Bluebeam Alternatives for Contractors: 3 Steps for 2027
Pick the alternative by the job it replaces
For most small contractors, the right Bluebeam alternative depends on which job is slowing bids down: measuring quantities, marking up and reviewing drawings, or getting current plans to field crews. Plan takeoff software is a tool that turns a set of PDF drawings into measured quantities, such as lengths, areas and counts, that feed an estimate.
TL;DR: if measurement drives your bids, shortlist Togal.AI, STACK and PlanSwift. If the pain is plans on job sites, look at Fieldwire. If you mainly need review and comments, compare Drawboard and Adobe Acrobat Pro. If you already run Procore, get a quote for its drawings module before you decide. Keep Bluebeam if its Core tier already covers the measurements you take.
Key Takeaways
Takeoff-first tools are the real alternative when measurement is the bottleneck, because markup-only tools rarely remove that work.
Bluebeam's Core tier already includes perimeter, count, angle and volume measurement, so confirm the gap before you switch.
Six of the seven tools in this comparison publish at least one plan price we could read. Procore publishes none.
Trial each shortlisted tool on one real bid, and time the takeoff against your current process.
Moving a takeoff export into an estimate draft is a configuration task that needs a human check on every bid.
Who this is for
This guide is for owners and operations leads at small contractors who are close to choosing a Bluebeam replacement or a second tool, who will run the trial themselves, and who can name the person who will own the tool after purchase.
Red flags: you need a full project-management suite before you need takeoff; your drawings are scanned images without a usable scale; nobody has time to run a trial on a live bid.
How we evaluated these tools
We scored each option against six weighted criteria, shown below. The weights are our judgment for a small contractor, not a published industry standard. Prices come only from vendor pricing pages we could open, and independent context comes from a trade guide and a research summary.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters to a small contractor |
|---|---|---|
| Takeoff depth (lengths, areas, counts, volume) | 25% | Measurement is usually why bids run late |
| Markup and review workflow | 20% | Plans need comments and revisions before anyone prices them |
| Published price for your seat count | 20% | Per-seat prices multiply quickly across a crew |
| Field access and collaboration | 15% | Crews need the current drawing, not last week's set |
| Export and integration path | 10% | Quantities have to leave the tool to reach an estimate |
| Setup and training load | 10% | A tool nobody has time to learn does not replace the old one |
Just over 85% of respondents use estimating solutions regularly according to BuiltWorlds (2026), per the report's visible summary. The full report appears gated and the sample size is not shown, so treat the figure as directional.
We left out two names. Autodesk's pricing pages returned errors when we tried to open them, so Autodesk Build is not in this comparison, and On-Screen Takeoff's domain now redirects to a domain-for-sale listing. Bluebeam stays in as the reference product, not as an alternative.
Price check: published plans and two-seat math
Pricing checked October 29, 2026. Every figure below is a list price per user or per seat printed on the vendor's own pricing page. Where a vendor prints only a starting price or no price, we say so.
Bluebeam's Core plan costs $330 per user, billed annually according to Bluebeam (2026), with Basics at $260, Complete at $440 and Max at $590, which the page labels an introductory price.
Togal.AI's Growth plan costs $299 per user per month according to Togal.AI (2026), billed yearly. The Business tier for teams with four or more users is quote-based, and the pricing page makes no mention of a trial.
STACK's Takeoff & Estimate plan starts as low as $299 per user per month, its Build & Operate plan as low as $49, and its full platform as low as $348, according to STACK (2026), with a free version for Takeoff & Estimate and a free trial for Build & Operate.
PlanSwift's Essential plan costs $2,000 per year for one seat according to PlanSwift (2026). The Core plan is $3,000 per year for one seat, the page mentions discounts for extra seats without publishing those prices, and the free trial needs no credit card.
Fieldwire's Pro plan costs $39 per user per month, billed annually according to Fieldwire (2026), with Business at $64, Business Plus at $89 and a Basic tier at $0 on the same page.
Drawboard's Team plan costs $22.50 per user per month, billed yearly according to Drawboard (2026) for up to 25 users, which the page puts at $270 per user per year. Its free tier covers 10 documents of up to 40MB each, and Pro plans offer a 7-day trial.
Adobe's Acrobat Pro plan for teams costs $287.88 per license per year, prepaid according to Adobe (2026). Billed monthly, the same plan is $23.99 per license.
