Constant Contact vs Mailchimp for Advisors in 2027
The short answer for advisory firms
For a financial advisory firm, the choice between Constant Contact and Mailchimp turns on three things: whether you can retrieve a copy of every campaign you sent, whether you can show who approved it before it went out, and whether an opt-out stops future sends. Template quality matters far less. In this guide, a compliance-ready email setup means one that keeps a retrievable copy of each campaign send, records the approval before the send, and suppresses anyone who has opted out.
TL;DR: Constant Contact's help documentation describes a journaling option that copies standard campaigns to an archive address you name, but it applies to team accounts and has to be switched on through its support team. The Mailchimp help pages this guide opened describe a public archive of recent sends and a limit on account exports, with no journaling option. Neither vendor's pages showed a native pre-send approval step, so either way you need a named human approver outside the email tool. Pricing is not settled here: Mailchimp's plan prices depend on contact count, so this guide prints none, and Constant Contact's pricing page would not load.
Key Takeaways
The archive path decides most of this choice. Constant Contact documents journaling for standard campaigns, while the Mailchimp pages reviewed describe only a public archive and an export tool.
Opt-outs need a suppression step that runs before every send, because the FTC's deadline for honoring them is short and penalties apply to each email.
Neither vendor's pages reviewed document a native pre-send approval record, so budget for a compliance reviewer and a stored approval log with either tool.
Mailchimp's plan prices depend on contact count, so this guide prints none; read the live pricing page at your list size before you budget.
Constant Contact's pricing page could not be retrieved, so this guide gives no Constant Contact prices either. Compare live totals at your own contact count.
Neither vendor changed owners, but both changed in ways worth tracking: Clearlake added new capital to Constant Contact in October 2025, and Intuit now reports Mailchimp as its own segment with flat-to-negative growth guidance.
Who this is for
This comparison fits an owner or operations lead at a small advisory firm, a registered investment adviser, or a small broker-dealer team that sends newsletters, market commentary or event invitations to clients and prospects, and that is choosing a tool before the next campaign. It fits less well when the need is a single mailing to a short list, because archive and approval questions matter less at that volume.
Red flags: you need the approval record stored inside the email tool itself; you run automated drip sequences that must be retained; or nobody in the firm currently owns opt-out handling.
What changed at each vendor
Neither product was renamed, merged or discontinued in the pages reviewed, but ownership and reporting have changed. Intuit announced its purchase of Mailchimp on September 13, 2021, according to Fortune (2021). Intuit began reporting Mailchimp as a separate operating segment on August 1, 2026, and gave its first standalone fiscal 2027 forecast for the product: Mailchimp fiscal 2027 growth guidance: minus 1% to zero according to The Next Web (August 25, 2026). The article reports no sale, spin-off or change of ownership, so the practical risk is strategic attention rather than a known buyer.
Constant Contact remains privately held. Clearlake, its lead investor, put new capital into the company in October 2025 through a Clearlake-managed vehicle, and the announcement said governance and the executive team, led by CEO Frank Vella, would not change. The company describes its base as nearly half a million small businesses and non-profits according to Clearlake (October 7, 2025).
How we evaluated these tools
This guide compares the two products using public information only: vendor help and pricing pages, regulator texts, and trade press. It does not reflect hands-on use of either product. The weights below are this guide's judgment for a financial advisory firm, where the record of a send matters more than design flexibility. Each criterion is scored against the checks in the third column, and the weights add to 100%.
| Criterion | Weight | Measurable check |
|---|---|---|
| Archive copy of each campaign send | 25% | 1 retrievable copy per standard campaign |
| Pre-send approval record | 20% | 1 named approver recorded before each send |
| Opt-out and suppression | 15% | Opt-outs applied before the next send |
| Data access for suppression and reconciliation | 15% | API or export access to contact status |
| Automated sends captured in the archive | 10% | Automation emails appear in the retained record |
| Total cost at your contact count | 10% | A quoted total for your list size |
| Vendor stability | 5% | Public owner statements in the last 12 months |
The first three rows carry 60% of the weight, which is why the rest of this article starts with the archive and the approval record, and only then moves to price.
The compliance rules behind the criteria
Three rule sets shape these criteria. The FTC's CAN-SPAM guide applies to commercial email for any business. It sets a penalty of up to $53,088 per email. The statute behind it bars commercial email to a recipient more than 10 business days after an opt-out request, according to Cornell Law School (current statute text). That deadline is why suppression belongs before the send, not in a weekly cleanup.
If your firm is a FINRA member, FINRA Rule 2210 governs communications with the public. Its definition of correspondence covers written messages to a small audience: Correspondence: 25 or fewer retail investors in 30 days according to FINRA (current rule text). Messages above that scale are retail communications. The rule requires broker-dealers to keep retail and institutional communications for the period set by SEA Rule 17a-4(b), in a format that complies with that rule. Any archive you choose has to meet that standard, which is a question for your compliance adviser, not a feature checkbox.
