Relativity Alternatives for Law Firms: 4 Steps to Pick 2027
Key Takeaways
TL;DR: pick by billing unit and matter pattern, get quotes in the same unit, and keep the review platform separate from the workflow layer around it.
Decide by how you buy, not by feature count. Occasional matters with a few reviewers suit a per-GB or per-user tool you can price in advance, while steady, AI-heavy review usually means a quote-based platform and a longer buying cycle.
Relativity is the baseline here, not the default. Its pricing page publishes no dollar amounts and offers pay-as-you-go or commitments, where committing for one or three years lowers costs, according to Relativity (checked 2026).
Pricing survey: 53 practitioner responses according to ComplexDiscovery (2026). The same release says GenAI-assisted review pricing "has not converged," so get AI terms in writing before you compare.
Logikcull's pay-as-you-go plan has a 10 GB minimum, according to Logikcull (checked 2026). It is the only pricing page in this guide that states a minimum.
Ask every vendor for quotes in one unit. Per-GB (DISCO, Logikcull), per-user (Nextpoint) and module-based pricing (Everlaw, Casepoint) cannot be compared until each quote is converted to the same monthly cost for the same matter.
US Tech Automations does not replace a review platform. It can sit around one, moving counts, drafts and approvals between tools, with a person signing off on anything outgoing.
Relativity is the baseline, not the default
A Relativity alternative is a litigation e-discovery platform that handles collection, processing, review and production under a different licensing and administration model than Relativity's. Most buyers still compare against Relativity first, so it is the reference point in this guide, not the automatic choice.
Relativity's pricing page describes two buying modes: pay-as-you-go, or a commitment in exchange for lower costs. It ties AI capabilities to committed data volume, with no separate AI license or per-user charge. That structure rewards firms with steady volume and a plan to use it. Our read: a firm with only occasional matters pays for capacity it may not use.
The market is moving toward cloud and AI, and that changes what you should ask vendors. Generative AI use: 37% of respondents, up from 12% according to LawNext (2025). The same LawNext report found Cloud e-discovery use: 66% of respondents according to LawNext (2025). Everlaw released that survey with partner groups, so read its AI and cloud findings as a vendor-released survey that an independent trade publication reported.
How we evaluated these tools
This guide is built only from public information: vendor pricing and feature pages, independent survey write-ups, and trade sources. We did not run trials of any product for it, and we did not treat vendor marketing as evidence that a feature exists. Each product was checked against six weighted criteria, using one rule: an item counts only when the public page we opened states it.
| Criterion | Weight | Scored as | Evidence we looked for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing clarity | 20% | 0 or 1 per item | Billing unit, minimum or term, and any dollar figure on a public page |
| Fit to matter size and team size | 20% | 0 or 1 per item | A billing unit that tracks the matters and people you actually run |
| AI terms | 15% | 0 or 1 per item | AI use stated as included, metered as credits, or sold as an add-on |
| Admin control and security evidence | 15% | 0 or 1 per item | Named certifications, access features and admin controls on public pages |
| Integration and export access | 15% | 0 or 1 per item | A public API or documentation you can read before buying |
| Implementation and support | 15% | 0 or 1 per item | A sample matter, trial, onboarding or support hours stated |
The weights are our judgment about what a small firm's buyer needs, not vendor or market data. A 0 means the page did not state the item, and we did not infer it.
What the public pricing pages say
The matrix below records four billing items per product. Each cell is 1 when the public page we opened states that item and 0 when it does not. "Billing unit" includes AI credits, because the charge is metered in credits even though no price per credit is published. No vendor page here printed a dollar figure for its platform.
| Product | Dollar figure published | Billing unit stated | Minimum or term stated | Sample or trial stated | Items stated (of 4) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Relativity | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Everlaw | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| DISCO | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Logikcull | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Casepoint | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Nextpoint | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
The pricing table below translates that into what a buyer should ask for. Quote-based means the public page gives no dollar figure.
| Product | Billing model on the public page | Minimum or term | Published dollar figure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Relativity | Pay-as-you-go, or a committed volume | Multi-year commitment | Quote-based |
| Everlaw | Platform licenses, AI credits and add-on modules | Not stated | Quote-based |
| DISCO | Per GB for the platform, per document for Auto Review | Not stated | Quote-based |
| Logikcull | Per GB per month; matter-based plans also listed | Minimum stated | Quote-based |
| Casepoint | Tailored to the products you use | Not stated | Quote-based |
| Nextpoint | Flat monthly rate per user | Annual prepay discount | Quote-based |
Pricing checked October 26, 2026.
