Skip to content
AI & Automation

CareCredit Alternatives for Dental Offices: 5 Options, 2027

Oct 19, 2026

Start with the category decision

Pick the category before you compare brands. A third-party lender funds the patient's loan or card, pays your office, and collects from the patient. An in-office plan keeps the balance and the collection risk on your own books. In this guide, patient financing means a loan or payment plan that someone other than the patient funds, so the treatment is paid for up front.

TL;DR: If you want to move off CareCredit, the realistic choices are a lender with a written fee schedule and a fixed installment structure, or an in-office plan for smaller balances. Get the schedule in writing, read every promotional clause, and treat vendor approval rates as claims until you can see how they are measured.

Key Takeaways

  • Choose the category first. A third-party lender moves collection risk off your office, while an in-office plan keeps that risk on your books.

  • Read promotional language before you switch. Deferred interest is the feature regulators documented in CareCredit's enrollment practices.

  • Only one option in this set publishes a practice-side fee figure, and it is a floor, not a rate.

  • Among the five alternatives, only Proceed and Cherry publish a payout window (CareCredit, the baseline, also does), so compare cash flow on the page before you rely on it.

  • Treat approval rates as vendor claims. None of the vendor pages defines how its approval rate is measured.

  • Pilot any change with one treatment type and a written exception list before you move all financing.

Why the search starts with deferred interest

Patients who search for alternatives are usually reacting to a cost they did not expect. Adults skipping needed care over cost: 28% in 2026 according to KFF (2026). That survey covers all needed health care rather than dental care alone, so read it as context on patient price sensitivity, not as a dental benchmark.

The most documented risk with CareCredit is its promotional structure. CFPB refund order: up to $34.1 million according to CFPB (2013), which covered deferred-interest cards carrying a 26.99 percent annual interest rate. The bureau found that many consumers believed the card was interest-free, and that office staff who explained it had received little or no training from the lender. That history is why every comparison below puts promotional clauses first.

How we evaluated these options

We scored each option on six weighted criteria. Cost to the practice carries the most weight because most financing decisions start as cost decisions, and patient terms come second because a cheap product that patients misunderstand creates its own write-offs. The weights are our judgment, not a market standard, and a practice with a different mix of case sizes could reasonably shift them.

CriterionWeightPoints of 100What the office checks
Practice-side cost30%30Written merchant schedule, fee floors versus rates
Patient terms20%20APR range, promotional clauses, deferred-interest language
Approval and credit-check design15%15Soft or hard check at prequalification, and how approval claims are measured
Payout speed15%15Published days to fund the practice, stated in the contract
Disclosure transparency10%10Whether rates, eligibility and fees are published
Implementation effort10%10Enrollment steps, integrations, staff training

A vendor that publishes nothing for a criterion scores zero on it. That rule is deliberate: a "Quote-based" price cannot earn full cost credit just because the marketing is confident.

Feature matrix and fit

Read this matrix as a checklist, not a ranking. A "Not stated" cell means the vendor's page did not say, which is not the same as "no."

OptionStructureDeferred-interest languageCredit-check claimPractice payoutPractice fee
CareCreditPromotional card with reduced-APR plansYes: promotional interest is owed in full if the balance is not paid in time (CFPB, 2013)Prequalification with no hard credit checkWithin two business daysQuote-based
SunbitInstallment plans with 0% optionsNot statedNot stated on program pageNot stated on program pageAs low as 1.9% (floor)
Proceed FinanceFixed-APR installment loansNot stated on providers pagePre-qualification does not affect credit1 to 2 business daysQuote-based
CherryPayment plans of 1 to 60 monthsNot stated; a short interest-free option existsSoft check, never a hard check2 to 3 business daysQuote-based
Alphaeon CreditPromotional revolving credit lineNot stated on profile pageNot statedNot statedQuote-based
In-office planBalance carried by the officeNot applicable: the office sets termsNot applicableOver the plan termNot applicable

Our read: CareCredit, Proceed and Cherry each document a payout clock, which makes their cash flow easy to compare. Sunbit and Alphaeon leave the most gaps, so they need the most questions before anyone signs.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

US Tech Automations is not the simpler choice in three situations. If your office sends only a few financing applications a month, the lender's portal and a shared checklist cover the work without a workflow layer. If the practice-management system offers no export or API access and no one can review the output, an automated handoff adds a step nobody checks. And if the only goal is funding one lender's cases, a vendor-run enrollment with a written fee schedule leaves less to build and maintain.

Pricing and total cost by option

Pricing checked October 19, 2026. Only a few figures are published, and each one appears with its source in the vendor notes below. Where a vendor did not publish a practice fee, the table says Quote-based instead of estimating one.