If your firm is a registered investment adviser that is not also a broker-dealer, the SEC Marketing Rule is the main frame. Client testimonials and endorsements fall under it. The SEC staff FAQ, last updated January 15, 2026, says the rule generally bars paying a person who has a disqualifying event: Testimonial bar: disqualifying events within 10 years according to SEC (updated January 15, 2026). An email that quotes a happy client is an advertisement, so the approval step has to check it.
A proposed US Tech Automations suppression workflow would start when a contact record changes in the CRM or the email platform, read the consent field the platform exposes, and hold any opted-out contact out of the next campaign. The output is a suppression log that names the contact, the field and the date. Prerequisites are API credentials for the email platform, read access to the CRM, and a written suppression rule that your compliance reviewer has approved. The review point is the rule itself and every hold the workflow cannot resolve automatically. US Tech Automations would configure this as a proposed design; nothing here describes a live customer deployment.
A second proposed workflow would start when a campaign is scheduled, send the draft to a named approver with a checklist covering testimonials, endorsements and performance claims, and hold the send until the approval is recorded. The output is an approval record with the approver's name, the date and the campaign identifier. Neither vendor page reviewed documents a native pre-send step, so this gate would sit outside the email platform, and a person would release the send. A third proposed workflow would reconcile the archive: after each standard campaign, it compares the sends in the platform with the copies in the archive address or with an export, and writes a mismatch report on a cadence your firm sets.
Feature matrix: what the pages showed
| Feature | Mailchimp | Constant Contact |
|---|---|---|
| Journaling copy to an archive address | No journaling option found | 1 blind copy per standard campaign, team accounts only |
| Public archive of sends | 20 most recent emails; automated emails excluded | Not checked |
| Account export | Rate-limited; excludes some data types | Not checked |
| Pre-send approval step | 0 approval steps found | 0 approval steps found |
| Free starting tier | Free plan, up to 250 contacts | Not retrieved |
| Owner status | Intuit; separate segment from August 1, 2026 | Clearlake lead investor; financing October 2025 |
| Growth or stability signal | Fiscal 2027 guidance: minus 1% to zero | No public growth figure found |
The figures in this table repeat numbers cited in the sections above and in the profiles below. The table makes one gap obvious. The Mailchimp pages reviewed describe the archive as a public page and an export tool, not a retention system, and the Constant Contact journaling article describes a copy, not storage. Ask both vendors, in writing, what they retain, for how long, where, and whether they will sign terms that cover retained records.
Pricing and total cost
Pricing checked August 22, 2026.
Mailchimp's plan prices depend on contact count, so this guide prints none. Check Mailchimp's pricing page at your list size before you budget. Constant Contact's pricing page would not load during this review, so this guide gives no Constant Contact figures either. Read its live plan prices and contact tiers before you compare totals.
| Vendor | Public pricing status | Plan or limit shown | Price basis to confirm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mailchimp | see current pricing | Free plan, up to 250 contacts | Contact count tier and send limit |
| Constant Contact | Not retrieved this review | Not verified | Plan, contact count and monthly sends |
A total-cost comparison has three lines: the base plan at your contact count, the archive path, and the reviewer's time. The archive path is the line firms most often underprice. Constant Contact's journaling help article names a recognized archiving provider as the destination, such as Smarsh, and does not say what that provider charges. Price that provider separately if you choose this route.
Vendor profiles
Mailchimp
Best fit: a firm that needs a free starting tier and can accept manual exports plus an outside archive. The pricing page lists a free plan with a contact cap, and says sending pauses when a contact or send limit is exceeded: Mailchimp Free plan: up to 250 contacts according to Mailchimp (current pricing page). A list that grows past the cap stops sending, so the cap is a planning date, not a footnote.
Limitations: the archive is a public page of recent sends. Its help article describes the archive as a page of recent sends: Mailchimp archive: 20 most recent emails shown according to Mailchimp (current help page). It does not include classic automations or Automation Flow emails. The account export is also rate-limited and excludes items such as billing receipts and third-party information. The pages reviewed describe no journaling option, so a firm using Mailchimp needs its own archive route.
Implementation: Mailchimp's integrations page names Salesforce as the only CRM in its most-popular list and names Zapier as a connector to other apps, according to the Mailchimp integrations page. The add-member endpoint, POST https://api.mailchimp.com/3.0/lists/{list_id}/members, returns status and list_id fields in its response, documented on the Mailchimp API page. A suppression workflow can key on those fields. The same page documents reading a member's record, which returns the status field a suppression check needs.
Constant Contact
Best fit: a team that wants a documented copy of standard campaigns and can make a support request to enable it. Constant Contact's journaling article describes a blind copy of each standard campaign to an archive address: Journaling: 1 blind copy per standard campaign according to Constant Contact (current help article). It is set up for team accounts and partnerships, and you enable it by contacting Teams and Partner Support.
Limitations: the article describes copies only for standard campaigns, not automated sends. It does not state a retention period, so you must ask. It also says you must safelist Constant Contact web domains in your security program so the emails deliver, and it does not describe how archived copies are stored or managed once they reach the journaling address.