Ask each vendor to put the minimum, the add-ons and the AI credits in writing, in the unit you will actually be billed on. Independent survey data points the same way: AI is already in use, and pricing for it has not settled. The eDiscovery Today 2026 report found Document review: 66.2%, a top Gen AI use according to eDiscovery Today (2026). That is a usage signal, not a price signal, so price AI as its own line in any quote.
Vendor profiles: fit, limits and evidence
Relativity
Best fit: firms that already use Relativity, or that can staff an administrator and want its extensibility. The pricing page says Relativity aiR can be extended through open APIs, the App Hub and partners "all at no additional license cost."
Limits: there is no public dollar figure, so the budget needs a quote. Several capabilities are licensed separately, including Data Breach Response, Translate, Relativity FOIA and Legal Hold, so a quote has to list them. A multi-year commitment is the main cost lever, which is a weak fit for firms with occasional matters.
Implementation: the REST documentation lists GET, POST, PUT and DELETE methods, so an integration is a developer project with an administrator involved.
Primary evidence: Relativity REST methods, a version-specific documentation page.
Everlaw
Best fit: teams that want AI features inside one evidence system for matters and investigations. Its pricing page lists "Unlimited User Licenses," which helps when many attorneys and staff need access.
Limits: AI features are metered as credits, and Intake Portal, Case Management and Compliance Reporting are sold as add-ons, so the final bill depends on which modules a quote includes. Everlaw's homepage describes a FedRAMP-certified and GovRAMP-authorized platform in a public-records context, and it does not name SOC 2 or ISO on that page. Ask for the security documentation directly.
Implementation: we could not open Everlaw's API help article during research, so confirm API access rules with the vendor before you scope any integration.
Primary evidence: Everlaw pricing.
DISCO
Best fit: firms that want AI included in the per-GB rate. The pricing page says full platform access comes "with unlimited use of AI and a clear, per-GB pricing structure," and places Ediscovery, Cecilia Gen AI, Depositions and Timelines inside that rate.
Limits: Auto Review is billed per document and Hold per GB, so one matter can touch more than one billing unit. Professional services are quoted separately, across levels from self-service to enterprise managed service.
Implementation: confirm which units a matter will touch before you sign, and get the professional-services level in writing. We could not verify DISCO's API documentation during research.
Primary evidence: DISCO pricing.
Logikcull
Best fit: smaller matters, and firms that want to test before committing. The pricing page offers a sample matter at no cost, unlimited users, and pay-as-you-go billing per GB per month. You add a credit card to upload data.
Limits: the pay-as-you-go plan has a minimum, so a very small matter still pays from that floor, which is our reading of the stated minimum. Its listed support hours are not around-the-clock, and Reveal AI Fact-finding appears as an add-on. The Corporate Suite, which adds unlimited legal holds and collection from more sources, is quote-based.
Implementation: start with the sample matter, and check upload, processing and export on your own file types before you sign.
Primary evidence: Logikcull pricing.
Nextpoint
Best fit: small teams that want per-user pricing with no separate storage charge. The pricing page says "Nextpoint never charges users for data storage, OCR, deduplication, or productions," and it describes its Essential tier as "Perfect for small teams."
Limits: cost tracks headcount. Every client, co-counsel or staff login adds to the monthly figure, so count access before you count matters. The Advanced tier is labeled "Best value in ediscovery" on the vendor's page, which is marketing rather than a comparison we could verify. Each plan routes to a sales conversation.
Implementation: annual prepayment earns a discount. Ask whether monthly billing keeps the same per-user rate.
Primary evidence: Nextpoint pricing.
Casepoint
Best fit: teams that want to buy only the products they use, and matters that involve government work. The pricing page says "If you don't use a product, you don't pay for it," and it describes "specialized government products."
Limits: the page lists no plan names, billing units or figures, and its only call to action is "Contact Us Today." For a small firm, that means more evaluation time before cost becomes visible.
Implementation: define the product list you need before the first call, so the quote covers only those products.
Primary evidence: Casepoint pricing.
Four steps to choose
Write down your matter pattern: data size per matter, how many people will need access, and how many months each matter stays open.
Ask each vendor to quote in the unit you will be billed on, such as per GB per month, per user per month or per document. Ask for minimums, add-ons and AI credits in the same quote.
Test one closed or non-sensitive matter on a sample or trial. Logikcull's page offers a sample matter at no cost; for other vendors, request a pilot in writing.
Confirm export formats, API access, admin controls and AI terms in writing before you sign, and have counsel review the data-handling terms.
