Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Best Veterinary Practice Management Software for 2027

Oct 25, 2026

Start with the category decision: for most clinics, a cloud veterinary practice management system (PMS) should now be the system of record for scheduling, medical records, invoicing and client messages. The buying question is which one fits your team, your locations and your payment flow. This guide compares six vendors that appear on most shortlists: Shepherd, Digitail, Covetrus Pulse, ezyVet, DaySmart Vet and Instinct. They are listed in that order and are not ranked; each gets a best-fit line and a named disqualifier. Vendor-published facts are kept separate from our analysis, and this guide has no sponsored vendor relationships. A separate question, covered near the end, is whether a workflow layer such as US Tech Automations should sit above the PMS, connecting it to email, accounting and payments, rather than replacing it.

Veterinary practice management software is the cloud application that runs a clinic's scheduling, records, billing, inventory and client communication from one database.

TL;DR: Three of the six publish a starting dollar price on their own sites: Shepherd, ezyVet and DaySmart Vet. Digitail, Covetrus Pulse and Instinct require a quote for any dollar figure we could verify. Budget for migration, texting and add-ons, not just the monthly line, and get seat rules in writing before you sign.

Administrative work is expensive in human healthcare too. Administrative costs: 34.2% of US national health expenditures in 2017 according to Annals of Internal Medicine (2020). That study covers human medicine, not veterinary clinics, and its authors have published health-policy advocacy, so treat the figure as context for why front-desk workflows deserve scrutiny, not as a benchmark for your practice.

Key Takeaways

  • Decide the category first. A cloud PMS with published seat rules and a written migration price is a safer buy than a cheaper system that leaves those terms open.

  • Three vendors publish a starting price we could verify on their own sites: Shepherd ($349 per month for one doctor), ezyVet (as little as $260.50) and DaySmart Vet ($123 per month).

  • Shepherd's monthly price excludes migration ($2,475 paid in full) and texting ($99 per 5,000 messages), so the monthly figure understates year one.

  • Third-party estimates conflict. CostBench lists Shepherd at $99 to $299 per month, below Shepherd's own $349 single-doctor price, so use vendor quotes for budgeting.

  • Shepherd and Digitail both state unlimited staff logins. The ezyVet and DaySmart Vet pages we read do not state a seat rule, so ask.

  • A workflow layer can sit above a PMS if the PMS offers an export or API path, but the buyer owns the monitoring, access control and review design either way.

Who this is for

This guide fits general and mixed-animal practices that are replacing an older or server-based system, where the front desk handles reminders, payments and refunds every day and staff change over time. It also fits a single-location clinic that wants published pricing before a demo, and a multi-location group that needs one login policy across sites.

Red flags: you run a specialty or referral hospital that depends on deep imaging or lab integrations (confirm each named integration on the vendor's page first), no one at the clinic will own the data migration, or your decision depends on a price no vendor will put in writing.

Ownership is changing too. Among veterinarians who identify as owners or associates, owner share fell to 42% in 2018 from 47% in 2008 according to AVMA (2019). Our read: group ownership adds a second site and a central reporting need, which is where login rules and multi-location pricing start to matter.

How we evaluated and selected these vendors: our scoring methodology

The weights below are our analysis for a general practice buying its first cloud PMS, not vendor data. Change them if your priorities differ; a three-location group would weight seat policy and integrations higher.

CriterionWeightWhat we checked
First-year cost20%Subscription, migration, texting and listed add-ons for a two-doctor clinic
Clinical depth20%Records, dental charting, boarding, anesthesia and AI documentation, where listed
Published price transparency15%Whether a dollar price appears on the vendor's own site
Integrations and data portability15%Listed integrations, open API, and how records leave the system
Seat and login policy10%Whether staff logins are unlimited or charged per seat
Implementation and support10%Onboarding, migration method and support hours as published
Evidence quality10%Vendor-authored claims versus third-party or review-directory claims

Feature matrix: what each vendor publishes

Cells show what the vendor's own page or a named third party lists. "Not verified" means we could not confirm the feature on a page we read, not that it is absent. Covetrus Pulse's own site did not load during research, so its cells rely on third-party listings.

