7 DAT Alternatives for Small Freight Brokers in 2027
Key Takeaways
Decide the job first: a load board finds and posts freight, while a transportation management system (TMS) tracks the load after booking. Many small brokers need one of these, and some need both.
DAT is the benchmark in this guide, and it is a load board, so replacing it is a board decision before it is a software decision.
Per-user pricing suits a small team but rises with every dispatcher you add. Per-load pricing rises with volume instead.
Several vendors publish no broker price at all. Compare them on posting paths and fit, and get written quotes before you commit.
Automation belongs above the board. It reads load data, flags exceptions, and sends rate and tender decisions to a person.
A DAT alternative is any load board or freight software that lets a broker find, post, or manage freight without a DAT subscription. TL;DR: if your team posts loads by hand and pays per seat, compare the per-user board tiers first. If you want posting and tracking in one place, price a TMS by load volume before you choose a board.
Decide the category before you compare vendors
Small brokers often treat "replace DAT" as one purchase, but it is two jobs. A load board such as Truckstop or 123Loadboard helps you find carriers and post freight. A TMS such as Alvys or Tailwind holds the load record, the customer rate, the carrier pay, the documents, and the invoice. Swapping DAT for a different board changes only the first job. Adding a TMS changes the second, and it can make a board's posting integration worth paying for.
Choose the job first. If your dispatchers already track loads in a spreadsheet or an existing TMS, a board change may be all you need. If invoices and carrier pay live in loose files, the TMS decision comes first and the board connects to it. Either way, the category question comes before the vendor question, which keeps you from paying twice for the same function.
Market conditions matter too. Brokers reporting lower margins: 43% according to AJOT (2026). That is the share who said margins were lower than in the second half of 2025, in a first-half 2026 survey released through Truckstop and Bloomberg Intelligence. Truckstop is one of the products below, so treat the figure as market context rather than an independent measure. When margins are thin, every monthly seat fee comes straight out of gross margin. For the wider field, see our best freight broker software guide.
How we evaluated these tools
This guide compares eight products: DAT as the benchmark and seven alternatives. It is a buyer's guide built from public vendor pages opened for this review, plus two trade sources. We did not run trials or open accounts, so every claim below is one a vendor publishes or one a trade source reports. The weights reflect our judgment about what a small broker can verify before buying.
| Criterion | Weight (%) | Scoring test (1 to 5) | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published broker price | 20 | 1 = no price; 5 = plan-level list price | You can compare before a demo |
| Cost model fit | 20 | 1 = cost rises fastest with your growth; 5 = cost tracks your volume | Per-user fees grow with dispatchers; per-load fees grow with loads |
| Posting paths | 20 | 1 = manual only; 5 = API, TMS, and CSV | Re-keying loads is the hidden labor cost |
| Carrier vetting and credit signals | 15 | 1 = none named; 5 = named on broker tiers | A bad carrier becomes a cash risk |
| Implementation effort | 15 | 1 = unclear; 5 = onboarding named on the page | Small teams lose weeks in setup |
| Evidence you can check | 10 | 1 = no public page; 5 = pricing and API pages | Only verifiable claims count |
The weights total 100. Price and cost model together carry 40 percent because small brokers feel per-seat or per-load fees every month. Evidence carries 10 percent because it filters claims rather than rewarding a product. The two trade sources are FreightWaves for product fit and AJOT for market conditions, and AJOT's survey is tied to Truckstop, a vendor reviewed here.
