Best Therapy Informed Consent Form Software (6 Tools, 2027)
Short answer: buy the consent flow that files to the chart
For most small therapy practices, the right buy is the practice management system that already runs scheduling and notes, as long as it can send a consent packet before the first session, capture the client's e-signature, and store the signed copy in the client record. A standalone forms tool makes sense only when your records system cannot take that signed file back.
Informed consent form software is a system that presents a treatment consent document to a client, records that client's electronic signature, and keeps the signed copy with the clinical record.
None of the tools in this guide documents every step of that flow on its public pages. The decision therefore rests on a written demonstration of the consent path, not on the headline monthly price.
TL;DR: Shortlist two or three systems, have each one show a test client signing your actual consent packet, and get the signed-file location and the business associate terms in writing before you pay.
Key Takeaways
Decide where the signed file must live before you compare prices. If the answer is the client chart, favor systems whose pages describe chart filing.
The most detailed independent description of clients e-signing consent documents in a built-in portal is for TherapyNotes. Valant's own page describes its signing flow most specifically.
Monthly list prices were readable on the SimplePractice, Jane App and IntakeQ pricing pages. Valant is quote-based, and the TherapyNotes and Ensora Health pages did not show figures in our read.
Consent-form features are often missing from pricing pages, so ask for them in writing rather than assuming they are included.
A business associate agreement is a required contract, not a feature. Get it signed before client data moves into a vendor or an automation layer.
Zapier can run send, file and retry steps with run history and error handling, but your team owns the design, access controls and upkeep.
How we evaluated these tools
This is an informed buyer's guide built from public information. We read each vendor's official pricing or product page where it rendered, read independent reviews where we could open them, and read federal text on electronic signatures and business associate contracts. We did not open accounts or run a consent workflow ourselves, so each feature statement below reports what a page says, not a hands-on finding.
Weights reflect what matters most for consent forms: the signed consent must exist before the first session, and it must be findable later. Consent flow weight: 25% of the score is the largest single weight in the table below.
| Criterion | Weight | Scoring scale | Why it carries that weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Consent and e-signature flow | 25% | 1-5 points | The client must sign before the first session, and the right person must sign. |
| Signed-record filing and audit detail | 20% | 1-5 points | Signed copies have to reach the chart, and the vendor should describe timestamps or logs. |
| Intake and form customization | 15% | 1-5 points | Consent language changes by service type, so templates and versions matter. |
| HIPAA contract and security statements | 15% | 1-5 points | A business associate agreement is required before a vendor handles client data. |
| Price transparency and add-on costs | 15% | 1-5 points | Per-clinician fees and add-ons change the real cost. |
| Fit with scheduling, notes and portal | 10% | 1-5 points | Double entry creates errors and delays. |
Each criterion is scored from 1 to 5 and then weighted. We did not publish a composite score, because several pages did not render. A score built on missing pages would imply more certainty than the evidence supports.
What each tool documents about consent forms
"Stated" means the page we opened says so. "Not stated" means that page did not say so, which does not prove the feature is missing. A demo is the only way to settle it.
| Vendor | Consent forms named | E-signature | Intake forms | Client portal | BAA stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SimplePractice | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | BAA link in footer |
| TherapyNotes | Yes, per review | Yes, clients sign in portal, per review | Standard forms, per review | Yes, per review | Not stated |
| Jane App | Not stated | Not stated | Core feature on every plan | Not stated | Not stated |
| IntakeQ | Not stated | Client and provider e-signatures on Forms Only | Automated intake on Practice Management | Secure client portal on Practice Management | HIPAA BAA listed |
| Valant | Not named; HIPAA-compliant forms sent by portal or email | Signed forms accessible in the portal | Intake packets and form builder | Patient portal (MYIO) | Not stated |
| Ensora Health (TheraNest) | Not stated | Not stated | Client intake forms via portal | Available | HITRUST and HIPAA statement; BAA not mentioned |
The matrix points to a practical gap. Most pricing pages say little about consent workflows, so the answers come from product pages, reviews and demos. Valant's page is the most specific about how forms move. It says packets can be assigned automatically based on program enrollment, and it describes reminder cadences for incomplete forms. It does not describe an audit trail, so ask for one in writing. TherapyNotes is the only tool here where an independent review describes clients signing consent documents in the portal, and that same review says custom forms are relatively rigid.