FeatureShepherdDigitailCovetrus PulseezyVetDaySmart VetInstinct
Cloud-basedListedListedListed (third party)ListedListed (anywhere access)Listed (cloud EMR)
Unlimited staff loginsListedListedNot verifiedNot statedNot statedNot verified
Pet parent app or portalPortalPet Parent AppNot verifiedNot verifiedPetCare appNot verified
Dental chartingNot listedGrowth planNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
Boarding calendarNot listedGrowth planNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
Anesthesia or vitals monitoringNot listedGrowth planNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedVitals management
AI documentationTranscription, record summariesGrowth AI tierClaimed (vendor marketing)Not verifiedIntegrated AI; voice add-onNot verified
Integrated paymentsShepherd PayBilling and paymentsEmbedded payments (third party)Not verifiedListedPayment processing (third party)
Open API statedNot statedYesNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
Data migration in priceNo ($2,475 extra)Yes (in-house)Fee (CostBench)Not verifiedFreeNot verified
Dollar price on vendor siteYesNoNoStarting priceStarting priceNo

Pricing and total cost

Pricing checked October 20, 2026, against each vendor's public pricing page where one exists. CostBench figures are undated third-party estimates that the page labels 2026. The two sources disagree on Shepherd, so we show both rather than choosing one silently.

VendorVendor-published start (checked Oct 20, 2026)CostBench estimate (third party, 2026)Costs to budget beyond the subscription
Shepherd$349/month for one doctor; $299 with Shepherd Pay$99 to $299/monthMigration $2,475 paid in full; texting $99 per 5,000 messages; $249/month per location for multi-location groups
DigitailNo dollar price; quote required$149 to $300/monthUsage fees on some services (wellness plans, buy-now-pay-later); rates not published
Covetrus PulseNo public price; custom quote$200 to $600/monthOnboarding split 50% at signing and 50% at go-live; data conversion and reengagement fees (CostBench)
ezyVet"As little as $260.50 per month"; custom quote for more$260.50/monthNot stated on the page we read; ask for the full quote
DaySmart Vet"Plans starting at $123/month"$123/monthAdd-ons such as Daisy Voice; the vendor says there are no hidden fees
InstinctNo public priceNot listedAsk for a full quote

Shepherd list price: $349 per month for one doctor according to Shepherd (2026). Each additional doctor adds $99 for the second and third, so two doctors list at $448 per month. Using those list prices, a two-doctor clinic's first 12 months come to $5,376 in subscription, plus the $2,475 migration and texting at $30 to $40 per month (Shepherd's own estimate for clinics under 2,000 messages), for about $8,211 to $8,331. Treat that as a ceiling, not a quote: single-location billing starts 12 weeks after onboarding begins, and Shepherd Pay takes $50 off the subscription each month.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read.

Shepherd

Published facts: a one-doctor plan at $349 per month, unlimited users with no per-seat fees, a pet parent portal, automated reminders, AI transcription and record summaries, and no onboarding fee. Migration costs $2,475 paid in full or $230 a month for 12 months, and relief vets are $99 a month.

Our read: best fit is a single-location practice that wants a published price, unlimited logins and a clear first-year budget. The limitation is that the monthly figure excludes migration and texting. Groups with several locations are quoted separately at the enterprise level.

Implementation: onboarding is included, and billing for single-location practices starts 12 weeks after onboarding begins. Evidence: according to Shepherd (2026), the pricing page lists every fee above.

Digitail

Published facts: four plans (Mobile, Growth, Growth AI and Enterprise) with no dollar prices on the pricing page. Unlimited staff roles come at no additional cost. In-house data migration, 1:1 onboarding, 24/7 support and an open API are listed in every plan. The Growth plan adds a boarding calendar, smart dental charts, and anesthesia and vitals monitoring, and Growth AI adds Tails AI tools.

Our read: best fit is a clinic that runs boarding, dental or anesthesia monitoring and wants an open API. The limitation is that cost cannot be checked from the vendor's site, and the features you need may sit on a higher tier. Usage fees apply to wellness plans and buy-now-pay-later, and usage rates apply to surcharges, with no published rates.

Implementation: in-house migration and 1:1 onboarding are listed in every plan. Evidence: Digitail's pricing page, digitail.com/pricing.

Covetrus Pulse

Published facts: the vendor site did not load during our research, so we rely on third parties. CostBench lists three tiers at $200, $400 and $600 per month and places Pulse at the premium end. A review directory describes Pulse as an early adopter of AI for routine tasks and says the product was formerly known as eVetPractice.

Our read: best fit is a practice that wants AI-led documentation and will negotiate a quote. The limitation is that AI benefits are vendor marketing until you test them in a demo. CostBench lists eVetPractice and Covetrus Pulse with identical ranges, so confirm whether they are one product before comparing quotes.

Implementation: CostBench reports onboarding fees split 50% at signing and 50% at go-live, plus possible data conversion fees. Evidence: CostBench's Covetrus Pulse profile.

ezyVet

Published facts: the pricing page says "get started for as little as $260.50 per month," lists IDEXX diagnostic integrations and unlimited 24/7 support, and does not state a per-user fee. Additional pricing details are available on request through a custom quote.

Our read: best fit is a practice that uses IDEXX diagnostics and wants a published starting point with a quote for the rest. The limitation is that no plan names appear on the page, so the $260.50 figure does not show how price changes with size. Ask for the seat, migration and training terms in writing.

