Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Best Student Information Software for Private Schools 2027

Nov 2, 2026

Start with the category decision

A private school choosing a student information system is really choosing between two models: one school-wide system that holds admissions, tuition and family records in one place, or a core SIS joined to separate tools for those jobs. A student information system (SIS) is the record of each student's enrollment, schedule, attendance, grades, health details and family contacts, and every other tool should match it. For most small private schools, the decision comes down to whether the vendor bundles billing and admissions or leaves them to you.

Here is the direct answer. If you want a price you can read before a sales call, shortlist Sycamore and Gradelink, because they are the only two products here whose own pricing pages show a figure. If you need a full suite and are willing to request quotes, Veracross, Blackbaud, FACTS and TADS Educate belong on the list, with the quote process as the main hurdle.

This guide covers six products that we could confirm are sold to private K-12 schools today, using each vendor's own product or pricing page. It is an informed buyer's guide built from public information. We did not run any product, and nothing here describes a customer result.

Key Takeaways

  • Only two of the six products publish a price on the page we opened: Sycamore and Gradelink.

  • Veracross, Blackbaud, FACTS and TADS Educate route pricing through a quote or sales contact, so compare their proposals line by line.

  • Price is only part of the total. Card processing, setup fees, add-ons and the staff time to connect admissions and billing often decide the real cost.

  • PowerSchool's SIS page we opened is written for school districts, so we did not rank it.

  • An orchestration layer helps only if your SIS can export data or expose it through an API, and someone must own the review step.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a private school, or at a small education business that runs one, who already has a shortlist and needs to choose. You are probably spending office hours re-keying data between admissions, the student record and billing, and you want fewer copies of the same family record. If your first question is the workflow tool rather than the SIS, read our Notion vs Airtable vs US Tech Automations comparison for education before this one.

Red flags: no one at the school will own the data after go-live; your current system cannot export records or expose them through an API; or you expect a vendor to configure everything and will not review any output yourself.

How we evaluated these tools

We kept products that a private school can buy today as a K-12 student information system and that we could confirm on an official product or pricing page. We then weighed them against the criteria below. The weights are our judgment for a small private-school buyer, not an industry standard. We did not compute an overall score, because the vendors publish very different levels of detail.

CriterionWeightWhat we looked for
Fit for private K-12 schools25%The vendor page names independent or private schools as its buyers
Published pricing you can check15%A price or pricing unit stated on the vendor's own pricing page
Admissions and tuition in one record15%Admissions, billing or tuition modules named on the vendor page
Data export and integration15%A stated API, export or integration capability
Implementation and onboarding15%Onboarding, migration or training steps described on the vendor page
Family and staff access10%Parent portal or app, and role-based access, named on the vendor page
Vendor support and training5%Training, support or customer success described on the vendor page

Independent evidence on private-school SIS software is thin. The best broad reference we found is the U.S. School Index, which reports National Center for Education Statistics data on the sector. Private schools in 2023-24: 30,553 nationwide according to U.S. School Index (2023-24 data). We also checked the National Association of Independent Schools' 2025-2026 sector report, but its full figures sit in a member-only PDF, so we used it for context only. Everything else is the vendor's own description, and we label it that way in the matrix and profiles.

We left out two names. PowerSchool's SIS, sold as eSchoolPlus on the product page we opened, is written for school districts and does not mention private schools, so it fails our first criterion. We also dropped QuickSchools, which appeared in several listings, because we could not open its official pricing page during this research.

Feature matrix from the vendor pages

The matrix records only what each vendor's page says. A "Not stated" cell means the page we opened did not say it, not that the product lacks the feature. Treat those gaps as questions for a demo.

VendorBuilt for private schoolsAdmissionsTuition billingFamily accessPublished price
VeracrossStated: independent schoolsStated: Admissions & Enrollment moduleStated: Tuition Management moduleStated: PortalsQuote-based
BlackbaudStated: designed around private school needsNot stated on the SIS pageNot stated on the SIS pageStated: parent portalQuote-based (Request Pricing)
FACTSNot stated on the page we openedNot stated on the page we openedNot stated on the page we openedStated: family data managementQuote-based (Contact Sales)
SycamoreStated: independent K-12 schoolsStated: admissions and enrollmentStated: payment plans, ACH, card, autopayStated: parent appPublished, per student
TADS EducateStated: built for private schoolsStated: starts at admissionsStated: through tuition managementNot stated on the page we openedQuote-based
GradelinkPartly: the EnrollMe add-on is described for private schoolsAdd-on: EnrollMeAdd-on: Gradelink PaymentsNot stated on the page we openedPublished base fee plus add-ons

Pricing: what is public and what is not

Pricing checked October 29, 2026. We used only prices printed on each vendor's own pricing or product pages. Third-party listings give figures for several of these products, but they disagree with each other and with the vendors' pages, so we left them out.

