Skip to content
AI & Automation

Best Vacation Rental Management Software 2027: 6 Options

Oct 25, 2026

The category decision comes first. Before you compare vendors, decide which job you are hiring software to do: run the booking calendar, guest messages and owner records for your homes, or move work between systems you already use. Small managers with a handful of homes usually need the first job, and a workflow layer cannot fix a calendar that double-books. Start with the system that holds your calendar, then add anything else only when a specific task crosses systems.

This guide compares six booking-side vendors: OwnerRez, iGMS, Hospitable, Hostaway, Lodgify and Hostfully. US Tech Automations is built as an orchestration layer above booking software rather than a replacement for it, so we cover it in its own section near the end instead of inside the vendor comparison.

We checked every price on October 20, 2026. Where a vendor's own page did not show numbers, we say so and do not fill the gap with third-party guesses. We did not assign numerical scores to vendors, because we could not verify enough feature detail for each one to score them fairly.

Key Takeaways

  • Choose the system that holds your calendar first. Calendar sync and guest messaging are the costliest things to get wrong for a small portfolio.

  • OwnerRez, iGMS and Hospitable publish at least some entry prices. Hostaway and Hostfully showed no plan prices on the pages we could read, so budget those two by written quote.

  • Read the fee lines, not the headline price. Add-on modules, per-transaction fees and direct-booking fees often decide the real monthly cost.

  • The Hospitable page we checked lists a free Essentials tier for unlimited properties, but the paid-tier prices we could confirm come from a competitor's article.

  • Zapier, Make and n8n can produce run histories and audit trails, but you must design the logging, retries and approvals yourself.

  • Our own product sits above booking software. Its published property-management workflows are written for long-term residential units, so check the fit before you buy.

What vacation rental management software does, and the category decision

Vacation rental management software is the set of tools that keeps your listing calendars synced across booking channels, handles guest messaging, and records the money and tasks behind each stay.

TL;DR: For a small portfolio, shortlist two systems that publish prices, test each on a trial with one home, and add an orchestration layer only if a specific workflow crosses systems.

The useful question is not which tool is best in general but which system is the source of truth for availability. Only one system should own the calendar. Every other tool, including any workflow layer, should read from that calendar or write to it through a path you have documented and tested. The category is crowded partly because seasonal housing is large: the U.S. Census Bureau counted Vacant seasonal units in 2020: more than 4.3 million according to U.S. Census Bureau (2023). That count covers seasonal housing in general, not short-term rentals, so it sizes the market loosely rather than telling you how many competitors you face.

How we weighted the evaluation

The weights below are our analysis of what matters to a small manager. They are not vendor data, and they are not a ranking score. Use them to set your own priorities, then change the weights if your work is different.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for a small manager
Channel sync with your booking platforms25%One missed sync can double-book a night, which costs a refund and a guest relationship
Total monthly cost at your property count20%Base price, add-ons and per-transaction fees all count toward the real figure
Fee transparency15%Public prices and clear fee lines make comparison faster and reduce dependence on sales calls
Messaging and guest workflow automation15%Reduces repeated check-in and check-out messages across homes
Owner reporting and payouts10%Matters if you manage for owners, not only homes you own
Migration and onboarding effort10%Calendar history, listing content and staff training take real time
Data export and portability5%Confirms you can leave with your bookings and guest records

Vacation rental software pricing per property

Pricing checked October 20, 2026. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor page before you budget.

VendorEntry price on recordProperties in base priceTrialFees to check
OwnerRez$88 per monthPer-property; page example links to 514 daysPremium modules billed separately; SMS usage after 500 outbound segments
iGMSFrom $18 per month (Host, Flex, Pro)Not stated in sourceNot stated in sourceFlex plan: $1 per transaction
HospitableEssentials free; Host about $29 (Roommaster)Essentials unlimited; Host 1, Professional 2, Mogul 314 days, no card neededUpsell processing 10% and 7%; dynamic pricing figures conflict
LodgifyStarter about $16 per month, annual (Roommaster)Not verifiedShort trial, length not stated1.9% direct-booking fee on Starter and Professional
HostawayNot published on page we readNot publishedNot confirmedCustom quote
HostfullyNot published; promotion ends 10/31Not publishedNot statedCustom quote

OwnerRez is the clearest published base price in this group. OwnerRez base price: $88 per month according to OwnerRez (2026). The page lists unlimited bookings, no setup or per-booking charges, no contract, and a 14-day trial that requires a credit card. Its premium modules, including Property Management, QuickBooks Integration and SMS Messaging, are billed separately, and the page does not state their prices. The per-property rate falls as property count rises, but the tier breakdown sits in a separate costs article that we did not reach through the pricing page.

