5 Best Text Messaging Software for Insurance Agencies 2027
Make the category decision first. Most agencies need a texting platform: a seat-based tool that sends and receives SMS and MMS from a business number, keeps one thread per client that several producers can answer, and processes opt-outs. A workflow layer is a different category. It starts or routes messages when something happens in another system, such as a form submission or a flagged reply. US Tech Automations belongs to the second category, so it is profiled separately below rather than ranked against the five texting tools.
The size of the market makes the stakes visible. P&C net premiums written: $980.3 billion according to Triple-I (2025 data), up from $933.6 billion in 2024. Our analysis: a larger premium base means more renewal, billing and claims touchpoints, and each one is a place where a text either helps a client or creates compliance exposure. The workforce is also large, with 572,600 insurance sales agent jobs in 2025 according to U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2025 data).
TL;DR: For most agencies, choose a standalone texting platform on consent controls, shared-inbox access and verified pricing first. Add a workflow layer only when a specific trigger lives in another system.
Definition: Insurance agency text messaging software is a platform that sends and receives SMS and MMS from a business number, logs each conversation against a client record, and processes opt-outs and carrier registration.
Listing order is alphabetical. It is not a ranking, and no sponsorship affects placement or verdicts in this article.
Key Takeaways
Choose on consent and opt-out controls before price. Statutory exposure under the TCPA is $500 per violation, and no vendor's homepage can produce your consent records for you.
Per-user pricing diverges sharply. Heymarket's Standard tier is $49 per user per month billed annually with a two-user minimum, while EZ Texting's Launch tier starts at $20 a month billed annually for one user.
Only Textellent and Heymarket name the TCPA on their own homepages. The others describe CTIA-aligned or general compliance tooling, so ask for the specifics in writing.
Emitrr's pricing page did not load for us, and third-party figures for it conflict, so request a quote rather than budgeting from a listing.
The workflow layer is priced per workflow and run cap, not per seat. Confirm a webhook or API path into your texting tool before you buy it.
Third-party price listings contradict vendor pages for Heymarket and SimpleTexting. Use the vendor page and confirm the number on a written quote.
Evaluation criteria and weights
The weights below are our analysis, not vendor data. They reflect where a missed step costs an agency the most, and you can change them for your own operation.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries that weight |
|---|---|---|
| Consent and opt-out controls | 25% | Each marketing text needs documented consent, and statutory damages run $500 per violation |
| Shared inbox and multi-user access | 20% | Several producers often answer one client thread, and a second user should not require a second bill |
| Verifiable pricing | 15% | Per-user and per-credit pricing differs widely, and unverified prices distort the three-user cost |
| CRM or agency-system integration path | 15% | Renewal and follow-up texts need to attach to a client record |
| Carrier registration support | 10% | 10DLC registration and carrier fees affect launch timing and monthly cost |
| Automation and API depth | 15% | Needed only when events outside the texting tool must trigger messages |
Feature matrix from vendor pages
These cells record what each vendor's own homepage stated when we checked. "Not stated" means the homepage did not say it. It does not mean the product lacks the feature, so confirm each gap in a demo before you buy.
| Vendor | Two-way texting | Shared inbox | Opt-out handling | TCPA named | 10DLC | Named CRMs | API | Automation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Textellent | Stated | Stated | Stated | Stated (vendor claim) | Guided setup | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zapier | Named only | Stated |
| EZ Texting | Stated | Not stated | Stated (one-tap STOP links) | Not stated (CTIA cited) | Stated (A2P) | Not stated | Stated | Stated |
| SimpleTexting | Stated | Not stated | Stated | Not stated (compliance tools) | Stated | Not stated | Stated on all plans | Stated |
| Heymarket | Stated | Stated | Partly (footer STOP text) | Stated | Support | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk, Zapier, Slack, Twilio | Stated | Stated |
| Emitrr | Not stated (1-to-1 or group texts) | Stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Logos mostly dental and healthcare systems | Not stated | Stated |
| Orchestration layer | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Gmail is the only named integration, 14 in total | Webhooks on all plans; read-only on Growth | Stated (workflows) |
Pricing and three-user annual cost
Pricing checked October 20, 2026, from each vendor's own pricing page. The three-user column is our arithmetic from the listed prices. It excludes carrier fees, credit overages and taxes, and it assumes an extra-user price applies on a monthly basis where the page does not say otherwise.
