Skip to content
AI & Automation

5 Recurring Appointment Reminder Tools for Therapists, 2027

Nov 5, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Choose the category before the vendor. A recurring reminder only works when it fires from the calendar that holds the series, so a therapy platform that owns the calendar and client record usually reduces the systems you have to reconcile.

  • Price the number of clinicians you have today. Per-clinician add-ons, not entry plans, set the monthly total once a practice has more than one clinician.

  • Read SMS allowances as plan limits. Several plans cap texts per month or per user, and one plan on the list includes no SMS reminders at all.

  • Reminders have evidence behind them, but the 2023 review we read did not find a statistically significant effect for SMS, so pick channels by what your clients will actually read.

  • Client texts carry rules. The federal healthcare exemption limits provider messages and requires an opt-out that you honor immediately.

  • Shortlist SimplePractice, TherapyNotes and Practice Better for most therapy groups, add Jane for multidisciplinary clinics, and use Carepatron if you want a free starting point.

Pick the category before the vendor

A recurring appointment reminder is an automatic message sent before each session in a standing weekly or biweekly client series, with a way for the client to confirm, reschedule or cancel.

TL;DR: a solo therapist who wants one system should start with the therapy platforms in the profiles below, a group should price the per-clinician add-on before comparing entry plans, and anyone sending texts should confirm the allowance and the text fee in writing.

The first decision is whether reminders belong to your scheduler or to a separate messaging tool. When the reminder rules sit on the same client record as the series, one change to a session can update the schedule and the reminder queue together. When reminders run from a general scheduler or a separate texting service, the series and the messages live in two places, and someone has to check both after every reschedule.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small therapy practice who needs clients to receive automatic reminders before each session in a recurring series, and who is deciding between a therapy practice platform and a general scheduler. If your reminders are about renewals rather than sessions, this guide does not cover that decision.

Red flags: your current scheduler already sends reminders in every channel your clients use, so a switch adds cost without closing a gap; nobody on staff will own consent records and opt-out requests; or your clients are in a region where the vendor's text feature is not offered.

How we evaluated these tools

This is an informed buyer's guide built from public pages, not a hands-on trial. Prices come from each vendor's own pages: the pricing page where it opened, and TherapyNotes' own December 2025 pricing update where its pricing page did not load. Reminder rules were checked against two independent sources, a 2023 systematic review in BMC Health Services Research and the federal text of the telephone and privacy rules at Cornell's Legal Information Institute. The weights below are our judgment about what matters for a recurring series, not a vendor-supplied score.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries that weight
Reminder channels and timing control25%A recurring series fails when reminders go to the wrong channel or fire at the wrong hour.
Recurring-series and cancellation handling20%Reschedules and cancellations inside a standing series are where manual errors start.
Price at three clinicians20%Per-clinician add-ons change the total more than the entry price does.
SMS allowance or per-message fee15%A plan limit or a per-text fee sets the real cost of reminders.
Consent, opt-out and BAA questions answered10%Client texts carry privacy and consent obligations that the vendor should address in writing.
Setup effort10%Staff time to map series and approve reminder templates before go-live.

Owl Practice and TheraNest also serve therapists, but their current prices could not be read on their own pricing pages during this review, so they are not priced or ranked here.

Feature matrix from public pages

The matrix uses only what the pages we opened state. A "not stated" cell means the page did not say, not that the feature is missing.

VendorReminder channels on the pageTiming control on the pageSMS allowance on the pageFree trial on the page
SimplePracticeNot stated on the pricing pageNot statedNot statedTrial can run to 30 days
TherapyNotesAppointment reminders listed as an optional featureNot statedPer-message fee not printedNot stated
JaneEmail reminders in every planNot statedUnlimited SMS listed as free, varies by regionNo free trial; demo account
Practice BetterSMS reminders by plan; customizable session remindersCustomizable timing and channelPlus 750 a month; Team 2,000 a month; Starter none14 days; Team 30 days
CarepatronReminders row shown; plan not namedNot statedPlus 150 a month per user; Advanced 200 per user14 days

Two gaps decide most shortlists. SimplePractice's pricing page does not say which reminder channels or timing options each plan includes, and TherapyNotes' December 2025 update names appointment reminders among optional features without printing a per-message fee. Ask both vendors for those terms in writing before you compare totals.