Worked example: one 40 GB matter
Hypothetical, not a quote: a firm has one 40 GB matter, four reviewers with access, and a three-month review window. Under a per-GB-per-month quote, the bill tracks 40 GB times 3 months, which is 120 GB-months at whatever rate the quote sets. Under a per-user quote, it tracks 4 reviewers times 3 months, which is 12 seat-months at the quoted rate. If the firm then adds two co-counsel logins for the full window, seat-months rise to 18 (6 users times 3 months), so the cheaper unit can flip as access grows. Test the per-user math first, and check the export path too: Relativity's REST methods page lists GET, POST, PUT and DELETE, and shows the Document endpoint as /Relativity.REST/Workspace/1017955/Document, so any job that counts documents would start there and needs an administrator to confirm read scope.
Where US Tech Automations fits around the platform
US Tech Automations is a managed automation provider. Its site describes building, running and supporting custom workflows, and names integrations with Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe. Its listed integrations and services do not include review, processing or production, so it is not a substitute for any platform in this guide. Its role is the work around the platform: status reporting and billing handoffs.
Proposed workflow A is a weekly matter status digest. It would start on a schedule, read review-progress counts for each open matter from the platform's export or API, and write one row per matter to a Google Sheet. The output is a draft summary in Gmail for the supervising attorney. Prerequisites: an export file or a read-only API credential issued by the platform's administrator, a matter ID that matches the firm's matter list, and a written rule that the workflow moves counts and IDs only. Human review: the attorney reads the draft, and nothing goes to a client automatically. We have not verified a prebuilt connector for any platform in this guide, so each one would need its own build against its export or API.
Proposed workflow B is a billing draft at phase close. It would start when a named person marks a review phase complete in the sheet. It would take the matched counts from the same export and create a draft invoice in QuickBooks against the matter ID. The output is a draft that nobody has sent. Prerequisites: QuickBooks API access, a billing rule the firm has agreed on (for example, how processing is billed to a client), and a written mapping from matter IDs to clients. Human review: the billing manager checks each line and approves before anything is sent. The run should stop when a matter ID does not match rather than guess, and each run should carry an identifier so a rerun cannot create a second draft.
The realistic alternative for many firms is stitching these steps together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building them in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit trails when they are configured to, so the question is ownership rather than capability on paper. With either route, you design and maintain idempotency, escalation paths, access controls and monitoring, and you fix the flow when a platform's API changes. A managed build could configure approval steps before any billing write and a run log that a named person reviews, but ask for those features in writing and test a failure case before you rely on them. Our homepage says a team monitors and maintains workflows continuously, so get that scope in the contract.
Who this is for, and when to skip the workflow layer
Who this is for: an owner or operations lead at a firm that already has a review platform or is shortlisting one, that runs repeat matters, and that can name one attorney to approve each outgoing item.
Red flags: you need a published dollar figure before any sales call; no one can own exports, user access and approvals; or you need the platform's own processing and production replaced rather than connected.
Common mistakes when comparing quotes
Comparing a per-GB quote to a per-user quote without converting both to the same monthly cost for the same matter.
Forgetting that AI credits, add-ons and professional services often sit outside the platform line item.
Counting reviewers but not the client, co-counsel and staff logins that a per-user plan also charges for.
Signing before testing exports, because the export format decides what any workflow can read.
Sending privileged document text through a workflow tool. Carry counts and matter IDs only.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a cheaper Relativity alternative for a small firm?
Often, if your matters are small and infrequent, a per-GB or per-user tool can start lower than a committed platform. No vendor here publishes a dollar figure, so compare written quotes in one unit before you decide.
Does any vendor in this guide publish dollar prices?
No. None of the six pricing pages we opened printed a dollar figure for a platform plan, so every price here is quote-based.
Can US Tech Automations replace an e-discovery platform?
No. It works around one by moving counts, drafts and approvals between tools, and a person approves every outgoing item.
When not to use US Tech Automations: skip it if you need the platform's own processing, review or production, because a workflow layer does not replace those functions. Skip it if your tracking is a shared spreadsheet that a few people already read, since the platform's own reports or a plain sheet is simpler. Skip it if no one can act as approver for billing drafts or client updates, because each workflow would stall at its human review point.
Does Relativity charge extra for its API?
The pricing page says Relativity aiR can be extended through those routes at no additional license cost, but building an integration still takes developer and administrator time.
Should privileged documents pass through a workflow tool?
Not without a firm-level decision by counsel. Design any workflow to carry counts, matter IDs and status only, and keep document text inside the platform.
Conclusion
Pick by billing unit and matter pattern, not by brand. For small, episodic matters, shortlist Logikcull or Nextpoint and check their stated limits. For steady, AI-heavy review, get same-unit quotes from Everlaw and DISCO. Keep Relativity on the list if your firm will staff its administration and needs its extensibility. If you then need the handoffs around whichever platform you choose, see how a US Tech Automations setup would be scoped, and write the approval steps down before you start.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.