DealerSocket vs CDK Global 2027: Small-Dealer Buyer's Guide
Key Takeaways
DealerSocket and CDK Global both sell dealer management systems, but they target different store profiles. DealerSocket's IDMS page names independent and buy-here-pay-here dealers, while CDK's Fundamentals suite is described for one- to two-site franchise and independent dealers.
Neither vendor publishes a price, so both are quote-based and a cost comparison cannot be finished from public pages alone.
Ownership has changed at both companies. Solera completed its DealerSocket acquisition in 2021, and Brookfield completed its purchase of CDK Global in 2022.
CDK Global has a documented 2024 ransomware outage on record. No comparable incident for DealerSocket appeared in the public sources we checked.
Either system moves integration work onto your side, so get written confirmation of API or export access for every field you need before you sign.
Short answer: which one for a small store
TL;DR: Put DealerSocket in the final round if you run an independent or buy-here-pay-here store and want a DMS built for that model. Put CDK Global in the final round if you run a one- to two-site franchise or independent store, want a broad suite, and can accept a longer quote-based negotiation and a vendor with a 2024 outage on record.
A dealer management system (DMS) is the core software that holds a store's deals, inventory, service orders, parts records and accounting in one system of record. Both products in this comparison have changed hands. DealerSocket's site describes it as part of Solera's Vehicle Solutions, and Solera completed DealerSocket deal: June 7, 2021 according to Auto Remarketing (2021). CDK Global is privately held, and Brookfield completed its purchase in July 2022, according to CBT News (2022).
CDK Global's leadership is also changing. On August 27, 2026, the company said Sudhakar Ramakrishna, formerly CEO of SolarWinds, would become president and CEO effective October 5, replacing Brian MacDonald, according to CBT News (2026). In the vendor material we checked, neither product name has been merged, renamed or discontinued, so the product lines below are current.
Our read: DealerSocket is the better first call for an independent or buy-here-pay-here store, because its own pages address that model directly. CDK Global is the broader suite, and it carries the larger documented operational risk in this pair.
Who this is for
DealerSocket fits an independent or buy-here-pay-here operator that wants web-based inventory, collections workflows and desking in one product, which is how the IDMS page describes it. It also fits a dealer group or franchise store willing to look at AutoMate, since that page says it serves dealerships of all sizes, including dealer groups. Red flags: you need a published price before the first call, you need the IDMS integration list in writing before you commit, or you need a disclosed hosting model and the vendor will not state one.
CDK Global fits a one- to two-site franchise or independent store that wants sales, F&I, service, parts and accounting under one suite, with implementation and training offered as part of the relationship. Red flags: you need a price you can compare on the first call, you will not accept a vendor with a 2024 outage on record unless the contract addresses it, or you have no one to run a data-porting project.
If you are weighing DealerSocket against another platform, the DealerSocket vs VinSolutions comparison for car dealerships covers the closest alternative.
How we evaluated these two systems
The weights below are our analytical choices for a small store, not vendor data. Each criterion carries a share of 100 percent. The vendor facts that feed each criterion are cited in the sections that follow the tables.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it decides a small store's choice |
|---|---|---|
| Fit for the store model | 20% | A mismatch in store model costs more than any price gap. |
| Integration and data access | 20% | CRM, lead tools and reporting all depend on API or export access. |
| Ownership and leadership | 15% | A parent-company change can reset the roadmap and the contract terms. |
| Outage and security record | 15% | When the DMS stops, the deal desk stops with it. |
| Support model | 15% | Response times decide how much daily friction the store absorbs. |
| Pricing transparency | 15% | Quote-based pricing turns the cost comparison into a negotiation. |
Feature matrix: what each vendor publishes
This matrix uses only what each vendor's own pages state. A "not stated" cell means the page was silent, not that the feature is missing.
