Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best Telehealth Software for Therapists in 2027: 5 Options

Oct 28, 2026

Start with the category decision

Decide where the video visit lives before you compare prices. Telehealth software for therapists is practice-management software that runs secure video sessions from the same system that holds the calendar, client records and payments. The alternative is a separate video tool, which leaves scheduling, notes and billing in other places and puts the handoffs on your staff. Every vendor below offers built-in video on at least one plan, so the buying question is narrower: which plan includes the video you will use, and what the total becomes once group sessions, insurance billing and a second clinician are added.

TL;DR: Choose by plan, not by headline price. For a solo therapist who wants video, notes and scheduling in one login, the short list is Ensora's Essentials plan with the telehealth add-on, Practice Better's Starter plan if the caseload stays at or under 10 clients, or SimplePractice's Plus plan when group sessions matter. Then price the add-ons and get the BAA terms in writing before you store a single client record.

Key Takeaways

  • Every vendor here offers built-in video on at least one plan, but the plan that includes it varies. Check the base plan you would actually buy, not the headline price.

  • Group telehealth is the most common upgrade. It is listed on SimplePractice's Plus plan, included from Ensora's Advanced plan up, listed on Carepatron's Plus plan, and sold as a $15 add-on per practitioner at Jane App.

  • Insurance billing is often priced separately. Jane App charges $20 per month for it on its Practice and Thrive plans, Ensora lists claims processing from its Advanced plan up, and the other pages we opened do not show claims support clearly.

  • On published monthly prices, Ensora's Essentials plan with its telehealth add-on comes to $41 per therapist. Carepatron's Plus plan shows $15.50 per user, but its billing period is not stated.

  • Promotional prices are common. Budget at standard list prices and treat introductory offers as discounts.

  • TherapyNotes appears in many comparison articles, but we could not open its pricing page during research, so it is not scored in this guide.

How we evaluated these tools

We weighted six criteria. The weights are our judgment for a therapy practice, not an industry standard, and Table 1 shows what each one measures. Telehealth inclusion carries the most weight, because a plan without video cannot run the visit at all. Cost is second, and we measure it per clinician, since per-practitioner fees grow faster than the headline price as a practice adds staff.

Table 1: Evaluation criteria and weights

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for a therapy practice
Telehealth in the plan you would buy25%An add-on or a higher tier changes the real cost of video
Monthly cost at your clinician count20%Per-practitioner fees compound as headcount grows
Group session support10%Group therapy needs group video, not only one-to-one
Insurance and claims path15%Claims that leave the system add staff time
Scheduling, notes and intake fit15%Admin work after the session is where hours go
Public transparency15%Published prices, trial terms and BAA access make comparison possible

Our sources are each vendor's own pricing page, opened during research, plus independent review sites and a legal trade summary of federal HIPAA guidance. Where a page did not load or did not show a figure, the text says so, and no figure was estimated or recalled from memory.

What each plan costs

Table 2 lists monthly list prices per clinician unless a row says otherwise. Promotional prices are left out, and billing periods appear only where the vendor stated them.

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Every figure in Table 2 comes from the source page linked in its row.

Table 2: Published list prices by vendor and plan

VendorPlanMonthly priceLimit or noteSource page
SimplePracticeStarter$49Standard price after a three-month promotionSimplePractice pricing
SimplePracticeEssential$79Standard price after a three-month promotionSimplePractice pricing
SimplePracticePlus (solo)$99Group telehealth listed on this planSimplePractice pricing
SimplePracticePlus (6+ practitioners)Quote-basedGroups of six or more go to a sales consultantSimplePractice pricing
CarepatronPlus$15.50 per userShown beside $31 and a 50% offer; billing period not statedCarepatron pricing
CarepatronAdvanced$19.50 per userShown beside $39 and a 50% offer; billing period not statedCarepatron pricing
Jane AppBalance$59One practitioner profile; 20 appointments per monthJane App pricing
Jane AppPractice$79One full-time practitionerJane App pricing
Jane AppThrive$99One full-time practitioner; adds retention and marketing toolsJane App pricing
Practice BetterStarter$3510 clients, 1 practitionerPractice Better pricing
Practice BetterProfessional$69300 clients, 1 practitionerPractice Better pricing
Practice BetterPlus$99Unlimited clients; 1 practitioner plus 3 admin licensesPractice Better pricing
Practice BetterTeam$1552 practitioner licenses; $50 for each additionalPractice Better pricing
EnsoraEssentials$29 per therapist (monthly); $27 on annual billingTelehealth is an optional $12 add-onEnsora pricing
EnsoraAdvanced$59 per therapist (monthly); $54 on annual billingUnlimited telehealth, individual and groupEnsora pricing
EnsoraPremier$89 per therapist (monthly); $82 on annual billingUnlimited telehealth, individual and groupEnsora pricing

The Plus plan is the clearest route to group telehealth at a published price: Plus plan: $99 per month for one practitioner according to SimplePractice (2026). Its Starter and Essential plans are listed at $49 and $79 per month after the promotional period, but the page does not say which of them include one-to-one telehealth video, so Table 3 marks them as not listed. Groups of six or more practitioners are routed to sales, which is why that row reads Quote-based.