Pricing and cost for a small practice
Pricing checked October 29, 2026. The figures below are monthly list prices printed on each vendor's own pricing page when we read it. A vendor that printed no figures is marked quote-based, and a page that did not render is marked not readable.
SimplePractice lists standard prices of $49 for Starter, $79 for Essential and $99 for the solo Plus plan, with Plus group pricing at $99 for the first practitioner and $74 for each additional one, according to SimplePractice (2026). The page also shows a promotional price for the first three months, so compare the standard figures.
Jane's plans list at $59 for Balance (capped at 20 appointments a month), $79 for Practice and $99 for Thrive, with AI Scribe and Group Telehealth at $15 a month per opted-in practitioner, insurance billing at $20 a month plus $5 per additional full-time practitioner, and Jane Websites at $59 a month per clinic, according to Jane App (2026).
IntakeQ's Forms Only plan costs $54.90 a month and its Practice Management plan costs $84.90, with low-volume tiers at $29.90 (10 form submissions a month) and $59.90 (25 client form submissions per 30 days per practitioner), according to IntakeQ (2026).
TherapyNotes' pricing page rendered without plan figures in our read, so this guide prints no TherapyNotes price. Valant's page lists no figures and routes buyers to a demo and a specialist, so its price is quote-based. Ensora Health's site now serves TheraNest from its own domain, and the pricing page it links to did not render for us, so no TheraNest figure is printed.
The table repeats only the figures cited above.
| Vendor | Plan | Monthly price | Limit or added cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| SimplePractice | Starter | $49 | Not stated on page |
| SimplePractice | Essential | $79 | Not stated on page |
| SimplePractice | Plus | $99 | $74 per added practitioner |
| Jane App | Balance | $59 | 20 appointments per month |
| Jane App | Practice | $79 | 1 full-time practitioner included |
| Jane App | Thrive | $99 | 1 full-time practitioner included |
| IntakeQ | Forms Only | $54.90 | 10 form submissions per month on low-volume tier |
| IntakeQ | Practice Management | $84.90 | 25 form submissions per 30 days per practitioner on low-volume tier |
| Valant | Not published | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| TherapyNotes | Not readable | Not readable | Not readable |
| Ensora Health (TheraNest) | Not readable | Not readable | Not readable |
On list price alone, SimplePractice's Starter plan is the lowest figure we could read. Its pricing page does not say whether Starter includes consent forms or e-signature, though, so a low number is not a fit signal.
Worked example, illustrative only and not a customer: a three-clinician group expects 25 new clients per clinician each month, which means 75 consent packets. Three providers on Plus: $247 per month according to SimplePractice (2026). That is 1 × $99 for the first practitioner plus 2 × $74 for the two additional ones, or $2,964 a year. If staff spend about 4 minutes per packet chasing signatures and filing copies, the chasing alone is 75 × 4 = 300 minutes, or 5 hours, a month, before any software savings are counted. A custom build of the same flow in Zapier would need its own calls into whatever system holds the chart. Zapier's developer documentation shows a custom app making requests with z.request() and checking for a 503 response, which means someone on your side writes and maintains that code, per Zapier's API outage guide.
The math table uses only the figures cited above. The 75 packets and 4 minutes per packet are illustrative assumptions, not measured data.
| Line item | Count or rate | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Plus plan, first practitioner | 1 × $99 | $99 a month |
| Plus plan, each added practitioner | 2 × $74 | $148 a month |
| Three-practitioner subtotal | $99 + $148 | $247 a month |
| Annual plan cost | $247 × 12 | $2,964 a year |
| Unsigned-packet chasing (illustrative) | 75 packets × 4 minutes | 5 hours a month |
Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence
Each profile separates what the page says from our read of it, names a disqualifier, and links the primary page to check.