Procore publishes no prices. Its pricing page says the quote depends on the products chosen and each customer's Annual Construction Volume, with an upfront annual fee per product.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Two-seat annual at list |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bluebeam | Basics | $260 per user, billed annually | $520 |
| Bluebeam | Core | $330 per user, billed annually | $660 |
| Bluebeam | Complete | $440 per user, billed annually | $880 |
| PlanSwift | Essential | $2,000 per year, one seat | Seat 2 not published |
| STACK | Takeoff & Estimate | As low as $299 per user per month | $7,176 at the as-low-as price |
| Togal.AI | Growth | $299 per user per month, billed yearly | $7,176 |
| Fieldwire | Pro | $39 per user per month, billed annually | $936 |
| Fieldwire | Business | $64 per user per month, billed annually | $1,536 |
| Drawboard | Team (up to 25 users) | $22.50 per user per month, billed yearly | $540 |
| Adobe | Acrobat Pro for teams | $287.88 per license per year, prepaid | $575.76 |
| Procore | Drawings and other products | Quote-based | Quote-based |
Two-seat totals multiply the printed per-user price by two, and by twelve where the price is monthly. They exclude taxes, add-ons and any prepayment terms beyond what the pricing pages print.
What each tool does in practice
| Tool | Takeoff | Markup and review | Field access | Export and integration | Deployment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Togal.AI | Automated quantities for area, materials and counts | Not the focus of the pages we read | Not stated on pages we read | Excel export; integrations listed on vendor page | Cloud-based |
| STACK | Linear, area, count and volume measurement with AI auto-counting | Drawing version overlays | Field app for iOS, Android and Windows | STACK for Excel; developer API | Cloud-based |
| PlanSwift | Takeoff and estimating | Not verified | Not stated on pages we read | Strong Excel integration, per ConstructConnect | Windows per ConstructConnect; official page silent |
| Fieldwire | No takeoff stated | Notes, photos and videos on plans; versioning | Web, iOS and Android; offline markups | Box and Dropbox connections | Cloud with mobile apps |
| Drawboard | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
| Adobe Acrobat Pro | Not a takeoff product | PDF markup and review | Not stated on pricing page | Not verified | Not verified |
| Procore | Measurement markups | Copy, paste and duplicate markups; bulk actions | Web, mobile and offline viewing | Drawings Log exports to PDF or CSV | Web and mobile |
Read "not verified" as "the pages we could read did not say," not as "missing." For Drawboard we could read only the pricing page in full, so its feature fit is unverified here.
Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and rollout
Togal.AI
Best fit: estimators who measure counts and areas across many bids and want automated quantities. Limits: the higher tier is quote-based, the pricing page makes no mention of a trial, and Togal's speed claims come without a stated baseline. Rollout: upload the plan set, run the automated takeoff, check every quantity, then export. Togal's GC page says its Excel export carries the full quantity set in the structure teams already price from, and it lists integrations with Ediphi, Zebel and ServiceTitan that we did not verify beyond that page. Evidence: Togal's GC page.
STACK
Best fit: teams that want cloud takeoff plus estimating worksheets and cost data in one place. Limits: the pages we read describe a cloud-based product and no desktop version, so plan for browser-based work, and the full platform is quote-based beyond its starting price. Rollout: STACK publishes a developer tutorial page for a v2 REST API, which matters if you later need a custom connection. Evidence: STACK's developer tutorials.
PlanSwift
Best fit: a single estimator who wants a takeoff license with a long track record and strong Excel links. ConstructConnect's 2026 guide says PlanSwift has been on the market for about 20 years and runs on Windows, according to ConstructConnect. Limits: the official pricing page does not state whether the product is desktop or cloud, so confirm before buying, and pricing for extra seats is not published. Rollout: start with the free trial, which needs no credit card. Disclosure: the same guide says two of its nine products, PlanSwift and On-Screen Takeoff, come from ConstructConnect's own portfolio.
Fieldwire
Best fit: superintendents and foremen who need current drawings, markups and punch items on phones. Limits: the pages we read describe no takeoff or quantity measurement, so keep a separate takeoff tool if you bid from plans. Rollout: the product page describes drawing versioning, auto-hyperlinking and offline markups, which suits crews working in areas with weak signal. Evidence: Fieldwire's pricing page.
Drawboard
Best fit: teams whose main problem is review and comments on PDFs rather than measurement. Limits: we could read only the pricing page in full, so feature fit is unverified here, and the Enterprise tier is quote-based. Rollout: the free tier is the lowest-risk way to see whether the review workflow fits before you pay per seat. Evidence: Drawboard's pricing page.
Adobe Acrobat Pro
Best fit: a few office users who mark up and comment on PDFs and do not need quantity takeoff. Limits: it is a general PDF tool, not a construction takeoff product, and team pricing is per license. Rollout: buy licenses only for the people who mark up files, since Acrobat Reader stays free for viewing. Evidence: Acrobat plans.
Procore
Best fit: firms already running project management in Procore who want drawings in the same system. Limits: there are no published prices, so you cannot compare cost on paper before a quote. The drawings help pages describe copying and duplicating markups, bulk actions, and offline viewing on mobile. Measurement markups show fractions to 1/32 precision, according to Procore support (help center), and the Drawings Log exports to PDF or CSV.