Pricing and three-clinician math

Pricing checked October 29, 2026. Every figure in the table below is a monthly list price, before taxes and optional add-ons. Where a vendor offers only a quote for larger groups, the cell says so instead of estimating.

VendorSolo planSolo price per monthGroup planGroup price per monthThree-clinician estimate
SimplePracticeStarter$49Plus$99 for the first practitioner, $74 for each additional$247
TherapyNotesSolo$69Group$79 for the first clinician, $50 for each additional$179
JaneBalance$59, capped at 20 appointmentsPractice$79 for one full-time practitioner; extra rate not publishedNot published
Practice BetterStarter$35Team$155 with two practitioner licenses, $50 for each additional$205
CarepatronPlus$31 (struck through on the page), $15.50 promotionalAdvanced$39 per user (struck through on the page)$117

Quote-based tiers exist at the top end. SimplePractice directs groups of six or more practitioners to custom pricing, Practice Better does the same at ten or more, and Carepatron's enterprise option is contact-sales only.

Group plan rate: $79 plus $50 per extra clinician according to TherapyNotes (2025). The update says the new rates apply from the first billing cycle after December 1, 2025.

Here is a worked example with an illustrative schedule, not a measured result. Take a therapy group with three clinicians who each keep 40 recurring sessions a month, which is 120 sessions. If each session gets two texts, one 72 hours out and one 24 hours out, that is 240 texts a month, or 12% of the 2,000 SMS reminders the Team plan on Practice Better includes. The same three clinicians cost $179 a month on the Group plan at TherapyNotes before any per-text fee, which the update does not print, and $247 at list price on the Plus plan at SimplePractice. If the texts run through Twilio, each outbound message record carries a date_sent value and a status that staff can check before a client counts as reached, so the 240 texts can be audited row by row.

Vendor profiles

Each profile names the best fit, the limitation we found on the public pages, what implementation involves, and the page that supports the figures.

SimplePractice

Best fit: solo clinicians and growing groups that want scheduling, notes and billing on one platform and accept a per-practitioner add-on for each extra clinician. The Starter plan on SimplePractice is $49 a month for a solo practice, and the Plus plan is $99 a month for the first practitioner with each additional practitioner at $74, with a free trial that the pricing page says can run to 30 days, according to SimplePractice.

Limitations: the pricing page lists tiers and add-ons but does not describe which reminder channels or timing options each plan includes, and SimplePractice's help article on reminder settings did not open during this review. Ask for those details in a live demo before you commit.

Implementation: budget staff time to map each recurring series and approve reminder templates before the first send. That work is the same whichever vendor you pick.

Evidence: SimplePractice pricing page.

TherapyNotes

Best fit: groups that want the calendar and the client record from the same vendor and can plan for a per-clinician cost from the first clinician up. The Solo rate on TherapyNotes is $69 a month for one user, and the Group rate is $79 for the first clinician plus $50 for each additional clinician, according to TherapyNotes.

Limitations: the 2025 update lists appointment reminders among optional features whose pricing did not change, but it does not print the per-message fee, so the text cost is unknown from that source. The vendor's pricing page did not load for this review, so the figures here come from the update alone.

Implementation: get the reminder fee and the channel list in writing, then move one recurring series through a cancellation and a reschedule before you move the full caseload.

Ask whether a free trial is available; the pricing update we read does not say.

Evidence: TherapyNotes pricing update.

Jane

Best fit: multidisciplinary clinics where therapists share a calendar with other practitioners, rather than a solo therapy practice that is shopping for the lowest entry price. The Balance plan on Jane is $59 a month for one practitioner and is capped at 20 appointments a month, while the Practice plan is $79 a month for one full-time practitioner with unlimited appointments, according to Jane.