| Vendor | Entry plan on vendor page | Billing basis | Users included | Credits per month | Extra user | Other fees on page | Three-user annual list cost (our math) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Textellent | Essentials $59/mo; $49/mo billed annually | Per plan | 1 | 750 | $10/mo | $49 activation | $1,308/yr on Standard ($99/mo annual, 2 users) plus one extra user |
| EZ Texting | Launch from $25/mo; $20/mo billed annually | Per plan, up to 500 contacts | 1 | 500 | $10/mo | Telecom fee on Launch, amount not listed | $480/yr (Launch base plus two extra users) |
| SimpleTexting | $39/mo estimated; $398.40/yr billed yearly | Per configuration shown | 3 | 500 | $20/mo | $10/mo per extra number; $4 carrier registration | $398.40/yr as listed |
| Heymarket | Standard $49/user/mo billed annually | Per user, 2-user minimum | Per seat | Not stated | Per seat | Enterprise on custom pricing | $1,764/yr (3 × $49 × 12) |
| Emitrr | Contact vendor | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Contact vendor |
| Orchestration layer | Solo $117/mo (3 active workflows) | Per plan, priced by workflow | Growth lists 5 team members | Not a credit product | Not per seat | Performance tier quoted after discovery call | Growth at $447/mo = $5,364/yr |
Heymarket Standard: $49 per user per month according to Heymarket, billed annually with a two-user minimum. The page describes Plus at $99 and Pro at $199 on the same basis, and it lists no included message volume for any tier.
Where sources disagree, we used the vendor's own page and recorded the conflict below.
| Vendor | Vendor's own page | Third-party or self-published figure | What we used |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heymarket | $49, $99 and $199 per user per month, billed annually | $20, $41 and $62 per user, with an unclear billing period | Vendor page |
| SimpleTexting | $39/mo estimated for 500 credits and 3 users | $39 (TextBolt) and $29 for 500 credits (the company's own roundup) | Vendor page |
| EZ Texting | Launch from $25/mo ($20 billed annually) | Roundup range of $25 to $149/mo across tiers | Vendor page |
| Emitrr | Pricing page returned a 404 when checked | Differing SMS figures across blog posts and third-party roundups | Contact vendor |
| Orchestration layer | Solo $117/mo | Own roundup lists starting price as "Custom" | Vendor pricing page |
Vendor profiles
Each profile separates what the vendor states from our analysis. Read the vendor-stated part as a claim to confirm, and the analysis part as our judgment.
Textellent
Vendor-stated: The homepage describes two-way texting from an existing business number, a shared team inbox through a Messenger extension, scheduled text blasts, templates and automations. It says guided 10DLC setup keeps customers compliant with TCPA rules, and it claims 800+ integrations. Essentials is $59 a month ($49 billed annually) for one user and 750 credits. Standard is $119 a month ($99 billed annually) for two users and 2,000 credits, with a $49 activation fee and $10 a month per extra user. According to Textellent, the FAQ says there are no contracts or annual commitments.
Our analysis: Best fit for a small group of producers who share client threads and want a shared inbox at a low per-user price. Limitations: the TCPA language is a vendor claim, the homepage does not say whether Textellent or you handle carrier registration, and agency-management systems are not named. Implementation: before go-live, confirm in writing who owns 10DLC registration and consent records, and test STOP handling on a test number.
EZ Texting
Vendor-stated: The homepage lists two-way SMS, one-tap STOP links, A2P registration, bulk and scheduled sends, an SMS API, automation and templates. It says the product aligns with CTIA rules and captures opt-in consent, but it does not name the TCPA or a shared team inbox. Launch starts at $25 a month ($20 billed annually) for up to 500 contacts and one user. According to EZ Texting, Boost starts at $75 a month ($60 billed annually) for 500 to 2,000 contacts, and Scale starts at $125 ($100 billed annually) for 2,000 to 50,000. Each tier includes 500 monthly credits, and the FAQ lists an extra-user price of $10 a month.
Our analysis: Best fit for a single producer or a solo practice that needs a low-cost standalone texting line and does not need a shared inbox. Limitations: Launch includes one user, Launch carries a telecom fee whose amount the page does not list, and the homepage names no CRM. Implementation: confirm shared-inbox behavior for a second user before buying, and get the telecom fee in writing.
SimpleTexting
Vendor-stated: The homepage lists two-way texting, unsubscribe handling it describes as hassle free, built-in compliance tools, carrier registration help including 10DLC, scheduled texts and blasts, automation, templates and API access on all plans. It does not name the TCPA, a shared inbox or a CRM. The pricing page shows one configuration in full: $39 a month (estimated) for 500 credits and three users, or $398.40 billed yearly, with $20 a month per extra user and $10 a month per extra number. Carrier fees are charged separately, averaging about $0.0025 per US message according to SimpleTexting.