SimplePractice
Our read: SimplePractice fits practices that want scheduling, notes, billing and a portal in one system and can accept per-provider pricing. The pricing page does not describe consent forms, e-signature or intake forms in any plan, so treat those as unverified until a demo shows them. Its Care Aide, Note Taker and ePrescribe add-ons appear as separate monthly line items on the page, so include them in any total. Disqualifier: if a demo cannot show a signed consent filed to the client record, rule it out for this purpose. Evidence: SimplePractice pricing page.
TherapyNotes
The ChoosingTherapy review says clients can fill out and e-sign consent documents in its built-in portal. Our read: TherapyNotes fits therapy groups that want that portal flow and can live with a less flexible form builder. An independent review scores it at TherapyNotes review score: 4 out of 5 according to ChoosingTherapy (2026). The same review names limits that matter here: "fewer automation features than some competitors," form customization that "lacks depth in form customization, conditional logic, and specialty workflows," and reporting that "remain[s] basic." It also quotes a Trustpilot critic who warns the platform "can become more expensive over time than the base pricing suggests." Disqualifier: if your consent packets need conditional logic or frequent state-specific variants, test that in a demo first. Evidence: ChoosingTherapy's TherapyNotes review and TherapyNotes pricing page.
Jane App
The review calls Jane's intake system "a strong intake system with a flexible form builder and thoughtful workflow options." Our read: Jane fits practices that want intake forms assigned by appointment type or provider inside one system. Jane review score: 4.5 out of 5 according to ChoosingTherapy (2025). The same review says treatment plans are "very limited," that Jane has "No open API or Zapier integration," and that insurance billing requires "a separate subscription to Claim.MD." The pricing page does not mention consent forms or digital signatures. Disqualifier: if you need Zapier to connect Jane to your other systems, the review's own con list rules that out. Evidence: Jane App pricing page.
IntakeQ
The pricing page separates a Forms Only plan, which lists client and provider e-signatures and a HIPAA BAA, from a Practice Management plan that adds automated intake and a secure client portal. Our read: IntakeQ fits practices that mainly need forms and e-signatures and keep clinical notes elsewhere. The pricing page does not name consent forms or say whether Forms Only includes clinical notes. Disqualifier: if the signed copy cannot be exported or linked to the client record, it fails the consent test. Evidence: IntakeQ pricing page.
Valant
The e-signature page says the practice "validates the right person signs by sending HIPAA-compliant forms via patient portal or email." It adds that signed forms are accessible in the portal and that signed documents are filed to the patient chart automatically. Our read: Valant fits behavioral health organizations that run programs and want packets assigned by enrollment, with reminders for incomplete forms. Limitations: the page does not describe an audit trail with timestamps or access logs, and it lists no prices. Disqualifier: a solo practitioner who needs a published price before any call should not start here. Evidence: Valant e-signature page.
TheraNest, now under Ensora Health
The product page says clients and authorized contacts can complete intake forms, request appointments and message the practice through the portal. It describes a Dynamic Form Builder for custom intake forms and progress notes, and it says the product is HITRUST certified and fully compliant with HIPAA. Our read: TheraNest fits group practices that want a portal and custom intake forms. The page does not mention consent forms, e-signature or a business associate agreement. Disqualifier: if the client must e-sign consent and you cannot confirm that in writing, rule it out. Evidence: Ensora Health mental health product page.
Build it yourself in Zapier, or buy a therapy system
The alternative many small practices consider is stitching the flow together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house. Zapier's help center describes the parts that matter for consent. An Errored run appears in Zap history, a Handled error means a custom error handler ran a different path while the Zap stayed on, and a Scheduled run is queued for retry when Autoreplay is enabled. Its Logs tab shows the HTTP status code, error message and endpoint for a failed step, according to Zapier.
Those features can cover run histories, retries and error branches when someone configures them. They do not design the workflow for you. You still own idempotency, so a repeated send does not file a duplicate; escalation to a named person when a signature stalls; access controls over who can open a signed chart; and maintenance when a signing tool changes its interface. Make and n8n follow the same design logic, but we did not review their documentation for this piece.
Jane is the case where the Zapier route is closed. ChoosingTherapy's Jane review lists the lack of a Zapier integration as a con.
Where US Tech Automations fits the consent workflow
The steps below describe a proposed, configurable workflow. They are not a deployed system or a result for any customer. US Tech Automations would design it around whichever signing and chart tools you select.