Implementation: the Constant Contact v3 API keeps consent on each contact's email record. The contacts overview documents permission_to_send and opt_out_date inside the email address object, according to the Constant Contact API guide. A suppression workflow can read those fields and hold contacts whose opt-out date is set. Confirm with Constant Contact how a contact who has opted out is treated in a campaign that was already scheduled.
Worked example
Take an illustrative advisory firm with 1,200 contacts that sends two newsletters a month. On Mailchimp's free starting tier, the 250-contact cap is 4.8 times smaller than the list (1,200 divided by 250), so the firm would need a paid plan before its first full send, and the list would stop sending at the cap. On Constant Contact, if the firm enabled journaling for its two standard campaigns a month, 2 campaigns across 12 months gives 24 archived copies a year, each sent to the journaling address, but automated sends would not be covered by the article's description. For suppression, a proposed workflow would read permission_to_send on each contact's email record and hold any contact with an opt_out_date, and on Mailchimp it would key on the status field returned by the member endpoint.
Where a DIY stack or a simpler tool wins
Zapier, Make and n8n can connect either email platform to a CRM, and Mailchimp lists Zapier as a connector. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when configured. The buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency so a retry does not send twice, escalation, access controls and maintenance. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure those pieces as one package: a fixed suppression hold queue, a named approver step, and a monthly reconciliation report, with the compliance reviewer owning the rules. Prerequisites are API credentials for the email platform, CRM read access, and an approved rule set. Review points are rule approval, hold resolution and any change to the send trigger.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a simpler setup wins in three cases. A firm that sends a few newsletters a year to a short list, and already has an archive from its compliance vendor, does not need a workflow layer. A firm whose newsletter stays under the free tier's contact cap, and that needs nothing beyond exports, should stay on the simplest tool. A firm whose broker-dealer already supplies a supervised email platform gains little from a second layer that adds cost without new evidence.
Decision checklist before you buy
Confirm whether your firm is a FINRA member, an SEC-registered adviser, or both, and which rule set your compliance adviser applies.
Ask each vendor, in writing, what it retains, for how long, and where the copies live.
Ask whether a pre-send approval step exists, and get the answer in writing.
Confirm how an opt-out flows into the send list, and how quickly.
Price the plan at your real contact count from the live pricing page, and add the archive route to the total.
Write down the vendor's commitments for the next 12 months, including any change in ownership or segment reporting.
The table below sets out which tool starts ahead for each situation.
| Firm situation | Better starting point | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Needs a copy of standard campaigns on a team account | Constant Contact, after confirming journaling terms | Journaling is documented; retention is not |
| Wants a free start and can run manual exports | Mailchimp | Free tier with a contact cap and export options |
| Mostly automated drip sequences | Neither alone; add an archive route | Mailchimp archive excludes automated emails; Constant Contact describes standard campaigns only |
| Needs a native pre-send approval record | Neither alone | No approval step found in pages reviewed |
Common mistakes
Treating a public archive page as a records system. It shows recent sends, not a retained record.
Assuming a template library is a compliance system. Templates do not create approvals or retention.
Starting on a free tier without checking the contact cap, then discovering that sending pauses when the list grows past it.
Forgetting that automated emails may fall outside the archive a vendor describes.
Letting the person who writes a campaign also approve it, with no named reviewer.
Frequently asked questions
Does Constant Contact archive emails for financial firms?
Constant Contact documents a journaling option that sends a blind copy of each standard campaign to an archive address you provide, but only for team accounts and only after a support request. Its help article does not state a retention period or describe how copies are stored, so confirm both before you rely on it.
Can I use Mailchimp's public archive as my records?
No. Its archive page shows only the most recent sends and leaves out automated emails, so it is a public page, not a records system. A firm that needs retained records has to build its own archive route.
Does the SEC Marketing Rule cover client review emails?
Yes, when a review or endorsement is used in an email. The SEC staff FAQ says the rule treats testimonials as advertising, requires disclosures, and bars paying a promoter who has a disqualifying event in the last 10 years, so the approval step should check any testimonial before it goes out.
Is Mailchimp a safe long-term choice?
It is a reasonable choice that deserves written commitments. Intuit now reports Mailchimp as its own segment with flat-to-negative growth guidance, which is a reason to ask questions, not a reason to rule it out by itself.
Which one costs less?
This guide cannot say from the pages it retrieved. Mailchimp's plan prices depend on contact count, and Constant Contact's pricing page would not load, so compare live totals at your contact count and include the archive route.
Do I need a separate archive if I use Constant Contact?
Probably, unless your compliance adviser accepts the journaling address as the archive. Constant Contact's help article points to a recognized archiving provider and does not say how copies are stored, indexed or retained.
Conclusion
Choose Constant Contact if you need a documented copy of standard campaigns and can accept a team-account setup and a support request. Choose Mailchimp if you need a free starting tier and can build the archive and approval steps around it. In either case, the approval record and the opt-out path belong to your firm, not to the email tool. For a proposed workflow built around those two controls, see how US Tech Automations configures this at the company's home page.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.