Hospitable's own pricing page showed Essentials as free for unlimited properties and a 14-day trial with no credit card. Its paid prices did not render when we checked, so the paid figures come from a competitor's article. Hospitable Host plan: about $29 for one property according to Roommaster (2026), which is dated July 31, 2026 and lists Professional at about $59 for two properties and Mogul at about $99 for three.

Lodgify's own pricing page returned an error when we tried to read it, so the Lodgify figures are also Roommaster's. Lodgify Starter: about $16 per month billed annually according to Roommaster (2026). The same article lists Professional at about $42 and Ultimate at about $103 on annual billing, and says Starter and Professional carry a 1.9% fee on direct reservations, which Ultimate removes.

We could not confirm published plan prices on Hostaway's pricing page, because the version we retrieved showed only its title. Third-party estimates disagree widely, so we did not use them. Treat Hostaway as a quote-led vendor. Hostfully's pricing page publishes no plan prices either. It shows a promotion, Hostfully promotion: up to 30% off until 10/31 according to Hostfully (2026). The page does not say what the discount applies to beyond that wording, and the promotion ends eleven days after our check.

What five properties cost

A five-home budget needs more than the entry price, and the public pages do not always give you enough to total it. This table separates what is published from what you still need to ask for.

VendorPublic figure that applies to five homesWhat you still need from the vendor
OwnerRez$88 per month base; page example links to five propertiesPrices for Property Management, QuickBooks and SMS add-ons
iGMSFrom $18 per month; Flex adds $1 per transactionProperty count per tier, and how the vendor counts a transaction
HospitableEssentials free for unlimited properties, with a reduced feature set; Mogul covers 3 propertiesExtra-property fee for homes 4 and 5, with currency and billing unit stated
LodgifyStarter about $16 per month, annual billing (Roommaster)Property limit for each plan, and the fee on direct bookings
HostawayNone publishedWritten quote with all setup fees
HostfullyNone publishedQuote, and whether the promotion applies to your plan

On iGMS's Flex plan, the $1 per-transaction fee adds $100 a month for every 100 transactions, on top of the base. Whether a transaction matches a reservation, a payment or something else depends on the definition in the vendor's terms, so confirm it before you model cost. For OwnerRez, the $88 base is the number to start from, and the add-ons decide the total.

Feature matrix, verified only

We include a feature only when a vendor page or the cited article states it. A "not verified" cell means we did not find it, not that the feature is missing.

Capability as stated on the page we readOwnerReziGMSHospitableLodgifyHostawayHostfully
Free tierNot statedNot verifiedEssentials, unlimited propertiesNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
Free trial14 daysNot stated14 daysShort, length not statedNot confirmedNot stated
Channel sync listedIncluded in base priceNot verifiedAirbnb, Vrbo, Booking.com, AgodaNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
Direct-booking tool or feeHosted Sites billed separatelyNot verifiedDirect booking site from Professional1.9% fee on Starter and ProfessionalNot verifiedNot verified
Per-transaction or commission feesNo commissions or guest feesFlex: $1 per transactionSeveral by tierPayment processing charged separatelyNot verifiedNot verified
Owner portal and payoutsNot verifiedNot verifiedMogul tierNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
Add-ons billed separatelyYes: Property Management, QuickBooks, SMS and othersNot verifiedNot statedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified

Vendor profiles

OwnerRez

Best fit: Managers who want one published base price, unlimited bookings and no setup or booking fees, and who will pay separately for the premium modules they switch on. The page says multiple users on one account do not change the price.

Limitations: Property Management, QuickBooks Integration and SMS are billed separately, and the pricing page does not state their prices. SMS adds usage fees after 500 outbound message segments. The page gives no full tier table of its own.

Implementation: Run the 14-day trial on one home and one channel first. Premium features are not billed during the trial, but any you leave enabled afterward appear on the regular monthly invoice, so decide on each module before day 14.

Evidence: OwnerRez pricing, checked October 20, 2026.

iGMS

Best fit: Managers who want the lowest published starting figure and can accept a per-transaction fee on one plan. iGMS lists plans starting at $18 per month across its Host, Flex and Pro tiers.