Reminder detail: Jane lists email reminders in every plan, and the Practice plan lists unlimited SMS reminders as free, with a footnote that SMS availability varies by region.

Limitations: the page says there is no free trial, only a demo account, and it does not give the per-practitioner rate for additional practitioners on the Practice plan.

Implementation: a shared calendar means reminder templates and permissions have to be set per practitioner, so confirm that setup before migration.

Red flag: if your region does not offer the free SMS, the Practice plan's text allowance does not apply to you.

Evidence: Jane pricing page.

Practice Better

Best fit: practices that want SMS allowances stated by plan and a team tier that includes two practitioner licenses. The Plus plan on Practice Better is $99 a month, the Team plan is $155 a month with two practitioner licenses and $50 for each further practitioner, and SMS reminders run to 750 a month on Plus and 2,000 on Team, according to Practice Better.

Limitations: the Starter plan lists no SMS reminders, and the Professional plan's reminders run on add-on credits instead of a fixed allowance. The Team plan has a 30-day trial, and the other paid plans have 14 days.

Implementation: count your clinicians before you pick a tier, because the Team plan's extra-practitioner charge is what moves the total.

Evidence: Practice Better pricing page.

Carepatron

Best fit: small teams that want a free starting point and per-user plans with stated SMS and email allowances. The Free plan on Carepatron is $0, and the Advanced plan is $19.50 a month for six months with $39 struck through, according to Carepatron. The Plus plan on Carepatron includes 150 SMS a month per user and Advanced includes 200, with extra texts at $0.05 each, according to the same page.

Limitations: the comparison table has a reminders row without naming the plan that includes it, and the Free plan lists no SMS allowance. Enterprise is contact-sales only.

Implementation: confirm whether the SMS allowance counts reminders or other messages before you rely on it for a recurring series.

Evidence: Carepatron pricing page.

Reminder rules that apply to every vendor

Reminder evidence supports having a reminder at all more than it supports any one channel. Studies reviewed: 61, with 56 on reminders according to BMC Health Services Research (2023). The review pointed to the effectiveness of reminder systems in reducing no-show rates across a variety of medical departments. Its pooled estimate for SMS reminders was not statistically significant, and mailed reminders increased kept appointments in all five mail studies, so no channel is proven better for your clients.

Client texts are the part most buyers skip. Exempt provider texts: 1 a day, 3 a week according to Cornell LII (current text). Under that section, a healthcare provider's appointment confirmations and reminders can go without the written consent that marketing calls need, but only to the wireless number the patient provided, only if the message follows HIPAA privacy rules, and only with an easy opt-out that the provider honors immediately. Confirm the details with counsel before you rely on the exemption.

Patient preferences also count. Under 45 CFR 164.522, a covered health care provider must permit individuals to request confidential communications and must accommodate reasonable requests to receive protected health information by alternative means or at alternative locations, according to Cornell LII (current text). Build a channel choice into your intake form so the reminder rules can honor it.

Reminders when a recurring series changes

The pain is usually a series change, not the first reminder. A proposed US Tech Automations workflow could start from a series-change event in the scheduler, such as a cancellation or a moved session. It would cancel any queued reminders for the affected sessions, write one audit row, and place the change in a staff review queue before any new message goes out. The prerequisites are an export or API that exposes each series ID and session time, a sending account for email and SMS, and a named staff owner for the reminder templates. The review points are the template text, which should carry only the client's first name, the time, the clinic name and a callback number, and any change that touches a session within 24 hours.

A second configurable workflow could run 72 hours and 24 hours before each recurring session. The trigger is the time offset, the action is an email or text sent from the practice's own account using an approved template, and the output is a send log with one row per message. Twilio's message resource lists undelivered and failed among its status values, according to Twilio, so a row with either status can route that session to a staff member who calls the client. Opt-out replies should update a suppression list and be logged, and a human reviews any template change before it goes live.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing entry prices and ignoring that a third clinician changes the total on most plans.