VendorPublic priceWhat the page offers instead
VeracrossQuote-basedA form, after which a representative reviews an initial proposal
BlackbaudQuote-basedA Request Pricing option and a demo request
FACTSQuote-basedA Contact Sales option
SycamorePublishedA per-student school-paid rate and a direct-pay option
TADS EducateQuote-basedA product sheet and a demo request
GradelinkPublishedA calculator that totals a base fee and optional add-ons

Sycamore lists a school-paid license at $4 per student per month, all-in, according to Sycamore (2026). Its direct-pay option, which the page says is rolling out in fall 2026, shifts most of the license cost to families, so ask which version you would be buying.

Gradelink base total: $106 per month plus $275 setup according to Gradelink (2026). That base total is the default the calculator shows, and the page does not explain how your student count changes it, so do not assume it matches your enrollment. Its EnrollMe add-on, which the page describes for private schools, adds $20.83 per month plus $497 setup according to Gradelink (2026).

Veracross says it prices for independent schools of different sizes and types, and that a school can take an academic-only solution or the full suite, according to Veracross. Blackbaud's SIS page offers a Request Pricing option and no dollar figures, according to Blackbaud. For FACTS and TADS Educate, the pages we opened point to sales contact and publish no figures, so a quote is the only route to a number.

How long a switch takes

Vendor pages describe onboarding in general terms and give no timelines. The one timeline we could verify comes from a government source, and it is a statewide move for public districts.

Reference pointFigureSource
Private schools and K-12 students, 2023-2430,553 schools; 5,096,365 studentsaccording to U.S. School Index (2023-24 data)
North Dakota statewide SIS switchJanuary 2025 start to July 2026 target, about 18 monthsaccording to North Dakota Department of Public Instruction (2026)

North Dakota SIS switch: January 2025 start, July 2026 target according to North Dakota Department of Public Instruction (2026). The state's announcement covers public districts only, so treat it as a sense of pace, not a private-school benchmark. Veracross's switching webinar page describes its implementation process but gives no timeline, so we did not state one for any vendor on this list. Ask each vendor for a written onboarding plan that covers data migration, training and the go-live date.

Vendor profiles: fit, limits and evidence

Veracross

Best fit: independent schools that want admissions, academics, business and portals in one system, and that want to replace several separate subscriptions. Its site describes an academic-only option as well as the full suite, so you can start narrower.

Limitations: the price depends on which modules you take, and no figure is published, so a real cost comparison starts only after a proposal.

Implementation: a form starts a sales conversation. Veracross's integrations page says its Open API offers two-way data sync, but the documentation sits behind a partner portal, so ask for access terms before you plan an integration.

Blackbaud

Best fit: private K-12 schools that already use Blackbaud products. The SIS page says the system was designed around private school needs and includes an integrated LMS, a parent portal under one login, grading and scheduling, and a data flow to the Blackbaud Enrollment Management System.

Limitations: no price is published, and the SIS page does not mention tuition billing. If you need billing, ask whether it is a separate product before you request a quote.

Implementation: the page lists training, a customer success manager, 24/7 technical support and an online community of K-12 peers.

FACTS

Best fit: schools that want a system of record for student and family data, with role-based staff access and a mobile app for classroom management. The FACTS IQ page presents the SIS as a central record that connects third-party apps and internal workflows.

Limitations: the page does not name private schools as its buyers, and it does not describe admissions, tuition billing or onboarding. Its one named customer example is a diocese, which suggests church-affiliated schools, but the page does not say so, and we did not treat it as a stated target. Its only pricing route is Contact Sales.

Implementation: not described on the page. Ask for it in writing.

Sycamore

Best fit: independent K-12 schools, including faith-based, classical, Montessori and microschool models, that want admissions, tuition billing, the student record and a parent app in one database. The product page also lists attendance, gradebook, report cards and state reporting.

Limitations: the price has a fee layer. Card and ACH payments carry processing fees, and the direct-pay option moves license costs to families. The page's worked annual totals do not line up with its stated rates, so verify any annual figure in writing before you rely on it.

Implementation: the page lists Sycamore Academy training, role-based access and single sign-on. Ask for the migration plan and the data export terms in writing.

TADS Educate

Best fit: private schools that want admissions and tuition management tied to the student record. The product page describes the product as built for private schools and as a cost-effective solution for schools of any size.

Limitations: the page publishes no price and does not describe academics, the parent portal or onboarding. Put those three topics in your demo script. Third-party listings give cost estimates, but we could not confirm them, so we did not use them.

Implementation: the page says Educate connects with admissions and payment systems and offers a product sheet and a demo request.

Best fit: smaller private schools that want a published base fee and add-ons they can switch on. The pricing page says billing is a monthly subscription with no long-term contract and that you can cancel at any time without penalty.

Limitations: the base total shows no stated student count. Several add-ons, including Clever Sync, Renaissance Learning, transcript import and educational standards, carry no published price, and the Premium Records Transfer carries a fee the page does not list.