Limitations: The source is iGMS's own roundup, so its comparisons reflect the vendor's view. The page gave a starting price and the Flex fee but not the feature list behind each tier, so compare features on a trial.

Implementation: Pull one month of your actual transaction count from your current system, multiply it by the Flex fee, and compare the result with a flat tier before you choose.

Evidence: iGMS roundup, with metadata showing an update in January 2026.

Hospitable

Best fit: Managers who want a free starting point for calendar sync and unified messaging, with a documented path to direct booking and owner statements later. The page lists sync with Airbnb, Vrbo, Booking.com and Agoda on Essentials, a direct booking website on Professional, and an owner portal with payouts and statements on Mogul.

Limitations: Paid prices did not render on the pricing page when we checked, so the figures here come from Roommaster, a competitor. The fee schedule is long and does not always name the plan that carries each fee. Dynamic-pricing figures also differ between the page and Roommaster.

Implementation: Start on Essentials with one home, confirm that your channels appear, then price each paid feature you need against your current spend before moving up a tier.

Evidence: Hospitable pricing and Roommaster's Hospitable article.

Hostaway

Best fit: Operators who expect a quote-led evaluation and want custom pricing in writing.

Limitations: The Hostaway pricing page we retrieved showed only its title, so we could not confirm any plan price, trial term or fee. Third-party estimates disagree widely, and we did not use them. We could not verify its feature detail either.

Implementation: Ask for a written quote for your exact property count, channels and add-ons, and ask for every setup fee in writing. Compare that quote against the public figures in this guide, not against third-party estimates.

Evidence: Hostaway pricing, retrieved without prices.

Lodgify

Best fit: Operators who want direct-booking tools and accept a percentage fee on the lower tiers. Roommaster lists Starter at about $16 per month on annual billing, Professional at about $42 and Ultimate at about $103, with Ultimate removing the 1.9% direct-booking fee.

Limitations: Lodgify's own pricing page returned an error when we tried to read it, so the figures are Roommaster's. We did not verify plan property limits or the trial length, and payment processing is charged separately from the direct-booking fee.

Implementation: Before you pick a tier, estimate your monthly direct-booking revenue and calculate 1.9% of it for Starter or Professional. Compare that cost with the price gap to Ultimate.

Evidence: Roommaster's Lodgify pricing article, published July 31, 2026.

Hostfully

Best fit: Managers who prefer a sales-led quote and can use the current promotion, which the pricing page advertises as "Up to 30% off everything!"

Limitations: The page publishes no plan prices. The promotion's scope is not stated beyond that wording, and it ends on 10/31. We did not verify features.

Implementation: Ask whether the promotion applies to your plan, what the term length is, and whether the plan renews at list price afterward.

Evidence: Hostfully pricing.

Who should choose each vendor

VendorChoose it ifRed flag to check first
OwnerRezYou want one published base price, unlimited bookings and a 14-day trial, and you can budget for add-onsAdd-on prices are not on the page, and SMS usage is billed after 500 outbound segments
iGMSYou want the lowest published starting figure and accept a transaction fee on FlexFlex cost grows with every transaction
HospitableYou want a free starting tier and a path to direct booking and owner statementsThe fee schedule is long, and some lines do not name a plan
LodgifyYou want direct-booking tools and accept a percentage fee on lower tiersUltimate removes the fee but costs about $103 per month on annual billing
HostawayYou are ready for a quote-led evaluationNo published price to compare on the page we read
HostfullyYou want a quote and can use the promotion before 10/31The promotion's scope is not stated on the page

Who this is for

This comparison fits managers who run their own calendars, guest messages and owner or cleaning follow-up for a small set of homes, and who feel the cost of a missed sync more than the cost of a monthly fee. It also fits managers who want to test two vendors on trials before committing. It is a weaker fit for anyone who needs a full accounting platform or a system for long-term residential tenants.

Red flags: you cannot name the system that holds your calendar; you have not written down how guests and owners are messaged today; you expect software to make pricing decisions you have not made yourself.

Pricing tools are already common among managers. Dynamic pricing: 77% of surveyed managers adopt early according to Vacation Rental Management Association (2026). That study covered 2,248 property managers, was released by Hostfully and republished on the association's site, so treat it as vendor-commissioned research.