Our analysis: Best fit for a three-person agency that wants predictable entry pricing and API access. Limitations: the pricing page prices only one configuration, so larger volumes need a quote, and the homepage does not show a team inbox or a named CRM. Implementation: ask for a demo of the shared-inbox and CRM path before you commit, and ask which carrier fees will appear on the invoice.
Heymarket
Vendor-stated: The homepage describes a shared inbox, scheduled and drip texts, automations triggered by keywords, timing or message sentiment, templates and an API. It states the platform is SOC 2 Type 2, TCPA and HIPAA compliant, and it names Salesforce and HubSpot as CRM integrations, with Zapier, Slack, Zendesk and Twilio among others. Standard, Plus and Pro are priced per user per month when billed annually, with a two-user minimum. According to CostBench, a third-party listing shows $20, $41 and $62 per user, but its own billing period is unclear, so we did not use it.
Our analysis: Best fit for an agency that wants a shared inbox and a named CRM integration and can absorb per-seat pricing. Three users on Standard is $1,764 a year, the highest verified figure in the cost table. Limitations: per-seat cost rises quickly, the page does not list included messages, and the named integrations are mostly sales and support tools. Implementation: confirm your agency-management system is supported, and get the TCPA and HIPAA claims in writing with the data-processing terms.
Emitrr
Vendor-stated: The homepage lists a shared inbox for one or more phone lines, bulk sends of "100 or 1000 SMS/MMS at once," scheduled and trigger-based sends, and integration with "500+ CRMs." Its named logos are mainly dental and healthcare practice systems, and it markets HIPAA-safe texting. Two-way texting, opt-out handling, TCPA, 10DLC and an API were not stated on the homepage.
Pricing: Contact vendor. The Emitrr pricing page returned a 404 when we checked, and the third-party figures we found disagree with each other. We did not verify any Emitrr price, so none appears in the cost table.
Our analysis: Choose Emitrr only after a demo confirms the consent, opt-out and two-way features its homepage does not state. In our reading, the healthcare-led logos suggest a practice focus, and its insurance-specific material sits on its blog rather than its product pages. Skip it if you need a verified price before a vendor call.
Orchestration layer: US Tech Automations
Vendor-stated: Three self-serve plans are billed monthly, with a discount for yearly billing. Solo is $117 a month with 3 active workflows and one scheduled run per workflow per day. Growth is $447 a month with 5 active workflows, up to six runs per workflow per day, and five team members. Scale is $1,647 a month with 10 active workflows, up to 72 runs per workflow per day, and custom code steps. The Performance tier is priced after a discovery call. The page names Gmail as its only integration out of 14 total, lists webhook triggers on every plan, and says API access is read-only on Growth and full on Scale, with custom integrations on Scale only.
Our analysis: This is a workflow layer, not a texting inbox. It fits when an event in a system outside the texting tool should start, pause or route a message. Limitations: no native texting-platform connector is named, SMS sending depends on the texting tool you choose, run caps mean batch campaigns need planning, and the read-only API on Growth is the key open question if the workflow must write back to your texting tool. Implementation: confirm in writing a webhook or API path into your texting tool, and check whether the write-back you need requires Scale. The company's own June 2026 roundup of texting tools, which ranks it among five products, lists its starting price as "Custom" and SimpleTexting at $29 for 500 credits. Those figures conflict with its pricing page, so treat the roundup as self-published.
Consent rules that shape the choice
Consent is the cost driver in any texting program. For marketing texts to a wireless number, FCC rules require prior express written consent, and the sender must be able to prove it had that consent. Statutory TCPA damages: $500 per violation according to Cornell Law School LII, and a court may award up to three times that amount for willful or knowing violations.
For opt-outs, a law-firm summary of the FCC's 2024 revocation order says callers must honor revocation requests within 10 business days. According to Manatt, the same summary says standard keywords, including stop, quit, end, revoke, opt out, cancel and unsubscribe, must be honored. We read the order through secondary summaries, so have counsel confirm the current effective dates before you rely on them.
Our analysis: a platform can enforce opt-outs and store consent records, but it cannot decide whether a given contact consented to marketing. Treat each vendor's compliance language as a feature to test, and keep your own consent record for each number you text.