Broker prices and what they cover
The prices below come from each vendor's own pricing or broker page, as opened for this guide. Where a vendor publishes no broker price, the table says quote-based instead of estimating from a third-party site.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Unit or billing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAT (benchmark) | Express | $159 | Per month, plan level | DAT |
| DAT (benchmark) | Select Broker | $319 | Per month, plan level | DAT |
| DAT (benchmark) | Office Broker | $449 | Per month, plan level | DAT |
| Truckstop | Basic | $109 | Per user per month | Truckstop |
| Truckstop | Pro | $239 | Per user per month | Truckstop |
| Truckstop | Premium | $369 | Per user per month | Truckstop |
| 123Loadboard | Growth | From $99 | Per month, paid annually; user basis not stated | 123Loadboard |
| 123Loadboard | Enterprise | Quote-based | Sales contact | 123Loadboard |
| Trucker Path | Broker plan | Quote-based | No broker plan on pricing page | Trucker Path |
| TruckSmarter | Broker posting | Free | No transaction or monthly fees | TruckSmarter |
| Truckbase | Minimum | $290 | Per month, billed annually | Truckbase |
| Alvys | Foundations, Growth, Scale | Quote-based | Per load | Alvys |
| Tailwind TMS | All plans | Quote-based | Not published | CargoWise |
Pricing checked October 29, 2026. The table shows list prices only. Truckstop states that its prices exclude applicable fees and taxes, and DAT's page does not say how many users a plan covers, so neither figure is a full cost of ownership.
DAT broker plans: $159 to $449 monthly according to DAT (2026). The Express plan costs $159, the Select Broker plan $319, and the Office Broker plan $449. The page lists monthly prices with no contract terms. A FreightWaves guide lists a different Select figure, so this guide uses DAT's own page.
The Basic plan on Truckstop costs $109 per user per month, the Pro plan $239, and the Premium plan $369, according to Truckstop (2026). Basic covers truck and lane searching, load posting, and private loads. Pro adds rate insights and real-time updates, and Premium adds predictive carrier sourcing and one extra user at no charge. None of the broker tiers on that page lists credit data.
The Growth plan on 123Loadboard starts at $99 per month when billed annually, according to 123Loadboard (2026). The page does not say whether that price is per user. Enterprise is quote-based and routed through sales.
Seat math for a small broker
Per-seat pricing is easy to underestimate because a list price looks small until you multiply it. Truckstop publishes per-user tiers, so the table below multiplies them by seat count. The figures are monthly list prices and exclude fees and taxes. DAT's page does not state a user count, so DAT is left out of this table. Truckstop's page lists up to three users per tier, so the 5- and 10-seat rows extend the per-user price by arithmetic and are not a published quote.
| Seats | Basic (per month) | Pro (per month) | Premium (per month) | Pro minus Basic (per month) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $109 | $239 | $369 | $130 |
| 3 | $327 | $717 | $1,107 | $390 |
| 5 | $545 | $1,195 | $1,845 | $650 |
| 10 | $1,090 | $2,390 | $3,690 | $1,300 |
Read the last column as the monthly cost of moving from Basic to Pro. At three seats it is $390, so the upgrade has to save about $390 a month in dispatcher time to pay back. That is a test to run on your own load counts, not a claim about what the tier delivers.
What each vendor's feature set covers
The matrix records only what the pages opened for this guide show. "Not verified" means the page was not opened or did not say; it does not mean the feature is missing.
| Product | Broker price on vendor page | Posting paths named | API docs linked | Broker-side vetting or credit named | Pricing unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAT (benchmark) | Yes, three broker tiers | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified on pricing page | Monthly plan |
| Truckstop | Yes, three tiers | Load posting on Basic | Not verified | Not listed on broker tiers | Per user per month |
| 123Loadboard | Partial: Growth from $99, Enterprise quote-based | Manual or API/TMS referenced | Not verified | Not verified | Not stated |
| Trucker Path | No broker plan | Per FreightWaves: TMS, integrations, email, manual | Not verified | Not verified | Fleet plans by truck count |
| TruckSmarter | Free posting; no tiers | TMS, API, email, CSV, partner integrations | Yes, linked from broker page | Carrier vetting described; broker search not described | Free posting |
| Truckbase | $290 minimum | Not applicable (TMS) | Not verified | Not listed | Per truck, driver, load, flat, or custom |
| Alvys | Quote-based | Public API on Growth; load boards on all plans | Yes, public API reference | Not verified | Per load; unlimited users |
| Tailwind TMS | Quote-based | Load board connections listed | Not verified | Not verified | Not published |
Truckbase minimum: $290 per month according to Truckbase (2026). The minimum is billed annually. Truckbase prices by truck, driver, load, flat annual rate, or custom quote, and the page does not publish seats or brokerage feature inclusions for each plan.