Could you build this in Zapier, Make, or n8n instead?

Yes, and for some managers that is the right answer. Zapier, Make and n8n can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and store an audit trail, when you configure those features. None of them provides that by default, and none makes a workflow safe by default either. You own the design: observability so you can see which run failed, idempotency so a repeated webhook does not post two ledger lines, escalation to a named person, access controls on each connected account, retention rules for records, and maintenance when a booking system changes its API.

Worked example: a manager with 5 short-term homes receives 120 completed guest payments a month at an average booking of $640. When Stripe completes a charge, it emits payment_intent.succeeded, which a workflow can match to a reservation ID in the booking system before it writes a ledger line. In a configured design, the workflow posts those 120 lines, flags any line whose amount differs from the reservation total beyond the manager's threshold, and holds the monthly owner statement until a person approves it. The prerequisites are a reservation ID the workflow can read through an API or export, and a rule that a mismatch goes to a review queue rather than being posted as a guess.

A US Tech Automations design for the same case would need the same prerequisites. The property-management page we reviewed marks Stripe as the only live integration and lists its PMS connections as roadmap, so the booking-system side would have to be confirmed and tested in staging before any statement runs. The human review points would be the amount-mismatch queue and the statement approval.

When not to use US Tech Automations

Choose something simpler if your calendar and guest messages already run in one booking system and no task crosses systems. Skip US Tech Automations if every home is booked only for nightly short stays, because the published property-management workflows we reviewed cover long-term residential work: tenant requests, screening, lease questions and rent collection. Also skip it if you need PMS-native channel sync today, because that page marks AppFolio, Buildium and Yardi as roadmap and lists no vacation rental booking system as live.

Common mistakes that inflate the bill

  • Comparing headline prices without the add-on list. OwnerRez's premium modules are billed separately, and their prices are not on the page.

  • Treating a per-transaction fee as small. On iGMS's Flex plan, every transaction adds $1.

  • Assuming the free tier covers your work. Hospitable's Essentials tier does not include the direct booking website or the owner portal.

  • Building workflows before the calendar is clean. A workflow layer copies calendar errors faster than a person can catch them.

  • Using third-party estimates as quotes. Estimates for Hostaway conflicted with each other in our search.

  • Skipping the export test. Confirm you can leave with bookings and guest records before you sign.

Frequently asked questions

Is there free vacation rental management software?

Yes, with limits. Hospitable's pricing page lists an Essentials tier at no fee for unlimited properties, covering calendar sync, a unified inbox and basic automation. Roommaster's description says advanced automation and deeper direct-booking tools sit in paid plans, so confirm that the features you need are in Essentials before you move any homes onto it.

What does vacation rental software cost per property?

It depends on the pricing model, and the vendors use different units. OwnerRez publishes $88 per month on a per-property basis, with its example linked to five properties, and bills premium modules separately. Hospitable's paid tiers, per Roommaster, run about $29 for one property, about $59 for two and about $99 for three. Hostaway and Hostfully publish no plan prices on the pages we read, so you need a quote to compare them.

How do OwnerRez, Hospitable and Lodgify compare on price?

OwnerRez has one published base price with separately billed add-ons. Hospitable has a free Essentials tier and paid tiers by property count, with fees that vary by tier. Lodgify's Starter is about $16 per month on annual billing, per Roommaster, and it charges 1.9% on direct bookings on Starter and Professional. Channel sync and total monthly cost carry the most weight in our criteria table, so choose on those before you choose on the headline price.

Is there cheap short-term rental software for five properties?

The lowest published figures are iGMS from $18 per month and Lodgify's Starter at about $16 per month on annual billing. Neither page confirmed how many properties its base price covers, so neither proves a five-home total. For five homes, OwnerRez's $88 base is the clearest published starting figure, before add-ons. Model each option with its add-on and transaction fees before you pick the lowest headline price.

Should a small manager use a workflow layer instead of a booking system?

Usually add a workflow layer on top of a booking system rather than instead of one. A booking system keeps the calendar and reservations, while a workflow layer moves work between tools and records approvals. Add one only when a specific task crosses systems and the booking system exposes an export or API path you have tested.

Next step

If one of your workflows crosses systems, review the scope before you buy anything. You can read how our orchestration approach fits above a booking system on our site. Bring the name of your booking system, the channels you sell on, and the approvals you need before an owner statement goes out.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.