Ensora's TheraNest pricing is the most transparent on annual billing: Essentials plan: $29 per therapist per month according to Ensora (2026). The page lists $27 per therapist on annual billing for Essentials, and the other two tiers move down in the same way.

Carepatron's paid tiers are harder to budget from: Plus plan: $15.50 per user shown, billing period unstated according to Carepatron (2026). The page pairs that figure with $31 and a 50% offer, so ask the vendor which number is the monthly price before you budget with it.

Jane App's pricing is easy to read for one practitioner and harder for a team. The Balance plan is listed at $59 per month for one practitioner profile, and the page does not publish the price for each additional practitioner on Practice or Thrive. A team quote therefore has to come from the vendor.

Practice Better's entry tier is cheap for a small caseload: Starter plan: $35 per month, 10 clients according to Practice Better (2026). That is a low entry price with telehealth video chat listed on the page, but the 10-client cap is the constraint, and a full caseload will outgrow it.

Telehealth features, plan by plan

Table 3 separates what each pricing page lists from what it leaves out. An empty or "not listed" cell means the page we opened did not say so. It does not mean the feature is absent, and the vendor should confirm it before you sign.

Table 3: Telehealth and billing features as listed on each vendor's page

VendorTelehealth video in base planGroup telehealthInsurance billingNotes
SimplePracticeNot listed for Starter or Essential on the page readListed on PlusInsurance Navigator marked coming soonTelehealth page calls the service HIPAA-compliant
CarepatronListed as included on the free planListed on Plus and aboveNot described on the page readFree plan caps appointments at 100
Jane AppOne-to-one telehealth in every planAdd-on at $15 per practitionerAdd-on at $20 per month on Practice and ThriveWaiting room, screen share and session timer listed
Practice BetterListed on Starter; higher tiers not confirmed on the page readNot listed on the page readNot listed on the page readAI charting, ePrescribe and text reminders are add-ons
EnsoraOptional add-on on Essentials; included on Advanced and PremierIncluded on Advanced and PremierNot on Essentials; 50 free claims a month on Advanced; unlimited on PremierPremier trial lasts 21 days and needs no card

Two independent sources check parts of this picture. The optional telehealth add-on on Ensora's Essentials plan is Telehealth add-on: $12 per therapist per month according to SoftwareFinder (2026), which matches the vendor's own page. The Carepatron free plan includes one-to-one telehealth, according to Dupple (2026), an independent review that also notes the free tier has no SMS and no group video.

What a year costs for a small team

Monthly list prices are easy to compare. The annual total is where add-ons and headcount change the answer. Table 4 uses three therapists or one practitioner, with the list prices from Table 2 and the add-on prices from Table 3.

Table 4: Illustrative annual totals at published list prices

ScenarioMonthly equivalentAnnual total
Ensora Essentials plus telehealth add-on, 3 therapists (3 × ($29 + $12))$123$1,476
Ensora Advanced with telehealth included, 3 therapists (3 × $59)$177$2,124
Ensora Advanced on annual billing, 3 therapists (3 × $649 per year)$162$1,947
Jane App Practice with group telehealth and insurance billing, 1 practitioner ($79 + $15 + $20)$114$1,368

The math shows the trade-off clearly. Moving three therapists from Essentials with the add-on to Advanced adds $54 a month, or $648 a year, and in exchange group telehealth is included without a separate charge. Annual billing on Advanced brings the total down to $1,947 a year, which is $177 less than monthly billing for the same three therapists. The Jane row covers one practitioner only, because Jane does not publish the price for each additional practitioner on those plans.

Vendor profiles

SimplePractice: group telehealth on the Plus plan

Best fit: a solo clinician who expects to run group sessions and wants video in the same login as scheduling and documentation. Plus is the plan the pricing page ties to group telehealth.

Limitations: the pricing page does not say which Starter or Essential plan includes one-to-one telehealth video, and the Care Aide add-on, which supports telehealth sessions, is a separate charge. Groups of six or more practitioners go to a sales consultant, so a larger practice has no public total.

Implementation: ask in writing which plan includes one-to-one video before you choose a tier, and request the signed business associate agreement during sign-up. The telehealth page describes the service as HIPAA-compliant and the footer links to a BAA page, but neither is a signed agreement.