Trucker Path's pricing page lists driver and fleet plans but no broker plan. Its Starter plan costs $79 per month for three to ten trucks, according to Trucker Path (2026), so the broker price is quote-based. Its brokerage page did not open for this review, so the broker terms here rest on FreightWaves and remain unverified.
TruckSmarter's broker page says posting is free and that there is no limit on the number of loads you can post, with no transaction or monthly fees, according to TruckSmarter. It lists posting by TMS, API, email, or CSV and partner integrations, but it describes carrier vetting rather than a broker-side carrier search.
Alvys publishes no dollar figures. Its Foundations, Growth, and Scale plans are priced per load with unlimited users, and the Public API appears on Growth, according to Alvys. Treat its cost as quote-based until the per-load rate is in writing.
Tailwind's page sits within CargoWise's site and shows no plan tiers or per-user prices, according to CargoWise. Its cost is quote-based.
FreightWaves' broker guide, with a byline dated April 20, 2026, ranks DAT for capacity reach, Truckstop for carrier vetting and instant booking, 123Loadboard for market-rate insight, TruckSmarter for free posting and integrations, and Trucker Path for simple broker workflows, according to FreightWaves. Those are rankings of fit, not measured performance.
Vendor profiles: fit, limits, and setup
Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read of it.
DAT (benchmark)
Vendor-published: Three broker tiers (Express, Select Broker, Office Broker) at monthly prices, with no contract terms stated on the pricing page.
Our read: DAT fits a broker whose lanes depend on the widest board reach, which is the strength FreightWaves names. Its limits are the unstated user counts and posting terms per tier, so ask for them in writing before you compare DAT with a per-seat board. A broker that posts only occasionally may pay for capacity it does not use.
Setup: Not described on the pricing page. Evidence: DAT pricing.
Truckstop
Vendor-published: Basic, Pro, and Premium broker tiers at per-user monthly prices, excluding fees and taxes. The tiers list board features such as load posting, private loads, rate insights, and carrier sourcing, and no broker tier lists credit data.
Our read: Truckstop fits a broker that wants rate and carrier tools and can absorb a per-seat cost. Its broker tiers are board features, not a broker TMS, so a team that needs tracking and invoicing will still need a second tool. The page gives no numeric search or posting limits, and third-party sites disagree on tier prices, so use the vendor page as the source.
Setup: Per-seat billing. Confirm how seats are assigned and whether per-use fees apply on your tier. Evidence: Truckstop load board.
123Loadboard
Vendor-published: A Growth tier starting at a monthly price when billed annually, and an Enterprise tier that is quote-based. The FAQ mentions load posting and API integration but does not tie either one to a price.
Our read: The entry tier looks low, but the page does not say whether it is per user, and it does not confirm which tier includes API posting. FreightWaves credits 123Loadboard with strong market-rate and capacity insight, which suits a broker that prices lanes before bidding. The limit is that the posting path is unverified on the tier you would buy.
Setup: Ask sales which tier includes API or TMS posting and whether your team needs Enterprise. Evidence: 123Loadboard membership FAQ.
Trucker Path
Vendor-published: Driver and fleet plans with no broker plan on the pricing page. The brokerage page did not open for this review.
Our read: Per FreightWaves, Trucker Path accepts posts by TMS, integration, email, or manual entry, and it suits simple broker workflows. The disqualifier is that broker pricing and terms are unverified here, so it belongs on the shortlist only after the vendor confirms them in writing. It is a weak choice for a team that needs a documented API before it signs.