OptionPractice-side feeDays to fund practiceLongest published termPublished APR range
CareCreditQuote-based260 months17.90% to 20.90%
SunbitAs low as 1.9% (floor)Not published on program page24 months (no-interest plans)8.99% to 35.99%
Proceed FinanceQuote-based1 to 2144 months8.99% to 10.99%
CherryQuote-based; no annual fee2 to 360 months0% to 35.99%
Alphaeon CreditQuote-basedNot statedNot statedNot stated
In-office planNot applicableNot applicableSet by the officeNot applicable

Sunbit's practice fee is the only published practice-side figure in this set, and it is a floor. Sunbit practice fee: as low as 1.9% according to Sunbit (2026). Our read: a floor tells you the lowest fee on the page, not the blended cost across your mix of cases, so ask for the full schedule before you compare it with anything else. The same page lists 8.99-35.99% APR and an 87% approval rate that it does not define, according to Sunbit.

Proceed's providers page lists 8.99% APR on a 72-month term and 10.99% on 144 months, with loans from $1,500 to $75,000, payment to practices in 1 to 2 business days, and state minimums of $3,000 in CO and GA and $6,000 in MA, according to Proceed Finance. CareCredit's provider center says providers get paid within two business days, and its reduced-APR cardholder plans run from 17.90% on 24 months for purchases of $1,000 or more to 20.90% on 60 months for purchases of $2,500 or more, according to CareCredit. Cherry's dental page lists no annual fee, a 2.99% processing fee on credit-card payments, APRs from 0% to 35.99%, and full payment to the practice in 2 to 3 business days, with a loan ceiling stated as $50,000 in the body and $35 to $65,000 in the disclosure, according to Cherry. Neither Alphaeon's enrollment page nor the industry profile publishes a practice fee rate, and the profile describes no application, enrollment or monthly activity fees, according to Implant Practice US.

Vendor profiles

Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read of it.

Sunbit

Published: Sunbit's 2026 dental program page describes a fee floor, 0% options "may be available," and terms that are "contingent upon" enrollment and creditworthiness.

Best fit: offices that want a fee floor in writing and patient plans they can explain at the front desk.

Limitations: the fee is qualified as "as low as," and the 0% options are conditional. Our read: each step of the offer has a condition attached, so the patient-facing script has to say so.

Implementation: enrollment and approval run through Sunbit's dental program. Ask for a written quote, the rate-adjustment terms and the termination clause before you sign. The program page does not describe integrations, so confirm your practice-management connection in writing.

Proceed Finance

Published: the providers page describes advanced dental work, pre-qualification in minutes, and loans that are "subject to credit approval."

Best fit: offices with larger elective cases that need a longer installment term.

Limitations: no provider fee or merchant rate is published, and the FAQ refers only to "competitive provider fees." The page says it pays practices in 1 to 2 business days, while the FAQ says funds "usually settle the next business day," so ask which timing applies to your bank.

Implementation: patients can pre-qualify in person with the provider, or online through a provider office code. Minimums differ by state, so check your state before you promise a plan.

Cherry

Published: Cherry's dental page says it "never conducts a hard credit check" and offers a short interest-free option alongside longer plans. Its merchant-fee claim is relative: reduce merchant fees by as much as 50%.

Best fit: offices that want soft-check prequalification and a short interest-free option alongside longer plans.

Limitations: the merchant fee is Quote-based, and the page lists "Merchant fees apply" without a rate. The approval and acceptance claims are described as based on "2026 internal analysis," so treat them as the vendor's own measure.

Implementation: the page links to a Seller Purchase Agreement. Read it before enrolling, because the merchant terms sit there rather than on the marketing page.

Alphaeon Credit

Published: the official enrollment page lists an NMLS number and a 2026 copyright notice, according to Alphaeon. The industry profile describes a dental contact address, dental@alphaeon.com, and a hotline it says runs around the clock.

Best fit: offices that want a promotional revolving credit line and a named dental contact.

Limitations: no practice fee, payout window or approval method is published on the pages reviewed. Our read: this is a vendor you verify by phone and contract, not by web page.

Implementation: enroll through the official enrollment page, and get the practice-side terms in writing before you offer the card to patients.

CareCredit (baseline)

Published: the provider center says providers "must accept CareCredit for purchases" to offer special financing, and that patients can check prequalification "with no hard credit check." The page also says it offers "transparent merchant fees and pricing" but gives no figures, and points to a separate rates-and-fees document.

Best fit: offices that already accept CareCredit and want a patient brand that many families recognize.

Limitations: the deferred-interest history covered above, and no merchant rate on the provider page. Our read: the separate rates-and-fees document is the one to request before you compare anyone.

Implementation: enrollment starts with the provider form on the provider center, and promotions are chosen in its Manage Promotions feature.

In-office payment plan

Published: none. This option has no lender, so it has no vendor page to cite.

Best fit: smaller balances and offices with a steady front-desk collection routine. The office pays no lender fee, but it carries every missed payment.

Limitations: cash flow slows, and the collection work does not go away. If you are weighing a membership model against a payment plan, the dental membership platforms for in-house plans guide covers that tradeoff, and the patient engagement platforms guide covers the reminder side.