Primary evidence: SimplePractice pricing and SimplePractice telehealth.

Carepatron: free one-to-one telehealth, with paid billing still unclear

Best fit: a solo clinician who wants to start at no cost with one-to-one video and move up when group sessions are needed. The pricing page lists telehealth as included on the free plan and group telehealth on Plus.

Limitations: the free plan caps appointments at 100 and has no SMS. The paid billing period is unstated, and the pricing page does not describe therapy-specific templates, so it reads as a general practice-management product.

Implementation: before moving records in, export a sample client file and an appointment list so you know what the export looks like if you ever leave.

Primary evidence: Carepatron pricing and the Dupple review.

Jane App: add-ons priced per practitioner

Best fit: a group practice that expects to add practitioners and wants group telehealth and insurance billing as priced options. Jane's plans are sold per practitioner profile, which suits a practice that will grow its headcount.

Limitations: the Balance plan caps appointments at 20 per month, and the price for each additional practitioner is not published. Group telehealth add-on: $15 per practitioner per month according to Jane App (2026). Add-ons stack quickly, which is why Table 4 shows $114 a month for one practitioner on Practice with group telehealth and insurance billing.

Implementation: get the per-practitioner price for your planned headcount in writing before you buy. Check the card processing rates on the same page, and decide whether client payments will run through the platform.

Primary evidence: Jane App pricing.

Practice Better: a low entry price with a client cap

Best fit: a single practitioner with a small caseload who wants telehealth video chat from the first paid tier.

Limitations: the 10-client cap on Starter ends the plan quickly for a full caseload. The comparison table on the page is ambiguous about telehealth on Professional, Plus and Team, so ask before you assume it is included. AI charting, ePrescribe and text reminders are each priced as add-ons, so the total grows with use.

Implementation: count your current active clients against the 10-client cap, and read the plan comparison on the pricing page for telehealth on any tier above Starter before you choose.

Primary evidence: Practice Better pricing.

Ensora (TheraNest): telehealth included from Advanced

Best fit: a therapist or small group that wants unlimited telehealth, individual and group, without paying a separate add-on. Telehealth add-on: the Essentials plan has telehealth only as an option, so the Advanced plan is the one to compare if group video is part of the plan.

Limitations: Essentials leaves telehealth out unless you buy the add-on, so the cheapest plan is not the cheapest telehealth-included route. Essentials has no claims processing, Advanced includes 50 free claims a month, and Premier lists unlimited claims, so confirm the claims terms for your volume. The trial is 21 days on Premier with no card required, according to the page terms.

Implementation: if you plan to bill insurance, ask for the claims terms in writing and check the Premier feature list before you settle on Advanced.

Primary evidence: Ensora pricing.

TherapyNotes: not scored here

TherapyNotes appears in many comparison articles, but during research we could not open its pricing page, and no plan or telehealth term from it was readable. Treat it as unscored in this guide. Ask for its current plans and telehealth terms before you compare it with the five products above.

Where the admin work sits after the video call

The video visit is the easy part to buy. The work that eats staff time sits around it: chasing an unfinished intake form, rebooking a no-show, confirming a payment, or flagging a claim that did not go out. For the intake side specifically, the question to settle first is whether intake status can leave the system in an export.

US Tech Automations describes its service as managed automation: the company maps the process, designs the workflow and builds it on its own platform. Its public support example shows a person approving each draft before it sends, which is the review pattern we would require for any client-facing message in a therapy practice. The site lists integrations with Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks, Stripe and more, but it does not describe a therapy-practice connector or a public API, so that prerequisite has to be confirmed before anything is designed.

A proposed workflow for no-shows would work like this. The trigger is an appointment's status changing to no-show in the scheduler's export. The action is drafting a rebooking message from an approved template. The output is a draft placed in a review queue, and nothing is sent until a front-desk staff member approves it. The prerequisite is an export or API from the scheduling system that includes status changes.

A second proposed workflow handles unfinished intake. The trigger is a telehealth appointment being booked. The action is checking the intake form's status in the exported data. The output is a row in a review sheet listing each client whose form is incomplete. A staff member decides who to contact and whether a session should move, and the workflow makes no clinical decision. The prerequisite is that intake status appears in the export; if the forms live in a separate tool, that tool needs an export too.