Implementation: unlimited 24/7 support is listed. Migration and training terms sit in an FAQ we did not read. According to ezyVet (2026), the starting price is $260.50 per month.

DaySmart Vet

Published facts: plans start at $123 per month, the page states there are no hidden fees, and data migration is free. The product includes anywhere access, integrated payments, texting, a PetCare mobile app and integrated AI. Daisy Voice, which adds voice and SOAP-note AI, is an add-on.

Our read: best fit is a practice that wants payments and client messaging on one bill, with the lowest published starting price of the three that show one. The limitation is that $123 does not say whether it covers one doctor or one location, the page does not define user tiers, and larger practices must contact sales.

Implementation: the FAQ says onboarding, training and optional add-on costs are disclosed upfront; we did not verify those amounts. According to DaySmart Vet (2026), plans start at $123 per month.

Instinct

Published facts: Instinct describes a cloud EMR and practice management system with a patient safety warning system, automated charge capture, vitals management, digital treatment sheets and a hospital-wide communication board. It publishes no price, and Software Advice lists the starting price as available on request.

Our read: best fit is a practice that puts in-hospital safety and communication first. The limitations are thin public information and a name collision risk: a FitGap profile notes that some listings under the name "Instinct" may describe other products. Capterra's rating is also a small sample. According to Capterra (2026), the 4.9 rating comes from roughly 234 to 238 reviews.

Implementation: not published. Request scope and migration terms in writing.

Comparison: where each vendor wins

VendorWhere it winsChoose it ifCheck before you sign
ShepherdPublished one-doctor price; unlimited loginsYou want a clear one-doctor price and a single-location cloudMigration ($2,475) and texting costs
DigitailBreadth of clinical modules on higher tiersYou run boarding, dental or anesthesia monitoringWhich tier holds your features; usage fees
Covetrus PulseAI-led documentation claimsYou will negotiate a quote and test AI in a demoPrice, and whether Pulse and eVetPractice are one product
ezyVetIDEXX diagnostic integrations; unlimited supportYou use IDEXX diagnosticsSeat, migration and training terms
DaySmart VetLowest published start; bundled payments and textingYou want payments and client messaging in one contractWhether $123 covers your doctor count and locations
InstinctHospital-style safety and communication featuresIn-hospital workflow is the priorityThin public information; get a demo and written scope

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip a workflow layer if your PMS already handles the one workflow you need, such as reminders and payment capture, and no one at the clinic will review exceptions. A workflow layer adds an approval step and an owner, which a single-clinic front desk may not need. It is also the wrong tool if your only goal is replacing the PMS, because it works above an existing system.

Shepherd vs Digitail: which to shortlist

The most common shortlist question is Shepherd against Digitail, and the honest answer depends on what you can verify. Shepherd publishes a one-doctor price of $349 per month and a two-doctor price of $448, so you can budget before a demo. Digitail publishes no dollar prices, and CostBench estimates $149 to $300 per month. That estimate sits below Shepherd's published single-doctor price, so a Digitail quote is the only way to confirm the gap.

On features, Digitail lists more clinical modules, particularly on its Growth tier, and it publishes an open API. Shepherd lists unlimited users, a pet parent portal and AI transcription, but not the boarding, dental or anesthesia modules. Our read: choose Shepherd for a general practice that values predictable pricing and unlimited staff logins. Choose Digitail if specialty modules or API access decide the purchase and you can get a Growth-tier quote in writing.

Cloud practice management for small clinics

For a small clinic, cloud means the decision is about contract terms more than hardware. Three things matter most. First, whether staff logins are unlimited: Shepherd and Digitail state yes, while the ezyVet and DaySmart Vet pages do not state a seat rule. Second, what migration costs: Shepherd charges $2,475, DaySmart Vet lists free migration, and Digitail lists in-house migration. Third, what the texting and payment layer adds each month: Shepherd's texting is $99 per 5,000 messages, and its own estimate for clinics under 2,000 messages a month is $30 to $40.

Staffing is why logins matter. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024–2034 projections), veterinarian employment is projected to grow 10 percent over that decade. A clinic that hires through that period will add logins, so ask about seat rules before the first new hire, not after. Our read: shortlist vendors that publish a starting price and state seat rules in writing, then ask for a first-year total that includes migration, texting and add-ons.

AVImark alternatives

Capterra lists AVImark as Covetrus Avimark, with a 4.1 rating from 600 reviews on a page updated in March 2026. CostBench estimates AVImark at $150 to $400 per month across its tiers and names Digitail among the top alternatives in its 2026 comparison. We could not verify AVImark's own pricing or migration terms, so treat any switch as a quote exercise. The real switching question is migration: ask each alternative for a written export-and-import plan from AVImark and a fixed migration price before comparing monthly fees.

