Tuition Billing Software for Private Schools: 6 Picks, 2027
Key Takeaways
A private school with its own business office should shortlist the K-12 tuition suites first. FACTS, Blackbaud Tuition Management and TADS each describe installment plans and family payments on the pages we read.
None of the K-12 suites in this guide publishes a price on those pages, so any budget line for them is a quote you request.
Jackrabbit publishes monthly plan prices, but its pricing page is about class and program billing rather than installment tuition.
Stripe publishes a pay-as-you-go rate, but it is a building block. Your school still owns the family-facing pieces, the reminders and the ledger work.
Before you sign, get three answers in writing: the renewal basis, who pays card and ACH fees, and a test export to your general ledger.
The short answer for most private schools
Tuition billing software schedules tuition invoices, sets up installment plans, collects ACH and card payments, sends reminders and posts each charge to an accounts receivable ledger. For a school where tuition is most of the revenue, that job belongs in a tuition system rather than a spreadsheet stitched to a payment processor.
Tuition's weight in a school's budget is why vendors compete for it. Tuition share of revenue: more than 80% according to NonprofitTimes (2015), a figure Blackbaud's CEO gave when the company bought Smart Tuition.
Our direct answer: if you run one private school and want installment plans, family payments and ledger posting in one place, shortlist FACTS, Blackbaud Tuition Management and TADS. Add EduTrak only if its district-scale model fits your operation. Choose Jackrabbit only for class-based or after-school billing. Choose Stripe only if someone on your team, or an integrator, will build and own the family-facing parts.
TL;DR: shortlist the three K-12 suites, get written quotes from each, and test the export before you choose.
Who this is for
This guide is for a private school owner or operations lead who will sign the contract and needs one system for installments, family payments and ledger posting. Red flags: a vendor that will not state renewal terms in writing, no tuition-specific installment setup, and no way to test an export before you sign.
If your business is an insurance agency rather than a school, the billing logic differs. Start with our guide to invoicing software for insurance agencies instead.
How we evaluated these tools
This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages, an SEC filing and trade press. We did not run trials or speak with customers. The weights below are our judgment about what matters to a school business office. We did not turn them into vendor scores, because most of these vendors publish too little to score fairly. The matrix and profiles record only what each page we opened states.
| Criterion | Weight (%) | Score scale | What we looked for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Installment and recurring plan setup | 25 | 0 to 5 | A stated way to create custom payment schedules |
| Family payment experience | 20 | 0 to 5 | Portal, ACH, card, and a non-card option for cash-paying families |
| Ledger and enrollment integration | 20 | 0 to 5 | Stated posting to a general ledger, or links to admissions and aid |
| Price transparency and renewal clarity | 15 | 0 to 5 | A published price, or a clear quote path |
| Reminders, delinquency and reporting | 10 | 0 to 5 | Automated reminders and overdue-account reporting |
| Security and compliance statements | 10 | 0 to 5 | PCI, encryption and audit statements |
The weights total 100%. Use them as a checklist for your own scoring, not as a ranking we are asking you to accept.
Published features, side by side
| Vendor | Installment plans | Family payments | Ledger or enrollment link | Price on page reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FACTS | Stated: installment options | ACH and credit card | Stated: accounts receivable subsidiary ledger | No: Contact Sales button |
| Blackbaud | Stated: "flexible payment plans" | ACH, credit card, Pay Near Me | Stated: Financial Edge NXT and admissions links | No: Request Pricing button |
| TADS | Stated: installment plans | Automatic withdrawals, card | Not described | No price shown |
| EduTrak | Stated: custom payment plans | ACH and credit card | Stated: PowerSchool "Pay Tuition" option | Quote-based |
| Jackrabbit | Not described for tuition | Not described | Not described | Published monthly plans |
| Stripe | Build it yourself | Card and ACH fees published | Build it yourself | Published rate |
"Not described" means the page we opened did not say so. It does not prove the feature is missing, so ask each vendor for a written answer.