  • Treating "unlimited" texting as universal. Jane's SMS line carries a regional footnote, and Carepatron's Free plan lists no SMS allowance.

  • Writing reminder text that names a diagnosis, session type or medication. Keep each message to the minimum needed.

  • Skipping the channel question at intake, then texting someone who asked for email.

  • Assuming a cancellation in a standing series removes its queued reminders. Test that before go-live.

  • Leaving no one in charge of opt-outs. A custom build fails the same way, and in a proposed US Tech Automations design the owner is named on each template.

Decision checklist

Pick by situation first, then check the terms in writing.

Your situationShortlistVerify first
Solo clinician who wants the most stated plan detailPractice BetterThe Starter plan lists no SMS reminders, so confirm your texting needs
Solo clinician who wants a free startCarepatronThe Free plan lists no SMS allowance
Group that wants a published group rate of $79 plus $50 per extra clinician ($179 at three)TherapyNotesThe per-message reminder fee is not printed in the update
Multidisciplinary clinic sharing one calendarJaneThe per-practitioner rate for extra practitioners
Group that expects rapid growth in cliniciansPractice BetterEach added practitioner costs $50 on Team, against $74 at SimplePractice, and groups of ten or more move to custom pricing
  • Write down your clinician count today and price that number, not the entry plan.

  • Ask for the reminder channels and timing options each plan includes, in writing.

  • Get the SMS allowance and the per-text fee, and confirm whether each is per user or per account.

  • Confirm the vendor will sign a business associate agreement before any client data moves through its reminder texts.

  • Check the opt-out path and who receives the replies.

  • Test one recurring series through a cancellation and a reschedule before go-live.

  • Ask whether the trial covers reminders, since the pages we opened show trial terms for some plans and not others.

Questions buyers ask

Which tool should a solo therapist pick first?

Start with the platform that already holds your calendar and billing, then compare its solo plan against the reminder channels and text allowance you need. Practice Better is the most explicit about plan-level SMS limits, and Carepatron is the lowest-cost place to start, but both need a texting check first.

Is a free plan enough for recurring reminders?

Usually not for texting, because the free or entry tiers on the pages we opened either list no SMS allowance or cap it. The Starter plan on Practice Better lists no SMS reminders, and the Free plan on Carepatron shows no SMS allowance.

Why not build this in Zapier, Make or n8n?

You can, and those tools can keep run histories, retries and error branches when you configure them. The buyer still has to design and own idempotency so a retry never sends a second text, escalation to a staff member, access controls on client data, and maintenance whenever the scheduler's export changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design would put a reminder key on each message, route failures to a named staff queue and keep a review step before template changes, but it still needs a scheduler export or API and a sending account, and staff still approve every template.

When should a practice not use US Tech Automations?

Skip a custom workflow when your scheduler already sends the channels your clients want and nobody needs custom rules. A solo therapist whose platform's built-in reminders cover email and text on a plan already paid for is better served by the built-in feature. A practice with no one willing to own templates and opt-outs should not add a configured workflow, because the workflow still needs an owner. A scheduler with no export or API that shows series changes cannot give a workflow the cancellation signal it needs, so the built-in reminder feature is the simpler route.

Do reminders reduce no-shows?

Yes, the 2023 review in BMC Health Services Research pointed to reminder systems reducing no-show rates across a variety of medical departments. It did not show that one channel beats the others, so the channel should follow your clients' preferences.

Not for the healthcare messages that the federal exemption covers, but only if each message meets its conditions, including the limit of one a day and three a week and a working opt-out.

Choosing now

Shortlist two or three tools, price each one at the same clinician count, and ask every vendor for its reminder terms in writing. If you want a sequence that starts from a series change and keeps a human review step, see how US Tech Automations configures this against your scheduler export before you move a caseload.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.