Build it yourself or use a managed workflow

The realistic alternative to a managed workflow layer is rarely doing nothing. Most clinics that want reminders, payment reconciliation or lead routing try to stitch the work together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or build it in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured, so the real question is who designs and owns that configuration.

A self-built flow requires you to design and own several pieces: observability (who sees a failed run, and how fast), idempotency (a retried event must not create a second action), escalation paths, access controls on the PMS export and payment accounts, data retention, and maintenance when the PMS or payment API changes.

Illustrative scenario, not a customer result: a two-doctor clinic sends 1,200 invoices a month through Stripe, and about 36 of them (3%) land on a manual reconciliation list each month. An n8n flow can start from Stripe's invoice.paid event, write the paid status to a reconciliation sheet, and route any event whose invoice reference is missing from the PMS export to a review queue. If that queue takes roughly 6 staff hours a week today, the design question is whether the review step, the retention period and the failed-run alert each have a named owner at the clinic.

A proposed US Tech Automations design would differ in specific ways. The company's public site describes custom workflows that its team designs, builds and runs, with an approval queue where a person approves, edits or rejects each draft before it sends. It names Stripe and QuickBooks among existing-stack connectors but does not list a veterinary PMS connector, so the first prerequisite is a PMS export or API path you can confirm. Human review would sit before any client message, any refund and any change to a medical record, and the design would name an owner for each alert. Scope, export access and review rules would be written down before anything runs.

Glossary

  • Practice management system (PMS): the clinic's core database for scheduling, records, billing and inventory.

  • System of record: the one place where a visit, invoice or medical record is treated as authoritative.

  • Seat or login: a staff account; some vendors charge per seat, others do not.

  • Data migration: moving records from the old system, usually a fee-based service.

  • Webhook: an automatic message one system sends another when an event occurs, such as a payment.

  • Idempotency: designing a workflow so a repeated event, such as a retried webhook, does not trigger a duplicate action.

  • Approval queue: a holding area where a person approves, edits or rejects an automated action before it runs.

Common mistakes when buying

  • Comparing monthly fees without migration and texting. Shepherd's $2,475 migration alone is about seven months of its one-doctor price.

  • Trusting a third-party range over the vendor's own page. CostBench's Shepherd range conflicts with Shepherd's published $349.

  • Assuming unlimited logins without a written seat rule.

  • Paying for a specialty module when the core need is reminders and payments.

  • Skipping an export test. Ask for a sample export of your own records before signing.

  • Launching automation without an owner for failed runs and exceptions.

Benchmarks at a glance

BenchmarkFigureDateSource
Owner share among owners and associates42% (down from 47% in 2008)2018AVMA census analysis
Projected growth in veterinarian employment10%2024–2034US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Administrative share of US national health expenditures (human health)34.2%2017Annals of Internal Medicine
Shepherd one-doctor list price$349 per monthChecked Oct 20, 2026Shepherd
DaySmart Vet starting price$123 per monthChecked Oct 20, 2026DaySmart Vet
AVImark third-party estimate range$150 to $400 per month2026CostBench

Frequently asked questions

What does veterinary practice management software cost per month?

Among the three vendors that publish a starting price, the range runs from $123 to $349 per month, but those starts cover different scopes, so compare first-year totals instead. CostBench's summary puts the 2026 range across tiered vendors at $49 to $600 per month, and none of the priced vendors it lists offers a free tier.

Is Shepherd or Digitail cheaper?

You cannot settle that from public numbers. Shepherd publishes $349 per month for one doctor, while Digitail publishes no dollar price and CostBench estimates $149 to $300 per month. Ask Digitail for a quote on the tier that includes your services, then compare first-year totals against Shepherd's roughly $8,211 to $8,331 ceiling for two doctors.

Which cloud practice management software suits a small clinic?

A small single-location clinic should start with vendors that publish a starting price and state seat rules, which on the pages we read means Shepherd and DaySmart Vet. Then confirm migration and texting costs in writing before you commit.

Are there cheaper AVImark alternatives?

The lowest published start among the alternatives is DaySmart Vet at $123 per month, against CostBench's $150 to $400 estimate for AVImark. AVImark's own pricing and migration terms could not be verified, so compare the first-year total on each written quote before deciding.

Does a workflow layer require replacing the PMS?

No. A workflow layer can sit above an existing PMS if the PMS offers an export or API path, so the first question is what your current system exposes.

Is there a free option?

CostBench reports that none of the vendors it prices offers a free tier. A Software Advice listing for Instinct mentions a free trial and a free version, so ask Instinct directly.

Plan the workflow layer alongside your PMS choice, and read the workflow automation overview to see how it would connect to your stack.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.