| Decision point | DealerSocket | CDK Global |
|---|---|---|
| Store profile named | Independent and buy-here-pay-here (IDMS); all sizes, including groups (AutoMate) | One- to two-site franchise and independent (Fundamentals suite) |
| DMS product | AutoMate for dealerships; IDMS for independents | DMS in the Business Office; Dealership Xperience Platform |
| API or integration layer | Open API (AutoMate); more than 50 third-party integrations (IDMS) | Fortellis named as an integration layer; no integration count given |
| Migration help | In-house conversion team (AutoMate) | Implementation service listed; no conversion detail |
| Support | Free phone and web training after implementation (AutoMate) | Customer Care, Customer Success, Implementation, Training and Consulting |
| Deployment model | Not stated for AutoMate; web-based with mobile access for IDMS | Not stated; Tier IV data centers claimed |
| Published price | None; quote-based | None; quote-based |
| Documented 2024 outage | None in the sources we checked | Ransomware outage in June 2024 |
Two cells need a caution. DealerSocket's open API is a vendor claim with no published endpoint list in the material we checked, so ask for the endpoint list and access terms in writing. CDK's DMS page names Fortellis without describing what it does for your store, which is why the CDK profile below explains it.
Pricing and total cost
Pricing checked October 18, 2026. Neither vendor's website publishes a price. DealerSocket routes buyers to a "Speak with an expert" form, and CDK Global routes them to a sales line and a demo request, so both are Quote-based.
| Vendor | Plan or tier | Tasks per month | Price per month | Annual cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DealerSocket | AutoMate or IDMS | Not published | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| CDK Global | DMS and suites | Not published | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| Zapier | Pro, billed annually | 750 | $19.99 | $239.88 |
| Zapier | Pro, billed annually | 2,000 | $49.00 | $588.00 |
| Zapier | Team, billed annually | 2,000 | $69.00 | $828.00 |
| Zapier | Team, billed monthly | 2,000 | $103.50 | $1,242.00 |
The Zapier rows are the published list prices on the pricing page we checked. The annual column is our arithmetic, the monthly price multiplied by 12. The DMS cost is not in this table because neither vendor publishes it. The real total cost of a DMS is the written quote plus the integration and staff time the store owns, which is why the worked example below prices the workflow layer on its own.
DealerSocket: best fit, limits and evidence
Our read: DealerSocket's strongest fit on its own pages is the independent and buy-here-pay-here store. The IDMS page lists vehicle acquisition and listing, configurable collection workflows, desking, accounting for vehicle acquisition, sales and receivables, and custom dashboards, along with LenderSocket and vSignature. For a franchise store, the AutoMate page lists sales and finance, vehicle merchandising, departmental accounting with intercompany accounting for groups, service, parts and a reporting tool, and it says software upgrades come at no extra charge.
The vendor's own AutoMate page also reports support figures. Support cases: about 125,000 a year according to DealerSocket (vendor claim, checked 2026). The same page says the company resolves 81% of cases on the first call and reports a 98% customer retention rate. Those are self-reported numbers, so treat them as questions to put to references rather than facts. The IDMS page adds that the product offers more than 50 third-party integrations according to DealerSocket (vendor claim, checked 2026), without naming them.
The limits are the gaps the vendor pages leave open. AutoMate's page does not say whether it runs in the cloud or on premises, and it does not list its integrations. Public review pages for DealerSocket were not accessible during our check, because several review sites blocked automated access. This guide therefore does not assign DealerSocket a review score. Ask for reference customers and their review history directly.
On implementation, the AutoMate page says an in-house conversion team handles data migration from other DMS platforms, and that free phone and web training continues after go-live. Ask who owns the field mapping on your side, because the vendor pages do not say.
CDK Global: best fit, limits and evidence
Our read: CDK Global's DMS page places the system in the Business Office, alongside front-office inventory, digital retail, CRM and F&I, and fixed-operations parts and service. The Fundamentals suite is described for one- to two-site franchise and independent dealers, and the Dealership Xperience Platform is pitched as an alternative to bolt-on point solutions. A store that wants one vendor across the front office and back office will find the most detail here. For a Tekion-side view of the same CDK question, see Tekion vs CDK for car dealerships.