Implementation: define the schedule, the payment method (card-on-file or bank debit), and the written terms first. Then add reminders that a person reviews. If your practice-management system limits how you track plans, the Open Dental vs Curve Dental guide compares two cloud options.

Where a proposed workflow fits the collection gap

The workflow below is a proposed, configurable design, not a live deployment or a result anyone has measured. A proposed design can sit between the lender's funding status and your in-office plan records. The trigger is a treatment plan marked accepted in the practice-management system. The configured action reads that plan, checks whether the patient chose a lender or an in-office plan, and drafts either the first in-office invoice or a lender-funding checklist. The output is a status row that the office manager can see, plus a QuickBooks entry if the office uses QuickBooks Online. Prerequisites are API or scheduled export access from the practice-management system (not every product provides one), a Stripe account for in-office invoices, and QuickBooks access for ledger posting. US Tech Automations lists QuickBooks and Stripe among its connectable tools, but the exact connector for your practice-management software must be confirmed before design.

The human review points stay in the loop. A staff member approves any plan above an amount the office sets, checks the lender's disclosure language before the patient signs, and approves every outbound reminder while the workflow is new. A US Tech Automations design could configure a reminder that triggers on each in-office invoice's due date, with the drafted message sent to the front desk rather than the patient. The output is a daily exception list of invoices where amount_remaining is still above zero after the due date. The site's own sample workflow shows the same pattern, where "You approve, edit or reject each draft before it sends."

Worked example: a $5,000 case

This is an illustration, not a customer. Proceed's published example is $5,000 at $91 a month over 72 months, and Proceed example: $5,000 at $91 a month according to Proceed Finance (2026). The patient would pay $91 × 72 = $6,552, which is $1,552 above the $5,000 price, while the lender pays the office within 1 to 2 business days. If the office carried the same $5,000 in-house with no interest, the monthly figure would be $5,000 ÷ 72 = $69.44, rounded. In Stripe's Invoice object, amount_paid is recorded in the smallest currency unit, so each $69.44 payment is stored as 6944 cents, and the last installment would be $69.76 to absorb the rounding. Stripe's Invoice object reference is the source for that field, and the office, not the lender, carries the collection risk across all 72 months.

PathMonthly paymentMonthsTotal paid by patientWho carries collection risk
Lender installment loan$9172$6,552Lender
In-office plan, no interest$69.44 (last payment $69.76)72$5,000Office

Decision checklist and common mistakes

Who this is for

Who this is for: an owner or operations lead at a dental office that sees treatment cases large enough that financing matters, and that wants to change or add a financing partner. Red flags: the lender will not provide a written fee schedule, the team cannot explain the promotional terms to a patient in plain language, or no one will review automated outputs before they reach a patient.

  • Get a written fee schedule from each vendor, including merchant rates and any monthly or per-transaction charges, before you compare anyone.

  • Find the date interest starts on any promotional plan, and check what happens to a balance that is not paid in full by then.

  • Confirm payout days in the contract, not on the marketing page.

  • Ask a front-desk team member to explain the plan back to you in their own words, and fix any gap before patients hear it.

  • Write an approval rule for the in-office plan, including who signs off and what balance requires it.

Common mistakes

  • Treating "as low as 1.9%" as the rate you will pay.

  • Comparing approval rates that each vendor measures differently.

  • Assuming the lender trains your team, when the CFPB found staff had little or no training from the lender.

  • Letting an automation send patient-facing messages without human review.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a CareCredit alternative with no deferred interest?

Often, if you choose a fixed installment structure. A 0% installment loan does not charge interest back the way a deferred-interest card does, but promotional terms vary by lender. Read each contract for retroactive interest before you describe any plan as interest-free to a patient.

What does Sunbit charge a practice?

Sunbit publishes "as low as 1.9%" as a floor, not a standard rate, so request the full schedule before you compare it with other fees.

How fast do practices get paid?

The pricing table shows each vendor's published payout window, and Sunbit and Alphaeon do not publish one on the pages reviewed. Confirm the window in the contract, because a marketing page can differ from what your bank receives.

Do these lenders run hard credit checks on patients?

Vendor pages describe soft checks or none at prequalification: Cherry says it never runs a hard check, CareCredit's provider center says prequalification has no hard check, and Proceed says pre-qualification does not affect credit. Those are vendor statements, so confirm the full-application check in the contract.

Should we automate payment follow-up?

Yes for scheduling, due-date triggers and exception lists, but keep a person in the loop for any patient-facing message and any change to terms.

Next step: verify the terms in writing

Choose the category first, based on who should carry the collection risk, and then get each vendor's written schedule and promotional clause before you compare anything else. If you want to see how a handoff with approval gates could be configured, see how US Tech Automations configures this at the home page. Any design starts with the prerequisites above, and nothing should go live until a person has reviewed its first outputs.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.