The first step handles sending. Its trigger is a new client or a booked first appointment in your scheduling system. The action is to send the consent packet from the signing tool you chose and to log the send time, recipient and form version. The output is a per-client send log and a daily list of packets still unsigned for each clinician. Prerequisites are API access or a scheduled export from the scheduling system, a signing tool with a documented send method, and a written business associate agreement covering any vendor that touches client data. The human review point is that a clinician or office manager approves each packet version before it first goes out, and staff review any failed send the same day.
The second step handles filing. Its trigger is a completed-signature event from the signing tool, delivered through a webhook or a scheduled export. The action is to pull the signed file, file it to the client record or to a restricted folder you designate, and write a reconciliation row with client identifier, form version, signer name and timestamp. The output is a periodic report of any signed copy that did not reach the chart. The human review point is that a clinician reviews any signature with a name mismatch before the session. The workflow does not decide whether a consent is sufficient. US Tech Automations would set those exception rules with your clinical lead before go-live, and both steps need a test environment that uses fake client data.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip it if one practice management system already documents a signed consent flow that files to the chart and you have only one or two clinicians, because the built-in workflow is simpler to run. Skip it if your consent is a single PDF signed through an e-signature account you already pay for, since an extra layer is one more thing to maintain. Skip it if your systems will not give an automation layer access to client data under a business associate agreement, because the proposed workflow cannot run without that access.
Who this is for
This guide fits a therapy practice owner or operations lead who is close to choosing and needs a consent flow that is signed before the first session and filed to the client record. It is not written for a large organization that already runs its own EHR program.
Red flags: the vendor will not put its consent-signing and filing steps in writing; it will not sign a business associate agreement before client data moves; or your consent forms depend on conditional logic that the tool does not document.
Decision checklist before you sign
Ask for your actual consent packet loaded in a demo account, and sign it as a test client.
Get the storage location of the signed copy in writing, and confirm whether it lands in the client chart.
Ask whether the audit detail includes timestamps and who viewed the signed file. If the vendor does not say, record it as unknown.
Get the business associate agreement signed before any client data is entered.
Compare total monthly cost with the number of clinicians and the add-ons you will actually use.
Confirm your state's consent wording and e-signature expectations with your licensing board, since federal law does not settle that question.
Glossary of consent software terms
Informed consent: a client's agreement to treatment after receiving the risks, benefits and alternatives explained in plain language.
E-signature: an electronic mark or process attached to a record with intent to sign it.
Business associate agreement (BAA): the written contract HIPAA requires between a covered entity and a business associate, with contents listed in 45 CFR 164.504(e).
Client portal: a secure, client-facing area for forms, messages and appointment requests.
Audit trail: a log of who acted on a record and when, such as a form send, view or signature.
Packet: a bundle of forms assigned together, such as a consent, a fee agreement and a privacy notice.
Handled error: a Zapier run status in which a custom error handler ran a different path and the Zap stayed on.
Autoreplay: a Zapier setting that automatically retries failed tasks, mainly after short outages.
Questions buyers ask
Is a standalone e-signature tool enough for therapy consent forms?
Sometimes, but only if the signed file lands in the client record with a clear audit trail. Without that, the signature exists but cannot be found when a licensing board or insurer asks for it.
Are e-signed consent forms legally valid?
Federal law generally says an electronic signature may not be denied legal effect solely because it is electronic, according to Cornell LII. Your state's consent rules can still set additional conditions, so confirm them with your licensing board.
Do I need a business associate agreement with a consent tool?
Usually yes when the tool stores or transmits client information for your practice. HIPAA requires a written contract with listed terms, according to Cornell LII.
Is the cheapest list price the cheapest option?
Usually not. Add-ons, per-clinician fees and staff time for chasing unsigned forms change the total, as the three-clinician example above shows.
Can Zapier replace a therapy system for consent forms?
Partly. Zapier can run the send and file steps with run history and retries, but your team owns the design, access controls and maintenance.
Bottom line
Choose the system whose consent path you can watch work in a demo, then confirm the signed-file location, the audit detail and the business associate terms in writing before you pay. If your team wants the send, file and exception steps designed around the tools you already chose, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.