Implementation: the setup fee is a one-time charge included in the base total on the page, and the add-ons are billed monthly, though EnrollMe also carries its own one-time setup fee. Confirm the records-transfer path before you commit.

Admissions-to-billing handoffs, and a proposed fix

The most common break in a private school's stack is the handoff from an accepted applicant to a billable family. The SIS shows an enrolled student, billing needs a family account and a payment plan, and the office re-keys the same contact into both systems. A proposed US Tech Automations workflow would sit at that handoff.

A configurable workflow could start when a scheduled SIS export marks an applicant as enrolled. The action would create a billing-setup task for the business office and attach the family's contact details and chosen start date. The output is an entry in a review queue, not a charge. Prerequisites are a scheduled export or API access from your SIS, a field map that matches your enrollment statuses, and a named owner for the queue. The business office approves every task before any account is created, because a wrong billing setup reaches a family directly.

A second proposed workflow could start from a daily attendance export that flags an unexcused absence. The action drafts a family message from a template and queues it in the school's messaging tool. Prerequisites are daily attendance data in the export, consent rules for family messages that your school sets, and the messaging tool's own sending rules. The human review point is a staff member who reads each draft before it sends.

Neither workflow describes a live customer or a measured result. Both are designs a buyer could configure, and both depend on the SIS exposing the fields they need, which is the first thing to confirm with any vendor on this list.

Zapier, Make, n8n or an in-house script

For many schools, the real alternative is stitching these steps together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or writing a script in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps and route errors to a separate branch when you configure them, so the question is not whether they can run the workflow. The question is who designs and owns the parts they do not do for you: idempotency, so a retried run does not create the same billing task twice; escalation when a field changes; access controls on family data; and maintenance when the SIS changes its export.

A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those parts differently. It would add a standing review queue with named approvers, a stop rule that pauses the workflow when a field map fails, and a weekly reconciliation report that compares the SIS enrollment count with the billing count. The buyer still needs the same API or export access, and the buyer still decides who may see family data.

A worked example for a 200-student school

Take an illustrative school with 200 families where each family pays a $1,000 monthly tuition charge by card and the school absorbs the processing fees. Sycamore's card rate is 3.9% plus $0.30 per transaction, according to Sycamore (2026), so each $1,000 charge costs $39.30 in fees, and 200 charges in one month cost $7,860. If the school splits fees 50/50 or passes them to families, the school's share falls, so the same math moves with that setting. If inquiries are tracked in HubSpot, its webhooks reference documents association subscriptions whose events carry the ASSOCIATION_ADDED action, which a proposed workflow could use to open a billing-setup task when an applicant is linked to a family record.

When a simpler setup wins

A simpler setup beats an orchestration layer in three situations. If enrollment is very small and one administrator handles attendance, report cards and billing, a single SIS with a published base fee, such as Gradelink's, is simpler than adding a workflow layer. If you already run Veracross or Blackbaud for every module, adding US Tech Automations on top creates a second system to maintain, and the suite may already cover the handoff. If your SIS offers no export or API access, no workflow can start, so buy a system that exposes data before you buy automation.

Frequently asked questions

Which system should a small private school shortlist first?

Shortlist Sycamore and Gradelink first if you need a published price to compare, then add the quote-based suites once you know which modules you need.

Do I still need a separate billing tool if the SIS handles tuition?

Not always, but confirm it in a demo. Sycamore's page lists tuition billing and payments in its product, Veracross lists a Tuition Management module, and TADS Educate describes tuition management, so check the ledger export and card fees before you add a billing tool.

Can I compare prices across these vendors directly?

Not yet. Only Sycamore and Gradelink publish a price on the pages we opened, and Gradelink's base total does not state a student count, so ask every vendor for an itemized proposal at your enrollment that includes setup, add-ons and card fees.

Does an orchestration layer replace the SIS?

No. It sits on top of the SIS and moves records between tools, so the SIS stays the system of record and the workflow depends on the SIS exposing the fields it needs.

How long does a switch take?

The one timeline we could verify is North Dakota's statewide move of public districts, which began in January 2025 and targets July 2026. Use it as a sense of pace, and ask each vendor for a written onboarding plan with a go-live date.

Decision checklist before you request quotes

  • Confirm which modules your school needs: admissions, academics, billing, and parent or family access.

  • Ask for an itemized proposal that shows setup, add-ons, card fees and the student count behind each price.

  • Ask whether the SIS offers an export or API, and what access costs.

  • Name the person who owns data quality after go-live.

  • Get a written migration plan with a go-live date and training commitments.

  • Decide whether a workflow layer is needed at all before you add one.

Next step

Start with the two products that publish a price, request itemized proposals from the four that do not, and settle the handoff design before you sign anything. If you want to see the admissions-to-billing handoff laid out as a configurable design, see how US Tech Automations configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.