Vendor profiles: fit, limits and evidence
FACTS Financial Intelligence
Best fit: schools that want the business office to run billing, tuition and financial aid in one suite. FACTS describes the product as a way for business offices to bring "billing, tuition management, and financial aid together in a single system," according to FACTS.
Limits: the page does not publish a price, and the only sales route is a Contact Sales button. It is a suite, so a school that needs only recurring billing may pay for breadth it does not use.
Implementation: the page says the platform can serve as an accounts receivable subsidiary ledger beside your existing general ledger software. It also says the platform connects with FACTS IQ, Admissions Intelligence and Engagement Intelligence. Ask for a written list of which fields move between those products and your student information system.
Ownership: Nelnet's 2018 annual filing lists FACTS Management and FACTS SIS among the brands in its education technology, services and payment processing segment, according to SEC (2018 filing).
Blackbaud Tuition Management
Best fit: schools that already run Blackbaud admissions or financial aid products. The product page says the admissions integration gives families one login for application status, deposit payment, enrollment and tuition payment plans. It also says the Financial Aid Management integration shows aid awards alongside the tuition view.
Delinquency claim: 50% reduction according to Blackbaud (page checked 2026). The page gives no study, time period or sample size behind that figure, so treat it as a claim to question, not a result.
Limits: the page calls its plans "flexible" but does not show plan structures, schedules or fees. It lists a student information system as a product but does not describe a tuition integration with it, so confirm that in writing before you sign.
Implementation: pricing runs through a Request Pricing button and a separate page we did not open. The same product page says the Financial Edge NXT integration reduces manual data entry, so ask whether that posting is included in your quote.
TADS (VenturEd Solutions)
Best fit: schools that want contracts and deposits handled before billing starts. TADS's tuition and billing material describes online contract review and signing, automatic withdrawals, credit card payments, installment plans, a parent portal, and administrator reports on revenue, cash flow and overdue accounts, according to TADS.
Limits: that source is a vendor-authored blog post that ends with a request for a demo. It quotes no prices and does not describe a general ledger integration, so ask for both.
Implementation: expect the contract step to come first. Ask how a signed contract creates the billing schedule, and whether that schedule updates when tuition changes midyear.
EduTrak
Best fit: schools that run childcare billing, food service or athletic registration on the same platform. EduTrak's article describes the tuition module as part of a wider suite that includes those products. Its tuition features include automated recurring invoices, custom payment plans with scholarships applied inside contracts, automatic late fee rules, ACH and card processing, and a parent portal, according to EduTrak.
Limits: the same article says pricing depends on district size and program mix. That points to a district-scale sales model, so confirm that a single-school contract is offered. The article is vendor-authored, so its feature claims are self-reported.
Implementation: if you use PowerSchool, ask for the integration scope in writing, since the article describes a "Pay Tuition" option inside it.
Jackrabbit
Best fit: after-school, enrichment and class-based programs, where billing follows classes rather than a single annual tuition figure.
Class plan starting price: $49 per month according to Jackrabbit (2026). That starting price is tiered by student count, measured at the end of each month.
The Plus plan starts at $93 per month with a one-time, non-refundable $169 setup fee, and the Enterprise plan with Jackrabbit Class is $245 per month and not tied to student count, according to Jackrabbit.
Limits: the page says there are no setup fees in one place and lists the $169 setup fee in another, so ask which applies. It also does not describe tuition installment plans, so treat installment support as unverified until the vendor confirms it in writing.
Stripe
Best fit: a school with a developer or integrator who will own the build. Stripe is a payments and billing platform, not a school system. Its published rates appear in the pricing section below.
Limits: a Stripe build does not give you the school-specific pieces. You assemble tuition contracts, installment schedules, ledger posting and the reconciliation that joins them.