Setup: Start with a written broker quote. Evidence: Trucker Path pricing.
TruckSmarter
Vendor-published: Free posting with no transaction or monthly fees. Posting runs by TMS, API, email, or CSV, with partner integrations named as Parade, Newtrul, and LoadBoard Network. API load-posting documentation is linked from the page.
Our read: TruckSmarter is a low-cost posting option and a fit for a broker that wants API or CSV posting without a subscription. The limits are that no broker tiers are published and the page describes carrier vetting, not a broker-side carrier search. Test search on your own lanes before you rely on it, and count the dispatcher time that free posting does not remove.
Setup: Review the linked API documentation with whoever maintains your TMS. Evidence: TruckSmarter brokers.
Truckbase
Vendor-published: A minimum price billed annually, with pricing models by truck, driver, load, flat annual rate, or custom quote. Seats, truck or load limits, and brokerage feature inclusions per plan are not published. The page lists free live virtual onboarding.
Our read: Truckbase's pricing models are built around trucks, drivers, and loads, and the page describes carrier-focused programs, so a broker must confirm brokerage features in writing before buying. It fits a team that wants a TMS with onboarding included and can accept a minimum-based quote.
Setup: Free live virtual onboarding is listed; ask for brokerage scope during the quote. Evidence: Truckbase pricing.
Alvys
Vendor-published: Foundations, Growth, and Scale plans priced per load, with unlimited users, no setup fees, and no required contract. Load boards are listed as included on all plans, and the Public API is listed on Growth. Foundations offers a 14-day free trial.
Our read: Alvys fits a broker that wants unlimited dispatchers and API access in a TMS. Its per-load model rises with volume, so the written per-load rate matters more than the plan name. The limit is that API access is not on Foundations, and no dollar figures are published.
Setup: The public API reference is documented, and the worked example below shows a field a configured check could read. Evidence: Alvys pricing and Alvys public API reference.
Tailwind TMS
Vendor-published: The CargoWise page describes quotes, orders, bills of lading, load confirmations, invoices, settlements, receivables and payables, dispatch, a driver app, QuickBooks Online sync, and ELD, EDI, and load board connections. No plan tiers or prices are published, and the footer reads © 2026 WiseTech Global.
Our read: Tailwind fits a broker that wants the back office in one system. Its feature list leans toward carrier operations, such as trip logs and dispatch, so confirm which broker-only workflows are included. The limits are the absence of a published price and of any per-user figure.
Setup: The page links to subscription sign-up for the US and Canada; get the terms in writing first. Evidence: CargoWise Tailwind TMS page.
Where US Tech Automations fits above the board
The two workflows below are proposed and configurable. They are not a description of a live customer deployment. They sit above whichever board and TMS you choose, and each depends on an API or export path and a person who approves rates and tenders.
Proposed workflow: load posting check. The trigger is a load saved in the TMS as ready to post. The action is a configured rule that checks origin, destination, equipment, and rate fields, then posts the load to the board through its API or TMS integration. The output is a posting record plus an exception queue for any load that misses a field. Prerequisites are API access on the TMS tier, a board integration that supports posting, and credentials limited to posting. The human review point is a dispatcher approving any load that is missing a rate or equipment type before it reaches the board. US Tech Automations can configure this check.
Proposed workflow: bid-to-tender margin check. The trigger is a carrier accepting a load or submitting a bid. The action is comparing the carrier price with the customer rate in the TMS and calculating the margin. The output is a message to the owner with the load, carrier, customer rate, carrier price, and margin, and a hold on the tender. Prerequisites are that the TMS exposes customer rate and carrier pay fields by API or export, and that the broker sets its own margin threshold. The human review point is the owner approving every tender below that threshold, with nothing tendered automatically.