A worked example: 60 sessions a week

Take an illustrative practice with three clinicians, each seeing 20 telehealth clients a week, so 60 sessions in total. If 12 of those sessions (20%) start with an unfinished intake form, and staff spend 6 minutes per client chasing each one by hand, that is 72 minutes, or 1.2 hours, every week, or about 62 hours a year across 52 working weeks. A proposed US Tech Automations design would move that chase into one review sheet, so staff spend their time on the 12 flagged clients instead of searching the whole week's list. If the appointments sit in Google Calendar, the design would read changes through the documented events.list method, according to Google for Developers, and the prerequisite is a Google account with access to that calendar. If they sit in a practice-management system instead, the prerequisite is an export or API from that system, confirmed before any build. These figures are assumptions to replace with your own counts, not a measured result, and the cost of the workflow layer is separate from the telehealth plan prices above.

Build it yourself or buy the workflow

Zapier, Make and n8n are the usual alternatives for a practice that wants automation without a managed vendor. When configured, they can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and keep audit evidence. The buyer still designs and owns the rest: observability (knowing that a run failed), idempotency (so a retry does not message a client twice), escalation when a step fails, access controls over client data, and maintenance when the scheduler or the forms change. A managed design such as the one US Tech Automations describes takes on some of the design and build work, but the prerequisites are the same: a named human approver, a confirmed export, and access limited to the staff who need client records. Maintenance and access rules stay with the practice unless the contract says otherwise.

Common mistakes and when a simpler tool wins

Most buying errors here come from reading the first number on a pricing page. These are the ones to avoid:

  • Comparing headline prices without checking which tier includes telehealth video.

  • Budgeting a promotional rate as if it were the monthly cost.

  • Assuming "telehealth included" also means group sessions are included.

  • Pricing one clinician when the plan will grow to two or three.

  • Adding a workflow layer before checking the built-in reminders and forms.

US Tech Automations is not the right first purchase for every practice. A solo clinician whose only need is video, notes and scheduling in one login is better served by a practice-management plan such as Ensora's Essentials with the add-on, with nothing to automate. A practice whose scheduler already sends its own reminders, and whose staff handles a dozen telehealth sessions a week, gains little from a review sheet. A practice whose scheduler offers no export or API cannot start a workflow at all, so the simpler tool wins until the data can leave the system.

Who this is for

  • A solo clinician who wants one login and runs no group sessions: Ensora's Essentials plan with the telehealth add-on, or Practice Better's Starter plan if the caseload stays at or under 10 clients.

  • A solo clinician who will run group sessions: SimplePractice's Plus plan or Ensora's Advanced plan.

  • A group practice that expects to add practitioners: Jane App, once the per-practitioner price is confirmed in writing.

  • A therapist with a tight budget who is starting out: Carepatron's free plan for one-to-one video, with the 100-appointment cap in mind.

Red flags: you need group video but are only pricing a base plan; you need claims submitted from inside the tool and the vendor cannot confirm that in writing; or you cannot get a signed BAA before client records are stored.

Decision checklist

  • Which plan includes the video you need: one-to-one, group, or both?

  • What is the monthly total for your clinician count, including every add-on?

  • Which price is the standard rate, and which one is the promotion?

  • Will the vendor sign a BAA before you store any client records?

  • Can you export appointments and client data if you leave or add automation later?

  • Is there a named person who approves every client-facing message?

Frequently asked questions

Which option is cheapest for a solo therapist?

Carepatron's free plan costs $0 and includes one-to-one telehealth, but it caps appointments at 100 and has no group video. Among paid plans with confirmed prices, Ensora's Essentials plan with the $12 telehealth add-on comes to $41 per therapist per month.

Do group sessions cost extra anywhere?

Sometimes. Jane App sells group telehealth as a $15 per practitioner add-on, Ensora includes it from Advanced, and SimplePractice and Carepatron list it on their higher plans.

Does every vendor sign a BAA?

We could not confirm that for every vendor. SimplePractice's footer links to a BAA page, and a BAA would likely be required when a vendor goes beyond acting as a mere conduit for protected health information, according to Mondaq (2022). Ask each vendor for a signed agreement before storing notes, and confirm the position with counsel.

Is there a free trial?

Ensora's Premier plan has a 21-day trial that needs no card, and both Carepatron and Practice Better publish free tiers with limits. Check whether the trial includes the features you plan to use before you start.

Can reminders be handled without a workflow tool?

Start with the built-in reminders. On Practice Better, text reminders are priced per message on the pricing page, and Carepatron's free plan includes no SMS. Add a workflow layer only after you have checked the built-in options and confirmed the export path.

Conclusion

Start with the plan that includes the video you will use, not the cheapest headline, then price every add-on and confirm the BAA and claims terms in writing. Ensora's Essentials with the add-on, SimplePractice's Plus, Jane App's Practice and Practice Better's Starter each suit a different practice size, and Carepatron's free plan is the honest starting point for a solo clinician on a tight budget. If you later need intake follow-up or no-show outreach automated, see how US Tech Automations configures this, starting with the export and approval steps that every proposed design depends on.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.