insurance.
Limitations: the pricing page gives no dollar figures, and a demo request is the only next step it offers. Starter does not list clearinghouse fees, while Enhanced and ULTIMATE do. The FAQ says solutions cannot be removed from a plan, so a smaller clinic may pay for modules it does not use.
Implementation: scope through a demo, then get a written quote in dollars per provider or per visit. Confirm 835 pre-posting and clearinghouse fee terms in the order form. Physitrack's guide says WebPT pricing is custom and based on provider count and feature requirements.
Evidence: WebPT pricing and Physitrack's vendor guide.
Choose it if you have several therapists and want billing inside the EMR. Skip it if you need a published price before any sales contact.
Prompt Health
Best fit: practices whose visit volume differs by provider, because the published bands step the price by visits per provider.
Limitations: Prompt's own pricing page returned a 404 when we checked, so the bands come from Physitrack's vendor-authored guide and remain unverified until a quote confirms them. Add-ons are quoted separately. Home exercise and remote therapeutic monitoring require the Engage module, formerly PT Wired. The guide does not state clearinghouse or mobile features.
Implementation: request a written quote that defines how visits are counted per provider and lists every add-on by name.
Evidence: Physitrack's guide, dated June 5, 2026.
Choose it if you can state a visit count per provider and want volume-based pricing. Skip it if your visit counts are unknown, because the band you land in drives the cost.
Physitrack
Best fit: clinics whose top gap is home exercise programs, a patient app and documentation support. Per its guide, Physitrack offers scheduling, intake, charting, an AI scribe that drafts SOAP notes, and home exercise recommendations from more than 18,000 videos, delivered through PhysiApp.
Limitations: the guide says billing support is not claimed for the EMR, and that billing and integration needs should be assessed separately. Most practices will pair it with a billing system. The guide is vendor-authored and ranks Physitrack first, so treat that ranking as a sales claim.
Implementation: confirm whether charts sync to your billing system. The guide lists a direct integration with Jane for prescribing home exercise programs and names Epic as an integration partner.
Evidence: Physitrack's guide, which states a price of $59.99 per user per month.
Choose it if patient adherence and home exercise are your main gap. Skip it if you need claims submission in the same system.
SPRY
Best fit: practices that want an AI-driven workflow and accept a billing-service fee tied to collections.
Limitations: tiers are not publicly disclosed, and the figure is unconfirmed. Physitrack's guide lists SPRY from $79 per clinician per month. SPRY's own blog describes $79 per provider per month as illustrative and dependent on visit volume. SPRY's pricing page redirected to an unrelated domain when we fetched it, so we could not verify it directly.
Implementation: ask for the quote in dollars per month and in dollars per $10,000 of monthly collections. At 4% to 6%, the billing service costs $400 to $600 per month for every $10,000 collected.
Evidence: SPRY's blog on 2026 PT EMR pricing, which is vendor-authored.
Choose it if you want a workflow-first system and can model your collections. Skip it if you want a flat, predictable software cost.
Jane
Best fit: solo or multidisciplinary clinics that need scheduling and practice management on a low budget, with insurance billing as an add-on.
Limitations: the Balance plan at $59 per month is limited to one practitioner profile and 20 appointments per month, and it cannot take the insurance billing add-on. The Physitrack guide summarizes Jane as scheduling and practice management and does not list PT-specific documentation, so confirm the PT templates before buying.
Pricing: Balance is $59, Practice is $79 and Thrive is $99 per month. Insurance billing adds $20 per month plus $5 per full-time practitioner, or $2.50 per part-time practitioner, and applies to the entire account. AI Scribe costs $15 per month for each opted-in practitioner.
Implementation: confirm the per-practitioner price for every additional provider, which the page did not show in full.
Evidence: Jane pricing.
Choose it if documentation needs are light and cost is the constraint. Skip it if your documentation must follow PT-specific templates.
PT Everywhere
Best fit: solo and small PT clinics that want published tiers and an insurance billing option sold as a flat add-on.
Pricing: Starter is $49 per month for one therapist with 20 visits per month. Standard is $149 per month for one therapist with unlimited appointments. Pro is $199 per month and adds SMS, telehealth, fax and premium integrations. Extra therapist seats cost $75 for seats 2 to 5, $60 for seats 6 to 10 and $50 for seats 11 and up. Non-therapist clinical staff cost $39 each, and admins and receptionists are free with no stated limit.
Limitations: the Starter plan caps appointments at 20 per month. The revenue cycle add-on costs $39 per therapist per month and requires setup by the client care team, with setup time varying. The page says exact amounts are confirmed through a demo. Its comparison that standalone tools would cost $197 to $302 per month is the vendor's own estimate.
Implementation: ask the vendor to confirm exact amounts, confirm which Pro integrations you need, and schedule the revenue cycle setup before go-live.
Evidence: PT Everywhere Starter: $49 per month, 20 visits according to PT Everywhere, checked October 20, 2026.