Implementation: your endpoint has to handle the invoice.paid and invoice.payment_failed events that Stripe's webhook documentation lists for invoices. Design for repeat deliveries, so one payment is not posted twice.
What the prices say
Pricing checked October 26, 2026. Quote-based means the vendor page we opened does not publish a price. Every published figure below is cited in the profiles or here, and the tables repeat those figures without adding new numbers.
Stripe pay-as-you-go rate: 0.7% of billing volume according to Stripe (2026). The page says that rate covers billing transactions processed on and off Stripe, excludes one-off invoices and shows no free tier.
Card payments are listed at 2.9% plus 30¢ per successful charge, and ACH direct debit at 0.8% with a $5.00 cap, according to Stripe (2026). These payment fees are separate from the Billing rate.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Recurring basis | Extra fees on page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FACTS | Financial Intelligence | Quote-based | Not stated | Not stated |
| Blackbaud | Tuition Management | Quote-based | Not stated | Not stated |
| TADS | Tuition and Billing | Quote-based | Not stated | Not stated |
| EduTrak | Tuition billing module | Quote-based | Depends on district size and program mix | Not stated |
| Jackrabbit | Class | $49 per month, starting | Tiered by student count at month-end | Not stated |
| Jackrabbit | Plus | $93 per month, starting | Branded-app pricing, month-end count | $169 one-time setup |
| Jackrabbit | Enterprise (with Class) | $245 per month | Not tied to student count | Not stated |
| Stripe | Billing pay-as-you-go | 0.7% of billing volume | Share of billing volume | Card 2.9% plus 30¢; ACH 0.8%, $5.00 cap |
For the four K-12 and tuition vendors, total cost of ownership cannot be computed from public figures. The quote decides it, so compare quotes on the same renewal basis.
Worked example (illustrative, not a quote): suppose a school runs $400,000 a month of tuition invoices through Stripe's billing product. At the 0.7% rate cited above, the Billing charge is $2,800 a month, or $33,600 a year. If one family pays a $1,500 installment by card, the card fee is 2.9% of $1,500 plus 30¢, or $43.80, and that fee comes on top of the Billing charge. Each settled payment fires invoice.paid, and each failure fires invoice.payment_failed, so the business office should review failures before any late fee is applied.
| Vendor | Item | Published figure | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jackrabbit | Class | $49 | per month, starting, tiered by student count |
| Jackrabbit | Plus | $93 plus $169 setup | per month, starting; setup is one-time |
| Jackrabbit | Enterprise (with Class) | $245 | per month, not tied to student count |
| Stripe | Billing rate | 0.7% | of billing volume, pay-as-you-go |
| Stripe | Card payments | 2.9% plus 30¢ | per successful charge |
| Stripe | ACH direct debit | 0.8% | capped at $5.00 per debit |
| Blackbaud | Delinquency claim | 50% | vendor-stated reduction, basis not disclosed |
Where a workflow layer fits
A workflow layer is optional. Its job is to route the exceptions a tuition system's own reminders do not resolve: failed payments, installments that do not match the contract, and families who need a person to call them. The designs below are proposed and configurable. They do not describe a live deployment or a measured result.
In a proposed US Tech Automations workflow for failed payments, the trigger is a Stripe invoice.payment_failed event for a tuition invoice. The action creates a case in the business office queue with the invoice ID, amount and retry status, and drafts a family reminder for staff approval. The output is a logged task, and any late fee waits until a person confirms it. The prerequisites are a Stripe webhook endpoint, API access to read invoice records, and a named approver. The review point is the late fee, because the fee rules belong to the school, not the software.
US Tech Automations would configure a second proposed workflow for installment reconciliation. The trigger is a Stripe invoice.paid event. The action matches the payment to the family's contracted schedule, updates a daily reconciliation list and flags any installment that does not match. The output is a list the business office reviews before posting to the ledger. This depends on an export or API from your tuition system. We did not confirm one for FACTS, Blackbaud or TADS, so the first step is a written answer from the vendor.