Worked example: two estimators, one license decision
Take a two-estimator shop that bids 30 jobs a year. Those volumes and the time saving below are illustrative assumptions, not benchmarks. The math uses only the published prices above.
| Step | Calculation | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Togal.AI Growth, two seats, one year | 2 × $299 × 12 | $7,176 |
| Bluebeam Core, two seats, one year | 2 × $330 | $660 |
| Annual gap between the two | $7,176 − $660 | $6,516 |
| Assumed estimator hours saved | 2 hours × 30 bids | 60 hours |
| Value each saved hour must carry | $6,516 ÷ 60 | $108.60 |
Bluebeam's Core tier already includes advanced measurements, so the comparison is about how much faster counts and areas come out, not whether one tool can measure at all. Each hour the AI takeoff saves has to be worth about $108.60 to cover the gap. That is the number to test in a trial, not a promise. If you later push quantities into your own estimating system, STACK's developer tutorial lists access_token among its identifiers, so a custom connection needs credential handling that no pricing page shows.
Where automation fits in the handoffs
A proposed, configurable flow for the takeoff-to-estimate handoff works like this. The trigger is a new takeoff export, such as the Excel file that Togal.AI or STACK for Excel produces, landing in a shared bid folder. The action reads each quantity row, maps it to the assembly names in your estimate template, flags any quantity that differs from the last similar job by a threshold an estimator sets, and writes a draft estimate. The output is a draft in the estimator's queue with a log of every mapped row. US Tech Automations would configure this as a proposal, not a live system. It needs file-export access from the takeoff tool, write access to the estimating system, and an estimator who approves every line before a client sees it.
The second handoff is drawing revisions. The proposed trigger is a new revision appearing in the document system, such as a Drawings Log CSV export from Procore or a new version uploaded to Fieldwire. The action compares the revision list with the last one the crew saw, lists the sheets that changed, and opens a task for the superintendent with the revision number attached. The output is a task, not a change to anything in the field. The prerequisite is an export or API connection to the document system. The human review point is the superintendent who confirms what changed before crews act, and US Tech Automations could configure the routing and an escalation to a named backup if the task sits unread.
The fair alternative is to build these flows yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and leave an audit trail when configured. The buyer still designs and owns the parts that cause trouble later: idempotency so a retried run does not create a second draft, escalation when nobody acts, access controls on the estimating system, and maintenance when an export format changes. A proposed design from US Tech Automations would configure those four pieces as part of its scope, but it would still need your export access and your sign-off on each review point.
Terms this comparison uses
Takeoff: measuring quantities such as lengths, areas and counts from drawings for a bid.
Markup: comments, shapes and measurements added on top of a PDF.
Scale calibration: setting a drawing's real-world scale so measurements come out correctly.
Revision: a new version of a drawing sheet, usually tracked by drawing number.
Assembly: a group of line items, such as a wall type, priced together.
Two-seat total: the printed per-user price times two, times twelve for monthly billing.
API: a set of endpoints that another system can call to read or write data.
Decision checklist before the trial
- Name the one job the tool must replace: takeoff, markup or field access.
- Count seats for the next twelve months, not just today's crew.
- Confirm which tiers include the measurements you take; Bluebeam's Core tier includes advanced ones.
- Ask whether the tool exports CSV or Excel, or offers an API, before you buy.
- Run one real bid through the trial and time it against your current process.
- Decide who approves each automated draft before it reaches a client.
Frequently asked questions
Is Togal.AI a direct replacement for Bluebeam?
No. Togal.AI is built around automated quantity takeoff, while Bluebeam also covers markup, review and collaboration. If your Bluebeam use is mostly markup, you need a markup tool, and Togal.AI will not replace it.
Can Adobe Acrobat Pro replace Bluebeam for markup?
Yes for a few office users who mark up and comment on PDFs, and its teams plan is priced per license. It does not replace takeoff work, so keep a takeoff tool if you measure quantities from plans.
Which options cost the least for a small team?
Bluebeam's lower tiers and Drawboard's Team plan are the lowest paid per-seat options in the price check above, but both are built for markup and review rather than takeoff. Compare them only for that job.
Do I need an API to connect takeoff to my estimate?
Not for a first test. A CSV or Excel export is enough to check a handoff, and an API matters once the connection has to run without someone exporting by hand. Ask every vendor for developer documentation before you buy, as STACK publishes its tutorial and v2 endpoints openly.
Should I automate this at all?
Skip automation if you bid two or three jobs a year, if your only need is marking up PDFs for one person, or if your tools cannot export quantities. A free trial or basic tier covers the first two cases, and the third means there is nothing to connect yet. For a shop with a regular bid cycle and exports already available, a proposed design from US Tech Automations could handle the draft routing described above, with an estimator approving every line.
Next step for your shop
Start with the job that slows bids most, shortlist one takeoff tool and one field or review tool, and trial both on the same bid. Then compare the two-seat totals with the hours you actually save. To see how a handoff like this could be configured, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a proposed design, with the export prerequisites and review points spelled out.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.