On integrations, the DMS page names Fortellis, CVR and AVRS. Fortellis is described in a 2022 post on its own site as a developer network and marketplace that connects software developers, OEMs and dealers (Fortellis, 2022). The DMS page does not explain what the other two connect to your store, so ask.
The ownership and outage record needs a careful read. Brookfield's private equity group sits at the top of the company, and the August 2026 release names a Brookfield managing partner on CDK's board. The 2024 event is the one to weigh. Reported ransom payment: $25 million according to The Register (2024), citing CNN reporting. The company has not confirmed the payment. The same article reports that the outage lasted about two weeks, reached up to 15,000 car dealerships, and that Anderson Economic Group estimated dealer losses at just over $600 million in the first two weeks, according to The Register (2024).
On reviews, RFP.wiki's summary is the most useful public signal we could open. CDK Global G2 rating: 4.0 from 116 reviews according to RFP.wiki (checked 2026). The same summary lists complaints about an outdated interface, bugs, inconsistent support responsiveness, opaque pricing and difficulty porting data when switching vendors. Those complaints matter most for a store that expects to leave later.
Where a workflow layer fits
The daily pain is the same under either DMS. The deal is recorded in the DMS, and the follow-up lives in a CRM or a spreadsheet. A workflow layer can move that data, but only after the DMS side is confirmed. The two designs below are proposed, configurable workflows. Neither is a live deployment, and neither describes a measured result.
US Tech Automations could be configured as the layer between either DMS and your CRM. The first design is a deal-to-CRM sync. The trigger is a deal reaching a sold or delivered status in the DMS. The action matches the customer name and VIN to the CRM contact and creates or updates the deal record, with the owner set from a staff table. The output is an updated CRM deal and a log row that shows each change.
| Element | Deal-to-CRM sync | Stalled-deal follow-up |
|---|---|---|
| Trigger | Deal reaches sold or delivered in the DMS | Deal stays in one stage past a number of days the store sets |
| Action | Match name and VIN to the CRM contact; create or update the deal | Create a task for the sales manager; draft a follow-up message |
| Output | Updated CRM deal and a change log row | Daily list of stalled deals with the draft attached |
| Prerequisite | Written confirmation of an export or API exposing status, VIN, customer and owner | Stage-change timestamps in the same export |
| Human review point | Manager checks each mismatch before the CRM record changes | Person approves every message before anything is sent |
Prerequisites come before any build. For DealerSocket, that means written confirmation that the open API or a scheduled export exposes the deal status and VIN fields. For CDK Global, the equivalent access must be confirmed through its integration layer, because the DMS page does not describe an export path. The stalled-deal design works the same way: a task and an unsent draft, with US Tech Automations keeping the draft unsent until a person approves it. A similar trigger-and-review pattern appears in the recall status check before listing workflow.
Build it yourself or buy the layer
The real alternative for most small stores is stitching this together in Zapier or Make, or building it in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured well. Zapier's help center describes run statuses including Errored, Handled error and Autoreplay, and it notes that a Zap turns off automatically if 95% of its runs error over seven days (Zapier Help, checked 2026). Make's help center lists Skip, Retry, Resume, Commit and Rollback error handlers, which control what happens after a failed module (Make Help, checked 2026).
Those tools do not decide the hard parts for you. The buyer still owns observability, idempotency, escalation, access controls and maintenance. Someone must decide what happens to a duplicate deal, who is alerted when a sync fails, and who removes a former employee's access. A proposed US Tech Automations design would write the review step, the mismatch queue and the escalation path into the flow definition itself, so they do not depend on whoever built the Zap. The prerequisites are the same as a DIY build, namely the DMS export and a named owner for the field mappings, and the review points stay with a person.