Worked example, illustrative only: a three-dispatcher brokerage posts about 120 loads a month and re-keys each one into a second system at roughly 6 minutes per load, which is 12 hours a month. If a configured check cut re-keying to about 1 minute per load, the team would recover 10 hours a month, so the check pays back only if those 10 hours are worth more than its monthly cost. That cost is quote-based, so get it in writing before you run the comparison. If the brokerage's TMS is Alvys on its Growth tier, the Alvys public API reference lists fields such as CustomerRate.Amount, which a configured check could compare with carrier pay taken from your own records before the tender goes out, since that load response lists no carrier pay field.
Many small brokers would stitch this together in Zapier, Make, or n8n instead. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches, and audit records once they are configured. The buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency so a load is not posted twice, escalation paths, access controls, and maintenance when a board or TMS changes its API. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure the same review points, retry rules, and an approval gate before any tender differently, with the prerequisites above. You would still own the vendor accounts and the decision to approve.
Who this is for
Stay on the board you use if your dispatchers post by hand and your seat count is small. Compare the Basic seat cost against your current bill before changing anything.
Test TruckSmarter if free posting and API or CSV posting fit your workflow, and only after you confirm that broker-side search works on your lanes.
Shortlist Alvys or Tailwind if invoices and carrier pay are the pain, and you can get written per-load or subscription terms.
Consider DAT if capacity reach matters more than seat cost.
Red flags: you have no export or API path out of your TMS; you expect automation to tender loads without a human review; or you cannot get a written broker price before you sign.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
A simpler tool is the right answer in several cases. If your team posts a few loads a week by hand, one board seat or a free posting tool is simpler than any automation, and the review step can take as long as the task itself. If your TMS has no API or export path, a configured check has nothing to read, so the board's own tools are the better buy until that changes. If you have not yet picked a board or TMS, choose the tool first and automate afterward.
Common mistakes and a decision checklist
Common mistakes to avoid:
Comparing list prices without asking how many users each plan covers.
Assuming a free board includes broker-side carrier search.
Buying a TMS for its invoicing before checking the posting path.
Counting the board fee and ignoring the re-keying time.
Letting any tool tender loads without an owner's approval.
Decision checklist:
Write down the job each tool must do: find, post, track, or invoice.
Count your seats and monthly load volume, then ask each vendor which unit it charges.
Get the broker price in writing from every quote-based vendor.
Test broker-side search and posting on three lanes you actually run.
Confirm the API or export path and which tier includes it.
Name the person who approves rates and tenders.
Frequently asked questions
Is DAT the cheapest broker board?
On published list prices, Truckstop's entry seat is cheaper than DAT's entry plan, but DAT's page does not say how many users its plan covers, so you need the seat count before deciding. The seat math above shows how quickly per-user fees grow.
Do I need a TMS to leave DAT?
Not always. A board can replace DAT's search and posting on its own, but a TMS is what keeps the load record, the rate, and the invoice in one place. If invoices live in spreadsheets, make the TMS decision first.
Is a free board enough for a broker?
It can be for posting. TruckSmarter's broker page says posting is free, but it describes carrier vetting rather than a broker-side carrier search, so test search on your own lanes before you cancel a paid board.
Why do some vendors show no broker price?
Their own pricing pages did not publish one, so this guide labels them quote-based instead of estimating from a third-party site. Ask for the broker price in writing before you compare.
Should I choose by monthly price alone?
No. The cost model, usually per user or per load, and the posting path decide most of the real cost, and a cheaper seat can cost more in re-keying time than the fee it saves.
Start with the job, not the brand. If you post by hand and pay per seat, compare Truckstop's Basic and Pro seat math against your re-keying time before you change boards. If you want posting and tracking together, price Alvys or Tailwind on written terms and confirm the API tier before you sign. Automation should remove repeated steps, not the person who approves the rate. To see how a configured check of this kind is set up, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.