Choose it if you want transparent tiers and expect to add therapists. Skip it if you need more than 20 visits a month on the lowest plan.
Who this is for
Good fit: practices that bill insurance and need documentation and claims in one place, and cash-pay solos who need scheduling and a low monthly bill. A good fit also means you can name a person who owns claims data and denial follow-up.
Red flags: you need a dollar quote before any demo; no one owns claims data or denial follow-up; your visit count per provider is unknown, so you cannot tell which price band applies.
Decision checklist before you request quotes
Count visits per provider over a recent period and write the number down, since Prompt-style bands and SPRY-style pricing depend on it.
Decide whether billing stays inside the EMR or moves to a service that charges a percentage of collections.
Ask every vendor for a written quote that lists seats, the visit definition, add-ons and clearinghouse fees.
Confirm your home exercise and patient app needs, and whether charts sync to billing.
Name the person who will own claims, denials and user access before signing.
Where a workflow layer fits above the EMR
A PT EMR records care and submits claims. A workflow layer coordinates work across the systems around it, such as eligibility follow-up, denial routing and staff approvals. US Tech Automations describes building, running and supporting custom AI workflows on existing APIs, databases and tools. Its product page lists approval points defined during the build, audit trails at every step, and version control with dev, staging and production environments. The page does not name PT EMR connectors, so that question belongs in the scoping call.
The realistic alternative is usually not doing nothing. Many clinics stitch this together in Zapier, Make or n8n. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured. The buyer must deliberately design and own observability, idempotency (so a retried step does not double-post), escalation paths, access controls, retention rules and ongoing maintenance, whichever tool is used.
Worked example: a two-therapist clinic on PT Everywhere's Standard plan pays $149 per month, adds one therapist seat at $75, and adds the $39 revenue cycle add-on for each therapist, which is $78. That totals $302 per month, or $7,248 over 24 months. A proposed design would watch the HL7 FHIR ClaimResponse.outcome element for claims still showing queued, route any claim that stays queued past a threshold the practice sets during scoping to a biller queue, and require a named biller to approve any write-off before it posts. The prerequisites are API or export access to the EMR and clearinghouse, mapped edge cases, and a named approver. The design would configure those items concretely, and nothing here assumes a live deployment.
When not to use US Tech Automations: a simpler setup wins if your EMR's built-in billing already submits claims and posts remittances, if your only gap is home exercise adherence, or if you want a turnkey PT-specific product with no build step. A workflow project also needs an owner, data access and a scoping consultation, and the vendor's page states that every edge case is mapped before go-live.
Common mistakes
Comparing list prices without seats, add-ons or visit definitions.
Assuming billing is included when the vendor's own guide says it is not.
Treating a percentage-of-collections fee as small without modeling your actual collections.
Ignoring visit caps on entry plans, such as Jane's Balance and PT Everywhere's Starter.
Treating third-party price estimates as vendor quotes.
Frequently asked questions
Is WebPT the best alternative for a small PT clinic?
Not by default. WebPT suits multi-provider groups, but its pricing page shows no dollar figures, so a small clinic should compare PT Everywhere's published tiers before contacting any sales team. WebPT's Starter plan is described for start-ups and smaller cash-pay practices, yet no price appears on the page.
How much does physical therapy software cost per provider?
Published prices range from $49 to $289 per month per provider, but the $289 figure is a third-party report of Prompt Health's volume bands, not a vendor price sheet. PT Everywhere lists $49 to $199 per month with one therapist included, and Physitrack's guide lists SPRY from $79 per clinician per month.
Which PT EMR has built-in billing and a clearinghouse?
WebPT's pricing page says clearinghouse fees are included on its Enhanced and ULTIMATE plans. Its Enhanced tier also lists 835 pre-posting and electronic auto and workers' comp submissions. Physitrack's guide says no vendor on its list claims clearinghouse capability, so the two sources conflict. Confirm the terms in writing before you rely on either.
What is the most affordable EMR for a solo physical therapist?
The lowest published plan we found is PT Everywhere's Starter at $49 per month, which includes one therapist and caps appointments at 20 per month. Jane's Balance plan at $59 per month is the next lowest, with a similar 20-appointment limit and no insurance billing add-on.
Should a solo PT pay a percentage of collections for billing?
Only after you compare the numbers. SPRY's billing service costs 4% to 6% of collections, which is $400 to $600 per month on $10,000 of monthly collections. PT Everywhere's revenue cycle add-on is a flat $39 per therapist per month. Carepatron's roundup lists Heno at $149 to $299 per provider per month, with revenue cycle services adding 4% to 8% on top of the subscription.
Next step
If you want to see how a workflow layer would coordinate claims follow-up above whichever EMR you pick, read about how a workflow layer is scoped or the scope of agentic workflows. Ask each EMR vendor for its written quote first, then compare those quotes against the TCO table above.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.