Worked example: renewal texts with a workflow layer
This is a hypothetical scenario built on our own assumptions, not a customer's data. A three-producer agency sends 2,400 renewal reminder texts a month and sees a 6% reply rate, or about 144 inbound replies. If its messaging layer is Twilio, each inbound message arrives as the com.twilio.messaging.inbound-message.received event type, and the payload carries a messageSid the workflow can log against the client record. A Growth workflow at $447 a month, which allows up to six scheduled runs per workflow per day, routes replies containing an escalation keyword to a producer queue and logs the rest to the client record. Opt-out handling stays in the texting tool's native STOP processing, because the pricing page says Growth's API access is read-only, so anything that must write back to the texting tool needs a check against Scale before you design around it. The design target is same-day suppression of opt-outs, well inside the 10-business-day ceiling, with a human reviewing escalations before a producer replies.
Build versus buy: Zapier, Make, or n8n
The alternative is stitching the workflow together yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n. That path is real. These tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit logs when you configure them. You still have to design and own the parts that decide whether a text goes out twice or reaches someone who opted out: idempotency on retried webhooks, a suppression check before every send, escalation when a send fails, access controls for who sees client phone numbers, retention periods, and maintenance when the texting vendor changes its API.
A US Tech Automations design could configure the same pieces differently. The pricing page says you choose which outgoing messages need your sign-off first, which fits a human-review point on every new template. The prerequisites are a confirmed webhook or API path from the texting tool, a named owner for each workflow, and a test run against test numbers with consent records before any live client number is added. Escalation and retry behavior would still need your review. The platform's run history is one input, not a substitute for your own consent records.
Who this is for
This fits agencies where several producers answer the same client threads, where renewal, billing or appointment texts must be logged against a client record, and where someone already owns consent records. Our analysis: a standalone texting platform covers most of these cases, and a workflow layer is for the subset whose triggers live in other systems.
Red flags: no written consent record for the numbers you plan to text; a single producer who needs only occasional texts; or an agency-management system with no webhook, API or import path.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
Skip the workflow layer in three situations. If your only need is a shared inbox for a few producers answering client texts, a standalone platform with a team inbox covers it, and a workflow layer adds a second bill and a second system to govern. If your CRM or agency system already sends the reminders natively and you have no additional trigger, an orchestration layer adds cost without a new event to act on. If you need seat-based texting for a larger team, a per-workflow price will not model your costs well, so use the seat-based comparison above instead.
Common mistakes
Comparing entry prices across different user counts. Textellent's $59 covers one user, while SimpleTexting's $39 covers three.
Treating a per-user price as flat. Heymarket's $49 is per user per month billed annually, with a two-user minimum.
Reading "compliant" as a finished compliance program. Vendor claims cover tooling, not your consent records.
Skipping carrier fees. SimpleTexting's page cites about $0.0025 per message, and EZ Texting's Launch tier carries a telecom fee.
Assuming a shared inbox exists because a product mentions two-way texting. The EZ Texting and SimpleTexting homepages do not state one.
FAQs
Which option has the lowest verified entry price?
EZ Texting Launch has the lowest entry price we could verify, at $20 a month billed annually for one user and up to 500 contacts, according to its pricing page. Textellent Essentials is $49 a month billed annually for one user, and its extra-user price applies on top of that.
Does a texting platform make an agency TCPA compliant?
No. A platform can enforce opt-outs and store consent records, but the agency still has to capture consent that meets FCC rules and keep those records. Ask counsel to review your consent language and records before you send.
Do I need a workflow layer in addition to a texting platform?
Only if an event outside the texting tool must start, pause or route a message. If every text is sent manually from a shared inbox, a texting platform is enough.
What does a three-user setup cost per year?
Using vendor pages, SimpleTexting lists $398.40 a year for three users, EZ Texting Launch works out to about $480 a year with two extra users, Textellent Standard with one extra user works out to $1,308 a year, and Heymarket Standard is $1,764 a year. These are list prices, and carrier fees and credit overages are extra.
Why do third-party prices differ from vendor pages?
Third-party pages can lag, or they can describe a different configuration. According to CostBench, Heymarket's per-user figures are $20, $41 and $62, but that page's billing period conflicts with its own wording, so the vendor page is the one to use.
What should I ask a vendor before signing?
Ask who owns 10DLC registration, where opt-out and consent records are stored and how long they are kept, whether a second user gets a shared inbox at the quoted price, and which telecom and carrier fees apply on your invoice.
Next step
If the trigger logic for your renewals and follow-ups already lives in other systems, check the plan limits listed above and read the agentic workflows overview before you choose a plan. For a broader view of the category, see the workflow automation site.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.