Build it yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n?
Many schools will try Zapier, Make or n8n first, and that is a reasonable test. When configured for it, those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and write audit records. The difference is ownership. The school has to design idempotency so a repeated event does not double-post a payment, decide who gets escalated to, control staff access to student data, and maintain the flows when a vendor changes a field. Any webhook listener has to tolerate repeat deliveries, and Stripe's webhook documentation describes retries when an endpoint does not respond properly.
A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure the same pieces with named prerequisites: an event source, a field map to your ledger, an approval step for family-facing messages, and an access list for staff. It would still need your school to set the escalation rules. If you have an engineer who will own those pieces, a do-it-yourself build is credible. If you do not, the maintenance cost lands on the business office.
Choosing between the six options
| Vendor | Choose it if | Pass on it if |
|---|---|---|
| FACTS | You want billing, tuition and aid in one suite for the business office | You need only recurring billing and no aid or enrollment modules |
| Blackbaud | You already run Blackbaud admissions or aid products | Your admissions and aid systems are elsewhere and you want a fast start |
| TADS | You want contracts and deposits handled before billing begins | You cannot get a ledger integration answer in writing |
| EduTrak | You also run childcare, food service or athletics on the same vendor | You need a single-school price and the vendor only quotes district-scale deals |
| Jackrabbit | Your revenue comes from classes or after-school programs | Your core revenue is annual K-12 tuition with installments |
| Stripe | You have a developer and want a published rate | You need a school-ready family portal and ledger on day one |
When not to use US Tech Automations: a workflow layer adds little if each family pays one annual amount and the vendor's own reminders and ledger export already serve the business office, because a simpler configuration beats a custom flow. Skip it if the vendor offers no export or API, since the workflow then becomes manual copy work that adds risk. Skip it too if your billing is only for after-school classes, where Jackrabbit's own class billing is the simpler tool.
Decision checklist and common mistakes
Decision checklist:
- Request written pricing from each shortlisted vendor, including renewal terms.
- Confirm installment setup against your own schedules, not the vendor's sample ones.
- Get a written answer on who pays card and ACH fees.
- Run a test export of family ledger data into your general ledger.
- Ask how failed payments reach staff and which reminders the vendor sends automatically.
- Confirm the integration list with your admissions, aid and student systems.
Common mistakes:
Buying from a demo without a written renewal basis, so the first price change arrives as a surprise.
Pricing the software but not the card and ACH fees families see at checkout.
Treating reminders as collections. Reminders send messages; collections need a process for failed payments.
Choosing a full suite to solve one billing problem.
Skipping the test export. A ledger that cannot take clean data is the most expensive gap to find after signing.
Questions buyers ask
Which vendor publishes the lowest price?
Jackrabbit publishes monthly plan prices, so it is the easiest comparison here, but its pricing page does not describe K-12 tuition installments, so a low monthly price does not settle the choice.
Do FACTS and Blackbaud publish prices?
Neither product page we opened shows a price. FACTS uses a Contact Sales button and Blackbaud uses a Request Pricing button.
Can I run tuition billing on Stripe?
Stripe can be the payment layer for a custom build, but the school-specific parts are yours to configure: contracts, installment schedules, ledger posting and reconciliation.
Does Jackrabbit handle installment tuition?
Not on the pricing page we opened, so ask Jackrabbit to confirm in writing.
What should a contract confirm before signing?
Confirm the renewal basis, who pays card and ACH fees, which integrations are included, and a test export to your general ledger.
Bottom line
For most private schools with a business office, the decision is a tuition suite with written pricing rather than a stitched-together tool. Get quotes from FACTS, Blackbaud Tuition Management and TADS, add EduTrak if its model fits, and test the export before you commit. If you want a reviewed workflow for failed payments and installment reconciliation on top of the system you pick, see how this workflow approach is configured by US Tech Automations.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.