When a simpler setup wins, US Tech Automations is the wrong first purchase. That is the case when a store moves only a handful of deals a week and one person can copy the fields by hand, when the DMS already sends the export you need to a CRM you already run, or when no one at the store will own the field mapping after go-live. In those cases a manual checklist, or a Zapier or Make flow you build and maintain yourself, is the more honest choice.
Worked example: 60 deals a month
This is an illustrative calculation, not a measured result. Assume a store closes 60 deals a month and re-keys each deal into a CRM by hand, which takes 12 minutes per deal. That is 720 minutes, or 12 hours, of staff time every month. If the proposed sync creates four tasks per deal, the flow uses 240 tasks a month, which fits inside a 750-task Pro tier on Zapier. Each deal's owner is written to hubspot_owner_id, the HubSpot deal property, so a person still checks that every owner value matches the current staff list before the record is saved (HubSpot, checked 2026).
| Line | Value |
|---|---|
| Deals closed per month | 60 |
| Hand re-keying per deal (minutes) | 12 |
| Staff time spent re-keying per month (hours) | 12 |
| Tasks per month after the sync (4 per deal) | 240 |
| Task allowance of the 750-task Pro tier | 750 |
| Annual cost of that tier, billed annually (USD) | 239.88 |
The 12 hours is the time the flow could free, before review time is added back. The $239.88 is the list cost of the workflow tool, not a DMS cost. The math holds only if someone owns the owner-field check, and that time belongs in the budget.
Common mistakes when comparing these two
Comparing a list price with a quote. Neither vendor publishes a price, so compare written quotes line by line, including implementation, data conversion and training.
Checking the export only after signing. Confirm API or export access for every field before the contract, not during implementation.
Treating the parent company as background. Solera and Brookfield both shape roadmap and contract priorities, so ask each vendor how ownership affects product decisions.
Asking about uptime without asking about incidents. Request the incident history and the outage terms in the contract.
Buying a DMS to fix a workflow problem. If the pain is the copy step, a workflow layer may fix it without a platform change.
Decision checklist
Get written confirmation of the API or export fields for deal status, VIN, customer and owner.
Request a written quote from each vendor that covers the DMS, implementation, data conversion and training.
Ask each vendor for its incident history for the past few years and the outage terms in its contract.
Name the person who will own field mappings and access controls after go-live.
Decide whether a workflow layer is needed at all, using the volume and review math above.
Questions small dealers ask
Is DealerSocket cheaper than CDK Global?
Neither vendor publishes a price, so this guide cannot say which is cheaper, and the written quotes are the only valid comparison.
Is CDK Global still owned by Brookfield?
Brookfield appears to still own it, because the August 2026 announcement names a Brookfield managing partner as a CDK board director.
Did DealerSocket have an outage like CDK Global's in 2024?
No comparable incident appeared in the public sources we checked, but the absence of a report is not proof, so ask for the incident history in writing.
Can I move my data off either system later?
Only through the export or API the vendor confirms, and RFP.wiki's summary of CDK Global reports buyers finding data porting difficult when they switch vendors.
Do I need a workflow layer if I already have a DMS?
Not always. If one person can copy the fields by hand at your volume, a manual checklist is enough. A layer pays off when the copying is slow or error-prone and someone will own the mapping after go-live.
Which should a franchise store choose?
Start with CDK Global's Fundamentals suite only if the store is one or two sites, because that is the size its page names. AutoMate's page says it serves dealerships of all sizes, including groups, so ask both vendors for a quote and compare the written scope line by line.
Next step
Start with the two prerequisites: written API or export access, and a named owner for the field mappings. If you want to see how US Tech Automations configures this kind of proposed design, review the design against your own DMS export before you commit to a platform change. For the wider field, the DealerSocket and VinSolutions comparison for auto dealerships covers the other common shortlist names.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.